35 Reviews for Cryin' Out Loud

5.0
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Cocktail Hour (5)
Reception (5)
Music During Breaks (5)
Lighting (5)
Microphones (5)
Sound/PA System (5)
MC (4)
Vocals (4)
Learning New Songs (3)
Ceremony (2)
Instrumentals (2)
34 Cryin' Out Loud Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

One of our top priorities in wedding planning was creating a dance floor that our guests wouldn't want to leave. Cryin' Out Loud did just that! Working with Gregg was great from Day 1. The band learned our requested song and crushed it, provided the energy that we knew could never be replicated by a DJ or even a different band, and they play so many hit songs and wedding classics so well that everyone is singing along the whole night. After the wedding, we were bombarded with comments by our guests about how much they loved Cryin' Out Loud. We could not have asked for a better band at our wedding; we can't stop re-playing the dance floor in our heads. You cannot go wrong by choosing this great group!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Meaghan, 4/14/18, 4 Reviews
Category: Band
5.0

Throughout the planning process, Cryin' Out Loud was responsive, professional, and very flexible. They helped us to be organized and all ready to go for the big day. In terms of performance, to quote the staff at our venue, Cryin' Out Loud was "the best band they heard all season." The band is so talented - they were fun and kept people on the dance floor all night! Gregg was also attentive to the bride and groom throughout the night, checking in and making sure that we were happy with how the night was going. I would highly recommend this band to anyone!

Profile Picture Erin, 10/28/17, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0


If you’re considering hiring Crying Out Loud for your wedding or another function, stop considering and sign the contract! They performed at our wedding and absolutely killed it! With both male and female lead singers, and band members that have been together for close to 18yrs, they have a song library that can meet any functions’ needs. They surprised us with their range of music, playing rock, pop and even some old rap favorites. During their sets everyone was up dancing, smiling and having a great time. Additionally, they were professional to work with, listening to what we wanted and arriving with plenty of time to set-up. They even stepped-up and provided acoustical music for our ceremony, which wasn’t in the original contract, but added within one week of the event. Crying Out Loud made helped make our wedding one of the happiest days of our lives.

Profile Picture Sarah, 9/23/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Band
4.7

Cryin out loud is without a doubt an incredible wedding band. They are very easy to work with and work with you every step of the way to ensure the reception is perfect! Gregg was able to incorporate songs which they did not play seamlessly into the reception. The band rocked and everyone was up and dancing the entire reception! My one criticism is that they do pause after almost every song they play so there is down time between songs- would have preferred they tie songs together to limit downtime. Other than that they were everything we were looking for and more! Most definitely would highly recommended them as a wedding band. My husband says "their bassist rocked".

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Kimberly, 9/9/17, 1 Review
Category: Band
Services Used: Cocktail Hour, Music During Breaks, Reception, Lighting, Microphones, Sound/PA System
5.0

If you're considering a band for your wedding, just stop looking and hire Cryin' Out Loud. They played my sister's wedding in October 2016 and my fiancé (now wife) and I knew immediately we had to have them play our reception as well. These guys, and girl, brought the house down, the dance floor was constantly packed during all their sets. Gregg Simmons is there band leader and is incredibly professional, nice, and accommodating, he tended to all of our needs. The band is super interactive with the crowd, allowing party goers to sing or play along with them, which I thought was a quality that everyone appreciated.

The talent these musicians possess is quite evident in the wide variety of songs they play, just about every genre you can think of is no problem for them. For us, having a horn section was a must, and these horn players are top notch and add so much to their sound. Danielle, the lead singer, can really wail! Really incredible voice. I asked the band to learn a song for me that was probably a semi unusual request (Cake - Love you madly), and they absolutely knocked it out of the park and solidified my feelings about how great they are.

Cryin' Out Loud is a tremendous value. I've seen a lot of bands at other weddings and none can touch these guys. Just about everyone we have spoken to since the conclusion of the festivities has made it a point to praise them. We can't recommend Gregg and his crew enough and we're already looking for another excuse to book them again. Many thanks Gregg, you guys are THE reason we had such a killer reception \m/

Profile Picture John, 7/8/17, 1 Review
Category: Band
Services Used: Lighting, Microphones, Sound/PA System, Cocktail Hour, Learning New Songs, MC, Music During Breaks, Reception, Vocals
5.0

They made the party! People are still commenting days later how much they enjoyed the music. Gregg was a pleasure to work with; responsive, detail-oriented, and yet always assured me that our day would be the best ever. He fully delivered! I would recommend to anyone!

Profile Picture Thomas, 4/14/17, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0

Book them immediately!!

We could not be any happier with our decision to book Cryin' Out Loud. Greg was flexible and able to meet with us to go over the venue logistics beforehand and the entire band killed it the night of. They were so engaging with the crowd that the dance floor was packed all night. If you want your reception to be a party that no one wants to end, book Cryin' Out Loud!!

Profile Picture John, 9/10/16, 4 Reviews
Category: Band
Services Used: Lighting, Microphones, Sound/PA System, Ceremony, Cocktail Hour, Instrumentals, Learning New Songs, MC, Music During Breaks, Reception, Vocals
5.0

Don't even think twice... Book this band before someone else does!

Profile Picture Brian, 8/6/16, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0

From the moment our daughter heard Crying Out Loud play at her college roommate’s wedding – she knew they were the group that she wanted to play at her wedding someday. Fast forward to July 16, 2016 when Gregg and the band brought their great sound and non-stop energy to our daughter and son-in-law’s wedding at the LakeWatch Inn in Ithaca NY. Everyone enjoyed their music from the Millennials and Baby Boomers to the Greatest Generation; people were up and dancing all night – which is exactly what the bride and groom wanted.
COL played a great mix of special requests, country, rock, R&B, Pop and Top 20. Their vocals were strong, the harmony was great and they produced a beautifully layered sound with a strong brass section (sax, trumpet and trombone), guitars and rhythm/drums.
Friends, family and the manager of the wedding venue raved about them all night.

Profile Picture User7049056, 1+ year ago, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0

Cryin' out loud is the absolute BEST choice that we made for our wedding!!!! Gregg was incredibly responsive and helpful throughout the whole process and was very professional and fun to work with. We gave them a list of songs (especially our first dance song) that they took the time to learn and it was performed so beautifully! We had asked to make the song a little less country and they were able to remix the song so perfectly and Danielle sang the vocals and she nailed it! Almost every guest was on the dance floor ALL night and they rocked the party! They surprised us and offered to have the whole band play live for our cocktail hour and it made the time so special. Gregg was so interactive with the guests and was a pro at MCing :) They even offered to stay later and play but unfortunately our venue had a time limit. They literally were beyond what we had expected and we were so happy that we went through with having them play at our wedding. Friends and family were raving all night and still today about how great they were and we really appreciated all their professionalism and talent :) Thank you Cryin' out loud!

Profile Picture User6956504, 1+ year ago, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0

Cryin' Out Loud had the dance floor packed all night at our wedding. They played a great mix of classic hits and new songs that people of all ages really enjoyed. The quality of the performance was top notch, Gregg and the rest of the band were very friendly and professional and we couldn't be happier with how everything turned out. They also coordinated a string duo for the ceremony and cocktail hour that were fantastic as well. Highly recommended!

Profile Picture JAY, 6/17/16, 1 Review
Category: Band
Services Used: Lighting, Microphones, Sound/PA System, Ceremony, Cocktail Hour, Learning New Songs, MC, Music During Breaks, Reception, Vocals
5.0

The difference between a dj and a band is HUGE and absolutely worth the extra cash! The band did a great job with the names and order of the bridal party, played amazing dance music that had my guests on the dance floor all night and the new singer Danielle had amazing vocals! The more I talk to my guests in the days after the more I hear about how fabulous everyone thinks they were! I would hire them again in a heartbeat! Thanks for making our wedding a night to remember by all!

Profile Picture Jessica , 6/4/16, 4 Reviews
Category: Band
Services Used: Cocktail Hour, Instrumentals, MC, Music During Breaks, Reception, Vocals, Lighting, Microphones, Sound/PA System
This review is currently being verified.
5.0

Cryin Out Loud played at our wedding in the Adirondacks this past weekend and were the best, most fun, entertaining, energetic band we have ever heard! They got every single guest off their feet and dancing, singing, jumping..... I cannot recommend them more!!! They made our wedding and every guest raved about them!

Profile Picture Caroline, 5/21/16, 2 Reviews
Category: Band
5.0

Great band, they were there every step of the way to make the process very easy. We had a blast and our guests are still raving about how amazing they were. Hands down if you decide to have a live band Cryin' Out Loud should be your choice.

Profile Picture Thalis, 10/3/15, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0

I can't express enough how GREAT this band is. We had an outdoor wedding under a huge tent on our property. Gregg and his band mates were kind, classy and professional. The dance floor was rocking with guests dancing their hearts out! We extended the contract for the band until everyone was all tuckered out. If I could give Cryin Out Loud TEN STARS if I could! Heartfelt thanks to each and every member of "Cryin Out Loud"! Continued success y'all!

Profile Picture Joan, 6/20/15, 2 Reviews
Category: Band
5.0

Cryin' Out Loud did an AMAZING job at our wedding and Gregg was just wonderful to work with. The band never played at our wedding venue before so Gregg took the time to meet us there to go over all the particulars. The band took care of setting up a wonderful selection of pre-ceremony music that was played when guests arrived, arranged live music for our ceremony, performed wedding announcements, and so much more. They played our first dance song beautifully and learned our favorite song just for our wedding! The guests simply loved them. The entire band was friendly, courteous and of course extremely talented. And every person told me how much they just adored Kim. She is truly a gem.

When we were planning our wedding we were not sure if we should go with a DJ or spend the extra money on a live band. Well we definitely made the right decision by choosing to hire COL. Everyone from age 4 to 84 had a great time at our wedding and it is thanks to COL. Let me tell you, they are worth every penny!

Profile Picture Amanda , 6/13/15, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0

The Bride, Groom, Family and the Guest Loved the Band. They included our guest and made the night special for our Daughter and her new Husband. They are very talented and knocked it out of the park....

Profile Picture Yvette, 11/2/13, 2 Reviews
Category: Band
4.9

The band, Cryin’ Out Loud, was absolutely wonderful and a pleasure to have on our wedding day. They were beyond professional, respectful of our requests and more than accommodating while incorporating the details of our busy celebration schedule.
Their performance was outstanding, they got the crowd involved without being overbearing and “in your face.” They followed the play list and included the style of music that we liked. One aspect I enjoyed the most was while performing, they sang the songs to the original lyrics, rather than a “remix” style; they sounded amazing! I would definitely recommend them for any event in the future.

Profile Picture Heather, 9/14/13, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0

The band really worked with the crowd and made everyone part of the party. They especially made my son happy and involved him as well!

Profile Picture Matthew, 8/31/13, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0

When you book Cryin' Out Loud for your wedding, it is impossible to have an empty dance floor (that's one of the last things a bride/groom want during their reception). I've been to a lot of weddings, and I have never been to a wedding where the dance floor was more consistently filled--and not just with the twenty-somethings- with kids/grandmas, everyone was in on it. Cryin' Out Loud is highly talented in almost all genres- from country, rock, R&B, Pop, and you also get your Top 20 fill. It's not only music you get with this group, it's personality. Entertaining is an understatement. We had so many people coming up to us during the wedding praising us for our choice. Not only that, but they make life easy for you on your wedding day by taking care of the little things you may not even have thought of. As our announcer, Kim did a great job leading us through the different phases of the reception, and Gregg also handled the ceremony music exactly how we had planned. They were also flexible enough to allow me to play a song along with the band on guitar. The entertainment is a huge part of your wedding, don't make a mistake and pass on COL!

Profile Picture Andrew, 6/7/13, 1 Review
Category: Band, Ceremony Music, Entertainer
5.0

Cryin' Out Loud is, hands down, the best wedding band/value in New York. Once you hear Kim's voice, you are not going to want any other band for your special day. For us, they were by far the highlight of our wedding. Once the music started, the guests never stopped dancing (and for a Sunday wedding that is pretty impressive). Gregg was always quick to respond when we contacted him and made navigating through the day super easy. They entire band was professional and extremely friendly, making the day stress free and enjoyable for everyone. I couldn't imagine our wedding day without them. All of our guests are still raving about how amazing they were and how unique they made our wedding.

Profile Picture Casey, 5/19/13, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0

COL did a fantastic job performing at our wedding. Gregg and crew are easy to work with, professional, and VERY talented. At our wedding, the band arranged some classic string pieces for an outdoor ceremony, played some lighter tunes during the cocktail hour and then got the party started after dinner. Also, COL handled all introductions and announcements and any songs played via MP3 for special dances. All in all you cannot beat the number of different band pieces and variety of music.

Thank you COL!

Profile Picture Jeff, 5/11/13, 3 Reviews
Category: Band
5.0

Very professional and a pleasure to work with.

Profile Picture Drew, 10/6/12, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0

The band was great. They got everyone up and dancing right away. They also played a variety of music that everyone could dance to.

Profile Picture Elizabeth, 9/15/12, 1 Review
Category: Band