Custom Hitches Reviews

204 | Austin, TX
See photos, pricing and details

204 Reviews for Custom Hitches

Recommended by 100%

204
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

2 User photos

Custom Hitches 1
Custom Hitches 2
Sort by:
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 04/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike treated my daughter and new son-in-law as if they were old friends. After spending the time to really meet the two, Spike created a custom service that captured the spirt of the day. Not only that, she arrived early and helped guide the guests after the service. This matters!!! Thank-you Spike! My daughter'sday was perfect.

    Sent on 07/17/2016
  • User4984090 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike provides a wonderful, laid-back, flexible officiant service. She will be as involved, or as passive, in the creation of the ceremony as you need her to be. She'll do religious, secular, serious, and silly ceremonies. She likes dogs and has good taste in coffee shops.

    Sent on 04/16/2015
  • User5012401 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'd like to add my voice to the chorus of praises being sung here for Spike. You know you made the right choice when the people in charge of your wedding venue make audible sounds of relief when you tell them you hired Spike Gillespie - "oh, she's awesome, great, we love working with her."

    Spike is competent, professional, and ready to work with whatever kind of ceremony you dream up. From our conversations with her, it sounds like she's done it all. Religious weddings? Check. Secular weddings? Check. Hippie poetry readings? Jokes? Unicorn masks? Check, check, check.

    We met with Spike in person, then communicated with her through e-mail. We mutually agreed that she didn't need to show up to our rehearsal, because she and the venue were so acquainted with each other and our ceremony was so simple, but she absolutely was available for that. She provided us with multiple example ceremonies, from which we were able to craft our own personalized version that she read beautifully. She showed up on right on time, excited and friendly.

    I cannot be happier with my choice to hire Spike. You should do the same!

    Sent on 05/09/2015
  • User5008898 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike was the BEST! We couldn't have asked for a better, more flexible, or a more overall-awesome officiant! We felt super comfortable with Spike, right from the beginning. She provided us with great materials as well as license to create the ceremony of our dreams. It was the perfect ceremony and Spike was wonderful!

    Sent on 04/24/2015
  • T

    Tanya · Married on 02/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike was fantastic!! So easy to work with and she had a great energy that set the right mood for our wedding day. Highly recommended. Thanks Spike!!

    Sent on 03/21/2015
  • G

    Gregory · Married on 01/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike's graceful and beautiful delivery of our vows were an important piece to making our ceremony very special. Working with her was a treat. She is prompt, professional and a fun lady. I will always recommend her for wedding ceremonies. She really has a pulse and read on what is important to couples. She is a lovely person with a sly wit. I would also suggest you follow her blog about meditation and buy her books! I can't rave enough about her.

    Sent on 03/01/2015
  • User4877700 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We lovedlovedloved working with Spike! She made planning the ceremony super easy by giving lots of advice and assuring us that the whole ceremony could be done without a day-of coordinator (which we planned to do without). We met with her once, told her what we envisioned, and then worked the rest of the time with her via email (although she was totally flexible with meeting with us in person any time we needed--even during her birthday month :) ). We had written an okay personal story that she really finessed into a funny, memorable story that totally fit us.

    We did our rehearsal the day of and she was awesome in whipping our bridal party into shape and really explaining to us what we all needed to be doing and when. I felt totally confident in her abilities to keep our ceremony running smoothly. For the actual wedding, she was so awesome... everything went smoothly and she even was able to read the audience and improvise some funny jokes here and there. Even now people are telling us how wonderful Spike and our ceremony was. I learned that having a beautiful, memorable ceremony will really set the tone for the rest of your wedding!

    I also appreciated the fact that she had worked with a lot of our vendors before, especially our DJ (Erik from DJ Greenbelt Productions--who is also just as awesome!). It makes such a difference when your wedding vendors know your venue and the other vendors. :) Thank you, Spike!

    Sent on 03/14/2015
  • S

    Solveig · Married on 12/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There are not enough nice things I can say about Spike. From the moment I looked through Spike's website, I knew she was going to be the right fit for my husband and I's wedding in December of 2014. Our intro call with her was wonderful- she was so warm and friendly and no non-sense. She made the entire process so easy because she was always available by email or phone and she was always willing to Skype. She wasn't pushy but made sure to check in frequently enough to make sure we were on track. She was prompt for the ceremony rehearsal and managed to get the entire bridal party to listen and follow directions (not an easy feat as we had a large bridal party). Most importantly, Spike guided us in creating a ceremony that was true to us and our story. Every aspect of the ceremony was tailored to us and what we wanted it to mean and represent. After the ceremony was over, we had people coming up to us all night complimenting us on the ceremony and how wonderful Spike was. My husband and i could not have been happier with Spike and you will not regret choosing her as your officiant.

    Sent on 01/17/2015
  • K

    Kathleen · Married on 12/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike Gillespie prepared us well for the wedding and did a beautiful job officiating the ceremony. We had a last minute venue change due to a wicked and wet freezing cold front that arrived the night before our wedding, necessitating a move indoors for the ceremony, away from the outdoor setting in Mayfield Park. Spike stayed calm and provided expert guidance and advice. The move indoors to Fonda San Miguel restaurant before it was open to the public ended up being perfect, warm and cozy -- with candles flickering all around. Regardless of the size, style and scope of your wedding, Spike will do a beautiful job assisting with the ceremony language and guiding the bride and groom through all the twists and turns of wedding plans and decisions, all but guaranteeing a beautiful and memorable occasion.

    Sent on 01/12/2015
  • User4692983 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike was amazing and added just the right touch to our intimate, at-home wedding. She had 4 other weddings that day (12/13/14, so lots of folks picked that date) but she made us feel like we were the most important people in the world. Leading up to the wedding, she was very accessible, prompt in responding to requests, great with giving us suggestions but letting us keep control of how we wanted things to go, and professional while still being laid back. I'd recommend her to all my friends!

    Sent on 01/13/2015
  • User4200398 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike was an absolute pleasure and delight to work with! She is easy going yet very professional and brings a prositive energy that put us at ease. She understood what we wanted for our wedding day and worked with us on our ceremony up until the big day. I am very glad we found Spike online and that she was able to perform our ceremony- it was perfect!

    Sent on 12/12/2014
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 11/29/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Go with Spike for your wedding officiant. You won't regret it. She was the best part of our ceremony other than the final "I Do". Spike is a true professional, fab writing style, and she knows what she is doing. You need someone like her on your side when you're running around planning out a wedding.

    Sent on 09/16/2015
  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 11/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It's clear Spike loves what she does. She really focuses on getting to know you. This was a challenge for us because we currently live in DC and were not coming back to Austin until 4 days before the wedding. It only took about 20 minutes on Skype to realize that Spike was just the best. She asked us all the right questions (what do you two want in a wedding? how do you want it to feel?), sent us sample vows, made sure we got the license in time.

    Spike, you made a special yet stressful day better and less stressful. Thank you!!!!

    Sent on 12/18/2014
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 11/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike of Custom Hitches is terrific. I had done a lot of research online and came across her info. She was the first and only officiant we met with. Chemistry is very important to us and we immediately connected with Spike. We didn't even hesitate hiring her (and we are not the fastest decision makers typically). We knew we wanted a non-traditional, non-denominational, yet spiritual ceremony with tribute to my husband's Catholic upbringing. Spike helped us through the entire process providing samples, suggestions, readings and providing insightful experience that you only get after performing hundreds of ceremonies. Her responses were always very prompt. I can't tell you how many compliments we have gotten on our ceremony content as well as Spike's delivery. When we met to develop the personal story that Spike would tell about us, I didn't know how she'd come up with something from what we gave her. I was so pleased and amazed with what she turned it in to...it was touching, funny and engaging. I can't recommend Spike enough. I never want to get married again but sad I won't get to work with Spike again as a result :)

    Sent on 12/03/2014
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 11/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike was great to work with. My husband and I were a bit stumped about how to go about putting together a secular wedding ceremony, but she sent us several examples and helped us create our own. She responded to my emails quickly and provided prompt feedback on our drafts. The day of our ceremony turned out to be chilly and damp and when she arrived she immediately began helping our coordinator wipe down the ceremony chairs without being asked. Overall I thought Spike was fantastic and have no reservations about recommending her to others.

    Sent on 11/19/2014
  • User4587357 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    would highly recommend Spike to anyone looking for someone to officiate their wedding.

    We contacted her and within a few days, had set up a meeting where we knew right away she was who we wanted. We only had a few weeks until our wedding as it was on short notice and was very small but Spike made the whole process so easy! She was easy to talk to, never pushed her own ideas on us and totally got what we were looking for. She helped write the ceremony and made sure that the vows we wrote ourselves were not too different from eachothers without us knowing what the other wrote.

    She showed up when she said she would and took charge instantly from making sure everyone knew where to stand to making sure all cell phones were silenced. The ceremony went off without a hitch and she lead us in a toast after the ceremony was over. She stayed a little after the ceremony to finish the marriage license and take a couple of pictures and then left so we could go to our reception.

    Spike was extremely professional, kind, friendly and was a joy to work with.

    Sent on 12/04/2014
  • User3409675 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married in October 2014 and Spike officiated our wedding! We knew we wanted to have Spike lead our ceremony when we first met her at a KUT Views and Brews event. She was on a panel with a few other wedding vendors and we could immediately tell she was super down to earth and had a great sense of humor. Spike was amazing during the planning process, giving us guidance around the timing of each section of our wedding and helping us craft a beautiful and personal ceremony. On the wedding day, she did an amazing job!! We love Spike and her incredible energy and were so happy she was a part of our special day!

    Sent on 11/12/2014
  • S

    S · Married on 10/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike was amazing! We could not have found a better officiant for our wedding. She helped us create the perfect ceremony that truly reflected our relationship. She is warm, sincere, professional and pretty much had an answer for every question we had. Even though we married in the hill country we are not from Austin but we were able to meet with Spike via Skype and instantly we knew we made a good choice for our wedding ceremony. All of our guest instantly warmed to her, our ceremony went off without any hitches and we didn’t even have a rehearsal. Very pleased and would definitely recommend Spike! Thank you so much, it was PERFECT!

    Sent on 10/31/2014
  • M

    Mark · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike was really easy and fun to work with, and was a great presence at our ceremony. She took the time to learn about us and our histories and personalities before the wedding, which made her participation even more meaningful.

    If you're looking for an officiant who really knows the ropes, and who can help you craft a ceremony that is perfect for your specific situation, Spike is a great choice.

    Sent on 01/12/2015
  • B

    Becky · Married on 10/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike Gillespie was everything we wanted in an officiant. Receptive, relaxed, smart and a true guru at what she does. She loves her job and it’s obvious. When we first reached out to Spike via email, she responded quickly (within 1-2 days) and she was ready to setup our first face-to-face meeting so we could get to know each other. Guys, this was 15 months before the wedding. We met up and were just so pleased. She’s a total badass.

    The ceremony was nothing short of perfect. We worked together on the ceremony flow and write-up. She got up there and nailed it. Our families loved every second and we all clung to each beautiful word. Matt and I will never forget how awesome and meaningful our ceremony was.

    If you are getting hitched, give her a ring. Thank you Spike for everything!

    Sent on 12/09/2014
  • J

    Jenna · Married on 10/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After our venue, Spike was the first vendor that we booked for our wedding, which at the time was about a year and a half away (book her as soon as you can!). Soon after, she sent us lots of sample ceremonies to look through, but we sat on them for a long time and didn't actually meet with Spike in person until about three months before the wedding. I was confident from all of her previous reviews that she would be a wonderful officiant, and she was! Our (secular) ceremony was meaningful, personal, and elegantly performed. Spike was easy to work and communicate with, and I would wholeheartedly recommend her to any couple looking to go beyond a generic, cookie-cutter ceremony.

    Sent on 12/16/2014
  • N

    Nick · Married on 10/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike was great to work with. We were overseas before the wedding and she was able to help us set up our ceremony via Skype interviews. She had lots of good suggestions and worked with us until we had the ceremony that we wanted. Thank you for all that you did to help us have a perfect day!!! Nick & Ting

    Sent on 10/21/2014
  • R

    Renee · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was such a pleasure to work with Spike! Our venue, Laguna Gloria recommended her for our wedding and we couldn’t be happier! We are more spiritual than religious and Spike really helped us create a ceremony that was unique but at the same time integrated some traditional elements such as the unity candle and the traditional vows. There are so many ways to having a ceremony and at first we were overwhelmed with ideas. When we met with Spike, she made us feel at ease with her very personable, laid-back style. She provided us examples of her other ceremonies performed which really helped us figure out what we wanted for our ceremony. Not only did Spike help us with ceremony content, she also offered to help look over our personal vows since we wanted them to be a secret till the day of and wanted to make sure they were the same tone, length, etc. Anytime we emailed Spike she replied immediately and we felt she was always available. It made us feel at ease knowing we had a very professional as well as personable officiant for the most important day of our lives! We highly recommend Spike! She was absolutely the best.

    Sent on 11/03/2014
  • K

    Katrina · Married on 09/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Myself and my husband Marcel couldn't have made a better choice having Spike as our minister. Her personal touch, and consistent help from start to finish really made us feel at ease with planning such a truly important part of our wedding day! I will use her again and recommend her to anyone!

    Sent on 10/17/2014
  • H

    Heather · Married on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike is absolutely THE BEST!! She was exactly what who we wanted to officiate our wedding. She was as sincere and thoughtful with us and our vows as she was Austin funky and general badass. She was quick to reply to emails and always available to meet up. I loved that we knew every word that was going to be said in our vows and that we got to really be a part of coming up with them. They were absolutely perfect. We wanted a little bit of sweetness, a little humor and lightheartedness, and a lot of love in our vows and that's what we got. I can't recommend her enough. If you're getting married and you want your vows to be awesome, Spike is the lady for you.

    Sent on 10/28/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review