Skip to main content
Weddings

City Cruises - Marina del Rey Reviews

City Cruises - Marina del Rey

City Cruises - Marina del Rey

Marina del Rey, CA
4.8 out of 5 rating, 19 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.8 out of 5 rating
19 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating
96% Recommended by couples

Awards

19

6 User photos

  • Grace
    Grace Sent on 06/29/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Lovely and Classy Wedding On Waters

    We had a lovely wedding night last November 2021. Jane, Nina, and Alexis were so wonderful! They were very lenient to our request, especially our last minute changes. As the bride, it was easy to tell them what I wanted, how I wanted, and where I wanted everything to be. I even designed our floorplan! Not to mention, their parnter vendor for the cake is exquisite... the cake was amazing. We got a 3 tier, 3 flavor cake for our 75 guests. It was amazing.

    Jane, our event manager, was the sweetest. She made our planning experience as smooth as it can be. Nita, who was our wedding planner met with us a few times to make sure everything we want is in place. She was very transparent with our options. Alexis, our day of coordinator was friendly and attentive to our needs during the event.

    Overall, from all the events I planned and attended, my wedding was the best because of City Cruises in Marina del Rey and its lovely and wonderful staff. Highly recommend to all busy couples out there. You will not regret it!
  • Tara
    Tara A. Sent on 04/06/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent service and amazing experience

    The folks at Hornblower were amazing to work with from the first call to the wedding wrap-up. Picking the packages was made easy by Jane, and coordinating details was so easy-going with the overall coordinator, Elizabeth. Our on-site coordinator, Megan, and the Captain, Dave, and their entire wedding event team were phenomenal! The food was delicious. Our vegetarians and vegans raved that it was some of the best food at a wedding that they'd ever had. Every vendor that Hornblower recommended was amazing and easy to work with. I cannot recommend them enough!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • M
    Marcia Sent on 08/01/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Venue!!

    This was definitely the wedding of my dreams. Everything was perfect! The communication of my wedding coordinator, Megan was amazing. She was super helpful as well as responsive. I would highly recommend Hornblower to anyone.
  • T
    Tayler Sent on 08/23/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I recently got married aboard the Zumbrota yacht and the experience was better than I could have ever expected! Jane and Elizabeth were extremely helpful, and Christina (the on-board coordinator) was extraordinary! We also had Captain Vic on the ship- he was super fun! We planned this wedding in about two months and Hornblower managed to accommodate all last minute needs and provided all the best vendors for cake, florals, etc. Our guests said the food and endless mimosas were absolutely amazing and everyone had a BLAST. So pleased with Hornblower!
  • C
    Carol Sent on 08/23/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Attended a wedding on the zambrotta on 8/18/18 and it was the best wedding experience ever. Highly recommend this venue. The staff was extraordinary from day one. Loved it. ♥️♥️
  • C
    Connie Sent on 07/16/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    What a awesome time! It was so perfect! They let us decorate it and it was awesome! Everyone loved it!
  • G
    Gregory Sent on 03/19/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    It was perfect and everything went smoothly. Our family and friends are still talking about it. My wife and I had a very beautiful wedding.
    Thank you very much
  • C
    Chelsea Sent on 06/26/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Nita from Hornblower was a godsend. She helped with every aspect of our wedding and was so prompt with all of her resposnes, even to my most ridiculous questions. I was planning our event for a dinner cruise in Newport, although I was living in Sacramento, and my husband was living in Sweden. Nita helped me to customize my event to accomodate both American and Swedish traditions, and she was able to do everything with only meeting me in person once before the actual event. As every bride knows, wedding planning can be a nightmare, but Hornblower took care of EVERYTHING. I cannot even begin to describe how detail-oriented they were and how AMAZING the whole event turned out. The boat was gorgeous, the serving staff was INCREDIBLE, the food was PERFECT and DELICIOUS (seriously, my husband and I still talk about it every time we go to another wedding... nothing has been better than the Hornblower catered menu). The vendors they set us up with (like our DJ, the bakery, and the florists) were all incredible. Nita even helped me find suggestions for people to do my hair and makeup. I cannot say enough good things about how incredible our wedding on Hornblower was. It has been 2 months since our wedding and I still get guests telling me how it was the best wedding they have ever been to. EVERYTHING was PERFECT.
  • T
    Terry Sent on 10/05/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I was initially skeptical to have my wedding on board a Hornblower vessel, believing I would feel like a "number."

    Nothing could've been further from the truth. From my initial call with Kaitlyn, to my further assistance with Elizabeth; they made me, my fiance (at the time:)) and our wedding seem important to them, and they truly CARED.

    They provided us with a vendor list and the vendors we used were amazing. Planning a wedding is difficult, but with the Hornblower team, next to me, I felt they navigated me through a lot of the landscape. They provided me with a lot of hand holding, education and suggestions.

    Captain Corelli, who officiated our wedding, was so warm and sincere. Melissa, was on Zumbrota and guided the entire wedding day. Kelli Kel - our DJ - was TERRIFIC. Bianca, our florist, was amazingly creative and our flowers were breathtaking!

    My husband and I would not change a thing.

    I feel so lucky that I went with my gut and chose to use this venue!!!!
  • S
    Susan Sent on 10/16/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We chose Hornblower Cruises for our daughter's wedding venue. Hornblower Cruises was an absolute pleasure to work with. If I could award bonus stars, I would! Most of our daughter's wedding party and guests were from Europe. The Bride and Groom live in BVI. Thus the wedding planning process fell on me. Jennifer and Karen were aware of this and helped make our daughter's wedding the dream day she was hoping for.

    Hornblower is an all inclusive type of venue. They make it very easy to choose what you want in the most cost effective way. They have a wide variety of types and sizes of yachts as well as a substantial assortment of packages to choose from that fit varying budgets.

    Karen, our event coordinator, was exceptionally patient and helpful. She was quick to respond to emails and phone calls and always remained professional. I'm certain this may have been quite difficult at times as my daughter made many changes on many occasions including up to and after date deadlines. In addition, Karen and the staff at Hornblower allowed for requests that were unusual that allowed for a very personalized experience. The level of service we experienced was exemplary!

    Julia was our day of coordinator. I was worried about not having contact with the coordinator until the day before the wedding, but she did a fantastic job. Our groom managed to get lost the day of the rehearsal and Julia kept everyone calm and got us through a very difficult situation with ease and aplomb.

    The staff for the event was fabulous as well! Julia, Lance, Samantha and Captain Mark, as well as DJ Rob, all helped make the wedding truly special. They worked seamlessly to make sure guests were always tended to and that no one had to ask for anything. Glasses were continually topped up, hors d'oeuvres were passed discreetly, and the meal served efficiently. Service continued even after we returned to the dock. They helped me load everything (flowers, cake top, extra favors, etc.) into my vehicle far af
  • User1462116 Sent on 12/04/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our Wedding Reception Celebration was amazing on the Zumbrota yacht this past September 2013.
    The yacht is a historical beauty that is very special. We worked with Christina Domino and Megan Robbins throughout the wedding planning and they we're both helpful in making sure our wedding celebration had all the special touches we wanted.
    The staff onboard was not only top notch they we're friendly and we had many compliments regarding the service.
    Our Dj, "DJ Kelli Kel" is the best!! Super nice, really takes time to create the perfect musical journey that is perfectly timed and a lot of fun. :-)
    The yacht looked gorgeous and Britica Designs, our floral company via Hornblower created gorgeous florals...and set up all my "designing creations", which was fairly extensive....with great flair!
    It was a total "Labor of Love" that will always bring smiles to our faces for a lifetime!
    We not only "rocked the boat" with a lot of joy and happiness, we created an amazing memory that will be one of the most special times of our lives!
  • E
    Elaine Sent on 07/25/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Make category lists (flowers/bakery/food/drink/ etc.) and write down reminder words. Chck off when task completed!
    Have a final check off list for dressing the bride. It's easy to forget things like jewelry.......
    Ask your consultant questions..............they are the professionals!!
    The "Entertainer" ship was just perfect for the wedding and our coordinator, Carolina ran it smoothly the entire evening. Everyone on board said it was the most fun wedding they'd ever been to.
  • J
    Joselle Sent on 08/20/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Throughout the planning process, Jennifer was a pleasure to work with and was very prompt and helpful in answering all my questions. My now-husband and I loved the fact that the majority of the wedding was already a part of this venue package, i.e., dinner, cake, and DJ. It helped to not have so many things to decide on, and their contracted vendors were great too. And for our rehearsal, we were almost an hour late, but Jennifer and our day-of coordinator, Allison, still accomodated us and went ahead with the show. On the wedding day, Allison took good care of us and kept us informed of what was next in our "itinerary." We loved getting married on a yacht--it was so romantic, and our guests were very pleasantly surprised and had a fabulous time!
  • B
    Sabrina Sent on 07/19/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amazing wedding for a reasonable cost. Everyone was so impressed and loved the venue. The staff was also so helpful, professional and fun. The food was top notch, the DJ was amazing and the service excellent!
  • K
    Katie Sent on 08/07/2008
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Adventures At Sea was wonderful to work with! For the majority of my engagement, I was out of state going to college. They were wonderful helping me plan from so far away, and very flexible in working with me when I was home from school on breaks or special trips specifically for the wedding. They were great!
  • S
    Sharon Sent on 01/28/2016
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    We had a wonderful experience on Hornblower and Nita was extremely helpful in the planning and execution of the event. She was always easy to reach and quick to respond to any questions or concerns we had.
  • A
    Anjel Sent on 08/07/2016
    4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    It was a great time with family & close friends. Food was great! Time management could have been a little better but it was all worth it. We would definitely do it again but would have been a little more on top of timing stuff.
  • User1634285 Sent on 05/27/2014
    2.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    The DJ is good. The captain can be more professional by memorizing the ceremony speech.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours