Skip to main content
Weddings

Como Park Zoo and Conservatory Reviews

Como Park Zoo and Conservatory

Como Park Zoo and Conservatory

Saint Paul, MN
4.2 out of 5 rating, 52 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.2 out of 5 rating
4.2 out of 5 rating
52 Reviews
84% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.2 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.3 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    3.6 out of 5 rating

Awards

52
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
Weddingwire
4.2/5 52 reviews
Google
4.6/5 16162 reviews
  • Danielle
    Danielle J. Sent on 04/03/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful garden for the ceremony

    The Sunken Garden is a perfect wedding ceremony venue. It's already equipped with flowers so you don't have to spend money on flowers for the ceremony. Saves money! Reasonable price.
  • Michelle
    Michelle H. Sent on 08/13/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Get married at Como!!!

    We got married in the Sunken Garden with our reception in the Covered Porch and absolutely loved our venue! It felt unique but accessible. It's obviously a beautiful venue and any location there is going to be gorgeous. Staff worked with us to make all aspects of our day run smoothly. The in house catering (Lancer) made decisions easy. The food, bar, wait staff, decor, and clean up are all taken care of for you.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • M
    Megan Sent on 09/26/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I got married in the sunken garden on 9/24/16, and it was absolutely beautiful and perfect! The pictures we took were all breathtaking! I would recommend to anyone to get married here!

    Como Park Zoo and Conservatory's reply:

    Thank you so much! We are so happy to hear you had a great wedding at Como Park Zoo! We appreciate you letting us be a part of your special day. Best wishes!
  • User1570572 Sent on 03/29/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our ceremony at the Conservatory in the Sunken Garden, and it was absolutely beautiful. The staff was SO helpful leading up to the event, even the last minute questions were answered extremely quickly and graciously. As an example, we wanted to do communion as part of our ceremony, so they set up a table (that blended into the background pretty well, actually) and a tiny receptacle for the cups before we got there. We also had a few seats near the front for elder family members, as well as for our string trio at the back of the garden. Everything was perfect. It is such a gorgeous space with all of the flowers and plants, and it smells heavenly. They are pretty strict with their policies (timing and photography), but we were let into the space early (both for the rehearsal and the wedding) and ended up having more than enough time for photos, and were never bothered. What a stunning backdrop for photos!

    We could not have had a better experience - it felt tropical, looked beautiful, smelled wonderful, and overall, it was definitely the perfect venue for our winter wedding!!
  • C
    Christina Sent on 12/10/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I fell in love with the Sunken Garden the minute I toured it. It is so beautiful - a perfect backdrop for our wedding. We got married on October 12 and everything was perfect. The coordinator was so helpful, yet behind the scenes. I think we did everything by phone! When I walked into the ceremony, everything was in place and wonderful. I couldn't have asked for a better venue, thank you to Como Zoo Staff for making my day memorable!
  • S
    Kate Sent on 10/17/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Como was an absolutely breathtaking ceremony venue for our small wedding. I couldn’t have imagined our wedding anywhere else! We worked with Polly most of the time for our event, but had some questions answered by Emily as they came up. They were both very helpful and responsive, and truly wanted us to have the day we imagined. The staff that were at the conservatory on the day of our wedding were fantastic! Plus the Sunken Garden looked amazing for our event, kudos to the botanists who work there! We had our reception elsewhere, (WA Frost, it was incredible!!) so I can't comment on that in this posting.
  • User1048275 Sent on 12/18/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our wedding reception in The Porch at Como Conservatory and couldn't have been happier! The staff was great to work with -- the catering manager even responded to our emails while she was on vacation shopping with her mom! We got so many compliments on the food we chose there and we especially appreciated that we could rent just about everything we needed from them so that we didn't have to worry about transporting chairs, chair covers, etc. The venue was beautiful, even on our rainy day, and we got amazing pictures all over the grounds!
  • B
    Brenna Sent on 01/28/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My brother had his wedding there on a saturday in october and I thought it was so beautiful. We had the wedding in Jan at 7:00 PM. It was gorgeous and worth every penny. The only bad thing is the small 1.5 hour window for the ceremony and pictures.
  • W
    Molly Sent on 10/26/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This place was awesome! The chicken was a little dry, but the apps, salad, decor, organization, and staff were the best!
  • L
    Laurel Sent on 03/05/2019
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Sunken Garden Winter Wedding

    Look no further if you want a low-stress ceremony with no additional flowers needed! Our wedding took place at the Sunken Garden in early February, which was in the midst of the winter garden show. The staff at Como park keep everything so fresh year-round that there truly is no bad time to have a wedding there. We also liked that the fees go towards keeping this place beautifully kept for all to enjoy. Despite strict time restrictions, staff on site were helpful rather than pushy. They were great at ushering in guests from the frigid cold and allowing me to arrive a few minutes early in order to hide from the groom. One of the docents even helped us create a last minute corsage from my bouquet due to accidentally leaving one at home. The acoustics are great in the Sunken Garden, and our wireless speakers were perfect. I would recommend skipping their AV equipment rental and request that the fountain be turned off during the ceremony. Bring a tablecloth for the round table if you plan to use it. Respect the start/stop time so other weddings don't have to stress. You will have plenty of time for great photos as long as your ceremony is a reasonable length. Plenty of parking, contract was thorough and easy to follow, warm and comfortable in below zero temps. I can't think of a better place to have a meaningful, intimate ceremony. Enjoy!
  • G
    Gerri Sent on 03/27/2017
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    The Sunken Garden is an amazing ceremony location, the flowers give such a great ambiance and romantic environment. Contacting the facilities over email was very easy, and they responded to our questions accurately and on time. The 1.5 hour timeslot is not super flexible, but the room was ready when they said it would be on time. We rented a microphone but didn't end up needing it since you can project well in the room. The sound system provided was easy to hook up music to play over the speakers, and sounded great. Overall it was exactly what was advertised, and it was a lovely venue.

    Como Park Zoo and Conservatory's reply:

    Thank you for the 5 stars! Your ceremony looked so beautiful in the flora of the Sunken Garden! We were happy to assist in answering all of your questions. Thank you for letting us take part in your special day together. We wish you a happy life!
  • F
    Faith Sent on 12/19/2016
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Kate Robey was critical to the success of our wedding. I had very little knowledge about wedding planning and she went above and beyond her role by offering me seasoned advice and informed recommendations. Not only was she a great help in terms of expertise but she was always nice, fun, and nonjudgemental. We were in the covered porch. The space was beautiful and it was nice to have so many different areas to move around throughout the night. They worked with us on a vegetarian menu and I thought it was delish! The only thing that went wrong is we forgot to make a plan for the leftover cake and it was thrown away, so you could say that was our fault. Either way, I highly recommend!

    Como Park Zoo and Conservatory's reply:

    Thank you so much for the review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your wedding at Como Zoo! We were happy to help customize your wedding day to fit your needs. We appreciate the recommendation and wish you the best!
  • User2618204 Sent on 05/23/2016
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our ceremony in the Sunken Garden, and it was absolutely wonderful. We had a small gathering, 20 people, and it was the perfect size. The flowers were amazing, and the staff was helpful and kind. Our pictures turned out fabulous with all the beauty around!
  • A
    Amy Sent on 06/08/2015
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    I chose the enchanted garden for my ceremony, but decided to go elsewhere for the reception because I wanted to pick my own caterer. The staff was very helpful and responsive.
  • A
    Angela Sent on 06/20/2014
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    My wedding venue was amazing, even more beautiful then I imagined. We had our ceremony in the sunken garden and rented the entire conservatory for our reception. My guests had all the gardens inside and the Japanese garden outside to wander through. They placed candles and tables in the perfect places. I didn't have to decorate a thing! They have some photography rules but at the start of your rental time, your permit covers that. They also require that you use their vendors for food and cake but they are really great! It was a perfect place for a wedding!
  • P
    Pauline Sent on 08/03/2011
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Even though this venue was somewhat expensive, we couldn't have been happier. The atmosphere was absolutely beautiful. Our evening wedding came with its own light show (lightening and thunder as well as rain) but along with the indoor spot lights, pond, fountain, etc. it was the most beautiful ceremony ever.
  • User959259 Sent on 10/04/2012
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Denise Turner, the sales consultant for Como Zoo (Lancer Catering) is nothing short of amazing. She made the day perfect and was great in working with us to make it all happen. Any request (whether it was a long shot or not) was looked into and no matter the number of emails, Denise got back to us quickly. My only complaint here is that the food was nowhere near as good as it was at our tasting; however, with 250 guests, it's hard to make every dish perfect. We had a blast and so did our guests. THANKS!
  • L
    Lacey Sent on 08/13/2013
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I are extremely pleased with this venue. It is amazingly beautiful and well kept. Our guests just gushed over the beautiful space and the flowers. I gave less stars for flexibility so people know up front that there are only limited times to use the space and there is no way around that. We tailored our wedding times to what was available and this worked out for us. Also, Como's staff was very professional and even let us in the space a little early as it was raining outside. I appreciate their willingness to allow us in a little early.
  • A
    Ami Sent on 06/03/2010
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    We used the park shelter down the hill from the conservatory for our reception and loved being outside, playing croquet, and all with a lovely backdrop and really an elegant shelter.
  • C
    Carrie Sent on 04/24/2018
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    I had my wedding in the Sunken Garden on March 31. Como was great to work with - very responsive to emails. There are strict policies but they are very up front and transparent about them - nothing comes as a surprise at all. They went above and beyond expectations in a dozen ways - they even made right a small problem before I ever got a chance to ask. The sound system didn't work and they emailed me the day after the wedding with a refund on the system - no one even had to tell them! It was fine because the acoustics were fine without it but I was impressed that they were so proactive. The garden was so beautiful - and smelled amazing! It was a gorgeous day!

    Como Park Zoo and Conservatory's reply:

    Thanks you for the great review! Our team was happy to respond to all questions. Customer service is extremely important to us so we always make sure to be up front with our policies and proactive to any changes. We appreciate you sharing your photos with us! Your wedding was just gorgeous! Best wishes to you both.
  • User6454361 Sent on 06/02/2015
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our ceremony and reception at Como on 5/15/15. The conservatory is gorgeous for a ceremony! No decorations needed. The reception area was also gorgeous with the floor to ceiling windows and everything looked new in there! Very clean and nice. Only downside was they have so many strict guidelines with photography even if you are having the wedding there. But they were more lax the day of and let us stay in the garden to take pictures between when they closed and our rental technically began, which was nice! We also had a penguin as our animal ambassador which was unique and fun for the guests.
  • User1976113 Sent on 12/18/2014
    4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    I am so excited to get married at the Como Zoo! I have wanted to get married there for years and can't wait for the day to come. The name Enchanted Garden says it all.. It truly is enchanting. I'm looking forward to getting married outside and then moving right across the street to the reception. The Como Zoo offers many different options depending on the size of your wedding. I definitely recommend the Como Zoo for both a wedding ceremony and reception.
  • User1073439 Sent on 01/21/2013
    4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    Como itself was easy to work with, my their in-house catering company not so much. They were also strict on the rental times, which I wish were longer so you wouldn't have to rush the pictures. I wouldn't change the venues though. We had the ceremony in the Sunken Garden, followed by the reception in the Covered Porch. Everything was beautiful!
  • K
    Kalena Sent on 09/19/2010
    4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    Amazing pictures and memories for years to come here! This was a fantastic day-just wish you had a little longer for the pictures and ceremony.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message