Charming Events of Charleston Reviews

16 | Charleston, SC
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for Charming Events of Charleston

Recommended by 94%

16
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.7
Sort by:
  • R

    Rena · Married on 08/08/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am SO appreciative of the team at Charming Events of Charleston. I began planning my wedding a year in advance because I knew I was moving across the country 8 months before the wedding. The thought of doing a "destination wedding" was horrifying. I had the majority of my vendors set up already and needed help with the little details I knew I would miss. Joanna was my awesome go-to for anything and everything - from her thoughts on making the programs to making sure my husband and I ate during the wedding with our parents. Without her, our wedding would absolutely not have happened. Joanna is also super nice, easy to get along with, and always willing to help.

    Justin (who I actually went to high school with) and Dana planned the decor and everything looked absolutely amazing. In our meeting, they explained a lot of the things I was confused about and were helpful by offering plenty of ideas. I wanted to stay away from burlap and go with a more modern look and they nailed it. The bouquet they completely designed for me was absolutely STUNNING and I was speechless when I first saw it.

    The whole team at Charming Events are absolute experts in what they do and were very cognizant of all my wants and needs while staying within my budget.

    Sent on 08/23/2015
  • M

    Megan · Married on 04/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the pleasure of working with Justin from Charming Events of Charleston for our wedding and having Justin and his team on board during the planning process was the best decision we made!! After just one meeting Justin and his team understood the vision we had for our special day and exactly how to execute it in ways we never imagined! We used Charming Events for every wedding detail possible because we loved and trusted their work - from flowers to draping and decor, every detail was perfection! Justin's organization, attention to detail, professional manner and creative mind brought everything together from the first day we met until after we returned home from our honeymoon which really allowed my husband and I, as well as our families, to enjoy and celebrate during such a special time. Charming Events of Charleston went above and beyond our expectations and created the wedding day (and overall experience) of our dreams that we will never forget!!

    Sent on 01/06/2016
  • L

    Lacy · Married on 10/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I called Charming Events just a few months out from my wedding. I had a pretty decent chunk of our wedding planned, but I could not do it all by myself. I worked with Joanna who literally saved the day. She took my ideas I had in my head about what I wanted everything to look and feel like, and made it a reality. There was not once where Joanna said "no this isn't possible" or "We can't do that", even when there were some very last minute details in the weeks leading up to the big day.

    I also worked with Dana there, who managed all of our flowers, and decor. She listened to everything I wanted and really made everything beautiful.

    On the day of, Joanna, Dana, Justin and Kristen, who made everything run smoothly. Joanna kept us super on schedule, and there was not a single hiccup that I encountered, which is how your wedding should be.

    Seriously they are the best.

    Sent on 01/05/2015
  • Lauren

    Lauren · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is the vendor review that I am the most excited to write, because Justin and the entire Charming Events team are absolutely WONDERFUL! Hiring Justin to coordinate our wedding was hands down, without a doubt, the BEST decision we made when planning our wedding! I can’t say enough good things about Justin and the entire Charming Events team. I seriously can’t even begin to imagine what our wedding would’ve been without them!
    My husband and I had a long engagement (18 months), and Justin worked with us every step of the way to make sure that our wedding vision became a reality. He consistently went above and beyond his “roles and responsibilities” to make sure everything went off without a hitch! We were so lucky to have him by our side every step of the way.
    Justin is a true professional. From the first time we met Justin, we knew he was sharp and so on top of the game, but he also was just a down-to-earth nice person that we were genuinely excited to work with. He is incredibly responsive and has an impeccable attention to detail (which is SO important when you are planning a wedding!). I asked so many questions, and I can honestly say that Justin was spot on on all the advice he gave us. (It may not be what you want to hear, but listen to him – he knows what he’s doing! :)) I can’t stress enough what an invaluable resource Justin and the entire team was during the months leading up to our wedding and during the day of.
    We also hired Dana to do all our design and décor. Despite some challenges regarding budget, Dana worked tirelessly to make sure that we had exactly what we wanted and I have to tell you that the final product far exceeded my expectations. I’ll never forget the moment that my husband and I first walked into our reception venue, because it truly took our breath away!
    The entire Charming Events is absolutely amazing – I can’t thank them enough for everything that they did for us! Our wedding was truly our dream come true because of them! :)

    Sent on 01/15/2015
  • K

    Katie · Married on 07/03/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is the review I'm most excited to write because I absolutely adore these people! My husband, parents, and I were back and forth about this because we felt we could handle all the planning and coordinating. I had spoke with Justin early in the process to get an idea of what his services would include. I immediately asked them to do my design and decor because there portfolio is fun and spunky yet classic, and fit my personality so much.
    As the wedding got closer and I realized that my wedding day was just too full of great things and I didn't want to miss out on any of them. I hired Justin and co. OFFICIALLY a week before my wedding for day of coordination. Justin had already booked that day for me because he was pretty sure I'd need him.... that's just amazing!
    My dad, who was least convinced we needed this expense, was probably the most appreciative of Justin, Dana, and the other beautiful people that made our wedding day so special. And for all of you budget-savvy brides, this is your Planning Company. My best advice is find room in your budget for them, it's worth every penny. We had a smaller budget and Justin and Dana did everything they could to make my vision come true and they did. Just do it!

    Sent on 10/26/2014
  • C

    Cathy · Married on 06/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am the mother of the bride who couldn't be more pleased and gratified for the glorious fairy tale wedding meticulously planned by Charming Events of Charleston. Our daughter and son in law decided on Charleston for their June destination wedding. Neither my daughter nor I had ever been to Charleston before and from the time they became engaged and selected Charleston we had 8 months to prepare for the wedding. I was extremely fortunate to have found Justin and the Charming Events Team. I was overwhelmed by the magnitude of the decisions to be made in an unfamiliar city and uncertain we could have the wedding we wanted within our budget. Justin assured me we could and he would guide us through the process. We flew into Charleston for our first weekend planning marathon in November. Justin had the entire weekend planned and organized from selecting the wedding dress to the venue to a list of key vendors that met our tastes and criteria. Charming Events has a broad network of talented vendors for consideration in planning the event that is just right for you. We advanced the planning details through numerous conference calls and a second trip to Charleston in April. Everything came together perfectly. Justin listened intently to our wishes, and guided us through the decision making with no surprises. Dana and the Charming Events team also prepared the flowers and decorations for the ceremony and reception, and let me tell you they were stunning. The Wedding exceeded our expectations!!!

    My only regret is that the wedding is over and we will no longer be in regular conversation. I highly recommend the full service planning package. It was the perfect solution for us. And best of all, on the wedding day we were able to thoroughly enjoy the whole day, worry free. Justin and the Charming Events team were sensitive to our desires, flexible, and highly professional.

    Sent on 06/30/2014
  • B

    Bailey · Married on 05/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Justin and his group are wonderful, so friendly and so great to work with. They're so nice and very hard workers. He went over and beyond my expectations and my wedding was even more than what I expected it to be. He also took the time to quote out everything so I was able to get everything in my budget. I highly recommend using justin!

    Couldn't have asked for or imagined anything better!

    Sent on 06/15/2014
  • M

    Megan · Married on 05/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were planning what started out as our destination wedding in Charleston. After securing our venue at McCradys (site unseen) we began looking for a wedding coordinator to help with all of the details.

    We had the great fortune of finding Justin and his Charming Events Team on Borrowed and Blue! He was amazing! He took the time to meet with us and discuss our wish list and budget even prior to us fully committing to use his serves. He is extremely patient which we appreciated since we decided to move to Charleston in the middle of our planning!

    We were really looking for someone to take our color scheme and budget and just run with it. What he and the team created was truly beautiful- we’re talking, the storyboards they put together made my mom tear up beautiful. Justin got to know us as a couple and incorporated our personalities into every detail. It was exciting walking into our wedding to see everything for the first time, it was perfect. We could not have imagined our day without Justin and Charming Events. They made our day special, memorable and easy.

    We would absolutely recommend Charming Events to anyone planning a wedding in Charleston. They are one of a kind!

    Sent on 08/28/2014
  • User4097728 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Justin and his team were wonderfully helpful. They made our daughter's special day a joy for all of us by doing all the work. They took our ideas and created the perfect beach wedding and reception. Their design team provided the gorgeous flowers for the reception and the bridal party, as well. I cannot speak highly enough about them.

    Sent on 05/12/2014
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 05/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Justin and the Charming Events team gave me the gift of being able to be present at my wedding and allowed my family and friends to do the same. It's very clear that the team loves doing what they do and that they are personally invested in making your wedding the best it can possibly be. I had a lot of personal elements to be set up, and because of my venue choice, there was only a limited amount of time to set everything up. Charming Events handled everything and I didn't need to worry about a thing. Anything I had overlooked, they took care of. Great experience, I highly recommend them!

    Sent on 05/31/2014
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/31/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Justin and team team were amazing! They took the sress of wedding planning away. The day of they went above and beyond. They took care of everything for us and made our day so we want to do itvall over again everyday. I can't say enough about them. If you plan on getting married in charleston definately talk ti Justin and his team. Best day ever!!

    Sent on 11/14/2013
  • User3546731 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When I first began planning, I wasn't so sure that I needed a wedding planner. I was a bride who knew what I wanted and I considered myself quite capable of planning and executing. As the months began to tick by, I realized that having a planner for my wedding week would take some of the pressure off of me and my mom. Thank goodness I made the decision to use a planner, and specifically use Charming Events of Charleston. They ended up assisting in a few last minute vendor choices and were available and responsive with all of my questions and concerns. Justin and his team were wonderful during our wedding week. We handed off a TON off reception decor and they did and AMAZING job setting everything up and making our venue reflect our style perfectly. CEC was the best investment we made in ensuring that our wedding day and reception went off without a hitch.

    Sent on 09/19/2013
  • K

    Katie · Married on 06/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Charming Events team is absolutely wonderful! I would recommend them a hundred times over. My husband and I started out with an established planner who, without getting into the details, surprisingly skipped town midway through our planning process. Justin and his team stepped right in without skipping a beat and helped us finish our planning and helped us throw an amazing celebration. They exceeded our expectations at every corner.

    Justin was easily accessible by phone and email and was very responsive. We had a destination wedding and the team was available to meet with us whenever we could make a trip down to Charleston. They were creative, answered all of our questions and made great suggestions.

    Rachel and Dana oversaw our rehearsal and did a fantastic job. They were so friendly, not only to us, but to our family and friends as well. They were efficient and organized to boot.

    On the wedding day, the whole team was truly amazing. The day went off without a hitch. I couldn’t have asked for a more stress-free wedding day. They were on top of everything. So many people told me to expect that inevitably something will go wrong on your wedding day and to just let it roll off your back. The thing is – nothing went wrong on my wedding day. The day was seamless. The setup they created was beautiful. I had complete trust in them and let them do everything, and they came through for us with flying colors. During the reception, they made sure my husband and I sat down and got to actually eat, and they brought us and our parents our drinks of choice all night long. Whatever we needed or wanted, it was there before we even asked.

    This team – Justin, Dana, Rachel and Joanna – is a classy crew. I know this is a wordy review, but I wanted to share how wonderful our experience was – you will not be disappointed. Not only are they genuinely friendly and helpful, they know how to plan and throw a well thought-out, organized, FUN and beautiful wedding!

    Sent on 06/23/2013
  • User2415440 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Justin and his staff were simply amazing. I used them for "week of" planning, which means they took the reins a little less than a month before the big day. They were completely professional and on top of every detail, big or small, without me having to prompt them in any way. I was able to completely relax and enjoy my wedding without putting in any extra effort. They made sure we had a drink in our hand and plenty of food before, during, and after the reception.

    I especially liked that as the reception was being set up, Justin or one of his team would come to me and ask if I would like to change something I had ordered because some other rental might look better. If I answered no, that was the end of it. If I said yes, then they took care of it immediately.

    I will also mention that all of my bridesmaids were married recently before my wedding and they could not stop talking about how they wish they had such great planners for their big day. You can't go wrong with this company. They are well respected in the wedding community in Charleston too. Many of my vendors had nothing but great things to say when I mentioned who my planner was. They love what they do and it shows!

    Sent on 05/23/2013
  • S

    Sue · Married on 04/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough good things about Justin and his Charming Events team. I used them for the week before my daughter's wedding on Kiawah, but they were actually available and helpful to me via phone and email well before, recommending vendors, providing helpful suggestions, etc. And once I met with Justin and his team face to face, their professionalism and competence were so apparent, that the week before the event I truly didn't stress at all knowing they had everything under control. They were wonderful, reassuring and very accessible. And, they actually rigged a remarkable 'save' the day of the wedding when there was a miscommunication with one of the vendors I had worked with, and Justin quickly and without fuss, arranged for chairs on the beach as we had wanted. They were a delight to work with and I would recommend them enthusiastically!!

    Sent on 04/19/2013
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 06/11/2016

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    Using Charming Events of Charleston was by far the worst decision I made during my wedding planning. I should have known early on in planning when it would take Justin multiple phone calls and days to get back to me that I was in for a rude awakening. My wedding was on June 11, 2016 and starting on May 19th, I could not get in touch with him AT ALL. When I called his phone it seemed to be disconnected and he did not respond to any emails. The Monday before my wedding I decided to check in with my vendors since Justin was so unreliable. When I called my rental company they told me not to panic but there was not an order placed under my name or Justin's for my wedding date. Let that sink in.... I had NO RENTALS (chairs, tables, napkins, etc) 5 days before my wedding was supposed to take place. After placing the order on my own I called the linen rental company and they said they were about to cancel my order because they had been sending Justin invoices for two weeks with no response and thought we no longer needed all my tablecloths. The Monday before the wedding was the most stressful day of life spent replanning everything and double checking work that should have been done months in advance. He finally called me the next day but after much consideration, my family and I decided it would be best if Justin was not a part of my wedding day due to his failure to follow through with his contract. He agreed and told us he would offer a refund and meet with my parents before they left Charleston after the wedding. Well, it is nearly two weeks since my wedding and despite multiple calls, texts, and emails, no one in my family has heard back from Justin. DO NOT HIRE CHARMING EVENTS!

    Sent on 06/24/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review