Skip to main content
Weddings

Custom Gowns & Alterations by Sarah Kolis Reviews

Custom Gowns & Alterations by Sarah Kolis

Custom Gowns & Alterations by Sarah Kolis

Novi, MI
5.0 out of 5 rating, 16 Reviews
View more information

16 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

16
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner

23 User photos

  • Cassandra
    Cassandra T. Married on 12/31/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Incredible Service + Work!

    Sarah is just as kind as she is talented!!! I found Sarah through a friend of mine and used her for alterations for a bridesmaid dress. Shortly after meeting her, I knew I would use her for my wedding gown alterations as well. Sarah was so kind, professional, and welcoming! She helped me pick the correct dates for my alterations and provided a very quick turn around time. Sarah altered my wedding gown, the overskirt for my gown, and my reception dress. I have never had ANYTHING fit so well! It was truly perfectly altered to my body. So many guests commented on how it looked like the dress was made JUST for me! When I got the dress originally, I was nervous as to how it would be altered - it was too big in some places, too tight in others, and all around just did not fit my body. Sarah made everything PERFECT! I cannot recommend Sarah enough! Her work speaks for itself!!
  • P
    Patti R. Married on 10/22/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Sarah is amazing!

    Sarah is the best!!! She made my daughter's wedding dress look absolutely perfect! Confident, professional and kind, Sarah makes the entire alterations process a dream! Wouldn't go anywhere else!
  • S
    Sarah D. Married on 10/08/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing!!!

    Sarah did a amazing job with my mom and I’s dresses. She made us very comfortable and I recommend her to anyone that is needing Alterations! Thank you for making my dress perfect!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • J
    Jill Married on 10/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The real deal!

    I truly don’t have the words for how wonderful my experience working with Sarah was. I brought in my shower dress for slight alterations and my wedding dress. I am very small, and the gown was not my size. She took what she had to work with and made it fit me perfectly. She also adjusted her schedule so I could come in first thing in the morning before work! The amazing job she did, the kindness she showed me during the wedding stress, and the genuine excitement, not only for me and my dress, but also for the work she does was a gift to experience. Her passion truly shows in every stitch she makes. I will recommend her to ALL of the brides I know! She is the real deal, and an amazing and inspirational business woman!
  • J
    Jessica L. Married on 09/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Sarah is the best!

    Originally had an appointment with someone else but canceled because the other lady was rude on the phone. So glad I found Sarah she was so nice and professional and made me feel good about everything. Will recommend her to everyone getting married! So happy that I could bring my mom and sister and get their dresses done at the same time. I will be contacting Sarah if I ever need another dress done. So helpful teaching my sister how to bustle my dress
  • Ellie
    Ellie B. Married on 08/20/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Professional, flexible and extremely talented

    Sarah is an amazing seamstress and made the entire process so seamless. (No pun intended!) By having online bookings, it was so easy to schedule and reschedule appointments. She also was extremely understanding when I asked to push the appointment up very close to the wedding due to COVID weight gain, and needing time to shed those last few pounds. When I say extremely understanding it is an understatement; it was a really difficult part of the wedding process for me and she so quickly replied letting me know to not worry and we will make it work.

    The dress turn out BEAUTIFULLY and besides just hemming to the desired length and creating a bustle for late night, she fixed other things I might not have noticed (lining that was showing on the top for example) and work to have my off the shoulder straps exactly where I wanted them. She is extremely professional and knowledgeable about the wedding business and all styles of dresses. I highly recommend!
  • Katie
    Katie Married on 07/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Sarah is the BEST of the BEST!!

    Sarah is beyond amazing at what she does! She is a one stop shop for all alterations for your wedding day! She was able to alter my wedding dress, my rehearsal dinner jumpsuit, as well as my dancing jumpsuit for the wedding. She listened to my wants and insecurities and came up with a plan to alter my wedding dress that did not leave me feeling uncomfortable on my wedding day. It took an initial meeting to go over all of the alterations and then my dress was perfect the next time I came to pick it up, which is very rare in the bridal industry. I will definitely be back for any alterations I need in the future. She is the best around, I highly HIGHLY recommend seeing Sarah for all of your wedding dress needs!
  • Jessica
    Jessica M. Married on 06/10/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Attention to Detail

    Sarah was amazing to work with. Her attention to detail, and ability to help navigate through design or alternation details is amazing. From our first meeting, I knew I picked the right person and when I picked my dress up she confirmed it.

    I had a strapless dress that I wanted an off the shoulder draped sleeve added to along with some detail around the bust line. I brought a couple of pictures and Sarah not only executed it perfectly, she also made it so I had the option to wear it strapless later. At the pickup she noticed little details that were not perfect to her and made the corrections on the spot. She also executed my bustle perfectly and made it so easy for my maid of honor to do.

    I’m also plus size which can be intimidating when working through alterations. From the minute I walked in the door Sarah made me feel comfortable, and had additional suggestions and details to ensure my strapless dress fitted the way I wanted.

    I would absolutely use and recommend her for any alteration needs

    Custom Gowns & Alterations by Sarah Kolis's reply:

    Thank you SO MUCH Jessica!! Your review has me feeling so happy that I was able to make this such an enjoyable experience for you! Your gown really did turn out so lovely!! And I LOVE that little sleeve we added! Thanks so much and congrats!!! -Sarah
  • Christianna
    Christianna D. Married on 06/10/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Sarah saved my wedding day!

    Do yourself a favor and reach out to Sarah for a custom gown! I cannot recommend or talk highly enough of her. Sarah created the most stunning wedding gown for me in less than 2 months. *Chefs kiss* (& created a matching custom veil!)

    I ran into issues with my pre-pandemic dress and it felt like I had exhausted every option then Sarah was recommended to me by a friend and it was meant to be. She is so lovely to work with and is truly so talented. There's no pressure put on you; it feels collaborative, and she truly wants you to feel beautiful and confident.

    If you’re lucky enough to work with her, you will not be disappointed.
  • D
    Danielle Married on 10/26/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful to work with! So happy with results!

    Sarah was timely & so detailed oriented! I worked with her on a bridesmaid dress and a rehearsal dinner dress and I was so happy with the results! I highly suggest hiring Sarah!
  • Sara
    Sara F. Married on 10/16/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Look no further - Sarah is the best!

    I can not say enough great things about Sarah and the work that she did on my wedding dress. Removing the train, bringing up the hem, bringing in the sides, giving me a little more modesty on the chest, moving the armholes so it wouldn't be so tight on my armpits - she did a ton of work and made the dress look and feel like it was custom made for me. She's a great personality to add to your wedding team -- she's savvy, helpful, happy, and a joyful calm in a time of crazy.

    Custom Gowns & Alterations by Sarah Kolis's reply:

    Sara you look SO beautiful!! Thank you so much for your kind words, it was my pleasure and I am so glad you enjoyed your experience!
  • Lindsay
    Lindsay O. Married on 09/26/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful experience!

    Sarah is such a gem! She truly cares about her craft and it shows in her work. I’ve gone to her twice now, for a bridesmaid dress and then for my own wedding dress! Both times she had them fitting absolutely perfectly, while also making you feel so comfortable. If you want your alterations done right, Sarah is your girl!

    Custom Gowns & Alterations by Sarah Kolis's reply:

    Lindsay, thank you so much! It was such a pleasure to work with you as well!! I hope your wedding is everything you ever dreamed and more!!
  • C
    Caitlin C. Married on 05/08/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Look no further, hire this gem NOW!

    Sarah was such a sweetheart to work with in preparation for my wedding day. A few weeks before, I contacted Sarah (and got an immediate response) to have my wedding dress and a jumpsuit for the reception tailored. She NAILED both! My wedding dress fit like a glove! And my jumpsuit... well... she took that lacey thing from a Size 14 down to a tailored Size 8 and when I tried it on at the final fitting, I couldn't even tell where she made the alterations. It was so well done! Sarah is so passionate about her work, and that comes through in her interactions with her clients. If you need a tailor for your fancy day, look no further than this lady! She's the best!

    Custom Gowns & Alterations by Sarah Kolis's reply:

    Absolutely beautiful Caitlin!!! Such a pleasure! Your gown and jumpsuit turned out so great, such fun projects! Thank you so much!!
  • Grace
    Grace Married on 12/02/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Dress Alterations

    I had a very specific vision for my bridal look that relied heavily on the fit of the dress (satin mermaid dress). I know that wedding dresses aren’t supposed to fit you perfectly before alterations, but I am pretty sure that they ordered my dress way too big. There was not one measurement that was anywhere near snug on my body. I knew I needed to hire the best of the best to make my vision come to life.
    Scheduling a consultation with Sarah was simple and convenient. All of the relevant information is on her website and sent via email. I am usually a person with a lot of questions, but there was no confusion whatsoever about how many appointments would be needed, how far in advance to schedule the appointments, or what happens if the dress needs additional alterations.
    Sarah is a remarkable designer and seamstress. I explained to her how I wanted the dress to fit, and she explained that, because of the fold-over at the top of my dress, she would have to deconstruct and reconstruct the dress to take it in. She was very calm and confident, as if taking apart my entire dress and putting it back together was no big task for her! I went to my 2nd appointment with her and was absolutely thrilled to find that the dress fit perfectly. She also did a French bustle which looked amazing. If you are thinking of hiring Sarah, definitely do it!
  • Tammy
    Tammy Married on 10/21/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent alternations to Mother of Groom dress

    I strongly recommend Sara - she is so talented and easy to work with. She altered my Mother of Groom dress perfectly. It is easy to schedule an appointment at which time she is efficient, calm and full of ideas. You can’t go wrong with Sara Kolis !,
  • Anna
    Anna B. Married on 07/30/2022
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredibly Skilled

    Sarah was an absolute joy. She’s incredibly sweet, skilled, and knowledgeable. I am so grateful she was willing to take on my alterations on the final weeks leading up to my wedding. I know we were pressed for time and she made me feel like it was right on schedule. My first appointment was quick and she really made me feel like she understood & would execute exactly what I wanted/needed. Looking back I wish I would have been more specific and asked her to pin up my hem and review how much was taken in on the bodice. My dress ended up being way too long and when I brought it up at pick-up, Sarah corrected me and made me feel like I didn’t know what I was talking about. When bustled the back was at least 1” off the ground while the front was dragging at least 1.5-2” - this was so hard to manage, especially during our first dance! Again, mentioned that I thought the bustle was too short/didn’t flow well with the whole skirt, on pick-up and Sarah explained how it needed to be that way and that it would fall the longer it was bustled - it did not. There was a hook & eye at the top of the zipper, seemed fine when I picked up my dress, but on my wedding day it snapped off almost immediately. I put my dress on and leaned over to pick something up and it popped off. This led to the top of my dress not fitting as snug.

    Sarah did an AMAZING job taking in the bodice and recreating the low-back that I desired. It turned out so well!! She had to take in a few inches, move the zipper, & remove about an inch or so of buttons. It was a huge change and I’m so happy with how that ended up.

    In the grand scheme of things, I’m still incredibly happy with the quality of work and would highly recommend. My dress was beautiful and she brought it to life! Just be more self-aware and if you can, plan ahead! I was on a time crunch and had A LOT going on with the dress that I was more concerned about than the hem.

    Custom Gowns & Alterations by Sarah Kolis's reply:

    Anna, thank you so much for all the feedback! You looked sooo beautiful on your wedding day! That photo with your husband is so sweet! I am so glad you mentioned the feedback on the hem and bustle, and those additional photos in this review are extra helpful! Moving forward I will absolutely be using this feedback to help future brides so it is truly appreciated! I hope you are enjoying your new married life and things are going well for you! Thanks so much and take care!!!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message