Skip to main content
Weddings

Chelsea Matson Photography Reviews

Chelsea Matson Photography

Chelsea Matson Photography

Milwaukee, WI
5.0 out of 5 rating, 17 Reviews
View more information

17 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

17
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

13 User photos

  • Stephanie
    Stephanie M. Married on 12/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing 10/10 Experience

    We’ve been on this journey for a while, w Covid & other bumps along the way- Chelsea has been w us from the beginning. She literally feels like family & is so flexible in making things work for you! Our engagement photos were easily changed to family photos with our baby. When our wedding was delayed, she pushed our payments back so we had more time. She’s funny, charismatic, & gracious as ever. Her 2nd shooter, Dana, was so special as well. I felt so at ease with them on our big day. 10/10 recommend time & time again.

    Chelsea Matson Photography's reply:

    Steph! Thank you so much for welcoming us into your day! It was magical and we absolutely adored being there!
  • Ashley
    Ashley Married on 08/07/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    I'd give 20 stars if that were an option...

    My husband and I opted for a destination wedding in Milwaukee, though we reside in St. Louis. Neither of us are from MKE and we have no friends or family that reside there either. As such, every vendor had to be chosen based on online reviews and phone conversations, which was quite daunting. Enter Chelsea Matson - from the first phone call I had with her, I knew she was the perfect fit for our wedding. Wedding planning is stressful, but I never experienced even a second of that working with Chelsea. We weren't able to visit MKE prior to our wedding for engagement photos, but Chelsea made time to meet with us the week of our wedding which made me much more comfortable. Our wedding photos were truly the only thing that really mattered to us, and the money spent was more than worth it. I could not possibly say enough nice things about how professional and warm Chelsea is, and how incredibly thrilled we are with how our photos turned out. I would do it all over again tomorrow if I could.
  • Caitlin
    Caitlin F. Married on 09/12/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible Photographer and Amazing Person

    Chelsea photographed our wedding and we could not be more thrilled with her work, her professionalism, and her friendly and loving demeanor. She made my husband and me feel so comfortable and confident on our day of and we truly enjoyed the time we spent with her. We have consistently been getting comments from friends and family on how impressive her photographs are and we couldn't agree more. Thank you Chelsea for capturing the best day of our lives!

    Chelsea Matson Photography's reply:

    AH Caitlin! What an amazing and magical day from start to finish! Thank you so much for inviting me to celebrate :)
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • K
    Kendall K. Married on 08/08/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Chelsea is AMAZING...

    Chelsea is amazing. We are so thankful to have found her during all the chaos surrounding the pandemic. She stepped right into our “new” plans to celebrate our wedding with a small group of family and the wedding party.

    She made us feel comfortable and excited at a time when there was a lot of uncertainty. Chelsea is very flexible and easy to work with, especially since we had not met her in person (because of the pandemic). She jumped right in during the chaos at the bridal suite (and basically all other parts of the day) to capture perfectly candid photos, which are SO special to us.

    Her knowledge of the Milwaukee area came in handy, as well, when we had to spur of the moment pivot for wedding party photos. She found the perfect spot for us to efficiently grab photos individually and as a group. The level of detail and thoughtfulness she had for each group photo was also a tremendous attribute to have. She made it a point to understand which group photos meant the most to us and directed everyone super effectively and efficiently, while maintaining optimism as complaints flew because it was a 95 degree mostly outdoor event.

    Lastly, the detail and time she spent editing the pictures to bring them to final form was a true work of art - so tasteful and classic, which made Kendall feel like the most beautiful bride. We absolutely recommend booking Chelsea for any and all events!!
  • Mariah
    Mariah Married on 12/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    "Candid, honest, raw, joyful, editorial photography"

    "Candid, honest, raw, joyful, editorial photography" was how our wedding planner described Chelsea's style as we were discussing photographer recommendations. I instantly thought: yes, yes, and YES! I clicked on Chelsea's website link immediately & was drawn in by the emotion, the genuine love, the story, the laughter, that I saw behind each photo. Before I knew it, we were on a Facetime with Chelsea telling her all about, not just our wedding photo dreams, but our relationship, our love story. We were already laughing our way through the session & we instantly knew we had to hire Chelsea! From that first moment all the way through to the wedding day, Chelsea always made us feel heard, loved, and supported every moment. It was honestly magical - we felt like we were with an old friend all day long (on engagement shoot & wedding day too)
  • Hannah
    Hannah C. Married on 07/06/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thank you for being so amazing

    It’s been over a month after my wedding and I’m still wondering if it is acceptable to love you wedding photographer more then your husband??? I can not speak more highly of Chelsea! When we first met I knew it was meant to be, her passion for capturing love and telling a love story just pours out of her. When looking for a wedding photographer we wanted someone who was easy going, professional, fun to work with, and loved love as much of us, Chelsea blew these “requirements” out of the water.

    Not only is she an amazing, kind, caring person but her work is is equally amazing. We love that her photos are edited in a natural way and that she captures all of the small natural moments. Nothing every seemed forced!

    My husband and I highly recommend Chelsea Matson Photographer! We are so grateful that she came into our lives (for good now!!) and could capture the most important day of our lives.
  • L
    Leila Married on 06/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I can't say enough good things about Chelsea, and honestly, worry I can't do her work justice with this review. Chelsea is a master at finding and capturing light in her photography. That was one of the main reasons we were drawn to her work when we were looking for a wedding photographer and the shots she got of us in the engagement session did not disappoint! Chelsea also has a great eye for photo composition and finding unique but natural looking shots. During our engagement session she led us into a shrubby / tall grass area near the beach in Milwaukee. Honestly, I thought to myself, “well these shots will be a bit experimental but let’s see how they turn out.” Those shots ended up being some of my favorite photos of the whole bunch, and I don’t think a lot of photographers would have spotted the opportunity there. For all the good things I could say about Chelsea’s skills as a photographer, the highest compliment I can pay to her is that her open and glowing personality creates an atmosphere that brings out the best in her subjects. I don’t consider myself to be a particularly natural subject to photograph, but Chelsea’s open personality made the session feel easy and natural. My fiancé and I laughed and had a great time throughout the whole shoot, and Chelsea captured those moments beautifully.
  • K
    Kayla B. Married on 08/18/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Recommend!!

    Chelsea is absolutely AMAZING!! She is beautiful inside and out. Her passion shows in her work.

    When I came across Chelsea's website I was crossing my fingers that she was not yet booked because my husband and I had a very popular wedding date. Chelsea promptly got back to me informing me that she was open for our wedding date. I honestly felt like we had won the lottery. When my husband and I did our initial Facetime meeting with Chelsea I remember getting off the phone and thinking "I want to be her friend!!".

    Leading up to our wedding, Chelsea continually was checking in with me asking if I needed anything and ran through timelines with me. I greatly appreciated her feedback.

    She is extremely professional and thorough. I felt that Chelsea is one of the main reasons why our day ran so smoothly.

    We recently received our full wedding album. We could not be more pleased. I fall more in love with Chelsea's pictures every time I look at them. My husband and I still get compliments on our engagement and wedding pictures. I would HIGHLY recommend Chelsea to my friends, family, and anyone that is looking for an incredible photographer.
  • E
    Emma Married on 08/04/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We couldn't have asked for anything better!

    Having Chelsea photograph our wedding was the absolute best decision we could have made for our most special day yet! Working with her from the first moment we met, to the chaos of planning and to getting our wedding photos back was an absolute pleasure! She was so incredibly wonderful at making us feel comfortable behind the camera – a place we are not naturally comfortable. It felt like we had one our greatest friends hanging out by our side snapping pics all day! As for the photos we received – breathtaking! We could not be happier with how she was able to truly capture the love, happiness and joy we shared not only with each other, but also with our family and friends on our wedding day! My husband and I both 100% recommend Chelsea to anyone who is looking for a top-notch photographer! We cannot wait to work with Chelsea again in the future (family photos, EEK!!).
  • Julianne
    Julianne Married on 10/14/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful in every way

    Within the first few minutes of meeting with Chelsea, I knew we had made the right decision in hiring her to photograph our wedding. As a very sentimental person, I wanted to ensure we loved the lasting photos of the celebration, so finding the right photographer was one of my biggest planning priorities.

    We found Chelsea through an online search, and of all of the galleries we explored, hers stood out for a few reasons. One was her ability to pick out beautiful backgrounds and create interesting compositions. Our wedding was in Milwaukee, so I wanted to make sure she was able to capture shots that reflected the city's character, and her work made me confident that she could. Secondly, her pictures seemed to beautifully capture the personality of the couple's and the vibes of the events.

    In person, Chelsea is better than I could've hoped! She put us immediately at ease, and I was impressed with the ideas she had for locations and set-ups during our initial meeting. I left knowing that we were in good hands (and feeling like we had made a new friend!)

    Chelsea's people skills were so helpful the day of our wedding, too! All of my friends and family thought she was great - as I knew they would - so she was able to establish immediate rapport with the group, which helped to capture excellent and fun candid and posed photos. Beyond her photography duties, it's clear that Chelsea's experience has resulted in wedding day coordination expertise, and I looked to her to help keep the day on track and make sure that all of our pictures (and everything else) happened as planned. She did not let the day's rain showers phase her. Instead, she was quick to come up with locations that worked well despite the rain, and the outdoor umbrella shots were some of my favorite of the day! She was also exactly where I needed her when I needed her, which resulted in Jake and I being able to get some (dry) outdoor photos during a break in the rain later in the evening.

    And our photos!!! They are stunning, and we couldn't be happier with them. After posting them on social media, I received several comments that they looked like they came straight out of a wedding magazine, and I have to agree. Beyond their beautiful composition, the pictures did an excellent job of capturing our emotions and the spirit of the day. The many photos she snapped of Jake and I sharing in laughter are among my very favorites.

    So would I recommend hiring Chelsea as your photographer? One million times yes! Hiring her was one of the best decisions we made, and I look forward to working with her again in the future.
  • User2180978 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Chelsea did an engagement session for us in NYC. I think it was the coldest day ever however, Chelsea had amazing energy which made us forget about the cold. She was not only professional but was so knowledgeable and creative with her shots. What a beautiful person. Thank you Chelsea XOXO
  • C
    Courtney Married on 06/25/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Chelsea is an amazing photographer and awesome person! She photographed our engagement shoot in downtown Milwaukee, WI and we couldn't be happier with the results! My fiancé and I were a bit nervous and anxious beforehand, but Chelsea made us feel extremely comfortable and at ease throughout the shoot. We cracked jokes and laughed almost the entire time. I couldn’t believe how much fun it was! We really appreciated that Chelsea took the time the research all the areas of the shoot earlier and had beautiful spots picked out. She was able to capture beautiful, authentic moments that told a story, which was very important to us. It is very evident that Chelsea absolutely loves photography and is extremely passionate about what she does. She was so generous with her time and stayed longer to catch photos of the sun setting behind us! We are beyond excited that she will also be shooting our wedding as well!
  • M
    Mary Married on 06/04/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Chelsea (and team) were fantastic!! She had many great recommendations, but also kept the day very much us. The best compliment I can give is that I had not one, not two, but three guests comment how great it was that we had a friend as our photographer - and we had only met Chelsea once prior to our wedding day :)
  • J
    Jill Event on: 12/22/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Chelsea did a family photo shoot for us. She made it low-pressure, fun and was patient with everyone involved. She had clearly planned out ideas ahead of time which kept everything and everyone moving. Chelsea captured some pretty incredible memories for our family.
  • User2003172 Event on: 12/21/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I don't know where to begin. I was actually referred to Chelsea through another friend and I couldn't have been more happier with my choice. From the first Email to the last Chelsea was quick with her responses. She is the sweetest, kindest, most professional person I've had the pleasure of ever working with. Very quick on her feet, comes up with ideas on the spot and knows how to use her surroundings as props. Chelsea thank you so much for capturing our engagement !
  • K
    Kara Event on: 11/09/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Chelsea is a very talented photographer, who is super easy to work with. She has a wonderful energy and brings out the best in her clients. I would recommend her to anyone that wants authentic, professional, and high quality photographs!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 11/18/2017
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    Chelsea was amazing to work with!! She took our engagement photos in multiple places around Milwaukee, and traveled to Hartford with us for our wedding day photos. Chelsea took the time to meet with us beforehand to discuss what we wanted, and had plenty of creative and cute ideas to offer as well. We had so much fun with her! Chelsea has a true talent for catching the right shots and angles, and captured the most beautiful photos of our big day. We had a hard time picking our favorites from the hundreds of awesome shots!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message