Weddings

Chicago Catz Reviews

Chicago Catz View more information

70 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 70
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4 User photos

Sort by:
  • Danielle
    Danielle K. Getting married on 10/01/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Have worked with the Catz MANY times, highly recommend!

    If you need a band, look no further!! I am an event planner in Chicago and I've worked with Chicago Catz many times. I chose to hire them for my own wedding because I feel they're very trustworthy, they're very good people (sounds weird but this is not always common with bands.....), they're flexible, and last but not least, they throw a killer dance party *every time*.

    I had to postpone my own wedding (due to Covid-19 venue restrictions) and Richie was very fast at communicating our options and explained that they have NO postponement fees. You can ask any band, they ALL imply fees, so that in of itself makes myself and my clients feel like they're being taken care of and are not going to end up with some insane bill post wedding. I appreciated Richie's eagerness to look into other dates to make sure we could secure a future date that works for all the vendor team.

    Every time I've worked with Chicago Catz, the musicians have a lot of energy, they dance and sing and interact with guests [from afar] and they have really fun transitions between songs. The only time we see a break on the dance floor is when the band takes their break, but that's not a bad thing so everyone can refresh, grab a drink, catch their breathe and head back shortly after.

    I look forward to continuing working with Richie not only for my wedding, but for all of our weddings that are coming up this year! Thanks Richie & Chicago Catz for being so wonderful!!!

    -Danielle & Phil
  • Kaley
    Kaley M. Married on 12/31/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Chicago Catz bring the party!

    Stop what you're doing and book the Chicago Catz already! My family used Chicago Catz for my sister's wedding in September 2019. We loved them SO much we used them for my wedding on NYE 2021. Both weddings the Catz outdid themselves and brought the party to the dancefloors! Both weddings we had wedding guests ALWAYS on the dancefloor and we still get compliments today on how fun our wedding band was. Richie, the main contact for the band, is amazing. He is extremely responsive, fair with pricing, and provides excellent support during the wedding process. He was so easy going and fun to work with! We cannot recommend the Chicago Catz enough! Thank you, Richie & Chicago Catz!
  • P
    Paul L. Married on 09/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Wedding Band Ever!

    The entire time that the band was playing at our wedding, all anyone could do was come up to us and tell us how great the band was and how they felt like they were at a concert. Everyone was on the dance floor dancing the entire night. They played a great mix of classic and modern songs. The vocalists were incredible. The band was phenomenal. Also working with Richie was really a pleasure. He had a great laid-back and accommodating disposition throughout the whole process. Can't recommend them enough!
  • Kerry
    Kerry C. Married on 09/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Hands down the best!

    The Catz absolutely made our wedding!! They had the dance floor rocking all night, our guests didn’t want to leave. The range of songs that the Catz can play is astonishing and appeals to all audiences … they even learned a couple of new songs just for us and crushed it!

    Richie and team are a pleasure to work with: they are professional, flexible, and know how to put on an incredible show.

    I can’t imagine our wedding without the Catz and am thrilled to have found them. If you want to have the time of your life, look no further.
  • S
    Sandy W. Married on 07/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best wedding band ever!

    Do not walk, but run as fast as you can to book the Chicago Catz for your party, whether it is a wedding, Bar Mitzvah or corporate event. There is no better band on the planet to get your guests on the dance floor and keep them there all night.
    We heard the Catz at a wedding several years ago, and took their card. We knew that someday, when our son got married, we were going to hire that band. Their music is phenomenal – a mix of Motown, funk and contemporary – and so fun to dance to and sing along with. The musicians are the best in Chicago, and the vocalists are incredible. One of them appeared as a contestant on The Voice.
    Richie Davis, the bandleader, is a pleasure to work with. He is extremely quick to respond to questions in emails and phone calls, and gives great advice. Richie will listen to what you want – we wanted a few slow songs – and he will suggest the perfect ones, from old standards to the latest top hits. I've lost count of the number of guests at our son's wedding who told me that the Chicago Catz was the best wedding band they've ever heard. Those included several people who recently got married and had hired other bands! I also had a friend thank me for hiring the Catz, because her husband NEVER dances at a wedding, and he danced nonstop at ours. There is no higher praise than that.
    The key to a great party is a high energy band which gets people out of their seats onto the dance floor, and keeps them there. Richie Davis and his crew of Chicago Catz are that band. If they are booked on the date you want to plan your party, then you'll have to change your date!
  • Sloane
    Sloane O. Married on 05/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing!

    wow. That's all i can say. The Catz are an incredible band and will not leave you disappointed. We had many guests come up to us both during and after our wedding raving about the band.

    Everyone was dancing as soon as the Catz took the stage - they were so interactive and just plain talented.

    We'd book them again in a heartbeat.
  • A
    Avery C. Married on 06/20/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Book the catz

    BEST BAND EVER! We had so much fun with the Catz at our wedding at Rockwell on the River in July 2021. So many of our guests were raving at how talented they were. Someone even said “I feel like I’m at a concert!” The Catz are fun, interactive, and keep everyone dancing on the dance floor. Not only were they great performers, they were also an absolute dream to work with! We had to postpone our wedding twice due to covid and they were so accommodating the entire time. The week of the wedding we had a slight hiccup (my fault) and Richie and the Catz were understanding and immediately accommodated us. Don’t book another band- book the Catz!
  • Jeremy
    Jeremy L. Married on 01/19/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Don't look elsewhere, you need the Chicago Catz

    If you're looking to have a good time with the best freaking music, the Chicago Catz are your crew. Since working with Richie and hearing them live, every subsequent wedding band we've experienced just doesn't quite hit the mark. The Chicago Catz bring opportunities for both a buttoned-up and more soulful and raw wedding experience with truly the best dancing music. Richie's ability to work with both the venue and wedding planner was greatly appreciated and he was more than easy to get in touch with.

    Wishing we could re-do our wedding largely because I want to relive the party that Richie orchestrated.
  • R
    Raechel T. Married on 12/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Band!

    As music lovers we were very particular about the entertainment at our wedding. The Chicago Catz did not disappoint. Richie was amazing to work with! He provided solid guidance every step of the way. The dance floor was packed all night. The Chicago Catz had such a phenomenal sound! It was so full and energizing. We would hire them again in a second.
  • Tony
    Tony W. Married on 11/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great Wedding Band!

    The Catz were great. My wife and I got married in May at her families Lake. The band was heard across the lake. All of our friends and family are still talking about how much fun the band was. Thanks
  • Lucia
    Lucia Married on 11/01/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing wedding band

    The Chicago Cats were an unbelievable band! They had everyone on the dance floor the entire night...and we were having so much fun we added more time so the night didn't have to end. They played the perfect range of music to keep all of our guests happy and having a blast. And, not only did they keep everyone on the dance floor - the vocals were out of this world. They are fun and incredibly talented. I couldn't recommend them more!
  • Angelica
    Angelica A. Married on 10/19/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dancing All Night

    The Chicago Catz were amazing! They had us dancing all night! The quality and professionalism of the band can't be beat. Rich met with us long before the wedding and answered all of my mom's 100 questions she had. He was flexible and accommodating. We even were able come see the band at someone else's wedding prior to booking. My foreign family members continually mentioned feeling like they were at a concert! They played a great selection and we were all siging along
  • B
    Briana Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing band!

    They were the best part of the wedding! Richie was incredible to work with and he made everything so personal and easy. They were accommodating of everything we asked for and they kept the dance floor full until the end of the wedding! We got so many compliments on them - they were the BEST!!! We can't recommend them enough!
  • L
    Lindsey D. Married on 09/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely amazing!

    We had the Chicago Catz for our September 2019 wedding. WOW! They exceeded all of our expectations. Our dance floor was packed until 1am! The entire ensemble was amazing, they had so much energy the whole night and really worked our crowd. The team learned songs for us for the wedding and made the whole experience special and unique to us. They were SO easy to work with leading up to the wedding and super professional. We couldn't recommend them enough! The Chicago Catz will always hold a special place in our hearts!
  • S
    Sue Married on 08/23/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Outstanding

    They were unbelieveable! Timely, professional and about the nicest people ever! Loved loved loved them! They made my son's wedding an event! People are still talking about them! Had a packed dance floor all night long til the very end!
  • Bertel
    Bertel O. Married on 07/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible talent who 'made' the night!

    I simply cannot say enough good things about Richie and the Catz. The Catz were recommended as an option by the venue; we went to see The Catz perform at a bar in Bucktown and immediately felt their energy, knew every song and understood the response they were receiving from the crowd. After deciding (that evening) to go with the Catz, working with Richie was fantastic; he might have been the most responsive and easygoing vendor throughout the whole wedding planning process. Richie was always available to speak on the phone and quick to answer any email. He met with us a number of times and worked with us to ensure we were comfortable. Our wedding was beautiful but I have to say, without a doubt, The Catz made the party happen. The dance floor was packed the entire time...from Grandma to the youngest invitee...everyone was dancing and have a great time. I'll also state that Richie learned (and absolutely perfected!) our first dance as well as Mother/Groom. Finally, I am a very cautious and skeptical person; I can say without a doubt, that Richie and The Catz are the real deal. If you want to stop worrying about a crucial part of your wedding...hire Richie and The Catz. The music quality is better than most live concerts and it is important to understand you are hiring a real band to play live...not some actors who uses prerecorded music and dance on stage with instruments. If you appreciate music and believe a live band is one of the most important aspects of the reception...hire Richie and The Catz.
  • L
    Lilly J. Married on 01/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Chicago Catz are incredible!

    The Chicago Catz were absolutely incredible! Even before our wedding, they worked with us to understand our vision for our wedding, the layout of events, and special requests/song choices we had. They were incredibly accommodating and so fun to work with! Richie and the band are insanely talented and had the whole party going all night until the very end!
  • A
    Andrew Married on 12/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    These guys MAKE the party!

    The Chicago Catz made the party at our wedding. They gave off great energy and guests were dancing the entire night. Richie was very accommodating to work with during the months leading up to the wedding, and he made sure to have every detail sorted out ahead of time to ensure the actual wedding night went extremely smoothly. We also had a lot of fun checking them out a few times leading up to our wedding at Nick’s Beer Garden. Overall, the Catz really brought the heat to our December wedding - we couldn't recommend them more!
  • R
    Ryan S. Married on 11/10/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome performers

    The Chicago Catz performed at our wedding at the Morton Arboretum in November and they were incredible! Richie and the rest of the band were absolute professionals and kept the dance floor crowded all evening. The music element to our reception was very important to us and nothing beats live music. We gave the Catz a rough idea of the kinds of music we were looking for and let them take it from there. From there, they were able to feed off the crowd and do what they do best, entertain! They were very easy to work with and I would highly recommend them to anyone looking to entertain their guests. The best endorsements come from our guests young and old alike who still remind us of how much they enjoyed the Catz. Thanks Chicago Catz for making our wedding so memorable!
  • A
    Audrey A. Married on 10/26/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Chicago Catz are spectacular

    The Chicago Catz were spectacular! Their music and energy made my daughter's October, 2018 reception so much fun for everyone. Our guests are still raving about the band. They were so on target with their range of songs and when to play them. If you want a dance party, hire the Chicago Catz! In addition, Richie is pleasant, responsive, and professional to work with. He was a perfect emcee and kept things moving in a timely manner. I highly recommend them!!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 09/22/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Band Ever!

    The Cats were so much fun to work with! They have an awesome song selection list and are so flexible and kind. I really enjoyed working with them throughout the wedding process. The night of the wedding -- they rocked! People couldn't get enough the dance floor and the Catz kept the dance floor packed all night. Months later, people are still commenting how much they loved the band! You can trust the Catz to make your wedding an amazing night for all your guests!
  • Kevin
    Kevin J. Married on 09/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Hands Down Best Part of the Wedding!

    We simply cannot say enough about the Richie and the Catz. From the very first inquiry a year before the wedding to the very last song of the night (which they learned a very special song to play for my wife and I), they were unbelievably professional and without question the most talented band we have seen. It is very easy to see how long this group has been playing and doing so together as they put on an electric show keeping the entire party on the dance floor throughout the night. Over a month post wedding, we still get people asking us who they were as they hadn't experienced anything like it at a wedding in the past. Picking a wedding band I feel is arguably the most important and memorable aspect of the wedding that will keep people talking and reminiscing for years to come. They are worth every penny and then some so don't make a mistake, and hire the CATZ!
  • L
    Leah P. Married on 09/02/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Chicago catz - best wedding band ever

    We cannot say enough phenomenal things about this band. The Chicago Catz are by far THE BEST wedding band EVER. They made our wedding. The entire night was an absolute BLAST and we can honestly, sincerely say that the Catz were responsible for the success. They learned several special requested songs for us and did the songs justice. They played hit after hit (oldies and current) and the guests could not get enough. The dance floor was packed until we were kicked out of the room. Not only are they stellar musicians but they could not be more kind. There is no better band than the Chicago Catz and if you want to blow your guests away and have the wedding of your dreams, look no further than the Catz. WE LOVE CHICAGO CATZ!
  • M
    Maria Married on 08/25/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Catz are the best!

    While we booked the Catz without having seen them play, we definitely did not go wrong -- the Catz made our reception one we will not forget! Everyone at our wedding couldn't stop commenting on how awesome the band was and how much energy they had throughout the evening. The Catz were super easy to work with from start to finish, and they were very accommodating of our timeline and requests (they even adapted a song based on a joke we made in an email, personalizing that song and causing me to have to run onto the dance floor). You can't go wrong choosing them for your wedding!