Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove Reviews

12 | Glen Ellyn, IL
See photos, pricing and details

12 Reviews for Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove

Recommended by 85% of couples

4.2 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.3
  • Professionalism 4.2
  • Flexibility 4.2
  • Value 4.4
  • Average response time 4.1

Awards

12
Order by:
  • Bailey

    Bailey · Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married at Danada House in Wheaton, so we decided to use the Crowne Plaza for our hotel block. We were extremely happy with our experience here.

    Katie Smith, their Catering Sales Manager, was a pleasure to work with. She was extremely friendly and helpful throughout the entire process. This hotel also offered us the most benefits for booking with them and did not have many contingencies which we appreciated.

    Some of the perks for weddings include:
    -Their bridal suite is fantastic! It's super cute for photos. Although it is decorated in all blue with blue couches, it is definitely better than your typical hotel room background. Plus the rate for all of their rooms was the same or cheaper than all other hotels in the area, so to have this awesome bridal suite at a very affordable rate was more than I could ask for!
    -They also have a grooms suite which is just as big as the bridal suite but not as cute/girly. It is perfect for the guys getting ready or if you just need another large suite.
    -All the rooms were clean and had a nice set up. They also had light blocking curtains which is a huge deal for me, as well as refrigerators. All the rooms seemed to be updated and modernized.
    -The pool area is really nice and big. This is great if you have any kids that want to swim or even time yourself to swim.
    -They give you 1 free shuttle round trip for every 10 rooms booked. This is more generous than some of the other hotels in the area.
    -If you provide welcome bags, they will hand them out to your guests.
    -If you book 10 rooms they will provide a standard room to the bride and groom complimentary and if you book 20 rooms they will upgrade that complimentary room to the suite.
    -The lobby area is very open, clean, and welcoming. It looks like a nicer high end hotel.
    -They have a restaurant attached (Glen Prairie Restaurant) which can do private after parties.
    -They also offer breakfast for guests for an additional $10 per person.

    Sent on 08/06/2018
  • C

    C · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough good things about our daughter's wedding reception at the Crown Plaza. We went with the Gold package and it was perfect. The food is superb, the service excellent and the accommodations wonderful. I highly recommend it to others!

    Sent on 10/04/2016

    Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove's reply:

    Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so grateful you let us be a part of your special day. Please visit us again soon!
  • T

    Tina · event on: 12/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our Holiday Celebration and craft show in the Plains Ballroom. Frank and Joyce worked together to give us a wonderful space to create our show in. Our questions were always answered immediately, our requests were always filled promptly. The staff was wonderful and very kind to all of our guests for the show. Beyond the excellent service, the Hotel itself is beautifully decorated and the restaurant had delicious food! We definitely recommend this space!

    Sent on 12/08/2015
  • R

    Ryan · Married on 09/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wedding in nearby Elmhurst and used the Crowne Plaza for our guests based on a recommendation of our venue planners.

    The hotel was great and the rooms are nice. Hotel is an excellent value. Having a quality restaurant in the hotel was a big plus as well.

    Sales was easy to work with, on point, and informative

    Sent on 10/11/2012
  • G

    Gianna · Married on 06/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kyra was a rockstar! We always got prompt feedback...and no question was too stupid! The after hours were great...the food was delicious!!!

    Sent on 06/19/2012
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 05/05/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had both our wedding ceremony and reception at the Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove. Everything was absolutely perfect from the clean and spacious rooms down to the beautiful lobby and pool area. Every one of my guests raved about the venue and their rooms and how great everything was.

    The staff was wonderfully accomodating and offering any help I needed. We didn't have to worry about a thing because we were in the very capable hands of Kyra Poulos our wedding sales manager and Migdalia Melendez the banquet manager and their crew.

    Everything ran smoothly and I can't think of one thing that went wrong. The guest rooms were clean and we slept well on the very comfortable mattress.

    I recommend everyone to give the Crowne a try and you will not be disappointed.

    Make sure and check out the restaurant on site, Glen Prairie. The food is amazing and every item on the menu is worth a try. The staff of the restaurant are attentive and helpful and willing to help with anything.

    Sent on 05/18/2012
  • N

    Nicole · event on: 05/31/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Decided to give my husband a surprise birthday party on Tuesday and they were able to accommodate a party for Saturday of the same week!

    The food was served promptly throughout the evening and the room decor was the perfect setting to the party. Guests enjoyed the picture slide just outside the room.

    Sent on 06/02/2014
  • C

    Christine · Married on 07/16/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Really a great place for a wedding, the staff wasn't perfect and there were a couple hiccups but overall I was really happy and my day went smooth. The locations for photos are beautiful and the food was fresh and great. Expensive but I think it's worth the price. They were flexible and willing to meet when I needed so that's something I appreciate

    Sent on 08/08/2016
  • A

    Anna · Married on 07/09/2011

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Both my husband and I were very pleased OVERALL with our reception at Glen Ellyn's Crowne Plaza. We were definitely treated well by all the staff; we thoroughly enjoyed Chef Danny's food; & all elements of the reception came together perfectly for the wedding night of our dreams. Our bridal suite was perfect, too. Our only real complaint is with one specific person: the new catering/special event manager, Kyra Poulos. She was incredibly slow to respond to any sort of correspondence: e-mails, calls, and even visits. The first write-up she did with all the elements of the contract was horrific and littered with CRUCIAL mistakes. Kyra is a nice person who ultimately does get the job done, but only after being pestered to do so. We had to constantly check on the details in order to ensure things were going to run smoothly on "the big night." We wouldn't change our decision to have the reception there for anything...it was a great decision...we just wish that all items leading up to the big day had been handled with more care. The rest of the staff more than made up for the shortcomings of this 1 person; they were absolutely delightful & SO accommodating. (P.S. Even though we know the head waiter wrapped & boxed up the top tier of our wedding cake, it never made it into our possession & there was very little apology given by the event manager for this major oversight.)

    Sent on 08/08/2011
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 06/02/2012

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Our wedding was gorgeous at the Crowne Plaza. The day of the wedding a almost perfect and I love how everything turned out! The only little problems I had with the hotel is that they really give you a sales pitch while looking at the place. We were told several things that were included in packages, but in our contract everything was an add on for pricing. Just seemed their customer service lacked a little once they got your money. Customer service was good, but not anything stellar.

    Sent on 06/15/2012
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 06/19/2010

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    The building was perfect for our needs, close to the ceremony site and allowed accommodations for guests. The basement ballroom was great, we loved the privacy it allowed.

    During the Planning Stages, Kyra was very helpful, but unfortunately her colleague Annalise was not. My Husband and I were not happy with Annalise's unprofessional attitude and handling of our reception. If using the Crowne Plaza I would suggest to work with Kyra.

    Sent on 05/27/2012
  • J

    Julie · Married on 10/08/2011

    0.8
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    We had a great experience with the Crowne Plaza, until the week of the wedding. Our original room flooded the Wednesday before our Saturday wedding and we had to be moved to another room. There was nothing that could be done about the flooding, but it was the hotel's reaction to the flooding that was very disappointing.

    We were told from the beginning that there would be compensation for the change. First we were told that we would be given extra appetizers, desserts and a late night snack totaling over $1000. When we said that we felt the offer did not match what we were looking for, especially considering we could have ordered these foods from the beginning if we had wanted them, we were asked what we were looking for. We were also told that the management "did not want to over- or underwhelm us", which led us to believe that they were interested in working with us to rectify the situation.

    I was then called one hour before our ceremony to be told that because of discounts we had already been given (based on negotiations made in December of 2010 which had nothing to do with the change in venue) we would be given nothing further. At the reception itself we were less than enthused with the extra food that we were given; we were later told it was worth less than $600, and when we went to the hotel bar after the reception, there were other hotel guests there eating and drinking. Considering we paid for the bartender to be there and the food was the hotel's "gift" to us, we were surprised to see people in the bar who were completely unrelated to our wedding party.

    I feel like the Crowne Plaza took advantage of the fact that my husband and I were calm and understanding about the situation. We were told from the beginning that the change in venue would be made up to us, and the hotel chose to do nothing. I would be careful about choosing a wedding reception venue that does not keep its word.

    Sent on 12/30/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review