Custom Hitches Reviews

202 | Austin, TX
See photos, pricing and details

202 Reviews for Custom Hitches

Recommended by 100%

202
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
202 Custom Hitches Reviews
Sort by:
  • D

    Diane · Married on 12/31/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't know, what else can I say. We got Spike's name from a referral on a website, we sent her an email, hopped a plane, stayed at her ranch, Tiny T Ranch, and knew right away that Spike was the woman....the "must have" perform our ceremony - without a doubt! There are a few people you meet in life that just 'get it' and Spike is one of them. Spike doesn't push anything on you, she gets to know you but doesn't bug you, she puts her education, experience and heart, (omg her heart, so big, so deep!) into everything I have witnessed and experienced from the day we met. After our initial meeting weekend, we booked Spike; six months in advance from the suburbs of Philadelphia, and she never forgot about us - not once. Our ceremony was perfect, and we are over the moon to have Spike in the memories of our wedding day that will be treasured for a lifetime. I hope more and more couples choose to enjoy the "must have" we found in Spike.

  • A

    Andrea · Married on 11/18/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike was really wonderful to work with and we're so happy she was such an integral part of such an important day in our lives. We started by just touching base and seeing if she was free. We had a lovely conversation to make sure she was the right fit for our service and went from there. She sent some simple guidelines to her service and provided us with some previously used outlines for ceremonies she had preformed to give a place to start. From there we spent some time emailing in detail about various aspects of the ceremony.

    Honestly, the best part about working with Spike is that she has some really wonderful insight on weddings, relationships and marriage (which she only offers if you ask, in case you'd rather not philosophize in detail on those points). I feel privileged to have had someone with such a wonderful heart and mind there to untie my husband and I. I would recommend Spike to anyone.

  • M

    Margaret · Married on 04/29/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We never considered anyone else, any can't imagine working with anyone else now! Neither of us anticipated what a valuable and integral role an officiant could play until we joined forces with Spike. We wanted to eliminate as much ceremony and tradition from our wedding as possible, and focus primarily on having a super fun party.

    Initially, we planned to have a friend officiate, but when they got cold feet we reached out to Spike after hearing her name around various circles of friends. Our whole event was super DIY (and planned remotely) and we cannot express how valuable it was to have someone onboard who knew what she was doing! We have Spike to thank for helping us keep our eye on the prize, steering the ship in the right direction, and being an all around positive force - and all from another city! She is an amazing collaborator, respectful of your preferences and vision as a couple, and very tactful about offering advice and input. On a more tactical level, she's been involved in a lot of weddings and has a lot of practical contributions to make from all of her experiences - that helped us a lot and gave us more confidence to plan and execute, and eliminate some frivolous details.

    We really hadn't anticipated how significant our ceremony could be. We even talked about skipping or severely expediting it, thinking that it would seem too formal or somehow embarrassing to say all those things in front of a crowd. Instead, it was really meaningful and distinctly memorable in the best possible way. So many friends and family told us how much they enjoyed it and thanked us for reminding them of "what it's all about." In turn, we want to thank Spike and recommend her highly!

  • Kami

    Kami · Married on 04/01/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike is not only a wonderful officiant, she is a phenomenal person. She is always quick to respond and a pleasure to work with. She is great at making sure you're comfortable and she had a rain plan in place before I even mentioned it. I cannot wait to celebrate my big day with her.

  • S

    Silvia · Married on 11/20/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike was a Joy to work with. From the initial meeting we had with her, we felt like she understood exactly what we wanted for our ceremony. She was very helpful and worked with us to craft a ceremony that really fit our styles and personalities.

  • MoMo1125

    Maureen · Married on 04/01/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike officiated at our intimate secular wedding outside Austin and we couldn't have been happier with our decision. She worked with us to develop the ceremony and vows and was very helpful with suggestions for readings and wording options. She is such a pro and has so much experience that we could ask her specific questions about our venue since she'd performed so many ceremonies there already. The day-of, she provided us with great last-minute advice before the ceremony. The ceremony itself was just as we'd imagined it, even better, and our families felt that she did a great job personalizing the ceremony to us as a couple. She's fantastic!!

  • N

    Nicole · Married on 03/25/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't know what we would have done without Spike! She was laid back but professional. She helped us put together the perfect ceremony and made sure we had our marriage license ready. She had some great words of wisdom that helped us relax. Before the ceremony, as we were getting ready, she checked in with each of us, told us to breathe, and made sure we had the timing right so we wouldn't run into each other on the way to the chapel. She was just so wonderful!

  • M

    Melanie · Married on 01/22/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We feel so fortunate to have had Spike at our wedding. We really wanted to find someone who would understand how special our big day was and I don't think we could have found anyone better! Spike is not only friendly and helpful but she is open-minded and reliable in every way. Once we went over the details of our day, we immediately knew she would be the perfect addition to our ceremony. We planned our little gathering in less than a month and she made the process super fun and seamless for us. We didn't really know what to expect but suffice it to say, Spike helped create the most magical moment for us and our family. We couldn't have asked for a better, more memorable day. Thanks so much, Spike!!! :)

  • C

    Cynthia · Married on 11/14/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike listened carefully to our daughter and son-in-law in order to provide them the wedding they wanted.

    Words are important to me. Just as a musician listens to the string trio at his daughter's wedding, I focused on the vows because I'm a writer.

    Spike put the wishes and hopes our family had for the couple into words. We could tell she understood their ethic and cared about making their service perfect for them.

    I recommend her completely.

  • User4055573 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike has been amazing to work with. She is responsive and professional and also very fun.

  • C

    Crystal · Married on 07/04/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We approached Spike after finding many other Austin locals who've gotten married through her many times of doing so that it would be a crime if we did not hire her. So we did! We paid her after inquiring on her details of services, and then we met her in person!

    I know, it's rather strange to hand over a stranger lots of money, and then meet them and see what they're all about. We met her at Cherrywood Coffee, and from there we knew she was the one, just as we knew we were gonna get married! It was all meant to be and speaking with Spike put us at such ease. She listened to our humorous story of our first date at a Best Buy, and from there everything was just how a wedding should be, not of Pinterest photo bridesmaid and shoes and floral galore, but of love and respect and a caring of so strong that she could paint the picture in words spoken in our ceremony.

    Spike did such an amazing job, she spoke fluidly the day of, reviewed and revised our personal vows we wrote and cropped them to be short and sweet like we asked, did this in a manner that was respectful and noninvasive which is quite a skill to have as an established writer. And she even revised the ceremony numerous times after we had decided they'd be "final". I know planning a wedding is stressful but with Spike, it wasn't! The money we spent to have her officiate our wedding was more than we wanted to spend, $500 on an officiant (more than what my dress cost!), but I feel now so strong that it was the right amount as no amount of money could have given us the love and warmth that we shared with her.

    She is just the right person and aura of all Austiny feelings, spiritual, hippie, but so so warm and amazing to share the way with words at a special momental moment like a wedding.

  • C

    christy · Married on 06/27/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking for the right person for your wedding, there is no one better than Spike. She is resourceful, open minded, responsible, and charming. Once we interviewed with her we knew she was the right person for us. We planned our backyard wedding in a month, and she made the ceremony process so easy. We had no idea what to expect for the ceremony and she helped us make it our own, needless to say it was everything we wanted it to be. Even due to some unfortunate planning (entirely on our part) we ran late on the ceremony, Spike remained 100% professional, polite and understanding during the wait. We couldn't have asked for a more memorable ceremony!

  • A

    Anna · Married on 06/13/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First off, this is the first time I've reviewed anything online, so I hope that tells you how much I absolutely loved working with Spike! She was very professional and a dream to work with - I wish all of my wedding vendors were like her! She was the only vendor I hired based on the reviews on this website (the others were through referrals), and the only vendor my husband wanted to hire before our meeting was even over. I received tons of compliments about Spike and our ceremony. Our ceremony was my favorite part of my wedding day and I know it was because we had such a great officiant. Don't underestimate the importance of this decision! :)

  • C

    Christina · Married on 06/08/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so lucky to have Spike officiate our wedding. She did an amazing job of tailoring the ceremony to fit our needs. We have two young children that we wanted to be included in the ceremony. With Spike's guidance it could not have gone better. Spike was professional, relaxed, supportive, and organized throughout the entire process. She seemed to know how much guidance we needed and provided the perfect amount of support. Our ceremony was perfect. I HIGHLY recommend Spike to anyone getting married. Our day would have not been the same without her!

  • User5263392 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My Husband and I were married on June 7, 2015. I am so glad that we chose Spike to perform our wedding ceremony. She was so wonderful at responding to our needs, wrote a beautiful ceremony, and helped ensure that our day went smoothly. Our wedding was outside, during the wettest month we have had in Texas in so long, and we were terrified of having flooding. We had no idea what we would do if the weather was bad, and Spike suggested a wonderful backup plan when we had none. Luckily we did not have to use it as the day ended up being beautiful! We couldn't have picked a better officiant.

  • A

    Allison · Married on 06/06/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike was AMAZING! She truly made our wedding day even more special than we could have imagined. We were stuck when it came to the flow and readings, but she gave us the best suggestions and resources to get the planning process started. We felt like we were being married by a friend, as you can feel the warmth and care in each conversation with Spike. Multiple wedding guests commented that the vows and readings were some of the most beautiful they had ever heard. While we were interested in more guidance for our wedding day, Spike was also open to completely customizing each and every step of the ceremony. Whichever boat you find yourself in, don't hesitate to book Spike. We couldn't have asked for a more meaningful experience.

  • J

    Jeanna · Married on 05/15/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike was warm kind knowledgeable and very accommodating offering help pre and post service. Spike was a perfect fit for our wedding.

  • D

    Dawn · Married on 05/15/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike was amazing! She arrived early and did the ceremony exactly how we planned. We couldn't have asked for anything more perfect. Thank you!

  • P

    Patti · Married on 05/09/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike was a pleasure from start to finish. She completely understood my vibe and what I was going for with my wedding and ceremony. There's not a doubt in my mind that this lady can do any flavor of wedding. She was the best person for us, and I'm CERTAIN she'll be great for anyone who snags her in the future. She helped make my wedding the dream I imagined.
    She's professional yet hilarious, she's personable and easy to talk to. She will listen to every word you say, then ask you GOOD questions to get an even better feel for you. If you're getting married soon and haven't gotten an officiant, PRAY she hasn't been booked, then skip all the hassle and book her. You'll regret it if you don't!

  • User5087649 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike was excellent, she also met with me beforehand to go over the ceremony ideas. She was calm and friendly to all of our guests, we had a wonderful experience!

  • R

    Rachel · Married on 05/02/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring Spike as our wedding officiant was the best decision we could have made. We knew we had picked the right person immediately after meeting with Spike the first time. We wanted our wedding to be fun, relaxed, and most of all, not stuffy. Spike is assuredly not stuffy, and was a pleasure to work with. She is also extremely responsive and communicative, which makes the whole process very easy.

    As others have said, Spike will give you as much or as little guidance as you want when it comes to your vows. She gave us a number of sample ceremonies to read through, and we were able to work with her on crafting our ceremony and vows. We wanted a mostly non-religious wedding with some blessings and fairly traditional vows, and Spike easily accommodated our requests and made our wedding ceremony exactly what we were hoping for.

    We asked Spike to come to our rehearsal, and I'm so glad we did. She kept everyone on track, and prepared us for the next day. The day of the wedding was even better. She kept the mood lighthearted, and even had tissue for me when I started crying mid-ceremony. Our ceremony made us and our guests laugh and cry in the best way possible, and our guests are still talking about it. If you are looking for an officiant, I can't recommend or speak highly enough about Spike. You won't regret hiring her!

  • C

    Courtney · Married on 04/25/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike performed the most spiritual and touching ceremony of any wedding I've attended! When the husband to be is crying and there is a butterfly circling around your union - love was definitely in the air! We liked how she writes her own vows and provides you with options as to which ones fit you best as a couple. She even let us edit them a few times. Her sense of calmness brought relief to a anxious day. We would recommend her hands down for anyone ready to take the leap!

  • A

    Amanda · Married on 04/15/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike treated my daughter and new son-in-law as if they were old friends. After spending the time to really meet the two, Spike created a custom service that captured the spirt of the day. Not only that, she arrived early and helped guide the guests after the service. This matters!!! Thank-you Spike! My daughter'sday was perfect.

  • User4984090 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spike provides a wonderful, laid-back, flexible officiant service. She will be as involved, or as passive, in the creation of the ceremony as you need her to be. She'll do religious, secular, serious, and silly ceremonies. She likes dogs and has good taste in coffee shops.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review