Couture Cakes Reviews

25 | Boca Raton, FL
See photos, pricing and details

25 Reviews for Couture Cakes

Recommended by 86%

25
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4.3 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.3
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.0
  • Average response time 4.3
Sort by:
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Essie is so wonderful to work with! Her cakes taste amazing! I grew up with a mom who made everything from scratch. Essie's cakes and icings are from scratch. She is so nice and accommodating! When we went in to taste, there was no charge and she gave us a lot of cake to eat :) Highly recommend Couture Cakes!!!!!

    Sent on 06/07/2016
  • K

    Katie · Married on 03/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Esmerelda is amazing at what she does! I carried around a picture of my "dream wedding cake" for over a year. I didn't think it was possible to get EXACTLY what I want, but I am happy to say it was! When I saw the cake for the first time in the reception room I was blown away by how amazing the cake looked. It was exactly what I wanted and was beautiful. Not to mention it was delicious!!! I was worried the cake would taste different on the day of the wedding than it had when we had our tasting, but it was just as amazing! I would absolutely recommend to anyone looking for a baker.

    Sent on 05/06/2014
  • User3805153 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Esmeralda was very easy to work with and catered to everyone of our requests. The cake was perfect and all the guests were raving about it. My husband doesn't even like cake that much and ended up eating two pieces at the wedding. The cake looked amazing and was exactly how we imagined it which tied in perfect with our theme.

    Sent on 01/11/2014
  • A

    annie · Married on 08/07/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My cake was delicious and beautiful! Maria is so flexible and great to work with. I would highly recommend Couture Cakes.

    Sent on 08/12/2010
  • C

    Celeste · Married on 01/23/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have imagined my cake turing out anymore beautiful than it did. Maria was so great to work with and did an amazing job on our wedding cake. It was so delicious and perfect for our event. They were price was perfect for the service we received.

    Sent on 02/06/2010
  • ElleInMay

    Erica · Married on 05/23/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Cake was six tiers, the third and fourth tier was separated with flowers, and the very top had a bouquet of sugar tulips and wild flowers. Everything was hand piped with no colors just a light golden glow. Breathtaking. What is even better was it tasted as wonderful as it looked. My Husband and I requested a special favor which was very much delivered and everyone enjoyed. We received so many compliments on the cake and my father was enamored on how amazing the cake looked. Very happy with everything!

    Sent on 06/17/2009
  • W

    Marci · Married on 05/16/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Couture Cakes made our groom's cake and cookies for the out of town welcome packets. They were great to work, delivered on time and the cake and cookies were wonderful. Maria is very sweet and pays attention to details. I really loved the items we purchased.

    Sent on 05/17/2009
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 06/14/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful and delicious wedding cake!!

    Sent on 09/08/2008
  • A

    A · Married on 09/01/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Maria at Cakeabilites is wonderful. The cake she designed for my wedding not only looked great but tasted great as well! I showed her a picture of the cake I wanted and she matched it perfectly! Everyone commented on how pretty the cake looked and how great it tasted! Her prices are excellent and she is easy to work with.

    Sent on 09/25/2007
  • K

    Karen · Married on 05/25/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Esmeralda is very helpful and the cakes are delicious! They are light and they are designed with great detail. We had a lemon cake with strawberries and whipped cream filling which everyone enjoyed. I would highly recommend Couture Cakes because they are professional and easy to work with. Can't wait to eat our top layer!

    Sent on 06/09/2014
  • P

    Belinda · Married on 01/19/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Formerly Cakeabilities, this was the only bakery that I could find who could make me cupcakes for my wedding. Maria is the nicest person ever and she surprised us when she came to our house for the initial meeting and tasting. Her cupcakes were awesome and a huge hit with our guests. But we weren't a fan of the fondant cake (no offense to her, it was my fault it dried out by the second day). She has a unique list of flavors (key lime frosting!) and pretty good cake.

    Sent on 07/07/2008
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 12/15/2007

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Maria was wonderful - she was very eager to make the kind of cake we wanted, without pushing some idea from a magazine. She was open to our ideas and to trying something new. She sent us pictures and gave us an in-home tasting to help us decide. She was flexible with everything, and her prices were unbeatable. In the end, we had a beautiful cake that tasted delicious that nobody at our wedding would deny that either!

    Sent on 01/02/2008
  • J

    Jenna · Married on 11/24/2007

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Maria was wonderful. Worked/communicated very clearly with me (I live outside of FL). Cake was delicious, and exactly what I expected. No problems with delivery, design, set-up, etc. Very pleased!

    Sent on 01/04/2008
  • V

    Veronica · Married on 10/27/2007

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved my cake and so did all our guests. It definitely was a piece of art and it was delicious too! People are still raving about it.

    Sent on 04/15/2008
  • B

    Bethanie · Married on 05/17/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The cake was amazing. Professional and very accommodating. I would recommend couture cakes to anyone.

    Sent on 05/23/2014
  • T

    Tunecia · Married on 06/09/2012

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Couture Cakes did a three tier cake for my wedding. Chocolate, lemon and red velvet. The guests were amazed at the moistness of the cake. I still have guests complimenting how moist the cake was almost a month later. Thanks you Couture Cakes!!

    Sent on 07/07/2012
  • A

    Aja · Married on 04/02/2011

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Our cake was included in our wedding package from the venue, so I can speak for cost/affordability, but it wasn't just a cookie-cutter cake. We were able to meet with the cake company to design the cake, taste all the flavors and select exactly what we wanted. The cake was delicious and beautifully designed....4 tiers in ivory buttercream with pearl accents and champagne colored cherry blossoms cascading down the front. If you know exactly what you are looking for then no problem. The only "complaint"we had is that neither my husband nor I had ever designed/ordered a wedding cake, and we found at the tasting that the person we met with (seemed as though she was being trained) couldn't answer a lot of questions up front or give suggestions but the designer was close by to answer those questions. If you need a little help and direction I would suggest asking to meet directly with the cake lady.

    Sent on 04/21/2011
  • User5644428 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Couture Cakes is on the preferred vendors list of Morikami, so we checked them out. To be honest, my husband and I don't really like sweets - we only got a cake for the sake of tradition (and our families.) Our cake was surprisingly good (my in-laws made all the selections knowing our dislike of sweets), and it was beautiful and perfect for our elegant garden theme.

    Sent on 11/26/2015
  • B

    Beth · Married on 09/04/2011

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Their prices for cupcakes with a top tier cake was great. When I found out the owner had left I panicked. I sent them a photo of what I wanted but, it didn't look like the photo. To me, it looked very sloppy and quickly done. The taste was good but, the presentation was lacking.

    Sent on 09/13/2011
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 05/28/2011

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    I wasn't thrilled about my tasting. We were served very small pieces of slightly stale cake, and we could only choose three flavors each of cake and frosting from a long list. They don't sell anything retail, so there was no other way to taste everything.

    However, the cake itself (which came as part of a package) was perfect. We asked for something unusual and they matched our inspiration picture to a T while incorporating the changes in color and shape that we wanted. The cake and the frosting were both delicious.

    Sent on 06/25/2011
  • D

    Vy · Married on 06/12/2010

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    While I thought my cake was pretty, it began to crack within an hour of being inside my dining room. I had the reception at home, and we kept the cake inside for fear of the heat outside. But almost right away it developed a long split on the top tier. We just photographed the other side, but still, it was an expensive cake to fall apart so fast. But I can say that they were friendly and the cake tasted good and fresh.

    Sent on 08/04/2010
  • S

    b · Married on 01/03/2009

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Couture Cakes is very friendly, Maria was very helpful.
    To me the cake did not taste the same as it did the day of our tasting, I was disappointed with how it tasted the day of the wedding.
    The cake was decorated very nicely however, I asked for an ivory frosted cake and the cake looked a bit more like yellow than I would have liked.



    Sent on 03/12/2009
  • C

    Christina · Married on 10/22/2011

    1.6
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    1) The original owner sold the shop and didn't have the common courtesy to inform any of her clients.
    2) The cake when you go for a tasting has no fondant on it. Which is misleading if you are not sure as to what fondant tastes like.
    3) The wedding cake's fondant looked all bubbly and lopsided. The groom's cake looked like a 3 year old had made it. The police car was way to wide.
    4) It tasted HORRIBLE! They had put so much fondant on it, that's pretty much all you could taste. The actual cake tasted like it was made a week before my wedding and then was frozen.
    I will never ever use these people again for anything!

    Sent on 12/19/2011
  • J

    Joanne · Married on 12/28/2009

    1.6
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    I paid $225 for a cake that Justin was not happy about AT ALL. I definitely didn’t care for the taste. It was dry. A wheel fell off the moment my mom and I left the place and they put it back on with icing I think. By the time I got to MIL’s house the other wheels were falling off. That pos cake was not worth $10! They were provided with pictures and I stressed how the details and dimensions were most important to Justin. They said they could do it. At first the cake was going to be a lot smaller (to feed about 24pp) but they convinced me that a bigger cake for 30pp would be better looking. Well, in the end there’s nothing you can do I guess. Justin’s input is to never go to them if you want a car cake.

    Sent on 01/21/2010
  • User4356205 · 2+ years ago

    0.2
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    I never would have thought that 2 women and a cake could ruin my wedding. Boy, was I wrong.

    Sent on 08/27/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review