Colleen Rosenthal Photography Reviews

51 | San Luis Obispo, CA
See photos, pricing and details

51 Reviews for Colleen Rosenthal Photography

Recommended by 100%

51
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • S

    Sara · Married on 11/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When looking for a wedding photographer, my then-fiance assured me after looking through the work of many photographers on the Central Coast that there were only a few whose work spoke for itself. After a long first phone call with Colleen, I knew that she was the right fit for me--friendly, assertive, and professional. Every step of the way, she worked with me to make sure I got exactly what I wanted. The wedding day goes by so quickly, and everything is such a whirlwind, but now I can look back to Colleen's amazing pictures from that day and relive it again and again. She made everyone look good--even the slouchers and scowlers (of which I sometimes am one)! In the vein of a Baroque era artist in residence, Colleen ensures that her skill combines with your taste to create a personalized work of art.

    Sent on 01/27/2017
  • M

    Megan · Married on 11/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing a photographer is such a huge decision for your wedding day - this person is truly a part of everything you are doing and experiencing - every emotion, interaction - and capturing it for you to enjoy and reflect on for years to come. Colleen is that person that you want and need on that day, and in those moments. She draws something out of you and everyone there that I can't quite describe - you and the day will feel more beautiful, more together, more happy, more wonderful. She has a way with the bride, groom, family and friends that is beyond amazing. You will be the beneficiary of all of her amazing years as a photographer. And above and beyond her technical and professional acumen, she is kind, smart, intentional, so funny, so loving... perfection. You will be beyond happy and satisfied in choosing Colleen Rosenthal as your photographer - I know we are. Thank you, Colleen - we love you.

    Sent on 02/01/2017
  • A

    Anna · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Book Colleen she is the BEST! She is so talented and captures every moment. You can be sure your photos will be amazing. She is easy to work with and very professional. I loved that we talked ideas through and planned our day.

    Sent on 02/01/2017
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    Colleen is an amazing photographer! She has such a calming presence about her. We knew we made the right choice when we had her take our engagement photos. We called her the day before wondering if we should cancel because one of us was sick. She let us decide the morning of and wasn’t upset at all when we decided we needed to cancel. She was honest with us and said the pictures wouldn’t look as good. We were able to reschedule for another time and it was perfect! We had so many options for our “Save the Dates”. Colleen was kind enough to invite us over to preview the images and let us have a say in the editing.
    Colleen went above and beyond to make sure we felt and looked spectacular on our wedding day! We had several phone and email conversations prior to our wedding day. Colleen even attended our rehearsal so she could check out the lighting and preview possible photo locations. Colleen gave us advice regarding family groupings and meeting locations following the ceremony. This allowed our day to go extremely smoothly since we weren’t wasting time tracking down family members. We expressed our concern regarding a family member normally uncomfortable being photographed. Colleen took this to heart and made this person feel incredibly special throughout the whole day! This same family member raved about Colleen following the wedding, emphasizing how relaxed and comfortable she made her feel.
    We were so surprised and thrilled when we received a sneak peek of our wedding photos on our honeymoon! Colleen was thoughtful enough to send us three of her favorites that she had finished editing. Colleen worked very hard editing the rest of the photos and sent them to us earlier than we expected! We cried going through every image, reliving the best day of our lives! Colleen captured all of our emotions and the positive energy of our guests.
    We are so grateful Colleen captured priceless moments for us. We will cherish them forever!

    Sent on 08/21/2016
  • J

    James · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colleen captures just the right moments and expressions. Very fashionable posing and angles - just a wow of a photographer.

    Sent on 03/09/2017
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 05/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colleen was MAGIC!

    Not only a really cool lady but truly MAGIC with the camera. We hired her for a two day affair...an intimate wedding on Friday and then a let loose party on Saturday. From the first call with her...she got it! She was on board and ready for what we wanted. She not only listen to what we were going for she offered up thoughts but not in the boss, rude or condensending way...she offered up ideas and thoughts to help and improve everything about the ceremony and party. She is a PRO and with her input she made everything BETTER. She was a dream with us and got the shots in the short 30 min period she had. She let us be goofy and fun but also helped us to get the money shots that we would never do on our own. She made us laugh. She made our families laugh and she made everyone feel comfortable and happy. Which is what you want to shine through in your photos. We call her Auntie Colleen now and she will forever be apart of our family! Call her...book her...don't hesitate. She is amazing.

    Sent on 01/25/2017
  • User5445725 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't stop looking at my wedding pictures!! Colleen did an amazing job of capturing every special moment. My husband and I never took engagement photos so this was the first time we ever experienced taking professional photos together. Colleen made us feel so comfortable throughout the day and it was obvious to see how happy and natural we were with each other. She was one of our only vendors who we felt really wanted to know what we wanted out of the day and that's exactly what we got!

    Sent on 09/17/2015
  • A

    Amy · Married on 05/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colleen was a dream for us on our wedding day! She was so comfortable to work with, giving us great direction, running all around our wedding venue, but really slipping into the background to capture the atmosphere of the day. The photos were excellent. Just the perfect mix of positioned stills and random snap shots of the crowd having a blast. I really loved the frames of us laughing or smiling while mingling with our guests. She was a pleasure to work with, so easy and yet totally in control of the event. I was so confident in her skills and her photos just proved me right. I would recommend Colleen to anyone who really wants beautiful photos that capture the feeling of the event with all its joy and fun!
    -Amy & Wayne May 16, 2015 Wedding

    Sent on 09/20/2015
  • User4550118 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just received the photos from our daughter's recent wedding and are delighted with each and every one of them! Colleen not only delivered an amazing product, but also brought a true sense of professionalism, artistry and fun to the entire wedding photo experience. We truly appreciated her patient and positive presence and would highly recommend her as a wonderful wedding photographer.

    Sent on 11/15/2014
  • User4317335 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colleen Rosenthal was the photographer at both of my children's weddings - my son and daughter-in-law's in April of 2014 and my daughter and son-in-law's at the beginning of August of 2014, so I can speak as both the mother of the groom and mother of the bride. Colleen is more than a consummate professional whose photos elicit such remarks as "Wow! These photographs truly reflect the magic of the day!" and "These are the most beautiful photographs I've ever seen!" and "She really captured everyone's emotions!" She is a photographer who deeply cares, and who is amazing at reading people and bringing out their best. Colleen takes care of the bride and groom foremost; however, she also takes care of everyone else involved - parents, grandparents, families, friends, and does so with contagious positivity - AND she does this with grace, humor, generosity, and love. Prior to the engagement photos, Colleen met with my kids and really got to know them. It was evident from the very beginning that they were in good hands. And the engagement photos were amazing, a true preview of what would come wedding photos-wise. In essence, It's as though each wedding is an opportunity to make everything just a bit more beautiful; it's evident that she takes her job as the memorialized to heart! I cannot recommend her enough! She is a gifted photographer who puts her clients first and who with humility produces some of the most magical shots I've ever seen!

    Sent on 08/11/2014
  • G

    Gail · Married on 07/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colleen captured the day just as we remembered it. Beautiful photography.

    Sent on 11/14/2014
  • User4317659 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colleen did the photography for both our engagement pictures and our wedding. She was amazing! Colleen made a day trip all the way to Big Sur for us just to take our engagement pictures. Her personality made us feel extremely comfortable and natural which helped capture some wonderful photos! She is so amazing at capturing a moment (not overly posed pictures). Colleen went above and beyond her duty as a photographer and was involved in many details to help make our wedding day perfect. One thing we wondered when deciding on a photographer was if a second photographer was needed or not. After having Colleen I am confident that a second shooter was not needed. Only having one photographer not only allowed us to be more relaxed, her pictures are amazing quality and she didn't miss a thing. I would highly recommend Colleen not only for her ability to take quality photos, but her calm and confident personality is the type of person you want around on a stressful and busy wedding day.

    Sent on 08/12/2014
  • L

    Leigh · Married on 05/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing photographer!!! When I was looking for a photographer for my wedding last May I came across some of Colleen's photo's on pinterest! She definitely has a creative eye for capturing intimate moments which is exactly what I was looking for! After chatting with her on the phone I knew she would work out well for us! She was very easy to work with & very quick to respond to any questions that I had! Her professionalism & timing was excellent & allowed our special day to go very smoothly! I loved that she knew how to direct everyone where to stand & could catch things that seemed out of place! Every bride is eager to see their photos right away & Colleen did not disappoint! She sent us a few sneak peaks & had our entire album available online soon after! Thank you Colleen for capturing our special day!!

    Sent on 08/12/2014
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 04/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Colleen for both our engagement photos and our wedding. Colleen is the absolute BEST ! Everyone was completely blown away by our photos, including us. Colleen has this magic ability to capture the emotion of the experience....it's unlike any other photographer's work I have ever seen. And she does it in a way where you have absolutely no idea she's even there. What I loved instantly about Colleen was her genuine enthusiasm not only for what she does but for us as a couple in love and getting married. She took the time to sit down with us, ask questions, get to know us, and get to know our style. I felt like she knew us completely and our photographs were truly a reflection of the overwhelming positive emotion of our big day. Some of the photographs you almost feel as if a private moment was intruded upon. Even though our wedding was almost 4 months ago, still today when I look at the photos I find myself tearing up. Everyone who has seen our engagement and wedding photos have told us they have never seen more beautiful photographs. The only problem is trying to figure out which ones you want to frame because they are all so outstanding. Photography is such an important part of the day and choosing Colleen to be a part of our wedding day was by far the best decision we made.

    Sent on 08/12/2014
  • Aubrie

    Aubrie · Married on 03/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The moment I saw Colleen's work, I knew I had to have her as my wedding photographer. She has a very timeless and elegant style which was exactly what I wanted. After talking with her, I had no doubt I had found my photographer, she is very professional but personable, lovely and fun to be around. It seemed like she became more than just my photographer, she always went the extra mile and just played such a key part in my wedding. She shot my engagement photos, as well as my wedding, which are all stunning. I don't know what I would have done with out her. When your wedding is over, all you have are photos and I'm so glad I picked Colleen for this task. She is the best photographer I have ever found and she will be my photographer for life!

    Sent on 08/14/2014
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colleen is the absolute BEST photographer I could have chosen for my wedding. She if professional, extremely talented, responsive, efficient, and listened to all my requests. I was so comfortable working with Colleen from the moment we met, and was so happy to have her around throughout the rehearsal dinner and wedding. When I saw our wedding proofs I couldn't have been happier. Her work is SO beautiful!

    In short, Colleen is exceptional. I would recommend her to any bride-to-be in a heartbeat. Thank you so much Colleen!

    Sent on 10/09/2013
  • S

    Sue · Married on 08/30/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow! is all I can say about this phenomenal lady! Her photographs of our daughters wedding are the most beautiful pictures I have ever seen! Our daughter knew just what she wanted in her wedding pictures and Colleen surely delivered! These are not just your average pictures of a wedding, they are photographs that are able to capture every special moment of the night. When you see her website and see all the beautiful shots, that is what you are going to get!!! I just can not say how happy we are that we choose Colleen to photograph the most important day in our daughters life!!

    Sent on 09/08/2013
  • User3548575 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough great things about Colleen and her work! From the first phone call to last email I've been so impressed with her creativity, professionalism and kindness! I knew the most important part of having a stress free and Fun wedding was being able to have complete confidence in the vendors I worked with; Colleen was at the top of that special list! I just want to share the thank you note I sent Colleen after getting our images:

    "I LOVE the images! ALL of them! As I logged onto our album from your website I noticed the favorites tab and thought 'how fun'; but have now decided that the button is a waste- picking favorites would be impossible! You beautifully captured all of the moments I watched go by and wished I could just hold onto forever; Now I can! My husband laughs that every time I look at the images I have a huge grinned plastered to my face and move in a little closer to the screen! But I just love them that much, it is involuntary and completely necessary! The images you captured were so sweet and honest and real. I smile at everyone laughing and tear up when they're crying but most of all I feel overwhelmingly good reliving each moment! I can't thank you enough for this huge grin I have on my face every time I look at our wedding pictures!

    You are amazing and have such a gift and I thank you for sharing it with me and my family!"

    Sent on 09/20/2013
  • Sara

    Sara · Married on 09/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm a wedding photographer from DC who got married in Paso Robles; I get asked all the time, "How did you choose your wedding photographer?" Well, I didn't think it would be easy. In fact, I had trouble starting the entire process. I didn't have any contacts there, so I was flying blind. I was recommended to Colleen Rosenthal by our wedding planner, Celebrations by Patrice. I looked at Colleen's photographs and loved them. However, it was not until I met Colleen in person for our engagement session that I really realized what I loved about her. My husband is very shy and HATES having his photo taken; Colleen was able to make him feel comfortable and happy throughout the entire process - I can assure you this is not an easy feat. He actually enjoyed it! I'm fairly certain it would be impossible not to be comfortable and happy in her presence. Colleen is unobtrusive, but never misses the shot. She has an incredible sense of timing and awareness of the moments happening around her. Often I've seen that photographers without a second shooter miss a lot of moments happening around the bride because they are focused on the bride - Colleen is able to capture all of the above! We had a particularly difficult lighting situation, but you would never know from the photographs - they are perfect. I truly cannot recommend her enough. I was married in 2012 and I am writing this review two years later because she really is that amazing and I think about how perfect everything about Colleen Rosenthal Photography was on our wedding day. There is absolutely nothing I would change. I think I am a better photographer for having met her.

    Sent on 11/12/2012
  • User3323562 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As the staff at my venue put it, Colleen is the "gold star" of photographers on the central coast. This is the truth. You cannot get better than her. Although, if you look at her portfolio online, you can already tell because her pictures are beautiful.

    From our first conversation Colleen was incredibly organized, knowledgeable, friendly, flexible, and professional. She was confident in her ability to give me and my now husband exactly what we wanted, which helped easy my wedding anxieties. She has been in the business for awhile so she also had helpful suggestions about our pictures and knows many of the vendors in the area which helped make our wedding flow well. She followed through with her promise to produce beautiful pictures. The pictures she took of my wedding are amazing and I am continually getting compliments on them. Colleen really has an eye for beauty including understanding how certain lighting will translate into film. She took some pictures as the sun was setting which look breathtaking. You cannot fake good, natural light in pictures and she has a talent for finding it. She is also very energetic, friendly, and upbeat, which just added to the excitement for me and my guests.

    I do not have enough good things to say about Colleen. If you can, I'd book her without hesitation if you want the pictures of your wedding to be as beautiful and amazing as you remember the experience.

    Sent on 06/13/2013
  • M

    Meg · Married on 08/25/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are delighted with the inspired quality of Colleen's work that captured each special moment of the wedding and the attendees.

    Sent on 09/29/2012
  • S

    Sheelagh · Married on 07/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colleen did a wonderful job of capturing our special day!! We would highly recommend her if you want the photos of a lifetime!! She really knows how to capture the special moment of a wedding.

    Sent on 06/10/2013
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 06/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wish they would let me give Colleen more than 5 stars! Her pictures come out looking incredibly organic and romantic, and we truly love them. She had a great eye for capturing the quirky personalities of the guests, wedding party, etc. Everyone who sees our wedding pictures has been very complimentary about them, and many people ask who the photographer was so that they can use her for a future event. After the wedding, she had a much faster turnaround time than the photographers my other friends used for their weddings, and she did a beautiful job of photo finishing.

    In addition to the wonderful photography, Colleen has a calming presence and is great at making nervous photo subjects feel comfortable. She is a wonderful and positive person, and we loved having her at our wedding. I very very highly recommend her to anyone looking for a top quality photographer for wedding or other life events.

    I would recommend trying to book Colleen pretty far in advance of your wedding, because the busy season can fill up quickly.

    Sent on 06/22/2013
  • Lauren

    Lauren · Married on 05/19/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The aren't enough superlatives to describe Colleen!!! I feel so incredibly fortunate to have chosen her as the photographer for our rehersal dinner and wedding day. Colleen has ability to connect with people and capture the essence of their spirit. Her photos feel natural and have an emotional quality to them. I was a little concerned about wedding photos since my husband is shy in front of the camera, but Colleen made it very comfortable and casual. Her fun and enthusiastic personality makes it easy to smile. It felt as if I had known her forever. I had always envisioned taking photographs with my horse in my wedding dress. You may have noted them on Colleen's website. Most people thought I was nuts, but Colleen was up for whatever I threw her way. They turned out amazing!!! Colleen was always responsive to emails or phone calls and open to all of our ideas. Colleen is a true talent. You're crazy not to have her behind the camera on your wedding day. I wish we could do it all again :) Thank you. Thank you. Thank you Colleen!

    Sent on 04/18/2013
  • A

    Anna · Married on 04/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colleen is an enormously gifted photographer who captured the most precious moments of our Wedding in classic, beautiful, fun and creative ways. Every picture is a treat and they will be treasured forever. A true professional, Colleen set us at ease beginning with our engagement photos with both her humor and calmness. She was always on time, prepared, and had a Plan B when the weather didn't cooperate at our engagement shoot. You don't get a second chance at these types of photographs and we are SO GLAD we selected Colleen.

    Sent on 06/05/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review