Chicago Movers and Shakers Reviews

18 | Chicago, IL
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for Chicago Movers and Shakers

Recommended by 98%

18
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • A

    Anne · Married on 01/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh and his crew did such an amazing job for my wedding. We selected a package option that included Josh as the DJ plus an music assistant, and we also hired their photo booth services. So 3 people came for a very reasonable price! He also brought uplights, which are a nice addition for a wedding.

    Josh spoke with me on the phone many times in advance of the wedding (even over the holidays!) to discuss details, clarify things for me, offered important suggestions on things I hadn't considered, and reassured me how great some of my more unorthodox ideas would turn out. As a courtesy, he also met with me at our reception place a few weeks before the wedding to figure out where the equipment would look and fit best. This was above and beyond what I expected from any vendor.

    Josh is super organized, which I didn't fully appreciate until after the fact. We had to complete a "Wedding Music Questionnaire" which asked about our parents' names, the bridal party names, the order of our reception events, what traditions we wanted and didn't want to do, any unique ideas, etc. I wish some of my other vendors were this thoughtful because there ended up being a lot of confusion with other vendors the day-of and, as the bride, I was in no place to sort anything out.

    Everyone I talked to from my wedding loved the music. He did an awesome job of creating a playlist from our vague description of the musical collection we wanted. People were dancing all night and I think the biggest crowd was at midnight, when our reception was ending. Not a lot of DJs can keep so many people dancing for 4 straight hours.

    We loved the photo booth too! The props were hilarious and they even reserved the photo booth at the end of the reception for me and the groom. This was so thoughtful because we didn't have a lot of time throughout the night to hit up the photo booth.

    Anyway, I can't say enough good things about Josh and CMAS. Work with them - you won't be disappointed.

  • K

    Kristin · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Josh as the DJ for our wedding and cocktail hour and he was AMAZING! He was incredibly easy to work with and the music was great. He really listened to what we wanted and customized the music to our taste. Several people told us our DJ was the best they've heard and others asked for the song list we provided so they could use it for an upcoming party... except that most of the picks were Josh's not our. I would HIGHLY recommend Chicago Movers and Shakers :)

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 02/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't say enough good things about Josh and Chicago Movers and Shakers. We booked Josh as our DJ for our February wedding, and he was an absolute pleasure to work with from start to finish. It's clear that he not only knows what he is doing, but genuinely enjoys it-- a recipe for a great DJ. Josh took all our must play lists but also spoke with us several times to get a flavor for what kind of music we enjoyed. Together, we set up a plan for cocktail, dinner, and dancing music that were all distinct and wonderful.Josh's flexibility is unparalleled-- going as far as to happily adding a photo booth to our event literally three days before. Amazing!

    Josh had a tragic incident while setting up for our wedding--- his computer and hard drives were severely damaged. A testament to his professionalism, he went out and bought a new computer and was ready to go in less than two hours. We had no idea it had even happened until he called us days later. Rest assured, you're in amazing hands if you hire Josh.

    Oh, and book the photo booth. It's not a booth but rather a set up with an attendant and a big screen-- which ends up being better because you can do pictures with big groups. They do an awesome job, providing props, paper and pens to put a guest book together. Josh even hand-delivered our finished guest book a couple of weeks after our wedding!

    Don't hesitate-- hire Josh and Chicago Movers and Shakers.

  • A

    Alyssa · Married on 07/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Josh from Chicago Movers and Shakers to be our DJ for our wedding. Josh was fantastic! We had to plan our wedding long distance. Josh helped us remove all stress from the reception. He not only worked with us on the type of music and songs for our dances, but also helped us plan the timeline of the evening. Without him, we would have been lost. He was always there for us to answer any questions we may have had. He even touched based with us the night before our wedding to review the timeline and see if we had any last minute questions.

    The day of our wedding, Josh helped keep everything on track. He really captured the type of music and reception that we were looking for. Our wedding was very family friendly and laid back. Josh played music that appealed not just to adults but to the large number of children. From start to finish, Josh was friendly, professional and always smiling. If you are looking for a DJ who will help you make your reception an absolute success and help you remove the stress of the big day, look no further than Josh at Chicago Movers and Shakers.

  • S

    Sarah and Matthew · Married on 10/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. They were so awesome! The website made everything easy to get ready, they stayed in contact during the reception to make sure everything was on schedule, there equipment and lights were more than I could have asked for, the music was mixed and flowed just perfect, they accommodated special request and the photo booth was the icing on the cake, everyone loved it and the props they provided were awesome! Tony and Emily are the best choice for an amazing event :)

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 09/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I hired Josh to be the DJ for our wedding and reception. He was very personable and communicative and was a huge help to us both, especially since my husband and I were living overseas at the time. We were both incredibly pleased by the service he provided, and also received many compliments about him from our guests. In addition to DJing and providing the ceremony music, he also was the MC for our reception and displayed a slideshow video and music during our cocktail hour. Everything worked out wonderfully, and I would definitely recommend Chicago Movers and Shakers for anyone looking for a talented and fun DJ.

  • K

    Kristina · Married on 09/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would definitely recommend Chicago Movers and Shakers. Josh was so helpful when we were planning the music and order of events for our wedding reception. And on our special day, he and Jojo executed everything flawlessly. Josh kept the flow of the reception running seamlessly. His announcements excited all the guests and allowed them to share in the fun. The music got the party started...and kept it going till the end!

  • S

    Shana · Married on 07/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Chicago Movers and Shakers to DJ for our wedding, and I am so thrilled with our decision. These guys are FANTASTIC! You would have to pay a LOT more anywhere else to get another similar quality DJ -- I did my research! They kept the dance floor packed all night, and I got so many compliments on them. I think they are masters at reading the mood of a crowd and knowing what to play to keep everyone dancing. We paid a little extra for a "gobo" projector that projected a beautiful lighted design of our initials onto the floor that slowly spun, and people loved it! And they also had this super cute iPad video booth that we rented -- we have had so much fun watching all the messages that our guests left us! They also took care of displaying our slideshow on their projector. Even more than that, the owner, Josh, was wonderful to work with. He met with us ahead of time and helped us plan out the flow of the evening and brought up lots of things that we hadn't thought about. I absolutely felt like he truly cared that our wedding was everything we wanted and that I was in capable hands. If you are looking for a DJ, I seriously recommend Chicago Movers and Shakers! Thank you CMAS for making our wedding so awesome!

  • J

    Juanita · Married on 09/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had the absolute best DJ. My family and friends danced all night long..he even created a 20 minute rock medley to end the night. I have been told by many people that my wedding was the best wedding they have ever been to, and it had a lot to do with the best DJ in the area. I highly recommend Josh he really knows how to work it :-) Great light show too!!

  • K

    Kelly · Married on 06/30/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh Law is the BEST DJ out there. He had our reception rocking all night. He was such an easy person to work with that listened to absolutely everything we had to say. My husband and I are pretty picky music listeners and were nervous about hiring a DJ. Josh eased our worries immediately and at the amazing price he offered we couldn't resist and he was totally worth it. Our guests still talk about our great DJ and how he had the whole place shaking. I wanted a DJ that was concerned with playing the music and not talking all night and Josh was perfect for that. Great music collection and knows how to keep the party flowing.!!

  • S

    S. · Married on 05/08/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chicago Movers & Shakers served as the MC and DJ for my Chicago wedding. Josh was extraordinarily warm, friendly, and accommodating. He followed our instructions to a T, while also exercising his professional judgment to read the room and keep the crowd dancing late into the night. We could not have been happier with his services at every step of the way.

  • P

    Patty · event on: 08/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh is the absolute best DJ! I found him last year at the last minute for our annual block party and he went out of his way to accommodate me, which was awesome, though I worried about what I was getting last minute. My worries were unfounded as he was GREAT! So professional, engaged the crowd, wide variety of great music - just the best! We hired him this year again and plan to every year in the future. I have recommended him over and over and I will definitely use him for any event in the future!

  • C

    Courtenay · Married on 09/16/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh was great to work with! We had a unique situation where we had a band for dinner and reception and needed a DJ for ceremony and cocktail. Josh DJed the ceremony and cocktail hour which was great, he cued up the music just as I wanted and he even helped out with a microphone when the venue's mic went out. Would recommend! Thanks Josh!

  • Alexa

    Alexa · Married on 11/11/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh was very easy to work with. He was very responsive to our initial request for a quote and continued to respond promptly throughout the process. He requested input from us on musical selections, but was also able to work independently and make solid choices when we were overwhelmed with other wedding related tasks and couldn't find the time to give him more direction. We had separately booked live music for our ceremony and cocktail hour, and Josh did a great job of setting up his equipment early and making sure that the transition from live music to DJ was seamless. Musical selection generally flowed well with good picks for both the younger and older crowd. Thanks Josh!

  • M

    Marc · event on: 09/19/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic event; Josh was on time, organized and so helpful. He made sure that everyone was having fun, help with our setup and surprised us with few little things that made the event and atmosphere special. It was perfect!

  • M

    Mary · Married on 06/23/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married back in June of '12- and we hired Josh to DJ and he brought along a bartender. I would highly recommend Josh and his team. He was very reasonably priced (the best price we found) and was just as good as any professional DJ service at all the weddings we've attended.

    From the start of the planning, he was very attentive to listen to us and plan the music exactly according to what we wanted. We met several times before the wedding (he even met us at the venue) and really put us at ease about taking care of the timing during our ceremony and reception. He did music for both. For the ceremony, I told him several songs i wanted to use and he made them work wonderfully. He edited all the songs to make sure they fit our party and the bride walking down the aisle. He also did a good job of getting guests to dance... at first there weren't very many dancers, but as the night went on, people got really into it and he played a lot of requests and seemed to understand the right type of music to play to keep it going. We also had a dvd video of pictures to show and he took care of the whole thing (plus putting up the projector) for a minimal fee.

    We provided all of our own drinks at the wedding, and the bartender that came with Josh was very professional and fast. It was a pretty easy set up (just wine, beer.. no actual mixing of drinks) but the bar was stocked and drinks were cold.

    Plus he was just an enjoyable guy to work with... he clearly cares about his clients needs... and he put a lot of effort into making our wedding music exactly what we wanted.

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 10/28/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh did an amazing job at our reception! His music choices were great and perfectly in line with what we wanted - he kept the dance floor full!. Josh also supplied a separate mic and speakers for our ceremony and the sound was perfect - guests in the back said they could hear everything clearly. Given the layout of our venue, we then used these speakers and mix for the toasts, which worked perfectly. Josh was a great emcee and kept everything moving and made necessary announcements throughout the evening. We could not have been happier with our packed dance floor! Thanks, Josh!

  • User3582392 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Josh was easy to communicate with, he didn't try too hard to impose his own tastes (which is something DJ's are known to do) and probably the best thing about him is that he can find you virtually any song you want, when you want it. My Dad requested an obscure Greek song and he was sure Josh wouldn't be able to find it. Withing 2 songs my Dad was listening to the song he wanted with the most surprised look on his face. The only thing that I didn't appreciate was that Josh hinted heavily that he wanted a tip, which I found hugely unprofessional. Generally though, I would wholeheartedly recommend him.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review