Weddings

Commodore Cruises & Events Reviews

Commodore Cruises & Events

Commodore Cruises & Events

Alameda, CA
Rating 3.6 out of 5, 11 Reviews
View more information

11 Reviews

Rated
3.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 72% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 3.7 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 3.5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 3.6 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 3.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 3.4 out of 5

Awards

  • 11

3 User photos

Sort by:
  • Julia
    Julia M. Married on 07/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fun and Unique Venue

    I was so happy I selected Commodore Cruises for my very small wedding ceremony and dinner celebration. Victoria was professional, responsive and attentive to all the small details throughout the planning and event day.

    Food selection, preparation and presentation were high end and delicious. Cake was amazing and gluten free! Wait service and bartender onboard the ship were personable and such a pleasure to spend the evening with. Highly recommended selecting Commodore Cruises for a unique and intimate wedding event!
  • D
    Danielle Married on 05/06/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wow! Where do I start. Commodore Cruises and Hannah, our event coordinator, were completely amazing! We had a destination wedding in San Francisco for 40 guests in May. I researched over 30 venues from wineries, to hotels, to Tahoe resorts, and from my very first contact with Hannah at Commodore I was impressed. She took the time to describe all the yachts, listen to my vision and budget and provide me with several quotes of different options - everything from a transfer only to a full event package. We ended up choosing to do our complete event (underway ceremony, dinner and reception/dance) with Commodore on the Merlot. Their prices were surprisingly reasonable and included everything we wanted. After we signed the initial contract, there was very little for me to do until a couple months before the wedding which was fantastic because I had plenty to do picking my dress, doing the invitations, making my DIY items and planning my local reception back in Colorado which we held 2 weeks after our SF wedding. During that period, I called or emailed Hannah occasionally with a question or idea and every time I received a response within hours. When it came time to plan the cruise, Hannah was on top of everything. She listened to all the details I had planned and made suggestions of how to adapt them to best suit a yacht event.

    The day of the wedding she set up all the décor and it was beautiful! The ceremony floating under the bay bridge couldn't have been more perfect! The staff on the cruise was outstanding - they made all of my guests feel so welcome and pampered and DJ Dan played all of our requests. I was a little nervous about the food because I wasn't able to make it to my tasting to try the items before I picked them, but I needn't have been - it was SO GOOD and all the guests loved it. Overall, I was thrilled with my Commodore wedding. I can't recommend them highly enough!!!!
  • BaringLife
    Patricia Married on 11/01/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    It truly was the best day of our lives --everything was beautiful and unforgettable. Minor details didn't go as planned, but that is part of the process. Best advice is to stay on top of it--keep contacting them months prior to your special day if you do not want to get bombarded with an overwhelming to-do list the last 10 chaotic days before your wedding. Also, stay on top of the "Meet the Fleet" dates, as they might not be available the last couple of weeks before your big day, if you want to try the delicious food they serve. Your guests will enjoy cruising the Bay.
  • F
    Farnaz Married on 09/07/2014
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    I really like commodore cruise !! We had really good experience !
    Thank you Lynda
  • T
    Tina Married on 07/10/2011
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We've always wanted a yacht wedding since we love boats and are planning to get our own, so when my husband proposed, it was decided that we will get married on one. I called in and told Linda everything about what we wanted (this was April 2011, my wedding was July 2011)she scheduled us for a viewing and the rest was history. We chose the Merlot and it was a very intimate wedding with less than 50 guests. Perfect ceremony, the food was great and Jamie and Linda helped us all throughout the preparations. 4.9 only bec Linda was our coordinator, (she seemed always busy) so it was Jamie who really took care of us. I had the wedding that I wanted and we thank Commodore events for that!
  • D
    Dani Married on 10/28/2017
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    I used Commodore as a destination wedding because i live in Florida, but my family lives in the SF Bay Area. With my aunt playing point woman, I was able to get it done with minimal stress. I think if I had to do it by myself with no one to look at the boats or food, I would have been fine to move forward just because of how thorough they are. I got a checklist of all the things that came with my package (DJ, Cake, etc) and a price for extras (Black Jack Table). Our wedding coordinator and day of person was Brenda, and she was on the ball.

    The wedding itself was FANTASTIC. I hired an outside photographer and the cruise director and DJ Dan, who are regulars, were able to give him timing and direction for when the bridges and islands would go by for folks to take pictures. The waitstaff and bartender were attentive. Walter, our cruise director, was wonderful, answered all my questions and kept the buffet open until an 30minutes before we docked back.

    Now my wedding was semi-formal, with my husband and I dressed up and everyone else in Aloha shirts and Mu-mus. So if you are going to have something that's EXTREMELY formal, you might want a stationary location. The boat will rock and the lighting is awkward. Otherwise there's no reason not to do this. My family was extremely impressed with the experience, found it personal, engaging and with great scenic views. I was happy because i didn't have people staring at me for 4 hours straight. win/win
  • D
    Danielle Married on 07/31/2015
    Rating 4.1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    We had a wonderful wedding aboard the Merlot this past summer. It was perfect for our small wedding of 35 people. The only issues we ever had with Commodore was that it was a destination wedding, as we live in Canada, and getting in touch with them was somewhat difficult. Also, we had a switch in our wedding coordinator during the planning process and details that we had gone over with our initial coordinator were not shared or passed along to the coordinator we ended up having. The coordinator we had for the duration of our planning process was wonderful and very detail orientated.
  • Melissa
    Melissa Married on 11/02/2013
    Rating 3.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    We did not feel like we were important, originally we made an appointment on a Sunday, the person was a no show, said she would discount our event, also they were not really in contact with us throughout, we were the ones who had to always initiate communication, we did not receive any communication until a week prior to wedding, then we felt rushed. The venue was gorgeous it was on the Merlot yacht on the San Francisco Bay waters,very beautiful night for a fall evening. Just felt like the professionalism was not 100%
  • C
    Adrienne Married on 11/12/2016
    Rating 1.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    We had our wedding cocktail hour back in November 2016 with Commodore Cruises. I would not recommend Commodore for an event.

    First, they couldn't provide us with a tasting despite asking numerous times and ultimately just ignored our request.

    Second, Commodore tried to tack on extra charges a couple weeks before the wedding. In the best of light, Commodore is so scatter brained that they have no idea how to communicate terms of a contact correctly. In the worst of light, Commodore knows it's weeks away from my wedding and with all deposits paid, I don't really have any choice. We ultimately paid it because we had no choice. There was absolutely no apology for their mistake.

    Third, I worked with Jewell months before to make sure we were setup for the photo slide show. When I came to drop off supplies for the boat, I tested the slide show. It didn't work. I went back three or four times and the problem still wasn't solved.

    The real issue was the staff, including Jewell, just plum didn't care. Their only recommendation was for me to redo the slideshow Their only recommendation was for me to redo the slideshow so it's only jpegs, which would require more work days before the wedding and yet another trip to the boat. The staff was not only unhelpful, but also rude and frustrated that we kept trying to get it to work.

    The next issue regarding docking. They basically threatened to leave without our guests because of their decision.

    Overall, I would choose literally any other boat company next time I need to book a boat for an event. Their unorganized and uncaring ways is not something any bride deserves.
  • Mducuennois
    Mducuennois Married on 03/23/2020
    Rating 1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Refusal to return deposit during Covid shit down

    This company is taking money from several high school groups that were unable to attend due to Covid shutting everything down. They are refusing to refund the money. These are kids that worked hard to raise funds. This companies business practices are DISGUSTING!!!!! I wonder if they received any Covid relief money while taking from kids???
  • User1610222 2+ years ago
    Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    Do not plan your wedding or any event with Commodore! If you do, you risk having an emotionally traumatic experience. My wife and I had our wedding on Commodore about a year ago, and what should have been the most perfect day of our lives was derailed.

    To validate this claim, my wife and I sued Commodore in Alameda Court for the damages I am about to summarize, and we won. After reviewing the evidence, the judge took pity on us and agreed that our wedding was a night of chaos.

    From the first interaction AFTER we signed the contract, we found that Linda Wright, the Director of Sales, was trying to use tactics a used-car salesman uses. My wife, who did most of the planning, remarked from the beginning that interactions with Linda felt very "fake." What she meant was that Linda pretends to care about your wedding, but she really doesn't. However, she does care about loading more expenses into your package and sucking your money out of your wallet. To every small request she responded with a grin, “that will cost extra.” They should change their email signature line from "We tailor each event to your needs!" to "We tailor each event to your needs by nickeling and diming you!!" It felt like we did not have any freedom to customize our wedding and were very limited compared to other venues. Planning a wedding is stressful enough already, and they had no empathy, but only tried to make it more aggravating. My wife was very patient and made a lot of compromises. Every detail was planned, down to making sure we received permission for my family to board early for my disabled grandfather, and we didn't expect any surprises. But it was just the beginning.

    At the very beginning of the wedding day, Quynh, the cruise director, tried to eject my wheelchair-bound 94-year-old grandfather off the boat and back into the cold to wait on the dock like the rest of the guests. I explained that my grandfather is extremely prone to life-threatening pneumonia and cannot be in the