Cheryl Hazelgrove Reviews

91 | Honolulu, HI
See photos, pricing and details

91 Reviews for Cheryl Hazelgrove

Recommended by 100%

91
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

4 User photos

Cheryl Hazelgrove 1
Cheryl Hazelgrove 2
Cheryl Hazelgrove 3
Cheryl Hazelgrove 4
Sort by:
  • Kesley

    Kesley · Married on 06/29/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Hair & Makeup Artists in Oahu!

    Cheryl & her makeup team were my first and only choice when it came to booking hair and makeup for my wedding. I had been in contact with them for the 2 years of planning. Ipo handled every single e-mail and question I asked and she was amazing.

    I was able to schedule a hair & makeup trial the day before my wedding & I’m so glad I did because I was initially going to go into HMU the day of my wedding blind and not knowing what I wanted.

    During my HMU trial, Cheryl made me feel so comfortable and relaxed. She has such a vivid and fun personality! The way we talked made me feel like I had known her for years already or she was like my “ate” (“big sister” in Tagalog)!
    I also normally freak out when anyone comes at my eyes with anything and for some reason, I didn’t freak out at all. ESPECIALLY when it came to applying the lashes. She was SO quick with it I didn’t even have time to freak out.

    The day of my wedding, Cheryl, Ipo, & Crystal came on time and got all of us (7 in total) done in a systematic fashion. They were all so funny and that helped me calm my nerves. I was SO happy with my hair & makeup. My makeup felt so light and stayed on through all the crying and sweating I did and she even provided me with a touchup kit! My hair did frizz up, but that’s just my hair and even the strongest spray couldn’t stop my hair from frizzing LOL. But everyone looked perfect. No one’s makeup was too heavy or too light.

    Also, they were able to send another MUA to another hotel where I had 3 other family members requiring HMU.

    Cheryl & her team listen to you and don’t try to force more makeup on you if you don’t want it. They provide their opinions and you can basically tell them yes/no!

    They are all so amazing and I would 100% recommend Cheryl & her team for anyone needed HMU services.

    Sent on 07/09/2019
  • Amanda

    Amanda · Married on 02/23/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    She's amazing!

    I am so happy that I chose Cheryl and her team to do our hair and makeup! They are hands down the best at what they do! She is SO nice and down-to-earth and really made me feel beautiful on my wedding day. My makeup and hair stayed intact and looked great throughout the whole day! She also gave me a touch-up kit, which really helped in between all the snacks (and drinks) we had throughout the day. Cheryl and her team also did makeup and hair for my 6 bridesmaids, my mom, mother-in-law, and sister-in-law and they all loved it! They also were very professional and had everyone's makeup and hair done on time, actually even a little early so we could sneak in a few more minutes of picture taking! I would 100% recommend Cheryl and her team to anyone!

    Sent on 03/08/2019
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 01/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing and kind

    Cheryl is an absolute gem and an expert at what she does. I could not believe I was lucky enough to secure her to do my hair and makeup for my wedding. I can honestly say I have never felt more beautiful in my life as on that day. I came to Honolulu from Canada and chose Cheryl just from her amazing pictures online. I got a trial two days before the wedding at Cheryl's in home studio. She was so sweet and welcoming and I felt totally comfortable and confident with her on my wedding day. She is professional, friendly, made everyone in my party feel at ease and most importantly, she is right on time which is so essential when you have a tight timeline. I wish I could have Cheryl do my hair and makeup for all of the events in my life and I hope that I will return to Honolulu and see her again!

    Sent on 08/17/2019
  • Vicky

    Vicky · Married on 10/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So fun and professional!

    Destination Wedding: 10/4/18
    Venue: Haiku Gardens, Kaneohe

    As with everything else for our wedding, I (bride) waited until about 4-6 weeks out to seriously look into vendors. How I was lucky enough to secure Cheryl for our wedding day, I'll never know!

    Closer to our day, Ipo, a member of her team sent me the timeline for our day of. Prior to our day of, they were so accommodating to some schedule changes at the request of my videographer. Due to our ceremony starting earlier in the morning, Cheryl and her team needed to plan for a 4:45am start (yikes, sorry!). They arrived exactly on time to set up and get started. Everyone was so professional, kind, funny, and easy to talk to. Cheryl gave me the fishtail half up-do of my pinterest dreams!

    I did not do a trial as there was not enough time between us flying in from Denver and the wedding day. However, I wasn't worried in the slightest bit. I think the most important thing is that she and her team listened to my/bridesmaids' request when it came to makeup and hair. I told my bridesmaids to pick a hair/makeup look that would make them feel most comfortable and beautiful. We all had some inspo pictures ready and all the looks were achieved.

    I would highly recommend Cheryl and her team! My makeup itself lasted the best it could through the heavy humidity that day, my sweaty dancing, and the endless amount of tears. I should also note, my skin already is oily/combination and was in crazy oil production with the fast climate change. The only items that faded were lip product (eating, drinking), and bottom lash shadow (crying...lots of crying...all day).

    Thank you Cheryl, you were a dream!

    Sent on 10/16/2018
    Cheryl Hazelgrove 5
    Cheryl Hazelgrove 6
    Cheryl Hazelgrove 7
    Cheryl Hazelgrove 8
  • A

    Annette · Married on 07/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic Wedding Day Hair and Makeup

    Cheryl is a masterful makeup artist and hair stylist! I was blown away by the look she created for me! My makeup was subtle as I had requested, but accentuated my features beautifully. And my hair! Wow, I didn't know my hair could look like that. If you have curly hair, I would definitely recommend Cheryl as she knows how to handle curly/ethnic hair. My mother and sister had their hair done by Cheryl's assistant and makeup done by Cheryl and were very pleased with the outcome. As was my partner's daughter, age 11, who had light make-up applied and her hair styled into beach waves. I can't say enough about Cheryl's professionalism and warm personality. It was a wonderful experience working with her, including the trial session in her studio with the amazing views of Waikiki!

    Sent on 01/07/2019
  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 06/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot express in words how absolutely INCREDIBLE Cheryl and her staff are. Not only is she extremely personable and goes above and beyond to make all of her clients feel special, beautiful, and valued, but she is the epitome of a professional and thorough. I did a wedding trial with her, which I 100% recommend. She made me look exactly how I always envisioned for my wedding day. HANDS DOWN the best MUA. I cannot recommend Cherbu enough!

    Sent on 09/07/2018
  • S

    Sara · Married on 02/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    BEST IN THE BUSINESS!!!
    I recently had the pleasure of having Cheryl and her awesome team be my make up and hair stylists for my wedding and I was (and still am!) absolutely thrilled with their work!

    I booked everything from Australia for my destination wedding in Hawaii.
    I had read the amazing reviews of Cheryl and knew I needed to have her for my wedding!!
    Cheryl super exceeded my already high expectations and I cannot recommendation her highly enough!!

    From my many many emails back and forth with her awesome team member Ipo, through the the trial and then to wedding day, I was completely looked after - they really make your feel like a priority and nothing was ever too much trouble.

    Seriously, you NEED to book Cheryl for your hair and make up - what she created for me was beyond what I could have imagined - I had my vision of what I was after and she absolutely nailed it to perfection!! my hair and make up looks PERFECT in every single photo from my wedding and I felt amazing!!!!

    Cheryl and her whole team are so much fun!! they will put you at ease and make the whole process amazing!

    from a very happy aussie gal :)


    Sent on 03/22/2018
  • R

    Racquel · Married on 10/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cheryl and her team were amazing! They were very friendly and really good. They did the hair and makeup for me and five of my bridesmaids. Everyone loved how their makeup turned out. Thank you!!!!!

    Sent on 12/11/2017
  • U

    Unica · Married on 10/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cheryl is probably the happiest person I have ever met on the island. She is so fun loving, HILARIOUS and just full of joy! Girl can talk about anything esp make up (of course). I love her! Aside from her awesome personality, her make up is ON POINT. She knows her make up and will know your face. The trial of my hair and make up looked better than on my wedding day but it was still amazing and stayed on ALL DAY. This girl slays and you won't regret booking with her! :)

    Sent on 05/08/2018

    Cheryl Hazelgrove's reply:

    Omg thank you thank you Unica for the amazing review!!! I appreciate every kind word you mentioned. I had fun with you!!!
    Thank you so much for making my day!!
    Wishing you a lifetime of love and happiness!
    Cheryl
  • B

    Rebeca · Married on 09/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cheryl was out of town for my wedding day, but she sent over one of her top notch stylists in her place. Leesa nailed down the exact look that I wanted for my wedding day and you could tell that she knew exactly what she was doing. She was speedy but professional the entire time. My hair and makeup held up the entire day (we had an outdoor ceremony and 2 hours of photos before dinner). I highly recommend this team! They know how to make you look great!

    Sent on 09/27/2017
  • Cara

    Cara · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cheryl and her team were AMAZING!!!! She was open to suggestions for makeup and hairstyles from my bridesmaids and helped make each of them feel beautiful and comfortable. She did an excellent job with my hair, and especially the makeup which held on through all of my tears the entire night! We spent a lot of time laughing together getting the pre-wedding jitters out! I highly recommend Cheryl and her team for their skills!

    Sent on 07/08/2017
  • E

    Emily · Married on 01/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love Cheryl! She created a look I adored, took great care of me, and did it all with aloha and a smile. We had a great time chatting at my trial session; she is very easy to talk to!
    Over the months leading up to the wedding, I changed my mind about exactly which services we would be purchasing from her a few times, and each time Cheryl or her assistant were quick to make changes to the invoice and make sure everything was up-to-date and accurate.
    On the day of the wedding, Cheryl arrived promptly, was very communicative, and finished hair/makeup in good time so we could comfortably follow our schedule. It was so smooth!
    Cheryl, thank you so much for making me feel beautiful. Big mahalo!!

    Sent on 01/19/2017
  • G

    Gina · Married on 12/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    cheryl was amazing throughout the whole process from meet and greet to wedding day. felt the prettiest I've ever felt, hair & makeup was stress free because it was so perfect! she and her staff finished on time without rushing whatsoever which was a big plus in terms of remaining calm throughout all the hustle & bustle. would recommend cheryl to any bride wanting to feel perfect & beautiful on her wedding day!!

    Sent on 12/04/2016
  • Heather

    Heather · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    CHERYL IS A MAKEUP MASTER!!!! Hands down, the most skilled and knowledgeable makeup artist I've ever worked with!

    We first met when I scheduled my trial session back in July. Her studio is so modern and sophisticated. I felt like an A-list celebrity about to be glammed up for some special event! She showed me her look book for both hair and makeup and after some time, I told her I couldn't decide between 2 different makeup looks. She then showed me which look she had in mind for me, and to my surprise it was one of the looks I was deciding between.

    When she finished, she took photos and asked for my opinion. I told her my preferences and right away she made the changes and jotted them down in her notes.

    On my wedding day, she and her assistant Crystal were early to arrive. They had their area set up and ready to go before the scheduled time she gave to me prior. Cheryl has such a easy going, loving personality, so it's almost as if your bff is doing your makeup. The conversations are fun, and she makes it such a relaxing experience! We were running a little behind schedule, which Cheryl kindly let me know, but she assured me that everything would be back on track in about 10 minutes. I was able to get dressed, sneak in a few photos, and leave for my ceremony venue on time.

    Cheryl made me feel like a queen on my wedding day. I've honestly never felt so beautiful and all credit goes to her and her amazing talent!

    (*also side note: her personal cosmetics line is crazy good! I've bought a few products already and I absolutely love them.)

    Sent on 11/01/2016
  • C

    C · Married on 09/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cheryl is LEGIT! A true artist and super sweet and chill. For brides that are type A like me, she will be your perfect vendor. She is super responsive and organized. Every time I emailed her, I would get a response by the next day. She's also very proactive. We went back a week early to start finalizing things for the wedding and she texted me to remind me of my trial makeup session with her (with directions and instructions). She's so easy-going and receptive to any changes you want, what you want is what you get. She's proactive in texting you the day of the wedding to let you know where she is (ie. if she's on her way, etc) and she was on time and professional. I received LOTS of compliments on how beautiful I looked that day (thanks Cheryl!) and my bridesmaids all loved their makeup that day as well. No drama, no fuss.

    Sent on 09/17/2016
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 08/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Words cannot express how incredible happy I was with my makeup and hair and my bridesmaids makeup! Cheryl and her partner (which I'm horrible I forgot her name) went above and beyond and I looked like an absolute princess! The price was very reasonable compared to other vendors our there and she came all the way to aulani at 5am to begin my makeup! She was absolutely amazing and I would recommend her for every wedding out there in Hawaii!

    Sent on 10/01/2016
  • Elan

    Elan · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cheryl was the first hair and makeup vender to respond to my inquiry when I got engaged. To me, an immediate and detailed response to my email is a huge sign of professionalism. I decided to do a trial hair and makeup session with Cheryl first to see what I’d look like on the big day. It was such a positive experience to meet her at her studio and go through her look books together. Cheryl 100% listens to you and what you want to look like on your day, but also guides you with gentle suggestions if you are unsure.

    She and her assistant Crystal were kind enough to drive out to my mom’s house to do our hair and makeup for my wedding day. She is so easy to talk to that I felt as if I’ve known her for years. You can tell how much Cheryl loves her job through her constant optimism. She is beyond supportive of her client’s needs and makes sure that everything is picture perfect before you walk out the door.

    If you’re lucky enough to be getting married on a day that Cheryl is available, make sure to book her asap. You won’t regret it!

    Sent on 07/17/2016
  • L

    Leann · Married on 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Let's be honest...loving your hair, makeup and wedding dress is just about as important as loving the person you're about to marry. You will be photographed by not only who you've hired..but by everyone else attending. And those pictures will be around for a long time. Your soon to be will love the way you look no matter what. However...it's how YOU feel about the way you look is what sparks that wedding confidence.

    This is where Cheryl's amazing make up artist and hair styling skills step in. I have never felt as beautiful or as confident as I did on my wedding day. She glamorizes your hair and makeup without making you feel like you look like a completely different person. I wanted an old hollywood vintage look and that's exactly what I got: bright lips, big eyes that don't disappear when I smile, and finger wave curls in my hair. She even pinned the fresh flower gardenias in my hair. It was perfect.

    The next thing you need to look for is how long the hair and make up will last. Cheryl uses her own line of make up which works perfectly well with the humid summer Hawaiian climate. She also applies enough hair product to make sure it lasts. My wedding day was about 12+ hours and lasted the whole time. The only thing I had to do was reapply my lipstick after eating. She also provides a touch up kit.

    I've been a bridesmaid in a lot of weddings and have had my hair and make up done several times. Cheryl's hair and make up skills is by far the best! She's super fun to be around and gives you the look you want. You definitely want her to be part of your Glam Team!

    Sent on 07/06/2016
  • S

    Sarah-Jane · Married on 06/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cheryl & her glam squad are exceptional. Their work is so professional & each bridesmaid blew me away with their transformation. Including my bride & myself.
    The Cherbu range is perfect, it lasted all night until I sadly had to wash it off. I would work with Cheryl & her team in a heartbeat. Such a beautiful person with talented skills. I would recommend any bride to work with this lady & her team.
    We couldn't be any happier, THANK YOU CHERYL x

    Sent on 06/11/2016
  • M

    mary · Married on 05/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was blown away at the way my hair and makeup looked for my wedding day. I can't tell everyone enough that if you want to look absolutely amazing for your wedding this is the person to book with. She only looked at my hair photo I liked once. I don't wear makeup much if any at all and she made it natural and stunning.

    Sent on 05/15/2016
  • S

    Megan · Married on 02/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don't chose anyone else to do your hair and makeup!!! Cheryl is the only one you need!! I had no trial run only a few ideas but it was all Cheryl. The only problem I had was trying not to ruin the beautiful job she did by crying!!! I am extremely happy and am trying to find a reason to get my hair and makeup done when I go back to oahu. She has her own makeup line that's awesome!! I can't say enough good things about her you just need to hire her and you won't regret it.

    Sent on 04/18/2016
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 02/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cheryl and her team nailed everything myself and my bride party wanted! Both my hair and makeup lasted all night, which was a surprise since we had an outdoor wedding. They were so fun and really set the tone for our perfect day.

    Sent on 05/13/2016
  • V

    Vanessa · Married on 12/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cheryl Hazelgrove is amazing and hair and makeup! I have always had trouble with my hair style actually staying in place (MY hair never stays curled!) She managed to do my hair and makeup within an hour and it was the best job I've ever seen. She is fun and has a passion for her job, which is why she was so pleasant to work with. Thank you for traveling to do my hair and makeup. Everyone complimented her work (especially my photographers & parents). The hint of purple was perfect!

    Sent on 03/04/2016
  • User5223957 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cheryl and her team were so professional and talented. They showed up on time and were flawless in completing hair and makeup for 7 people right on time. Cheryl is so easy to work with and we had so much fun while getting ready. After Cheryl was done, we all felt the most beautiful we have ever felt! She is SO talented and creates a flawless look, catered to how you want to look. We even had rain on the day of the wedding and hair and makeup stayed flawless! Overall, would HIGHLY recommend Cheryl and her team - could not be happier!!! Thanks, Cheryl!

    Sent on 10/26/2015
  • M

    Melanie · Married on 07/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This women is AMAZING! Besides the stress of planning a destination wedding, one of my biggest fears was who was going to do my hair and make-up. Her reviews do not lie and she was great. Not only is she talented, but she is also very nice, calming and a pleasure to work with. I LOVED my hair and make up. Anyone who ever goes to Oahu, or anywhere in Hawaii should work with her. I cannot say more great things about Cheryl. The internet did not steer me wrong, when it recommended her.

    Sent on 08/31/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review