Copenhagen Bakery & Cafe Reviews

16 | Burlingame, CA
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for Copenhagen Bakery & Cafe

Recommended by 81% of couples

4.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.1
  • Professionalism 4.1
  • Flexibility 3.9
  • Value 4.1
  • Average response time 3.9

Awards

16
Order by:
  • J

    JuliAnna · Married on 11/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We selected Copenhagen from a list from the reception venue via a packaging. It was super easy! We met with a few and liked Copenhagen's the best. Everyone was super friendly and low maintenance. Our cake looked and tasted great the day of the wedding. I've experienced cakes the day of that taste nothing like they did in the tasting, and that was not the case for us!

    Sent on 12/27/2016
  • J

    Janet · Married on 07/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sherri and Catherine were SO helpful in helping us create our wedding cake. We showed them something that inspired me on Pinterest and from there, the team created a beautiful replica. My fiance and I went in for two cake tastings since we couldn't decide between all the flavors. We ended up going with chocolate and yellow cake, with tiramisu whip filling. It was definitely different yet elegant. Our guests all loved the cake and thought it was moist and delicious. Thank you for making our wedding cake and for understanding and accomplishing my vision!! I've grown up in the Bay Area and Copenhagen never disappoints!

    Sent on 07/18/2016
  • User3127962 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff here worked with me to make my vision a reality. It was a beautiful cake, and even better, that it was the best tasting cake I had from all of the other tastings I went to. Definitely recommend this place.

    Sent on 03/12/2013
  • E

    Eliza · Married on 11/20/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding cake was perfect! We decided with a smaller 3 tier Marble Hazelnut cake and a separate Princess Sheet Cake to feed 250 people. It looked exactly how I imagined it and we received so many compliments.

    It was sooo goood...I even had two slices. =)

    Sent on 12/19/2010
  • D

    Trina · Married on 06/28/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The cake was great! The guest commented on how moist the cake was. They have alot of books to look through for design ideas. However, one of the girls sat down with me and helped to custom design the cake. It turned out fabulous.

    Sent on 07/09/2008
  • J

    Joseph · Married on 06/05/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife was very pleased with the wedding cake that Copenhagen Bakery made for us.She picked the design and I helped with the icing and flavor picking.The staff was always friendly and attentive to our needs.The wedding cake received alot of compliments.

    Sent on 04/18/2010
  • User2554304 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They are very busy, and may not get back to you, but overall price and value were well worth the effort. I gave them a picture of the cake I wanted and they delivered it looking pretty much the same. The taste and texture would exquisite. I had raspberry mousse. We were traveling so we didn't save the top tier. Instead we ate it the day after.. Everyone commented how perfect this cake was! Only comment is that the delivery person didn't have a clue. They had no concern as to if this cake should be refrigerated and just wanted to leave it without even considering this severely important item.

    Sent on 06/13/2013
  • User5145719 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I didn't have an idea how the wedding cake was going to be like. From the cake tasting session to putting ideas together for the cake design, they help me to design this wedding cake which was amazingly beautiful and the cake was very delicious. Mango is the one to go for!!

    Sent on 06/04/2015
  • Lacy

    Lacy · Married on 08/14/2011

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The staff was great and made our cake look beautiful! My husband wanted seashells on our cake to tie in with our beach wedding and I was scared it would look tacky as I was going for soft and romantic and she did it great and combined what we wanted and it was perfect!

    Sent on 09/07/2011
  • T

    T.M.F. Lorin · Married on 03/08/2008

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I absolutely loved our wedding cake. I think it was a more expensive cake (to be fair, it was quite large as I had a huge wedding), but the design was gorgeous. I was hoping that they could change the design from floral-type squiggles to celtic knots (my wedding theme) from a design I was prepared to give them, but they were not willing to change from that lovely cake I chose from their catalog.

    Still, expensive and floral -- the cake was EXQUISITE AND SO YUMMY! I hate when one attends a wedding and the cake is dry b/c they baked it early and then didn't frost it soon enough--not the case with this cake from Copenhagen.

    We didn't freeze the top layer b/c we ate it fresh on our Honeymoon! We promised each other that we'd order a fresh cake for our one year anniversary. I can't wait.

    It was by far the best cake I've EVER eaten -- and isn't that what one should remember on her wedding day?

    Sent on 10/06/2008
  • K

    Kharyl · Married on 09/10/2011

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I was really happy that my hotel worked with copenhagen bakery because this is my favorite bakery ever. I live in the East Bay, Ca and I travel over the bridge just to grab a piece of cake here. Parking is a bit crazy and this place gets real busy during lunch hours and weekends. But the cakes that they make here are worth the wait. It is beyond delish. They arent too sweet too rich , they are made jsut right. They also are able to accomodate any design that you want. This place is a bit pricey but well worth your money.

    Sent on 09/20/2011
  • J

    Jennie · Married on 07/15/2016

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Shari was pretty responsive albeit abrupt at times (but we were warned about this in other reviews I've read). The actual tasting day was awesome - we got to try out different combinations of the cakes we'd like and the staff were very nice. They had a table set up for us, and kept the viking coffee coming.

    We mainly went with this vendor since they could do a traditional Danish wedding cake, kransekage. We also ordered a chocolate raspberry naked cake on the side, with berries for decorations. Both were VERY delicious and although delivery was pricey at $200, as was the decoration berries ($30). Wedding markups, blah.

    Sent on 07/19/2016
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 02/18/2001

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The cake ended up being delicious but when we went for the tasting I felt like they gave us old frozen cake. They didn't have tons of choices as to what we could have but we ended up being able to have alternating layers of lemon (his favorite) and chocolate (my favorite0. In the end it was delicious and the price was great.

    Sent on 05/24/2008
  • M

    Elaine Dizon · Married on 09/20/2008

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    The cake was delicious as usual, BUT my cake had two BIG problems with it. The delivery people forgot to take out the wooden dowel from the top of the cake. So my florist had to hide it with flowers, which looked fine from a far. But upclose and in pictures you can see it. Then on the backside of the cake there was 2 huge dents in the fondant. The most upsetting thing is that no one from the bakery told me about it or even called me after the wedding. Then when I called the bakery the manager had no idea what I was talking about till I sent her pictures of my wedding cake and the problems.

    Sent on 01/19/2009
  • T

    Traci · Married on 05/10/2014

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      1.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    We bought our wedding cake from Copenhagen Bakery. The cake tasting was good and we decided to go with Hazelnut, Apricot and a Lemon filled three tiered cake plus some vanilla and chocolate cupcakes. We worked with Myra (Copenhagen’s sole contact for wedding cakes). We had our reception at a winery and decided to go with a rustic looking cake. We didn’t want fancy decorations (line-work, swirls, pearls) on the cake itself and opted for decorating with fresh flowers. We let Myra know that flowers would be left by the cake table. She promised to use those flowers to decorate the cake onsite. Closer to our wedding date, we had to call and confirm that everything was in place for delivery, etc. (We shouldn’t have had to call them, they should have called us to confirm.) Regardless of this, Myra assured us that one of the owners of the store would be hand delivering the cake and reassured us that they would decorate the cake with our fresh flowers on-site, that we would be specifically and specially taken care of. First, the cake was simply assembled and left on the cake table. After the delivery, my nieces noticed that the flowers weren’t used at all. They were still in the open box on the cake table and Copenhagen was gone! Upon further inspection, they noticed a big hole in the top of the cake. Why was there a hole in top of the cake?!?! Myra knew that we didn’t have a cake topper so this shouldn’t have been there. Secondly, we ordered 20 cupcakes. They were pretty, decorated with a nice swirl and little pearl candies. The cupcakes were left in their box NEXT to the cake! I can’t even imagine how lame this would’ve looked if my family hadn’t noticed and decorated the cake themselves and put out the cupcakes. Needless to say, we are disappointed with Copenhagen Bakery’s service. Our cake looked nothing like the pic that we showed Myra, the second tier was slightly crooked and the setup of the cake TOTALLY lacked!

    Sent on 05/28/2014
  • A

    ama · Married on 07/08/2009

    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    The Short Story:

    Basically, it was difficult to get in touch with someone at the bakery who was willing to take the time to confirm details before the wedding, then they made the WRONG CAKE for the wedding, and then when informed of this fact after the wedding, they avoided us and finally denied their mistake. The offering of a sheet cake does not make up for the cost of the cake. We paid for something and did not get it.

    The Whole Story:

    We chose Copenhagen as our wedding cake baker. We initially met with a very nice woman named Tracy, and after tasting several flavors, decided on their rich tiramisu flavor for some of the wedding cake layers and white cake with apricot filling for the other layers. We brought in a photo of the design we liked and were told they could replicate it. While the cakes we tasted that day were a bit rich and too sweet for my taste, I thought that our guests would enjoy the flavors we had chosen.

    The week before the wedding, I called Copenhagen to touch base and confirm details. I was told someone would call me back but no one did, so I called again a few days later. It seemed like I was bothering them but I was finally transferred to a very nice woman who confirmed the cake delivery time and the size and flavors we had ordered for each layer.

    At our wedding, the cake was beautiful. We cut into it, fed each other and look at each other in surprise. The cake was a basic chocolate/vanilla cake! I thought maybe the bakery just got that layer wrong. But all the slices we saw passed around were chocolate or vanilla.

    After the wedding, we surveyed our friends and family, and *every single person* we asked said they got plain chocolate or vanilla cake. No one tasted any tiramisu flavor or any apricot filling. I called Copenhagen and was told a manager would call me back. No one did, so I called again. I finally was transferred to and explained the situation to Sherry, who said she would look into it. She called me back and now claimed that she had been standing right next to the baker while it was being made, and that the cake and filling were according to our order. I explained that neither of us and none of our guests got the flavors we ordered. She suggested that perhaps after having eaten dinner and having a few drinks, our palates were unable to discern the tiramisu flavor.

    I do not know what happened at the bakery that day, but my husband and I did not have time to eat or drink at our wedding, but we did taste the cake and it was plain chocolate and vanilla! After speaking with Sherry, I asked more guests what flavor cake they ate at our wedding and everyone said chocolate and vanilla. Everyone.

    Ultimately, we were offered a sheet cake by Sherry. I appreciate her effort to respond to the situation but wedding cakes are expensive and we should have gotten a partial refund at least since we did not get what we ordered! We had both taken time off work to come to the cake tasting at Copenhagen. If they were going to serve plain chocolate and vanilla cake regardless, we could have saved ourselves the effort.

    Sent on 08/31/2009