Crystal Mountain Resort Reviews

82 | Thompsonville, MI
See photos, pricing and details

82 Reviews for Crystal Mountain Resort

Recommended by 95% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.7

Awards

82

73 User photos

Sort by:
  • M

    Malaika · Married on 08/18/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All of Crystal Mountain staff did an amazing job of making my day the best it could be! They were so accommodating the catering staff was amazing and my planner was there anytime I needed her! I am so thankful for everyone at Crystal Mountain!

    Sent on 09/01/2018
  • C

    Chloe · Married on 10/07/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at Crystal Mountain exceeded our expectations and was a dream come true. The staff, atmosphere, food, drinks, and all amenities were beyond amazing. Dave and I are truly blessed and are still in awe of our wonderful wedding at Crystal. We heard so many times from guests that this was the best wedding they have ever been to.

    Sent on 10/02/2017
  • User2154396 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Crystal Mountain was the perfect place to have our wedding reception! All of our guests stayed in the Mountain Top homes and we able to hang out by the pool the morning of the wedding. Our reception was held in the Northwest Territories ballroom which worked out perfectly having access to the hallway for our cocktail reception, the outdoor patio and the ballroom. There was more than enough space for all 170 guests. Crystal Mountain was extremely helpful and understanding with our ethnic requests and decorating for our event. I would highly recommend Crystal Mountain resort.

    Sent on 08/01/2012
  • A

    Andrea P. · Married on 03/10/2021

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely Amazing Experience

    We had an amazing experience with Crystal Mountain for our daughter and son-in-law's wedding festivities! The day and evening couldn't have been any better. Crystal Mountain was very flexible and their team is truly professional. They were very prompt and patient in answering all of our questions for the entire year leading up to the big weekend. The details and time everyone put into everything made it truly memorable and perfect! We heard so many positive comments about the venue and the beauty of Crystal Mountain from our guests as well.

    Sent on 10/27/2019
  • Kristin

    Kristin C. · Married on 02/27/2021

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible Winter COVID Wedding

    My husband and I had originally planned a large wedding where we live in the Kalamazoo area for Feb 2021. We were forced to change our plans due to COVID-19 and the restrictions in the state on gatherings during this time. I reached out to Crystal Mountain to see what kind of options they could offer and Carmen one of the Sales/Event Managers was amazing with offering us multiple options to still have our wedding. We were married outside in the Rose Garden and we were able to rent a home on the property where we hosted our intimate reception(14 people) in the walkout basement. The banquet staff delivered everything we needed to the house and we made it beautiful. I honestly cannot say enough good things about our experience, the food was incredible and the service from the resort was even better. Stephanie and Carmen went above and beyond to make sure our wedding was special even with the current circumstances.

    Sent on 03/10/2021
  • Megan

    Megan C. · Married on 10/10/2020

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gorgeous Outdoor Venue

    This was the most beautiful venue for an outdoor wedding. We were so lucky to fall on the peak color weekend and had the most exquisite colors and views. The mountain top was a beautiful place to get married and the tent allowed us to enjoy a reception outside in the fresh air and under the stars.

    Sent on 06/02/2021
  • Nan

    Nan P. · Married on 09/21/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely Stunning

    We chose an intimate wedding and family dinner at Crystal Mountain for our not-quite-elopement, and it delivered big time on experience. All of our family members stayed within walking distance to each other and nearly all of Crystal's major amenities, dinner at the Thistle was phenomenal, and the Art Park was the perfect place to share our vows. The grounds were absolutely STUNNING in September, and getting married in the "shoulder season" delivered a quiet resort and the perfect backdrop for the blending of two families. Crystal was already a special place for us, but this will hands-down be our favorite experience for many years to come!

    Sent on 09/26/2019
  • A

    Amanda B. · Married on 08/03/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dream Wedding at Crystal Mtn

    Heather, Carmen, and the entire Crystal Mountain team were fully invested throughout the entire wedding planning process. Heather was extremely organized before the event, communicated clearly and promptly, and took our wishes into consideration, including personal touches, such as custom drink requests and appetizer options. The venue was beautiful, the food was delicious, and the service was outstanding. We would absolutely recommend Crystal Mountain in a heartbeat. Crystal Mountain allowed us to have our dream wedding!

    Sent on 08/08/2019
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 06/17/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything was fantastic for our wedding this October at Crystal Mountain. Stephanie and Carmen were always readily available during the planning process. It was such a relief to have someone with experience. During the day of the wedding Carmen and Stephanie were extremely helpful and resourceful. Our wedding went extremely smooth without a single hiccup. Friends and family are still saying how convenient and fun the wedding was. The food was fantastic and the convenience of everything was wonderful. If we were to do it over, we would not change a single thing. We both had more fun than what we expected and were able to enjoy the day with our closest friends and family.

    Sent on 10/28/2017
  • C

    Callie · Married on 12/16/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Crystal Mountain Resort was the perfect venue for my daughter's wedding. The entire staff, from guest registration to dining help made us feel special! So glad we made this choice!

    Sent on 12/24/2016
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 10/21/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely gorgeous wedding and reception. We also had our rehearsal dinner at a restaurant at the resort. We have had so many guests raving about how beautiful and fun our wedding was. Stephanie and Carmen were both extremely responsive and helpful! Our wedding was exactly what we wanted and we were able to make it extremely personalized to us. Would definitely recommend! The food was delicious! The only issue that we had was that there are a set number of rooms available for a one-night stay at the resort. There are numerous other places available for lodging in the area, though.

    Sent on 10/04/2017
  • G

    Gwen · Married on 10/08/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First of all, the resort is gorgeous!!! What is better than a quiet location with fun activities here and there?! I wish we could have spent a week at Crystal before our wedding, we just didn't have the time. The prices are a little higher than a typical venue, but it is really nice to not worry about providing silverware, glasses, China, linens or anything like that. It's all pretty much inclusive and that was a huge weight lifted. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed our wedding and reception very much. We were married at the Michigan Legacy Art Park and our reception was held at the Hudson Bay room and the settings for both....gorgeous. We really cannot recommend it more. They bent over backwards for us and we're so nice. Thank you, Crystal Mountain for making our wedding so memorable!

    Sent on 11/30/2016
  • User6131376 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I took one look at Crystal Mountain and fell in love. We immediately booked. Luckily, it turned out to be a good impulsive decision. Everything is so beautiful at Crystal Mountain. The space where we held our reception was intimate and warm (Hudson Bay) and the Mountain Top Deck where we held our ceremony was awesome. Guests get to ride up on a ski lift and the views are spectacular.

    Crystal Mountain's staff was very accommodating and helpful every step of the way. They make you feel like your wedding is important. We were very grateful for our event coordinator, Anna- who kept things running smoothly. She was very considerate and took our suggestions. She even helped us pick menu options.

    Crystal Mountain is very affordable for a wedding. We had such a great experience there- as did our guests. The lodging was top notch, the food and activities on property were top notch.

    Very happy! Thank you Crystal Mountain!

    Sent on 10/06/2016
  • User2206018 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding on July 1st was absolutely beautiful and seamlessly executed by the thoughtful and attentive staff at Crystal Mountain. Our expectations were exceeded in every way, from the amazing service staff to the tiny details in decor and food, and especially for all the help in planning the big day. Our guests had great things to say as well for the service they received throughout their stays.

    Our wedding ceremony was on the mountain top and the reception was under the lodge pavillion tent. I would guess that each of the possible venues are beautiful, but would highly recommend these for an outdoor wedding.

    Sent on 07/30/2012
  • L

    Sarah · Married on 09/08/2007

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Crystal Mountain is the perfect spot to get married! Whether its in the spring summer fall or winter! We got married outside, on top of one of the mountains, and had our reception in the Hudson Bay Room. They also did the catering, and the food was perfect! I highly recommend the Great Lakes Buffet. Everyone that we worked with was friendly and very helpful.. Its a nice a weekend wedding spot because they offer plenty of places to stay from regular hotel rooms to rental town house type places. The highlight of our day was how our guests got to the top of the mountain, by using the ski lift. I am still getting positive comments about that. It was very different, unique, and fun!

    Sent on 02/28/2008
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 05/20/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking for everything to do done in one location this is the place to do it. My Husband and I did not worry about a thing the day of our wedding. Everything was done from getting checked into our room to the transportation around the mountain for pictures. They were also every helpful when it came to the planning and the last minute things that came up. It really felt like we were the only people there that day and everyone was there to help no matter what their role was.

    Sent on 06/04/2017
  • User3329053 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We planned most of our wedding from anywhere from 200 miles away to 2000+ miles away. Julie, Chelsey, and Corrina were wonderful and the entire day went off without a hitch! I would highly recommend this place as a get away for your wedding, anniversary, or just a weekend trip.

    Sent on 10/09/2013
  • D

    Diane · Married on 10/06/2018

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff and the setting were wonderful as was the food and service. About the only issue we had was with the housing, primarily the difficulty of getting into rooms ahead of the ceremony. Check in is at 5pm and the ceremony was at 4pm followed by the reception. It made it difficult for our guests and especially people in the wedding party to check in without booking two nights stay. However the wedding coordinators were tremendous and the Art Park and NW Territories Ballroom were stunning.

    Sent on 10/14/2018
  • D

    Dana · Married on 09/03/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an absolutely spectacular wedding at Crystal Mountain. Stephanie was easy to work with and very helpful. The ceremony venue was breath taking and everything about the weekend was amazing. Our guests all raved about the venue and the wedding. Only complaint is that we had a few hiccups related to lodging but they were minor and it all worked out in the end. I highly recommend Crystal Mountain!

    Sent on 09/25/2017
  • User4931141 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had been wanting to get married at Crystal Mountain for years and when the time came, it didn't disappoint. Megan was with me through the entire planning process (during which I was in my first year of law school and completely scatterbrained) and was great at keeping me on task as well as answering all the random requests and questions I threw at her. They also think about the little things—like at the last minute offering water to our guests on a 90+ degree day—and were great about accommodating specific requests to make our day perfect. We had a great time and our guests loved the venue!

    Sent on 09/27/2015

    Crystal Mountain Resort's reply:

    Thank you for your thoughtful review. We appreciate it so much!
  • J

    Jim A. · Married on 07/20/2019

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful wedding weekend

    We just celebrated our son's wedding this past weekend. A truly wonderful experience, from the spa services, the golf course, and of course the reception. It so happened that we had planned an outdoor ceremony and when mother nature unleashed her temper and the rains fell, the staff quickly reorganized and moved the ceremony indoors. The reception was seamless, we enjoyed every moment of our time. Thank You for making this the wedding that the bride and groom envisioned that it would be.

    Sent on 07/23/2019
  • Jessi

    Jessi · Married on 10/17/2015

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Service

    Carmen and Theresa did their absolute best for us. Always responsive to phone calls and accommodating our schedule. Unfortunately we had to cancel our ceremony with them due to COVID-19. They made the process easy as it could have been.

    Sent on 08/05/2020
  • C

    Carly · Married on 10/11/2014

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our reception and Crystal Mountain and the venue was beautiful! The food was great (all our guests said it was some of the best wedding food they had ever had) and the staff was friendly. Where we ran into some frustrations in a few, albeit small, areas: 1) The room was supposed to be ready at 2pm the day before for setup, it wasn't ready until 4:30pm, making setup incredibly difficult. Crystal has a "decorating" service where you can pay their staff to do decorations for you, and encourage you to use it, for a fee of course 2) The banquet staff giving vegetarian guests non-vegetarian meals, and weren't able to "switch them back".

    Overall, we would recommend Crystal as wedding/reception venue, but with caveats. Know what you are getting into before you sign the contract - if you are a DIY couple, interested in saving money, this place probably isn't for you, as they find a way to charge you for every little thing, but that being said, they really do a lot of the work for you, and minimize the number of vendors that are necessary to keep in line.

    Sent on 12/25/2014

    Crystal Mountain Resort's reply:

    Dear Carly & Thad - Thank you for taking the time to write this review and provide constructive feedback. We are always striving to improve our services and communication, so we genuinely value your insight to help us with this process. Thank you for your kind words about our beautiful venue – coupled with you as a glowing bride and your handsome groom by your side, we are sure that your wedding pictures will be a centerpiece of conversation for years to come! As we mentioned before, we are always looking to improve and because of the multitude of events we can have in one room in a day, we like to offer our services for decorating, as it is one less thing for our client to worry about – that day should be stress free! But, as you were a beneficiary of, we do our best to get our brides in the reception location the day before the event for decorating purposes. Often times, the reception location is only available the afternoon of the event. We apologize there was a communication error about what time you could access this location, we definitely did not intend to cause any undue stress. We also pride ourselves on our abilities to provide food options for guests with special dietary requests – from vegetarians, to vegans, gluten free guests, and any other special allergies. We are working with our staff to understand our culinary capabilities and be able to share that information with our guests, as we would never ask a guest to eat something that was out of the guidelines of their dietary restrictions. Our wedding team at Crystal does their best to give clients and prospective clients as much knowledge about what we offer, so there is nothing hidden or unexpected by the time the big day arrives. As I mentioned, we are always trying to better serve our clients and your feedback is invaluable. So, we truly thank you for your time and insight. Thanks again… We hope you had a wonderful holiday season – the first as Mr. & Mrs. Wilson!
  • D

    Diana · Married on 06/30/2018

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The atmosphere was great. Our guests really loved the location of the ceremony and the reception.

    Sent on 07/10/2018
  • A

    Anna · Married on 05/13/2017

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding coordinator & planner were amazing!!! Food & beverage was definitely over priced, especially knowing what beers were bought by vendors from. Definitely willing to bargain though on prices & all in all, at the end of the day, our wedding was absolutely perfect!

    Sent on 05/21/2017