Cramer Photography Reviews

22 | Charlottesville, VA
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for Cramer Photography

Recommended by 100%

22
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • A

    Aryana · Married on 11/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot recommend Sarah enough! Not only is she an incredibly gifted photographer, but she is an absolute pleasure to work with. From the moment I reached out to her, she was incredibly warm and always responsive. We hired Sarah to take our engagement pictures, and at the last minute had to change the day due to weather concerns. She happily shifted her schedule to accommodate us (including shooting in two locations and taking some family shots with our parents at the end), and made the entire shoot a lot of fun. To my surprise, we never felt awkward at any point during the photo shoot because she expressed such genuine interest in us and our relationship, and gently guided us (she'd scouted out the best angles and spots in our desired locations beforehand) while keeping the conversation running to capture our natural selves. Her photos are truly breathtaking and skillfully capture the personality of the subjects. We received a bunch of previews the day after the photo shoot and received the full album two days later. We couldn't be happier or more grateful - THANK YOU, SARAH!

    Sent on 04/11/2018
  • A

    Anne · Married on 01/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    CRAMER PHOTOGRAPHY IS THE BEST! Upon meeting Sarah Cramer Shields, she started off by asking us how we met. We appreciated that she wanted to know us as a couple before discussing wedding day logistics.
    After our first meeting, we knew that Sarah was the photographer for us. She was energetic, warm, friendly, experienced, and enthusiastic. We appreciated her professionalism and thoughtfulness leading up to our wedding day. Sarah checked in with us to hear about planning, vendors, and inquired about our “must have” shots for our wedding day. We loved her proactivity! Sarah’s positive reputation exceeds beyond her clientele. She is a loved vendor in the community with over a decade worth of experience. On our wedding day Sarah showed up on time, ready to work, and had the most enthusiastic attitude. She made us feel calm and comfortable in those nervous moments leading up to the ceremony. Her positivity also made us excited through out the day! My husband and I had a WONDERFUL time doing pre ceremony shots with our bridesmaids and groomsmen. We both felt Sarah made these group shots feel effortless and FUN. Sarah was familiar with our wedding venue. She knew how to utilize every aspect of the property to add versatility in pictures. She had fantastic recommendations which provided a story through photography. Looking back we felt we got to see our entire wedding day. Sarah and her second shooter, Ashley Cox were a JOY to work with. While they exemplified the highest level of professionalism, they felt like our dear friends. Your wedding day is emotional and intimate. Sarah and Ashley were able to share in our joy, while being nonintrusive. From beginning to end Sarah exceeded our expectations. Her beautiful personality combined with her professionalism makes her a force to be reckoned with. She captured the beauty of our wedding day in every way. My husband and I cherish the work Sarah Cramer Shields did, and will continue to through out our lives!

    Sent on 05/08/2017
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 05/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarah is completely amazing! I first met Sarah a few years ago when I hired her to take some headshots for me, having seen her photos from friends' weddings and other portrait sessions she'd done. It was such a positive experience I swore I would have her be my wedding photographer when the time came. And she was - my husband and I were lucky enough to have her take both our engagement photos and our wedding photos! Sarah is bubbly, energetic, friendly, and has such a creative eye. She truly loves talking to and getting to know her clients and, because of that, it's like your best friend is there taking your photos so you're completely at ease and yourself. She captured our precious moments so perfectly; you hope to have at least one perfect portrait from your wedding, and we're lucky to have so many to choose from! We are so thankful we chose Sarah to capture our special day. We highly recommend her - she's fantastic!

    Sent on 05/11/2014
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 04/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sara was fabulous to work with! Our pictures were something we were willing to splurge on since they last a life time. Sara is worth every penny! From start to finish she captured all the cool moments with her talented eye and kept things fun. Thanks so much, Sara!! We had a blast.

    Sent on 05/05/2013
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 09/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cramer Photo was the only choice in our minds for our wedding. Sarah provided amazing service leading up to and on our big day. She also did our engagement shoot the year before. She was professional and not in the way of anything but also blended in with the guests in a way that made them comfortable and joined the party. Her love for photography really shows through when you receive the images. And a preview became available just a few short days after the event. Would recommend Sarah to anyone!

    Sent on 11/28/2012
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 05/05/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarah is FABULOUS! She is so wonderful, personable, creative and just has the most amazing eye for photography! Sarah travelled up to DC for our engagement pictures and it was so much fun - running around capital hill, the beautiful row houses in the background, through parks, on top of Charlie Palmers for Capital building shots and even a run through the fountain - so fun. We couldn't stop smiling and the pictures are so fabulous! Sarah even joined for an hour of our rehearsal dinner and everyone loved her. She got beautiful shots and it was nice to have pictures with everyone ahead of the wedding. The wedding was so fantastic with Sarah there --- she has such a wonderful upbeat personality that every guest is smiling and having a wonderful time in the pictures. I can honestly say that our wedding was better because Sarah was there. After meeting Sarah, we doubled the photography budget and it was the one of the best decisions we made. We know that we will be so happy to look back at the pictures in years to come! That and I'm sure we'll work with Sarah again --- how could we not? She's fabulous!

    Sent on 08/01/2012
  • A

    Annie · Married on 11/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I knew that photography was a priority for our wedding, so meeting with photographers was one of the first things we did. All three photographers we met with were very talented and professional, but we immediately clicked with Sarah. She seemed to have a real passion for photography and helping people document meaningful days/relationships. After our first meeting, we already felt like Sarah was a good friend.

    At both our engagement session and our wedding, Sarah put us totally at ease. She was so much fun to work with; it felt like a good friend was taking our pictures. I know that getting your picture taken can feel weird, but she made everyone from us to our friends and our families feel totally comfortable. As a result, our pictures are absolutely fantastic. Not only is the picture quality gorgeous, but she completely captured all the different emotions and energies of the day. Getting to see our wedding pictures was like getting to relive the day. I know that we're going to be looking at our wedding pictures often, and we are so happy to have such a wonderful documentation of the best day of our lives.

    Sent on 12/17/2011
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/09/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It's hard to know where to start in praising Sarah Cramer for her work because everything she did was above and beyond our expectations. She was easy to work with, professional, friendly and has an incredibly creative eye. We choose her because we were so impressed with the work she did at a friend's wedding. As soon as we booked our venue and had a date we booked Sarah. The quality of her work speaks for itself. And it is the best money that we spent on anything for our wedding. In addition, we had cds with all of the pictures in our mailbox in a little over a month from our wedding day. When we look back on our pictures over the coming decades we know that our appreciation of her work, admiration of her love for her job and the moments she was able to capture will only grow. You cannot go wrong and will never regret working with Sarah.

    Sent on 11/20/2011
  • D

    Dee Dee · Married on 10/15/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply the Best!!! Don't go anywhere else! Sarah Cramer Shields is terrific! Her wedding photos are amazing and shes been voted the best in Charlottesville this year! She is easy to work with and sets even those that hate to have their picture taken at ease! Sarah documented our wedding last month at the Inn at Westwood Farm in Orange, VA. We just loved her! She did a wonderful job and we had the best time with her photo booth! It was the best thing at our party! Just check out her website cramerphoto.com and you will see why she is wonderful -- her wedding photos are just so beautiful you can see the love and joy in each couple that Sarah has captured! I hope to use Sarah again to document my anniversary and my adorable dogs! We can't say enough great things about her and would definitely recommend her to everyone!

    Sent on 11/16/2010
  • D

    Dee Dee · Married on 10/15/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarah from Cramer Photo is fantastic!! Her photos are amazing!! Our wedding photos along with our photo booth photos she took during our wedding reception came out beautifully! They truely tell a story which exactly what Sarah wants -- to tell YOUR story! I don't know how she does it -- but she really brings out the love you and your significant other has for each other -- as well as the love and happiness of each one of your guest! She captured it all! You'll be surprised how truely great you can look in a photo too! :-) It was a great experience to get to know and work with Sarah! She's a fantastic photographer! You will not regret to go with her! Can't say enough great things about her! And after all this time - I still go to her webiste: cramerphoto.com and check out all the new beautiful photos she takes each day! She's great! I will definitely use her again in the future!

    Sent on 07/05/2012
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 05/30/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarah is completely fabulous and we LOVE her. We met Sarah through my husband's work and knew immediately we wanted her to photograph our wedding. There are really two things that make Sarah amazing to work with. First, she has a gift for having fun and making people feel good about themselves. She loves what she does, loves meeting new people, and is definitely someone you want with you on your wedding day. She had our entire bridal party running through fields, posing on tractors, and engaging in all other types of silliness. Every member of our bridal party adored her, our best man even said that he wants to fly her to NYC to document ever major life event he has. On a day when I could have felt stressed and nervous she made me feel beautiful and calm. She has a real gift with people and is that person everyone knows and loves. Second, her photos are incredible. Sarah has a wonderful eye and a knack for capturing the most natural, intimate moments between people. We hired her because we wanted pictures of ourselves as we really are that captured how we feel about each other, not posed or fake. This is exactly what we got from Sarah.

    I think what makes her special and the reason people loving having Sarah photograph their weddings is because she is able to combine both of these things. There are great photographers in Charlottesville and there are a lot of fun, nice people in Charlottesville but very few who are both. We did have to book her very far in advance so I'd recommend calling her ASAP. She's popular because she really is that good. I also thought that her prices were an absolute steal for what she does. I never felt like she was counting the hours or only taking those pictures we specifically asked her for. She took the initiative to take all of the pictures she could and photographed until there really were no more pictures to be taken.
    In short we love Sarah and cannot imagine having had anyone else document our wedding.

    Sent on 06/16/2010
  • J

    Julie · Married on 04/24/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE Cramer Photo!!!! I couldn't be more pleased with the work this photopgrapher does! And I received my pics in less than 2 weeks- that must be a record!

    Sent on 05/29/2010
  • M

    Ashleigh · Married on 08/29/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarah Cramer Shields was an absolute PLEASURE to work with! We just received our photos, and to say we're thrilled with the outcome is an understatement! Both my husband and I still cannot believe that she managed to be everywhere at once. Literally every moment throughout the night when either of us would think "oh, good photo op" we'd look around for a second and realize that Sarah was already there capturing the moment. We did not hire a videographer, which turned out to be just fine because Sarah documented the night so well. She is high energy, a lot of fun, and pulled the energy into the photos so well! We had heard that sometimes photographers can be slow after the wedding to actually deliver on the photos, but Sarah had sneak peeks out to us the day after the ceremony, and we received the complete set 2 weeks after our wedding. ALSO - you have to do the Cramer Photo Booth if you decide to hire her. Our guests LOVED it and the pictures are hysterical!

    Sent on 09/17/2009
  • C

    Carrie · Married on 08/15/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have worked with Sarah on numerous events before my own wedding, I've seen her work and knew she was exactly what I wanted. Her personality, artistic eye and skill make her a joy to work with. The pictures are exactly what I wanted and then some. I could not recommend her enough. The icing on the cake was her photo booth. I can't express enough how much fun it was! Complete strangers have seen the photos on Facebook and made comments along the lines of "coolest thing I've ever seen at a wedding" "best idea ever" "wow, who did this and how?" . If you are looking to add a element of fun to your big day, the Cramer Photo Booth is the answer.

    Sent on 09/08/2009
  • Meghan

    Meghan · Married on 01/24/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarah is insanely good at what she does. Her vibrant personality allowed the whole Wedding Party to relax, be themselves, and have fun. She stood outside in 30 degree weather for us to take Monument Photos and Family Photos outside (In January!). She's amazing!! She stayed with us the ENTIRE day. Nothing is out of the question, she's open to ideas, but also very creative and has such a talented eye. Her friendly, vivid personality shine through her photos which speak for themselves. The shots will take your breath away!

    Sent on 02/05/2009
  • Octoberbride08

    Leslie · Married on 10/25/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not be more pleased with the service and quality we received from Sarah. Our wedding pictures tell the story of our day just beautifully. Sarah is so relaxed and so much fun. As soon as she arrived she started snapping those candid photos that evoke the all the emotions and little details of the day. I felt a little stiff in my dress, but she got me to move around in it and that really helped me to feel at ease. It was raining all morning and after the ceremony Sarah got us outside for pictures under a rainbow. We walked through the vineyard with her and she made both my husband and I relax, laugh and enjoy the day. I just can not say enough about how great Sarah was. Everyone who has seen our wedding pictures is very impressed. We are looking forward to working with her again in the future.

    Sent on 02/24/2009
  • Z

    Susanna · Married on 06/15/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarah is an absolute dream to work with on your wedding day. She is definitely worth every penny. Shes creative and has lots of experience in case you have no idea what you want for photos but is quite flexible if you have ideas and requests.

    Sent on 07/03/2008
  • M

    Matt · Married on 06/15/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarah Cramer was incredible in every way. Get her as a photographer if you can book her in time. She's by far the best photographer I've ever seen, her photos are incredible, she is personable and has a great personality for her job.

    Sent on 08/16/2008
  • P

    Ryan · Married on 05/31/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Pictures were natural, quick and we were able to enjoy the event without even knowing it was being documented. For posed shots, she had great, unique perspectives. it was wonderful!

    Sent on 06/27/2008
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 02/16/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarah is awesome! She does an amazing job capturing the special moments of your wedding. Our pictures our beautiful and we never get tired of looking at them. Beyond her great photographs, Sarah is just an absolute pleasure to work with. She is warm, friendly, and professional. I usually hate having my picture taken, but Sarah put me at ease immediately. She is very skilled at being at all the right places at the right moment without you realizing she's even there. Only once you see the range of pictures, do you realize that she really did manage to capture everything. I very highly recommend Sarah as your photographer!

    Sent on 08/26/2008
  • C

    Cathleen · Married on 06/10/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarah was amazing to work with. I had lots of comments from guests and the bridal party that she was one of the nicest, most fun and professional photographer they had ever seen at a wedding, and her pictures were perfect, exactly what we were looking for. Highly recommended!

    Sent on 02/13/2008
  • M

    Midori · Married on 10/06/2007

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can not say enough about my photographer.

    Not only are the pictures that she took amazing but her demeanor before, during and after the event showed how much she truly cares about her clients. I have received so many complements on her shots and she blended into our wedding so well that many of my guests asked if she was a family friend. She was the perfect balance between professionalism and personalization.

    Using Sarah was by far one of the best decisions we made for our wedding!

    Sent on 10/18/2007

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review