Chicago Marriott Schaumburg Reviews

13 | Schaumburg, IL
See photos, pricing and details

13 Reviews for Chicago Marriott Schaumburg

Recommended by 93% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.5

Awards

13
Sort by:
  • Siddhi

    Siddhi · Getting married on 08/21/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Accommodating

    I recently booked my 500-600 wedding/reception at this venue. Since my fiance and I are having a south asian wedding, Katie was able to create a package that was within our budget and met the special requirements. A plus about this venue is that it is renovated and guests staying at the hotel get a complimentary breakfast (a huge plus for out of town guests). I call/email Katie at least every other day and she remains cheerful as always!

    Sent on 03/05/2019
  • C

    Carol K. · Married on 07/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My Daughter’s Wedding

    My daughter had her wedding reception at the Chicago Marriott Schaumburg in the ballroom. I can’t say enough about the entire experience...it was beautiful!!! The entire interior of the hotel was very recently renovated: the sleeping rooms were spacious, affordable and very comfortable, the lobby was welcoming and sharp- looking, the restaurant and bar area were awesome, the ballroom was large and absolutely exquisite when the reception took place, and the staff couldn’t have been nicer! The very best part of my experience at the Marriott was working with our wedding coordinator, Katie Putzer! Katie went out of her way to make my daughter’s wedding everything she always dreamed of! She worked with us in every way possible to make it affordable for us and amazingly beautiful! The food was out of this world, she pointed us in all the right directions for all the extras that make a wonderful wedding, she kept us on track with all the little things that could easily have been forgotten, and she did all of this and more with a smile on her face. Sometimes we bombarded her with emails and phone calls and she always responded in a timely manner, never sounding or appearing annoyed. The wedding was everything my daughter dreamed it would be and we have Katie and the Schaumburg Marriott to thank for that! I would recommend the Schaumburg Marriott to all who would like a beautiful atmosphere for any event, especially if alcohol is involved because they can just go upstairs when all is done and avoid driving. We’ll be reliving that day over and over in our minds for a very long time and we have Katie and the Schaumburg Marriott to thank for that! You were all wonderful!

    Sent on 07/26/2019
  • B

    Beth K. · Married on 07/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    5 Star experience all-around!

    The wedding planning experience was quite overwhelming - especially in the Chicago suburbs where there are SO many options for every type of vendor. I sent several requests to potential reception venue locations and Katie at the Chicago Marriott Schaumburg was the first to get back to me! We went out to meet with her and tour the options shortly after and we were immediately convinced that this was the place for us. We used the tent out back to allow our guests to not have to travel to the reception, but also not be stuck feeling like they are still in the hotel. Katie was incredibly responsive and the flexibility that they offered was something I didn't think existed in the wedding business. Katie started the process with us, went on maternity leave, and came back in time to be at our event without ever missing a beat. We planned our wedding from out-of-town and they made that as easy for us as possible - making time to meet anytime that we were back in the area. I'm so grateful to Katie and the Chicago Marriott Schaumburg staff for making our wedding so special. We can't wait to go back and stay in the hotel again to bring back all of those amazing memories. I would absolutely recommend Katie and their staff to anyone looking for a wedding venue in that area!

    Sent on 04/15/2019
  • Nighath

    Nighath H. · Married on 06/15/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Katie was the best decision I made!

    My wedding night was perfection. Katie made the whole wedding planning process so easy and smooth, that I didn't have a hint of stress going into the wedding! She was such a pleasure and warm hearted person to work with! My whole experience with the Marriott was seamless. I would definitely recommend this venue to a friend.

    Sent on 03/07/2019
  • Gina

    Gina · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Magical Reception at Marriott Schaumburg!!

    We’re so grateful to Katie and the entire Marriott Schaumburg team for helping make our wedding night the best night of our lives, and can’t recommend Marriott Schaumburg enough as a wedding reception venue!!!! From start to finish, we had such a great experience. Katie worked with us to customize every part of the reception to be exactly what we wanted – from centerpieces, other table decorations, allowing us to bring our own charger plates, providing cocktail hour music, keeping the outdoor pool open for a week longer than usual at the end of summer so we could have our cocktail hour outside…I could go on and on. The package price was really reasonable for everything it included, and our guests raved about how good the food was. Katie and the Marriott team were truly invested in making sure our reception was everything we wanted it to be. Before booking with Schaumburg Marriott, I had read about a bunch of crazy things to look out for in reviews of other venues, and I didn’t have to worry about a single one of them with Marriott. Our cake was included (no extra cake cutting fee), and it was delicious! When we chose to forego full chair covers for just sashes, we were able to apply the leftover credit to something else. As far as I can tell, it’s really unheard of for cocktail hour music to be included – usually you have to pay for an extra hour with your DJ or band to provide that, but with Marriott Schaumburg it was included. I asked so many last minute questions, and Katie was always so sweet and accommodating when answering them. Another huge help was when Katie allowed us to start setting up in the tent on Friday before our reception on Saturday night! Being onsite at a full service hotel was perfect also. We had a gap of time in between our ceremony and reception, and it was great for guests to have something to do in between – head to their rooms, the hotel bar, or mingle with other guests in the lobby. During the reception, guests who didn’t want to dance or wanted to step away from the loud music also appreciated being able to gather in the lobby. And at the end of the night, it was so nice for us to not need to hop in a car or shuttle to get to the hotel – we were already there. Thank you so much, Katie and Marriott team! We loved everything about our planning process with Marriott Schaumburg and especially the reception itself!!

    Sent on 03/24/2019
  • SKPH51411

    Sarah · Married on 05/14/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot even begin to say how HAPPY my husband and I were when it came to booking our reception at the Schaumburg Marriott Garden Marquis and to work with Denise!! We instantly hit it off with Denise and fell in love with the facility. There is nothing better then having a great relationship with your wedding reception coordinator and I could not say enough good things about Denise. She was professional, fun, enthusiastic...overall a genuine person. She did just about anything to make our day special. I still reminisce about the first time walking into the Garden Marquis Tent on my big day: overcome with joy as it was more beautiful then I had imagined it would have been. Denise and staff really surpassed my expectations. Thankfully, I have my pictures to look back at it!

    Everybody at the Schaumburg Marriott truly makes you feel welcomed and special. From the moment you walk through the door, somebody is there to greet you and find out how they may be of assistance. Chef, oh my, Chef is AMAZING! Probably the best 'reception' food I have ever had. My husband and I were beyond pleased and STUFFED when we left our tasting. I was so excited for our food on our wedding day. We opted to have serving stations. Friends and family loved the pasta station as well as the meat station; as did we!

    I could not have imagined a more perfect day; a more perfect reception. I would love to do it again! The Schaumburg Marriott Hotel and staff are wonderful!

    Sent on 07/20/2011
  • K

    Keara · Married on 05/18/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This review is centered around Denise Englemann, our wonderful coordinator at the Marriott. She bent over backwards to accommodate our every need and was pleasant throughout the entire experience. One of my favorite things about Denise was her punctuality and responsiveness - as soon as you email her with a question, she shoots the answer back or a response explaining that she'll have to get back to you that afternoon because she has to check. The day of the reception was wonderful because I didn't have to worry about anything. Her crew set up everything including the menus, place cards, and table decorations. On top of the great service we received, the food was great! We got TONS of compliments on it. In the end, everything we received from the Marriott met or exceeded our expectations. I would do it there again in a heartbeat.

    Sent on 06/10/2009
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 07/19/2003

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved this site for our reception. We used the tent outside and it was beautiful! Our planner Scott was awesome too.

    Sent on 12/11/2009
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 10/05/2019

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing!!!

    Katie has been so great, so easy to approach, quick in getting back to my messages, she will go into everything in detail and answer every single question the couple has. We are very excited to have our wedding here!

    Sent on 03/05/2019
  • N

    Nidhi G. · Married on 08/03/2019

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent service, great correspondence

    Schaumburg Marriott was the first venue we looked at and contacted, and the very same day my wife happened to visit Marriott. Katie was kind enough to give her a tour without a scheduled meeting. We looked at several options for our wedding venue but ultimately picked Marriott because of Katie. Katie is absolutely wonderful to work with and the renovated Marriott is elegant and fancy. Throughout the process (contract negotiation, planning, and implementations) Katie and her team provided great care and was available to help us out when needed. Katie answered all the questions, and listened to everything we wanted for our wedding day. She was always open to making changes according to our needs and the hotel provided the best service to our family and friends during the wedding weekend. Everyone was so satisfied with the hotel rooms, breakfast and hotel services offered to the guests. We could not have asked for a better venue. This marriott has an absolutely gorgeous air controlled tent, where we had our wedding ceremony. It was truly a magical weekend for us.

    Sent on 09/15/2019
  • N

    Nina · Married on 08/18/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent Customer Service

    This is going to be an honest and long review of my wedding here which occurred on August 18, 2018. Overall I would give a rating of 4 to 4.5 stars on my overall experience, but there were definitely some major hiccups that happened that I would rate as a 2 or 3.

    My now husband and I were extremely excited about our reception venue because when we met our Catering Manager Katie for the first time during the tour she was so kind and professional. She assured us that what we had wanted for our day was within their grasp of what they could do. It was a no brainer for us to sign the contract because we fell in love with the outdoor Marquis Tent and the fact that it was conveniently located for most of our guests. From the signing of the contract to the day of my wedding, Katie was EXCELLENT at responding to emails, getting back to me with odd/random info I asked her about and just being there to help with nervous anxiety about wedding planning overall. Plus, she was pregnant with her second child and still was super chipper and friendly! She honestly made the whole planning aspect a lot more easier. We were also really excited about the food, since at our Tasting everything we requested to try was soooo good. I fell in love with the beet salad, but my husband thought that we should go with a traditional Caesar since not everyone loves beets, but I requested a personal plate of beet salad be brought to me on my wedding day and she made it happen! Working with Katie, the overall venue and most of the day really met my expectations. There was however a snafu with the dinner service. My husband and I opted to pay extra and go with the Family Style Buffet, this way guests lcould take what they wanted and however much they wanted. When it was time for dinner to be served, the salad came out first, but bread was scarce. We didn’t even have cutlery or bread at the head table. After salad, I expected dinner to be served promptly because I told my MC that I wanted to wait until after dinner was served and people were into eating to start speeches because it sucks when you’re starving and have to wait for long speeches to be done before being served. Well, there was a good 30 minutes in between the Salad and main entree being served. We went ahead with the speeches and when they were done, the food came out. During dinner I barely ate anything because I was just observing the atmosphere overall. I noticed a LONG line at the bars because they had placed both bars side by side next to the service doors and this line was right up against tables that I had sat my husband’s out of town family at and people were hovering over them as they ate. It was really upsetting to me because the floor plan had one bar at each end of the Marquis. It wasn’t later until after my wedding when I went back to work and asked my coworkers what they thought about everything and this is when they told me that the food was fine, but they didn’t get any extra food when they asked the servers to bring more. The response from the sever was “Absolutely not, there’s no more”. I was LIVID when I heard this. I checked with a few other guests and they also did not get extra food served. My vegetarian guests did not get their vegetarian meals, they only ate the vegetables that were served and the kids were fed well AFTER the main meal was served! Also, they did not serve coffee to every table and only served my cake to people who were sitting at the table! My sister in law asked for a piece of cake for my nephew and the sever said to her they didn’t have anymore and threw the cake away! On top of that they broke my Cake Topper! I opened the box to find half of the topper missing! Why wouldn’t you have included the other broken piece in the box? Needless to say, I didn’t know of ANY of the service issues on my wedding day, and I truly believe it was only because I noticed all of my guests having such a good time dancing to the band I hired. My husband and I had a blast as well. So when I learned about all of issues with dinner service I immediately emailed Katie and told her how displeased I was. She was prompt at responding and asked that we talk on the phone to discuss the issues. She told me that she knew my dinner service was going to be a disaster as soon as the salad was served because apparently Marriott hires an outside vendor for their servers, which makes sense. And on that night a server had quit or gone home early and the rest of the severs had to pick up on her duties, which set them way behind. Also the banquet captain did not do a good job at communicating to the severs that there was plenty of food. She told me that they had already had a meeting with the Hotel Manager about my wedding because it was such a big deal to them. She told me that she would discuss compensation as well. In the end I ended up getting a good size refund and Marriott points given to me. I think it helped that I wasn’t a bridezilla and demanded outrageous things to be compensated. In the end, my guests did have a great time and they still tell me to this day that my wedding was the most fun they’ve had in years and that in hind sight the food didn’t really matter. I’m so grateful to Katie and the excellent customer service that was shown by her. I think Marriott has a reputation to uphold and they did their absolute best to make sure my husband and I were satisfied.

    Sent on 02/17/2019
  • N

    Neha · Married on 07/28/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Denise to plan our Indian wedding - and Denise was exceptional. She always answered our emails, answered every question we had, and went above and beyond to make our wedding phenomenal. She is incredibly detail oriented, knew what the Marriott could and couldn't do, was very clear with us, and worked amazingly hard and efficiently to make our wedding the best weekend of our lives.

    I would recommend the Chicago Marriott Schaumburg with no reservation - especially if Denise is planning your event.

    Sent on 12/19/2012
  • User56500 · 2+ years ago

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.5

    I didn't get back half the decor that I gave them for the reception. Our dinner was wrong and all our wedding planner could say was "oops". She never returned phone calls or emails. She is no longer working there. Our family had been to or had 4 weddings at this location and were happy with them. My wedding had so many problems I don't even know where to begin! They were remodeling the hotel which was supposed to have been completed 6 months before my wedding. They couldn't turn off the heat in the rooms (December wedding) I had guests that checked out in the middle of the night because it was so hot. I spent my wedding night hot and sick with a headache because of the stuffy room...it was a disaster!

    Sent on 02/13/2008