Codman Estate Carriage House and Gardens Reviews

31 | Lincoln, MA
See photos, pricing and details

31 Reviews for Codman Estate Carriage House and Gardens

Recommended by 98%

31
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • A

    Alyssa · Married on 09/14/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredibly perfect place

    We had our wedding here in September 2019. Everything was perfect and the Historic New England staff was so kind and helpful! It’s a bit DIY which takes work but it was worth it to have it all exactly how we wanted. We got married in front of the estate instead of the garden and loved the quintessential New England vibe of it and the amazing carriage house.

    Sent on 09/19/2019
  • E

    Emily · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Codman Estate was absolutely incredible. The grounds are stunning and the Carriage House was exactly what we were looking for. We held our ceremony under a tree on the property, cocktail hour on the front lawn on the beautiful house, dinner outside on the lawn under the stars, and the reception in the Carriage House. Bill and the Codman team were extremely helpful and accommodating throughout the entire process, and we really liked that we were supporting a great nonprofit as part of our wedding!

    Sent on 09/28/2016
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married mid-July 2015 at the Codman and have nothing but praise!

    The location is beautiful - we did our ceremony in the Italian Garden, which is gorgeous. The reception was in the carriage house and under a tent just outside - it was the perfect size for the ~75 people we had.

    The grounds are great - there are a ton of places to take really pretty pictures and the lawn is perfect for games!

    Bill is phenomonal - he's the reason we booked the venue. He is super communicative and responsive. Any questions we has, he was able to help with. Also, because there are only a few caterer's that you can use with the venue, the logistics between the two were very smooth.

    Sent on 09/03/2015
  • W

    William · Married on 08/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place was the most beautiful setting for our wedding! Our guests cannot stop talking about the beauty of the place! I would definitely book again!

    Sent on 08/29/2014
  • User4312000 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Erin and I were recently married at Codman. The grounds (Italian garden, meadow, and carriage house) are just beautiful. We wanted a laid back wedding with as much of the day outdoors as was possible. Codman fit the bill! We had the ceremony in the Italian garden, cocktails/lawn games in the meadow, dinner in the tent, and dancing in the carriage house. The flow of the day was great. We can't recommend this place strongly enough!

    Sent on 08/09/2014
  • K

    Katy · Married on 07/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Codman Estate was one of the most reasonably priced venues we looked at, and was absolutely gorgeous. Many of our guests remarked on how beautiful the Italian Garden was for the ceremony, and the grounds and carriage house were great for the reception. The staff is extremely easy to work with, and made the entire process run smoothly.

    Sent on 08/10/2014
  • User4143729 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beauiful venu, GREAT value, amazing staff!

    Sent on 07/13/2014
  • C

    Carrie-Ann · Married on 06/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our wedding at the Codman Estate. The venue was affordable and the location was ideal for our families. Bill (site coordinator) was so helpful, friendly and responsive. The estate was beautiful, all of our guests had a great time.

    Sent on 07/02/2014
  • T

    Tiz · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I held my wedding at Codman and couldn't have be more excited! The outdoor and indoor spaces offer a lot of flexibility and we loved the idea of having the entire property to enjoy. The ceremony was in the Italian garden with cocktails and games in the meadow. Dinner and dancing moved to the tent and carriage house. Bill at Codman was great to work with. Very responsive to all of my questions! We really enjoyed our country casual day!!!

    Sent on 02/25/2014
  • R

    Rhianna · Married on 06/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I couldn't be happier with my wedding location. Not only are the grounds absolutely beautiful, but the staff working there are very helpful. Bill was great-- he answered questions at all times of day, especially closer to the wedding when I became much needier. He was as flexible as he could be to accommodate me coming in from out of town, and it was such a great experience.

    At the price point, you can't beat the Codman Estate. The only thing that I would recommend to brides considering renting the Codman is that if you're on a budget, consider that over a certain number of guests will require you to have a tent-- an expense I grossly underestimated. While there are ways to overcome this (tent shares, low guest count, etc.), it was something that surprised me.

    Sent on 06/11/2013
  • J

    Johnny · Married on 05/25/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Bill at Codman was a pleasure. Just after we started planning our wedding, Bill took over in the role -- and quickly proved to be highly competent, responsive, friendly, and helpful. We planned the wedding remotely from California, and Bill made it easy to do so -- he was quick to respond to emails, had suggestions on how to trouble-shoot issues that came up, and easily worked with our other vendors so we didn't have to stress the week-of. My husband and I were hugely impressed with him and think he will be a huge asset to Codman going forward, given his long history in event management.

    Codman was a dream for us as well. I grew up 5 minutes down the road, so I had known for a long time that I wanted to get married in the Italian Garden. Unfortunately, we ended up with a very rare late-May rainy day (in fact, it was 50 degrees and pouring!) but I actually think that was a blessing in disguise -- all of our guests commented on how beautiful and intimate our ceremony was in the Carriage House. I can't imagine now having done it any other way. We were able to fit our 120 guests, chamber group, and 10-person wedding party in the Carriage House, which the caterers quickly cleared for cocktail hour, and then we moved to the adjacent tent for dinner.

    The venue is absolutely amazing, rain or shine, and I was so greatful to have Bill as an ally throughout planning and the actual wedding.

    Sent on 07/12/2013
  • User3262868 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was just married at Codman. The grounds are beautiful! The Italian garden was a perfect location for our ceremony. The carriage house fit our small wedding perfectly. We didn't have a tent but I understand you can if you like. We were just in the carriage house. It was enough room for us. I liked being able to use the entire property. We did the ceremony in the Italian garden with cocktails in the meadow and dinner in the carriage house. Overall a great spot and I highly recommend!

    Sent on 05/17/2013
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 07/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was the perfect venue for our casual, but elegant outdoor wedding. We had been looking for a venue that would create a relaxed and intimate atmosphere, but still be elegant enough for a wedding and not so rustic as a barn or cookie cutter as a hotel. And the Codman Estate was perfect! The beautiful grounds, especially the Italian garden, are lush and green and were great for pictures. The carriage house with a tent outside was the perfect size and atmosphere for dinner and dancing. The Codman staff were very helpful and easy to work with. It was affordable and the rental fee goes to a good cause, preserving the historic property. And it includes a one-year membership to Historic New England. Also, they let us use some string lights and paper lanterns they already had set up in the carriage house, to save a little money, which was great!

    One thing you should know is that if you are having a summer wedding, like we did, the carriage house does not have A/C. They set up fans, which helps, but it got quite hot. But that didn't stop us from having fun! Just something to know.

    Sent on 02/03/2013
  • J

    Hayley · Married on 06/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Codman House was stunningly beautiful. It was also such a value! Syvlia, our event coordinator, was such a joy to work with. She was flexible and always helpful. We are so grateful to have had our wedding there!

    Sent on 06/12/2012
  • A

    A · Married on 04/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were married at the Codman Carriage House in late spring. The grounds are beautiful, and the Italian garden, which is where we held our ceremony, is spectacular. We wanted an outdoor garden ceremony and a reception site that was low-key but classy, and the Codman was perfect. Nancy Cahill, who unfortunately is no longer there, was extremely responsive and gave great suggestions on catering, msuic, and ceremony setup. It's a beautiful and convenient location, and the site rental fee is extremely reasonable compared to other venues that we saw. There are several caterers who have experience with the location to choose from, and you can bring in your own liquor, which is great.

    Sent on 06/03/2012
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 10/08/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were married here fall 2011, and this was a wonderful venue for us. Located not too far from Boston, making it a short drive, Codman Estates was so beautiful and picturesque.

    Demi was our on-site coordinator and could not have been nicer. She was really helpful and all of the staff were responsive to my questions.

    The ceremony took place in the Italian Gardens, which really blew my guests away! It is just so beautiful and unique. We lucked out with a gorgeous day, but we had a tent (with heaters) as a back-up. We had dancing inside the Carriage House and dinner was under the tent. Picture perfect!

    Sent on 10/25/2011
  • Kelly

    Kelly · Married on 09/30/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue was absolutely beautiful. The staff was flexible with what we wanted and everything turned out perfectly. This was the most beautiful and least expensive site that I visited. Extremely hands on with details and allowed us to do everything that we needed.

    Sent on 10/18/2011
  • C

    Lissa · Married on 08/13/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Codman Carriage House isn't a particularly fancy venue, but it was just right for the relaxed, unfussy wedding we wanted. The gardens are absolutely GORGEOUS and both we and our guests really enjoyed hanging out in such a beautiful place.

    Nancy Cahill (and another woman, who we only actually saw on the wedding day, whose name I've forgotten) was totally wonderful. Fun, helpful, completely professional, and flexible. Great experience.

    The price is decent, too.

    Sent on 11/15/2011
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 10/10/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Codman Estate is a lovely piece of property - the Italian Garden behind the main house is a gorgeous location for a wedding and photographs beautifully. Having the reception in the carriage house was perfect for us, having wanted a largely outdoor wedding and reception, but brides should know that they should factor in the cost of a tent (and dancefloor, etc) and possibly a lighting/decor consultant (if they don't have wildly creative friends with initiative -- I was lucky to have one in my Man of Honor!) to really do the space justice. Nancy Pochini, the venue/site manager, was utterly delightful to work with - and she was present at our wedding helping direct everything from early in the afternoon until the very bitter end, making for a wonderful event.

    Sent on 11/20/2009
  • A

    Allison · Married on 05/10/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Codman Carriage House is part of the Codman Estate in secluded Lincoln, MA. The carriage house itself would normally seat about 60 - 70 but we were having about 100 so we rented a tent to be erected right outside. On the grounds is a beautiful Italian Garden which is usually reserved for wedding ceremonies but we used it as the photo site.

    The location is beautiful and it gave the kids at our reception plenty of room to run around on the grass. I guess the only complaint I had was that the parking it a bit of a walk from the actual carriage house which wouldn't be bad but it's all dirt and gravel so anyone in heels will have a tough time. Nancy Pocchini was great. She helped us with whatever we needed and helped us with ideas and suggestions.

    I would definitely recommend the Codman Carriage House for an event.

    Sent on 08/14/2008
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 06/25/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Codman Estate is one of those places that is super special. Guests couldn't believe how beautiful the Italian Garden was, and when you rent the Estate, you have access to all of the grounds, which leads to a lot of flexibility. Working with Bill was wonderful. He responded to our e-mails quickly and professionally.

    A few other reviewers mentioned the cost of the tent. If you have more than 80 guests, you need to rent a tent that attaches to the carriage house. The cost of this was a bit of a shock for us as well, so I'd recommend getting a quote for that before making any final decisions.

    That being said, we'd absolutely work with the Codman Estate again. The venue is beyond perfect.

    Sent on 07/07/2016
  • User4793554 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Codman Estate was the setting for my daughter's wedding last June. Aided by spectacular weather, it was absolutely perfect. The Italian Garden is incredibly lovely and was a stunning backdrop for the ceremony. Our family photos took place on a large lawn in front of the bank of tall trees which you walk past en route to the Italian Garden. We held a variety of lawn games on the wide lawn near the Carriage House. Then with guests seated in the tent the buffet and bar was set up inside the Carriage House itself. It might have been a little complex had we needed to use the Carriage House for the ceremony but I think it would have worked out fine. As far as value, I would give Codman 6 stars if I could!
    Two footnotes re Flexibility: we used Capers from the Codman catering list and they were excellent and totally organized. With our afternoon wedding, we first offered lemonade and iced tea so that not only would thirsty people down non-alcoholic beverages first but also - due to Lincoln's four hour alcohol limit - we could offer beer and wine until an hour before the end and that worked very well!

    Sent on 02/16/2015
  • K

    Kendall · Married on 10/23/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Codman Carriage House is like having your wedding in the fields of Tuscany or Provence. It was secluded, with beautiful grounds to explore. The highlight was the Italian garden where our ceremony was. I can't even describe it. Magical and Romantic comes to mind. Nancy is the Manager of the property and she is now what I consider a friend. She showed us around many times, put up with my never ending phone calls and was a genuine person. Several places we looked at were really pretentous and stuffy. Codman is were dreams become reality.

    Sent on 02/24/2011
  • M

    Meghan · Married on 10/25/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful location and beautiful space.

    The only reason I have them four stars on flexibility is because they have a list of vendors that we have to choose from.

    I would recommend this venue to anyone who is looking to get married

    Sent on 10/26/2014
  • P

    Prashant · Married on 10/25/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bill from Codman Estate was easy to work with and the venue in itself is just beautiful.

    I gave 4 stars on flexibility since they have a fixed list of caterers but I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone looking to host a wedding or a party!!

    Sent on 11/07/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review