Weddings

Community Life Center Reviews

Community Life Center

Community Life Center

Indianapolis, IN
Rating 3.8 out of 5, 16 Reviews
View more information

16 Reviews

Rated
3.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 76% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 3.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 3.7 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 3.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 3.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 16
Sort by:
  • M
    Mallaurie M. Married on 08/01/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So far its perfect

    I have my ceremony scheduled for later this summer at the Giest location and I must say, so far so good! I have been working with Andrea (manager) and her professionalism is out of this world. I had multiple questions as this is my first time planning an event like this. She answered all my questions promptly, and has been willing to accomodate any of my needs. The location is stunning and I just feel extremely comfortable using this venue. The price was very affordable, cheapest I could find. Most importantly, at the giest location, we have the entire venue for the whole day. I am so excited about the professionalism that I had to write a review before the actual day. I will follow up with another review after the day is completed. In my opinion, book this place!
  • K
    Kyliah Married on 10/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My experience with The Community Life Center was amazing, very helpful and beautiful for my wedding. I would definitely recommend this venue to other couples looking to have their perfect day!
  • J
    Jenny Married on 04/15/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They were wonderful from start to finish! Great pricing, great recommendations on caterers and DJs, and an ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL VENUE! The staff was so kind and they worked with me on bar options.. Not to mention they let us schedule time the week of the wedding to practice our first dance routine!
  • C
    Cindy Married on 10/15/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Me and my now husband absolutely loved our venue. The staff was so nice and helpful, we can't say enough nice things about the girls that made our day just perfect! They even helped us find some great vendors with in our budget.
  • D
    Deana Married on 08/09/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I absolutely loved this venue for my wedding. It was a great price and beautiful inside. I could not have asked for a more beautiful place. The staff is all very nice and helpful.
  • cecilia
    Cecilia Married on 05/11/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    As soon as I walked into the building I was in love. Amazing!
  • A
    Alexandra Married on 09/23/2017
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    So glad we picked Community Life Center for our wedding. They did an awesome job with everything. It was really nice having a venue for the entire day. Kelsey was great to work with!!
  • J
    Jessica Married on 10/02/2015
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We ended up choosing a different venue for our wedding, but everyone at the CLC was extremely nice and helpful while we were choosing our venue. They quickly got back to me with information, were flexible with me when I needed a showing outside of normal business hours, and were extremely nice. The venue was absolutely beautiful. I gave 4/5 stars for value because while the venue is affordable, they don't include catering, you have to find an outside caterer. I feel like including a caterer would have been more convenient, but maybe that's just personal preference.
  • M
    Mercedes Married on 07/28/2013
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    I had dreamed of getting married at the CLC since they first built it. I had no idea that my dream would come true. The price was very affordable and the building was great for our wedding and theme. The staff was fine and did not get in the way but really let us have full use of the building. It was great and I would highly recommend this venue!
  • Kelly
    Kelly Married on 09/03/2011
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Community Life Center is a gorgeous venue! I fell in love the moment I walked through the doors. Marble floors and beautiful chandeliers! There are many options for your ceremony/reception set up. Carla is energetic and passionate about weddings. They allow outside catering so that can help offset the cost of renting the facility. They have many "in-house" items for use at no additional costs. Some of our verbal agreements were forgotten over time so get everything in writing. You book the facility all day so there's no rush and you can begin/end when you wish. The bridal prep area has vanities for the ladies while the groom's room looks like a board room equipped with flat screen tv and video game console. Overall, we were happy with this venue, our guests were amazed, and Carla does work very hard to ensure your wedding/event is successful. It rained during our outdoor ceremony and Carla was quick with the plan B. We didn't miss a beat. We had a great time!
  • Ashleigh
    Ashleigh Married on 10/28/2017
    Rating 4.1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    The venue was beautiful! I had to reschedule my wedding due to the military, and they were very accommodating. I planned from out of state and worked with Tara for the entire planning process. She was awesome! They had different staff working the day of my wedding and they were not very helpful and kind of rude. Besides that, great experience.
  • E
    Emily Married on 06/21/2015
    Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    Hello, I’m Emily Inman. I was a very obsessive, detail-oriented bride. Here’s what I learned about Community Life Center, my ceremony & reception venue that provided bar, linens, lighting, and more. PROS: indoor and outdoor ceremony site with separate reception site, 9AM-11PM rental included, can decide if indoor or outdoor the day of, great execution of services on the day of the wedding CONS: confusing rhetoric bouncing between “we’re only a venue rental” and taking over tasks, great difficulty to communicate with if can not meet in person or communication styles differ, guest may be uncomfortable with the cemetery or the venue being owned by a funeral company.

    Tips to Make Your Life Easier:
    1. Get everything in writing
    2. Have as many meetings as possible and prep for them creating lists of topics/questions

    The Verdict: The Community Life Center gets a 3.5 for being a difficult to deal with vendor, the most stressful and flip-floppy of my vendors, and for pulling it together to get a great result on the day of the wedding. Unfortunately it is the only venue rental around Indy under $5,000 that can hold 150+ people and have the 3 needed sites. I DO NOT recommend this venue! If you are not the rare obsessive, compulsive planner, detail-oriented person willing to 1. meet in person anytime you need/want to talk or ask a question 2. spend countless hour talking to/thinking about how to talk to an easily stressed/ overwhelmed person 3. make long documents with every wedding detail on, then you are unprepared to behave in a way that will it easy to deal the Community Life Center! Save yourself the stress and pay more at another venue to save your sanity. Please think about if you can handle the stress before you consider this venue.

    I hope this helps! I wish you the best of luck brides- and grooms-to-be, may planning not be stressful!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 03/02/2012
    Rating 2.3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    The Community Life Center is a beautiful building. Our ceremony was held indoors and the photos of the ceremony are perfect. However, there were problems on the day. Mainly because of the staff. In the weeks leading up to the wedding, the main person we dealt with when making the initial reservation was hard to get in touch with, and so another member of staff dealt with us at our meeting a month before the wedding. The staff members were quite attentive before and during the ceremony, but after that, they disappeared. We filled out a time sheet and the staff did not ensure that everything happened according to the time they were meant to. Before the meal, there was about an hour where my husband and I had no idea what was going on and our guests were sitting in the ballroom, wondering the same! We were told that the staff would ask us when we wanted the bar to change to a cash bar, but they never did ask and so there was confusion with the bar staff. We were also asked before the wedding what type of lighting we would like in the ballroom for each section of the evening. My husband had to turn down the lights himself before our first dance!! The price was reasonable in comparison to other venues, but we were so disappointed with the staff. We really felt that once our ceremony was over, they did not care about how the rest of the day went. Also, they have power issues, so if you are planning to go and have a look there, it would be advisable to ask them about this.
  • C
    Cailyn Married on 08/11/2018
    Rating 1.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    Very disappointed in this place. Our wedding was originally scheduled for next month and we were very excited to have our ceremony and reception here. However, due to unforeseen circumstances, we needed to reschedule so in February, when we paid the first half of our payment, we spoke to Kelsey who told us we could reschedule at no extra charge, as long as it was within a year of our original date. Last month we got an email to schedule our “Final Meeting” to which we responded, stating we were told we could reschedule the wedding. Tara then emailed back saying that we would have to pay the full balance, which we expected, but that rescheduling would count as a cancellation and that none of the money we had already paid would transfer and that we would have to repay the $4500 we had already paid. Had we know this is February, we would have attempted to go ahead and plan the wedding. The contract we signed does not state anything about rescheduling being considered a cancellation but, since we had no proof, they took our money and we were forced to cancel.
  • C
    Andrea Married on 04/14/2012
    Rating 0.3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    They were very disorganized and put us through the ringer more than once. I had to change my linens 9 days before our wedding and then we get there for rehearsal and they have still ordered the wrong ones so we had to change them again. Although everything still looked beautiful we had multiple issues along the way.
  • User2057024 2+ years ago
    • Quality of service
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    Our son was married at the Community Life Center last Summer. There was a huge mis-communication between the bar staff and CLS's management which caused us much embarrassment in front of our guests.
    Even though they admitted that it was 100% their fault they were not willing to apologize to our guests.
    They make you sign a contact that eliminates all liability to them, so we had no recourse. Rick their VP was very rude. We contacted their insurance company and they have no coverage for this type of incident. Be very careful as to what you sign.