Creative Bridal Needlework by Estee Reviews

27 | Gaithersburg, MD
See photos, pricing and details

27 Reviews for Creative Bridal Needlework by Estee

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

27
Order by:
  • Kara

    Kara · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I first found Estee because she was one of the preferred seamstresses when I purchased my dress from BHLDN.

    My dress was lace with a keyhole back. I needed, over three fittings, to have the dress hemmed; taken in at the chest, waist, and back—especially around the keyhole; and cups (which I provided) sewn in. The dress fit perfectly once she was done with it. The total came to $230, which I thought was a steal for this area. Estee also steamed the dress once the alterations were complete.

    She does seem to book relatively far in advance and the latest evening appointments I could get started at 5 PM, so I would recommend reaching out to her sooner rather than later to see if she'll work with you and your schedule. All in all Estee was great though, and I would recommend her to any bride in the DMV area.

    Sent on 07/08/2017
  • User5036514 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Estee is amazing and so affordable!!! I highly recommend her

    Sent on 10/04/2015
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Estee was amazing! She is so sweet and makes the alterations process stress-free. I had an unusual side-swept ruched dress and she put in a creative bustle that worked with the lines of my dress. She works from her home and is a total professional. She is so popular by word-of-mouth that she is now focusing on wedding gowns only. Her rates are so affordable - the drive to Gaithersburg is MORE than worth it! Thank you, Estee!

    Sent on 09/24/2013
  • H

    Hosai · Married on 08/31/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Estee did my dress alteration for my wedding.
    My dress was lace and satin and very difficult to work with. Estee did an amazing job.

    Sent on 09/03/2013
  • N

    Nikki · Married on 05/25/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Estee is so sweet and very talented! She made my dress perfect and did so quickly and efficiently. She has a $200 cap, which was great for the budget. Just great work, and I highly recommend her!

    Sent on 05/31/2013
  • C

    Jenny · Married on 10/29/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Such a pleasant person to work with! She did a great job with alterations on my dress. It looked beautiful and fit like a glove! She met with me several times to ensure the perfect fit. She made my bustle as well and it was just gorgeous! Couldn't ask for anyone better!

    Sent on 11/16/2011
  • R

    Rabie · Married on 09/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    OMG! my wedding planner found this lady for me. I got my dress from Filene's so I know I need to get dome work done to it. she did an awesome job, she shortened the dress, and bring out all the tiny little details that I didn't even know the dress has when I got it. I cannot recommend Estee any higher. She was excellent to work with from beginning to end.

    Sent on 09/20/2011
  • T

    T · Married on 11/21/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Estee is amazing! I highly recommend her for any alterations. She did a fantastic job on my wedding dress, and for a reasonable price! She also made my veil which was beautiful. I had a fairly religious wedding and needed a jacket to go over my strapless dress for the ceremony. I couldn't wear a traditional bolero as I wanted to cover all the way up to my collarbone, so the jacket could not be open in the front. Estee designed a jacket that closed in the back and went so perfectly with the dress! She is very professional and a pleasure to work with!

    Sent on 11/25/2010
  • Marian

    Marian · Married on 10/09/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Estee works out of her house which allows her to keep costs down. She's the best and puts a cap on what she charges. (I think the max is $250, but I read that awhile ago, so it may be higher). But she only charged me $170 and I loved her work! The only problem I had was for my 2nd fitting she accidently wrote me down on the next day, so my dress hadn’t been worked on at all. (When you schedule an appointment, just make sure she wrote it on the correct day in her book :-)

    Luckily, she didn’t have an appointment when I arrived and she was able to quickly go upstairs and baste my dress. When I came back for my 3rd fitting, it was perfect. My dress was a portrait neckline (it needed to be right on the edge of the shoulder). She made it fit perfectly. I used a little fashion tape, just in case, and didn’t have any problems.

    One thing to keep in mind—since she works out of her home, you might have to wait in the same room while a bride is being fitted. I can be a bit awkward just sitting there, so bring something to read.

    I highly, highly, highly recommend Estee!!

    Sent on 01/20/2011
  • B

    Becky · Married on 06/13/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot recommend Estee any higher. She was excellent to work with from beginning to end. Estee was always very accommodating to my schedule - allowing me to come in for my fittings on weekends and evenings. My dress needed a lot of detailed work: shortened, taken out at the waste, in at the chest, re-beaded, cups put in, and some other small details. Estee did an impeccable job on all of these things - and only charged me half of what the first person I took it to quoted me. She is a very nice lady and extremely pleasant to work with. I very highly recommend her! As an added note, Estee also offered to make me a veil to match my dress - she only charged $35 for it, much less than what I'd seen in the stores.

    Sent on 07/01/2010
  • N+N 5.15.10 Wedding

    Nophar · Married on 05/15/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMAZING! Estee shortened my dress and took in the waist of my dress. The top layer of my dress was lace, so she made sure to shorten the lace by folding it over and stitching it all up perfectly! She had patience and saw me 3 times. And she is the sweetest most friendly woman! AMAZING woman and seamstress, and for the perfect price!

    Sent on 07/28/2010
  • E

    Pamela · Married on 11/01/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If I could give more stars for Value for Cost, I would! I ended up needing far more alterations on my dress than I expected and Estee worked with me to get everything done in time and within my budget. She was amazing to work with!

    Sent on 11/17/2009
  • A

    Adrian · Married on 10/18/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I decided to take my wedding dress to Estee instead of back to the store where I got it because she had only rave reviews here on weddingwire and on the local Knot message board. She did not disappoint! She was able to take my very heavy fabric dress that the store ordered a size too big and made it look like it was made just for me. She shortened it, took it in a lot without changing the beading and ruching on my dress a bit, and added a bustle all for under $200 (she has a maximum fee of $185 for all alterations). The dress was perfect when she was done with it and exactly what I imagined it to look like. It doesn't hurt that Estee is so sweet and accommodating, too!

    Sent on 10/31/2009
  • S

    Shauna · Married on 10/11/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Estee is sweet, easy to work with and so talented! She added sleeves to my wedding dress and they actually became one of my favorite features of the dress! The dress also had a complicated hem and bustle which she handled beautifully. Loved her.

    Sent on 10/14/2009
  • 2d Bride

    2d · Married on 10/06/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We're a same-sex wedding, and Estee did the alterations on both of our dresses. She got both dresses to fit perfectly, attached both of our headbands to our veils so the veils wouldn't slip around, made a blusher veil for me, bustled both dresses, and steamed and pressed both dresses, all for $257. She was available when she said she would be, and always had things ready when she said she would. She is also just incredibly sweet and warm.

    Sent on 11/17/2009
  • D

    J · Married on 10/05/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This woman is a gem! Very kind, and an incredible seamstress. She took in my gown, which was a designer sample, hemmed it, made a five point bustle, added fabric to the crinoline/slip until it fit properly, and then designed a bolero and made a veil. She really listens to what you want and her skills are amazing - she could be working in one of the high end boutiques. Yes, it's hard to find where she is located, but I believe it's worth the drive. Prices were extremely reasonable for the quality of work produced.

    Sent on 10/27/2009
  • L

    Laura · Married on 10/04/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough wonderful things about Estee! She is so sweet, patient, and talented. She works out of her home (which can be difficult to find but so worth the search!), she is such an incredible seamstress and truly a kind person. My wedding dress was at least 2 sizes too big, and she reconstructed the entire dress so it fit me like a glove. She also made my veil and added a beautiful lace strap with beading onto my gown. She altered my dress, my mother's dress, and three of my bridesmaids and we were all incredibly happy with the results. We had a very small window to complete all of these alterations and she went out of her way to make sure they were done before the wedding. She has the best rates you will find anywhere ($40 for a custom veil!!) and some of the best talent. I plan to use her again for alterations in the future.

    Sent on 10/20/2009
  • E

    Erin · Married on 06/27/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Estee was a pleasure to work with and did a wonderful job! When searching for someone to alter my dress, I had difficulty finding reviews regarding lace wedding dresses. I decided to go to Estee because she had done a great job on the dress I wore to my sister's wedding and I had read nothing but good reviews on her work.

    My dress was a a narrow strapless gown made of lace with light beading. The size the store ordered was a bit big for me and I lost a few pounds before my first dress fitting. The dress barely stayed up and I was concerned about feeling like I had to pull it up on the day of my wedding. Estee had to take in a couple of inches around the waist. You couldn't even tell the lace had been taken in and she altered the dress in a way to flatter my figure. The dress felt snug and did not need any adjusting the day of. She offered several suggestions for my bustle and I was happy to decide on the french bustle after seeing her pin it up.

    I couldn't be happier with the results. I received so many compliments on my dress. My friends and family could not believe I got the dress at David's and many said it looked like a $4,000 gown. I wish I could wear the dress everyday.

    Estee's prices are very reasonable and I highly recommend her.

    Sent on 07/15/2009
  • carenr

    Caren · Married on 06/14/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Estee is amazing. I took a dress to her and she was in the process of fixing it and then I changed my mind..I then found a new dress and within only a few weeks she had it fixed for me. She is great at what she does and she is very professional. I am so happy that I found her and would suggest her very highly for anyone that is looking to get their dress fixed.

    Sent on 06/25/2009
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 05/24/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Estee was highly recommended by two of my friends who had used her for their wedding dress alterations. Her price is very reasonable and you have her undivided attention. She is a very kind lady and I completely trusted her with my dress. I had 3 fittings with her. On my last fitting, I noticed that the hem was a little off and she gladly fixed it for me until I was satisfied. I was happy with the end result. My bridesmaids also used her to alter their bridesmaid dress and she did a very good job. I'm a bridesmaid in a wedding this Fall and I'll definitely have Estee alter my dress.

    Sent on 07/16/2009
  • Z

    Jane · Married on 05/16/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    She is so amazing. The dress was perfect on me after she customized it to my body. I couldn't believe my eyes! There was a big problem with the dress bundling around my stomach but she was able to fix it and I was amazed.

    Sent on 11/01/2009
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 11/01/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone says that Estee is great and now I see why. She did a five-point bustle, took in the chest, altered the neckline, and steamed and pressed the dress (and veil)--all for $100. It only took one try and when I came back to try it on, it fit perfectly. She is really nice, too. And she has a maximum charge of under $200, so even if you have more complicated alterations than I did, you won't have to pay too much.

    Sent on 11/19/2008
  • T

    Yemisi · Married on 09/28/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Estee worked wonders with my dress! I wanted to use my friends veil and estee adjusted the veil for me at no additional cost (small tears and holes, and I wanted it shortened). She also made a foolproof bustle!

    Sent on 11/08/2008
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 05/25/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Estee is an independent wedding dress seamstress. She is professional, friendly, talented, and her prices are unbelievablely reasonable. I drove about 1 hour and 15 minutes each way (for 3 visits) from Virginia and the extra driving time was well worth it. My dress looked great!

    I bought my dress from http://www.sellyourweddingdress.com/ (I lucked out with a never-worn, never-altered dress of the exact Jim Hjelm design I wanted, in my size, at half the retail price.) Since I didn't purchase at a bridal shop, I couldn't find a bridal shop that would alter it. I also lucked out in finding Estee, through The Knot.

    My mother sews and when she look a look at the dress, she told me I needed to find a very experienced seamstress, as the entire stitching along the bust line would need to be taken out. (Something about there not being any seams?) After this conversation with my mom, I was concerned that my dress would be botched, until I heard about Estee and her fantastic reputation. I was very happy with Estee's work. She also adjusted the hem, put in a bustle, and steam pressed the dress. Also, Estee was incredibly nice and friendly. She works out of her home; you do feel at home when you're getting adjustments made :)

    I had a great experience working with Estee. Make sure you have alterations done well in advance, as she books quickly.

    Sent on 09/26/2008
  • V

    Vicky · Married on 07/31/2004

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alteration. Estee is very easy to work with and doesn't cost an arm and a leg. She has been working in this business for I think 15 years and worked previously at the bridal salon. I had 3 fittings with her to remove the straps, shorten the hem, take in the sides, and add a ton of boning to my dress. She did a fabulous job. She also steamed my dress before pickup and held it at her place until one week before the wedding.

    Sent on 01/15/2007