Ciao! Catering and Events/ Two Steps Downtown Grille Reviews

124 | Danbury, CT
See photos, pricing and details

124 Reviews for Ciao! Catering and Events/ Two Steps Downtown Grille

Recommended by 100%

124
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

7 User photos

Ciao! Catering and Events/ Two Steps Downtown Grille 1
Ciao! Catering and Events/ Two Steps Downtown Grille 2
Ciao! Catering and Events/ Two Steps Downtown Grille 3
Ciao! Catering and Events/ Two Steps Downtown Grille 4
Ciao! Catering and Events/ Two Steps Downtown Grille 5
Ciao! Catering and Events/ Two Steps Downtown Grille 6
Ciao! Catering and Events/ Two Steps Downtown Grille 7
Sort by:
  • Kelly

    Kelly · Married on 10/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing experience

    Ciao Catering were amazing for our wedding. The food was outstanding; our guests were raving about the dishes. They were also very flexible, and in the end they helped us to craft a menu that reflected our tastes and personalities. They were also very helpful with the organization process, and the day of our wedding was relatively stress-free as they took care of the setup and decorations. They truly made us feel special and we would highly recommend them.

    Sent on 06/22/2019
  • Elizabeth

    Elizabeth · Married on 09/28/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is your no stress catering option

    Early in our wedding planning journey, we decided that we didn't want another generic wedding venue. We decided to have our wedding reception in a church hall which required us to obtain an on-site caterer. Luckily, we found Tom at Ciao! Catering. From the very first time we called Tom at work (an unscheduled phone call), we had confidence in his ability to be straightforward and down to earth. After the first tasting, we knew that his food supported all the good reviews. He stayed within our budget request and helped coordinate everything from how many napkins and table cloths to rent to how much beer/wine/liquor to buy. He even acted as a day of coordinator.

    Most importantly, guests have been raving about the quality of food and level of service since the wedding!!

    In summary, a message to those who are getting married: Some people will tell you how they didn't even eat at their own wedding. If you choose Ciao!, you won't have to worry about this, because the bridal/groom attendant will make sure you get served first AND if you care about good food, you won't want to miss out!!

    Thank you Tom!!

    Sent on 10/15/2019
  • S

    Stefanie Rehm · Married on 09/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful!

    My husband and I got married this past September at Wood Acres Farm in terryville. Ciao was amazing from start to finish. All our guests raved about the food. Tom and his staff were professional and on point. Tom took the time to meet with us and listen to our likes and dislikes regarding food and made our menu “us”. Due to a dessert mishap by our baker, staff from Caio went to a local grocery store to purchase a few more desserts. I highly recommended Caio for your catering needs!

    Sent on 10/13/2019
  • Emma

    Emma LaRose · Married on 07/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tom Devine & crew is Simply Divine!

    Tom Devine and his staff of Ciao were absolutely wonderful! We are so grateful we chose Ciao! From first call with Tom then onto our first meeting and tasting we felt so taken care of. Tom kept every aspect of the day so organized and documented as the planning went along which was fabulous to have that support and attention to detail. Come the big day everything went off without a hitch with the help of Tom and his courteous and caring staff. The food we chose for the evening was prepared to perfection and just so delicious! Everyone commented on how tasty everything was from cocktail hour to the main courses. Just perfect and never a worry in regards to anything. Tom is a pro at what he does and a class act with lots of experience, don’t hesitate, give him a call and book your special day!
    Thanks Tom for all you and your staff do!
    Cheers, Emma & Tom

    Sent on 09/30/2019
    Ciao! Catering and Events/ Two Steps Downtown Grille 8
  • Rebecca

    Rebecca Gofman · Married on 07/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply the BEST

    I am very very lucky to have had Tom and his team cater my wedding this past weekend. From the moment I met Tom, I knew I was in the best of hands. Throughout this whole process, Tom was so responsive and accommodating. He answered all my questions extremely quickly, and was incredibly flexible with menu changes leading up to the wedding. The week of the wedding, we knew that it was supposed to be 95 degrees on wedding day and Tom made new plans to move our celebration inside. On the wedding day, Tom and his team were absolutely incredible. They did everything exactly as we had discussed, and they did an amazing job of setting up our ceremony and cocktail hour indoors due to the heat. Tom's staff were extremely attentive and made sure my husband and I were taken care of all night. Not only was the service top notch, but my guests are still raving about the food! The hors d'oeuvres and salad were absolutely delicious, and my mother is still talking about how perfectly the steak was cooked! You really can't find a better team than Tom and the staff at Ciao! You won't regret choosing them, they are simply the best!

    Sent on 07/25/2019
  • Sarah

    Sarah · Married on 06/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Outstanding experience from start to finish!

    Tom worked with us from day one to have our vision come to life. Ray helped to execute to make sure the day ran so smoothly -- they are the dynamic duo who delivered above and beyond service and quality for our wedding. From the beginning, we had a unique vision of what we wanted our day to feel like. Paired with our venue, Tom worked with us to make sure our wedding felt like the house party we wanted, warm and inviting with comfort foods mixed with a high quality formal affair. He found the perfect blend of our vision and his professional opinions about what a wedding menu should look like. We had the BEST menu and our guests will talk about it for years to come. He customized everything to our tastes and desires and we were blown away during our tasting when it all came to life. His staff were pros and went above and beyond to setup the mansion including our centerpieces and other special details we had incorporated. He worked seamlessly with our other vendors and we couldn't be happier with the outcome of our wedding in large part to Tom, Ray and their team. Tom was also a great source of information and recommendations for other vendors, we completely put our trust into him and did not disappoint. We were also so thrilled with their professionalism, that we chose to use them for our rehearsal dinner at the Two Steps restaurant as well. Go with Tom, he won't disappoint! THANK YOU, TOM AND RAY!

    Sent on 07/02/2019
  • Julia

    Julia Mahony · Married on 06/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful catering service!

    Tom and his staff were excellent! A true pleasure to work with at all stages. Highly professional and reassuring, they helped ensure that the day of the event ran smoothly. And, most importantly, the food was great!

    Sent on 07/20/2019
  • Richard

    Richard Liverano · Married on 06/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best we could have ever asked for

    Tom was incredible and invaluable on the day of and, more importantly, through the entire process. He took ownership of so much and provided necessary insight to make the day ours. And the food was delicious too—I’ve never heard so many people rave about wedding food before.

    Tom was upfront with cost, and no last-minute changes happened on the day or week preceding the wedding. He over-delivered in terms of quality; both the food and staff were absolutely marvelous. When I had questions, Tom answered thoughtfully, creatively, and quickly, both before and after the contract was signed.

    Are you having a wedding? Do you want great food, great staff, and great correspondence? Do you not want it to cost an insane amount? If you answered yes to one or all of these questions, choose Tom and Two Steps. You won't regret it.

    Sent on 06/20/2019
  • cet2112

    Cyndi · Married on 04/28/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious food and wonderful service

    Tom was a pleasure to work with! He did not pressure us at all as we were selecting caterers and he put together a great menu and worked with us quite a bit before we even committed to using his services.
    The night of our wedding, he was calm and collected and had everything under control. The food was delicious and everyone had plenty to eat that they all loved. He was cognizant of multiple food allergies, sensitivities, and restrictions. The service was wonderful and we couldn't have asked for more.
    His staff made sure that the bride and groom had plenty to eat throughout the evening, and brought us drinks and snacks as we needed them. The room was set up beautifully and Tom and his staff were great at creating and sticking to a layout.

    Sent on 05/20/2019
  • M

    Martha · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hosted our son’s rehearsal dinner at 2 Steps Downtown Grill. Tom Devine and his staff were top notch. The food was amazing and Tom could not have been more accommodating. I highly recommend them!

    Sent on 09/25/2018
  • Lisa

    Lisa Leonard · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best caterers hands down!

    Tom was great! Everything from the tasting to the food at the wedding day was amazing. He took care of everything, even after I changed my mind and added people 100 times!

    Sent on 11/17/2018
  • V

    Victoria · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tom and his staff were absolutely incredible leading up to the wedding and the day of. From the moment we met Tom, he was professional, helpful, and very real with us. He was so good at giving us his honest opinion about decisions we wanted to make, while always helping us to stick to our vision. I appreciated how upfront he was about pricing, and he is extremely well priced for the amazing quality service and food he provides. The day of, his staff was beyond attentive to us and made sure we got to eat the delicious appetizers even while we were taking our photos. During the wedding, many guests told us the food was delicious, and not the typical wedding food they were used to. Because we had a tented wedding reception, we had to bring in a lot of rental stuff, which Tom took care of totally, telling us exactly what to get and getting us the best price possible from the rental company. We didn't hire a wedding planner, but it felt like we did because Tom took care of so much for us! You will not regret choosing Ciao! for your wedding!!

    Sent on 08/26/2018
  • R

    Robert Schaus · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic Job on Wedding Rehearsal Party

    We had a 100 person rehearsal party in Ridgefield, CT in August and Tom and his team nailed it! Tom came highly recommended and absolutely lived up to the reputation. They were super easy to work in designing the event and executed everything perfectly. Pricing was super reasonable as well.

    Sent on 11/19/2018
  • H

    Hannah · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tom and his team are INCREDIBLE! He went above and beyond for us on our wedding day. His hors d'oeuvres were delicious. We made special requests to the menu for things that were special to us and he was so flexible and executed with flying colors. Our guests kept commenting on how wonderful the food was! His staff is friendly, attentive and professional. We were just so pleased with everything. Would highly recommend him and his team to any bride and groom!

    Sent on 08/20/2018
  • C

    Cybil · Married on 08/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When planning our wedding, my husband and I were encouraged to reach out to Tom Devine and his team with Two Steps Downtown Grille for our catering needs. Thank God for this recommendation!!! For Tom is such an experienced professional and gave us much appreciated tips on everything from appetizers to our table arrangements to even the best place to enter to walk down the aisle. What's more, Tom brings the calm and attention to detail that is most needed during the often all-consuming/stressful wedding planning process. For example, while trying to figure out how to arrange our tables for the reception, Tom tried his best to carry out our vision but was also able to patiently explain what was and wasn't possible by carefully going over the dimensions of the room available to us. What's more, while many in the wedding industry will try to upsell anxious brides and grooms intent on providing a memorable event, Tom never once did that. In fact, in addition to keeping to our budget, he even suggested ways we could cut costs. And then there is his food - all of which is DELICIOUS. Our guests not only raved about his appetizers and entrees on the day of our wedding but are still raving about it weeks later! Finally, Tom's staff was also friendly and organized which meant that my husband and I were able to focus on our families, friends and each other. Simply put, my husband and I wholeheartedly recommend Tom Devine and his staff to any couple looking for an amazing caterer for their wedding day!

    Sent on 08/24/2018
  • E

    Eileen · Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing experience and value

    We had our wedding in July 2018 at Tarrywile Mansion and Two Step Catering was one of the preferred vendors, and we are thrilled with our experience with them. After an initial phone call with Tom and discussion about menu and budget, we went ahead with Tom team and didn't look back! Communication was always fast and Tom was very patient. On the day of, his team went above and beyond to help us. We tried to do as much as possible to DIY and keep cost down - for example my family did all the floral arrangements and table decorations, and all we had to do was get the flowers in the vases and leave instructions for what table decorations went where, and everything was put in place by Tom's staff, no hassle. Same ease with clean up. Since we also DIY for a DJ, Tom actually announced us as we walked into the mansion right before our first dance, which was very sweet :-) We were very impressed with the menu selection, and on the day of, the quality of the food. Everything was delicious! And lastly, going with Two Step Catering was a huge budget saver in terms of alcohol - they recommended a local liquor store (that also delivered!) where we could place an order, alcohol delivered, used their bartender, and then we returned what we didn't use the next morning. This probably saved us thousands of dollars compared to an all-inclusive venue! So, in summary, no reservations whatsoever in working with Two Step Catering, so happy we went with them!

    Sent on 01/13/2019
  • M

    Mary Ann · Married on 06/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had the pleasure of working with Tom and his amazing team for our June wedding at the Lounsbury House. Two Steps is not just your average caterer... I felt is if Tom was my wedding planner! He was so organized, I was able to put full trust in him keeping track of all the plans we discussed. I would never have to wait more than a day to get a response back from him. He also knows exactly what he’s doing, what vendors you should work with around him, how everything will go the day of, etc. he will help communicate to other vendors with and for you. In addition to the amazing planning process I went through with Tom, his team the day of our wedding was so attentive. Anything we needed, they were already getting. From setup, to bartending, wait staff, and cleanup, they truly are amazing. Everything ran smoothly the day of the wedding, and I can thank Tom and his team for that, as well as their cooperation with the other vendors I had working that day. My family loved Two Steps, my vendors noted how wonderful it was working with Tom, and my guests raved about how good the food was. I couldn’t recommend Two Steps more!!

    Sent on 07/16/2018
  • D

    Diane · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thanks to Tom Devine, his daughter Kate, her husband Ray, and the amazing team of Two Steps Downtown Grille/Ciao! who did an incredible job on Saturday with a wedding in my backyard - through sun, rain and steamy conditions, flawlessly!! They worked so very hard and the food was amazing.

    Sent on 06/04/2018
  • C

    Caroline · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tom was great to work with for our wedding. Our venue did not have a general manager and was very self-service, so Tom went above and beyond by drawing a floorplan, advising on rental equipment quantities, liquor quantities, etc. He was flexible with the menu he developed as well. We did cocktail hour and buffet. The food was very tasty, and the staff was extremely attentive to me and my husband throughout the event ensuring we had enough food and water and drink. He then packaged leftovers for us and we were able to serve family members who stuck around after the wedding several more meals. He was very responsive to my many emails, and was truly a pleasure to work with. We look forward to having another occasion to work with Tom on!

    Sent on 06/13/2018
  • M

    Mollie · Married on 05/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tom Devine and his staff are incredible! Tom thought of every little detail, he was not just a caterer but his staff moved tables and chairs, coordinated with all of our other vendors for the set up and flow of the wedding, and even thought to bring containers for us to take home the left overs. Let me tell you.. we wanted the left overs! Our friends and family raved about how delicious the food was. Tom was organized, professional and made the entire process easy by meeting with us at his restaurant and at our venue. We cannot thank Tom enough for helping to make our wedding so perfect, you will be in great hands if you go with his team! --- Drew + Mollie (Wedding 5/19/18 at Gallaher Mansion, Norwalk Ct)

    Sent on 09/21/2018
    Ciao! Catering and Events/ Two Steps Downtown Grille 9
    Ciao! Catering and Events/ Two Steps Downtown Grille 10
    Ciao! Catering and Events/ Two Steps Downtown Grille 11
    Ciao! Catering and Events/ Two Steps Downtown Grille 12
  • J

    Justine · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't even know how to write this review because how can I put into words the experience I had with Tom and his crew at Ciao Catering. Simply, it was incredible.

    Tom met with me before my wedding day, drew up a floor plan, and made it a beautiful reality. Both he and his support staff made everything move so fluidly, like clockwork, and brought my vision for both food and service to life. I was upstairs getting my hair and make-up done when I heard Tom had arrived. When I was finally able to come downstairs, I was floored. The space was transformed into the most romantic venue, and all without me having to speak a single word or lift a finger. The servers moved about as if they'd hosted events there for a living, and made everything absolutely perfect.

    Then there's the food. I can start by saying that what was left over, didn't even last long enough to be considered a "left-over". The food that was kindly left in the kitchen ended up being requested as my guests left. We heard on NUMEROUS occasions "that was the best food I've ever had at a wedding", and even our pickiest eaters went up for seconds. I never regretted living across the country in Colorado until now, because I wasn't able to take any home.

    Thank you, a million times. I will be recommending Tom and Ciao Catering to everyone and am so grateful for all of their hard work and attention to detail. You made my day perfect, and I can't thank you enough.

    Sent on 04/24/2018
    Ciao! Catering and Events/ Two Steps Downtown Grille 13
    Ciao! Catering and Events/ Two Steps Downtown Grille 14
  • A

    Angie · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My Husband and I have been in the food service industry for years so our choice of vendor for food and service was extremely important for our elegant backyard wedding. Tom Devine and his staff from Ciao! Catering certainly did not disappoint! Our guests could not stop complimenting us on the food and how seamlessly the night went. Everything was perfect from set up to break down and everything in between. Ciao! Catering exceeded our expectations and we are so pleased with how perfect our wedding was! We can't thank Ciao! Catering enough for helping our vision come to life!

    Sent on 08/21/2017
  • S

    Sylvia · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tom and his staff were incredible and we couldn't have asked for a more beautiful wedding day. Tom was very responsive and helpful from the beginning and he made wedding planning a lot easier. CIao Catering not only did a great job in setting up, but they were also attentive to every single guest throughout the night. We never could have imagined that our wedding would go so smoothly. Thank you Ciao Catering for your service.

    Sent on 07/25/2017
  • E

    Erica · Married on 07/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ciao! Catering/Two Steps Downtown Grille came highly recommend by a friend and I could not have been happier with choosing them to cater our wedding. Tom Devine was our point person and he was prompt in responding to all my inquires, was very helpful with helping us create a unique menu for our wedding and went above and beyond on the day of the event to make sure everything went smooth from the ceremony all the way until closing. Tom was great to work with and provided us with all the necessary information and tools to make our day perfect!

    Sent on 08/28/2017
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tom & Ciao! were a lifesaver. The food was great, the coordination leading up to the night was easy, the service the day of the wedding was seamless and friendly.
    I had been speaking to another caterer who was taking weeks to get back to me each time we made a minor change to the menu--which was pretty basic. I called Ciao! and was immediately relieved. It was clear this was a company that takes pride in what they do. Tom was very easy to work with, asking all the right questions and keeping cool throughout. I was so excited when he came up with a menu based on what my fiancee and I liked and kept it within our modest budget. Tom gave me a contact for an alcohol supplier that accepted returns and the two of them coordinated on the day of the wedding. I loved the NY strip steak and all the hors d'oeuvres and many of our guests raved about the food as well.
    This is a solid company you can rely on for your big day.

    Sent on 08/10/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review