Central Market-Westgate Reviews

43 | Austin, TX
See photos, pricing and details

43 Reviews for Central Market-Westgate

Recommended by 95%

43
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.5
Sort by:
  • J

    Jazmine · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used the Central Market Westgate location for both our wedding and grooms cake. Sue Ellen worked with us during our tasting and booking, and we also worked with Mercedes during the payment phase. I was beyond pleased with the quality and service at Central Market. The cakes were delicious and absolute crowd pleasers. Not to mention very affordable compared to the fancy bakeries in town. The delivery was on time and perfectly set up. I highly recommend this Central Market location for wedding cake services.

    Sent on 11/07/2016
  • J

    Johanna · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Diana did the flowers for my wedding, and I was so happy with the result! Before meeting with Diana, the other florists I checked out were pricey, overwhelming, and just overly complicated. When someone first suggested Diana at Central Market, I was concerned that I might end up with something sub-par or cheap-looking. But this is far from your typical grocery store level florist. Diana is incredibly knowledgeable about all things floral AND all things specific to wedding floral. She helped me think through several issues I would not have even considered otherwise, because she has done this before and knows how it works. She will get you an end result that is every bit as Pinterest-worthy as the other guys, while being a lot more reasonable in terms of price and overall approach. She was very flexible and worked with us to get us just what we wanted and nothing we didn’t. I really appreciated how she was very good at taking my ideas for what I wanted and translating them into something real that was doable, beautiful, classy, and true to the look I was going for. My flowers ended up looking more gorgeous than I had even imagined, and I could not have been more pleased. Diana saved me money and unnecessary hassle, and helped make my day beautiful. Definitely check her out.

    Sent on 02/22/2017
  • E

    Ema · Married on 04/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of the things that guests at our wedding raved about the most was our wedding cake! Central Market-Westgate did an awesome job decorating the cake the way I envisioned all the while being simply delicious. They were so easy to work with and super flexible. I couldn't be more pleased with their work and I'm really glad we had them as part of our wedding

    Sent on 05/12/2015
  • User3925465 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used CM for our flowers and cake. We did the arrangements ourselves to save money, but the floral manager was very, very helpful and special ordered large quantities in the colors and varieties we asked for. She also helped us pick out some flowers that went with we had ordered to help make our selections looks fuller and build on our initial idea. She even patiently added up everything we had thrown in the cart and created a label for the cashier to scan that included our entire floral order at checkout. She made the process really easy and we appreciated all her advice in the selections and help.

    We had CM create a small 1-tier wedding cake for us that had a unique frosting texture. I sent them a few pictures from my phone when we placed the order. The cake looked and tasted great. Quite a steal for a small wedding.

    Sent on 04/28/2015
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 04/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wasn't picky about flowers, so I decided the best route to go would be to just make "messy" bouquets and centerpieces myself. The selection of flowers at this store is AMAZING--there was everything from a simple rose bouquet to tropical, spikey flowers I had never seen. So I used some of everything! I ran around like a crazy person grabbing some of everything and the nicest employee ever just followed behind me, keeping track of what I was picking so it could be rung up faster and putting everything in buckets of water for us to transport. I probably filled 5 buckets FULL of all different flowers and paid less than $280--I had expected it to be higher for sure by the way I was just grabbing without paying attention to price. They helped make suggestions for what went well with each other, color, heat tolerance, etc. I would highly recommend them for ANY type of event requiring floral needs.

    Sent on 05/03/2014
  • K

    Karina · Married on 02/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Diana was very helpful in our initial meeting to discuss the budget and variety of flowers I could choose from. She was clear in her recommendations and let me know what to expect. We made adjustments as needed to my order along the way. It was a pleasure to work with Diana and Central Market at Westgate.

    Sent on 04/14/2014
  • E

    Emily · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Donna for our floral needs and she was great! The bouquets turned out beautifully. I also loved that she used pearl and sparkle bracelets for he corsages. She was very nice to talk to and was always very helpful.

    Sent on 09/30/2013
  • User2676453 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I didn't want to spend a thousand dollars on something that would vanish by the end of the reception so we opted with Central Market. The cake tasted wonderful and with a few additions from our florist it looked pretty too. I chose red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting for the wedding cake and chocolate cake with cream cheese frosting for the grooms cake. My husband wanted a Texas Longhorn cake and while our budget didn't allow for an elaborate design, they were able to make us a sheet cake with a longhorn on it. We decorated around hiis cake table, so it looked great as a finished product. We were happy and I felt like we got exactly what we paid for.

    Sent on 09/25/2012
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 08/25/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Noi at Central Market Westgate put together a beautiful bouquet of flowers for our church on our 50th wedding anniversary. I wanted an English Country Garden Bouquet of purple, pink and white flowers and the boquet exceeded my expectations - very beautiful

    Sent on 09/02/2012
  • J

    Jacob · Married on 05/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our initial meeting was awesome! We got everything figured out quickly and in our budget. Couldn't ask for anything better.

    Sent on 06/14/2012
  • W

    Kate · Married on 05/11/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I made my own bouquets with flowers I simply purchased there. However, they do have a full service wedding florist in-house. The flowers were beautiful and affordable from my perspective since I didn't get a ton. Lovely if you want to DIY or just need to pick up a few last-minute flowers.

    Sent on 05/16/2012
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 04/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Donna Foster at Central Market off 35th did my flowers for my wedding and they were absolutely stunning!!

    Sent on 05/29/2012
  • Bevin

    Bevin · Married on 03/31/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Please, please DO NOT HESITATE - call Central Market right now for your floral needs. I was nervous because of the great price and the fact that florals aren't their only business, but that fear was completely unfounded. I had the most amazing experience with Central Market, and specifically Donna Burkhalter. They responded to every one of my requests, tried so hard to give me the peonies that I wanted (even though I couldn't afford them), but then snuck a few into my bouquet as a lovely surprise. The delivery was early, the price was amazing, they through in so many extra little touches, and everything arrangement and bloom was GORGEOUS. I was so happy with this vendor. Please, don't spend more money when you don't have to.

    Sent on 04/02/2012
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 01/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Donna Foster at Central Market is fabulous to work with!! Several other close friends recommended her to me, and I was not disappointed. I really don't know much about flowers, but I was able to explain to Donna the vision I had of the wedding, colors and a few favorite flowers, and she was able to help me pull together something really beautiful. I changed my mind several times, and she was so patient with me and flexible. She made it so easy. I even made a last-minute request for a bridal bouquet for my bridal portraits a couple of days before the shoot, and she was able to deliver beautifully. I highly recommend Donna to any bride looking for beautiful flowers at a reasonable price.

    Sent on 03/04/2012
  • M

    Meliss · Married on 12/03/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Donna Foster at Central Market North Lamar did my bouquet and it was so beautiful. I frantically called Donna 1 week before the wedding thinking I wanted to change my floral pics for the bouquet. Donna had already ordered all the flowers we had originally discussed but offered to change it. I stuck with the original design and I'm glad I did. It was so much more beautiful than I ever expected. It was so sad when the flowers died. Absolutely beautiful and Donna truly captured exactly what I wanted.

    Sent on 12/20/2011
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/22/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Donna Foster at Central Market, Austin on Lamar did an amazing job on my flowers. She knew exactly what I wanted after just two pictures. The flowers were perfect and delivered on time. She made it so easy for a bride that did not know a thing about flowers.

    Sent on 11/28/2011
  • heather

    heather · Married on 09/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    LOVED Donna at Central Market! Have suggested her to everyone I know getting engaged anywhere near Austin. Her prices are unbeatable, and she is soooo talented!! By far one of my favorite vendors I worked with!

    Sent on 04/07/2012
  • K

    Eric · Married on 04/16/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The bakers at Central Market - Westgate are some of the most amazing artists imaginable. Effy, the baker for our cakes, did a superb job in a short amount of time. We've seen (and tasted) cakes of all prices, and Effy delivered the best looking and best tasting cake for the best price. You truly can't beat the value and you (and your guests) will be extremely pleased with the end result.

    Sent on 07/06/2011
  • J

    Sara · Married on 11/14/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Donna at Central Market North Lamar was FANTASTIC! She had great ideas and really listened to all of mine. Our flowers were GORGEOUS and there is no way I could have gotten the value for cost anywhere else in the city. They even let me bring in my own vases for the centerpieces to help cut down cost. (Though the vases I did use of theirs only added a couple dollars per bouquet, nothing extreme). I would HIGHLY recommend using them if you're trying to go with quality on a budget.

    Sent on 12/15/2010
  • D

    Diana · Married on 10/16/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had a small wedding (40 people) so I needed simple, inexpensive centerpieces and a bouquet! The hydrangeas I chose were stunning but best of all Donna made things so easy! I only met with her once and everything else was done by phone. She was very friendly and professional and straightforward.

    Sent on 10/23/2010
  • G

    Ginny · Married on 04/24/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Donna at Central Market North was awesome! I can't even begin to tell you how beautiful my flowers were, she gave me exactly what I wanted and more. I wanted some non-traditional flowers and she knew just how to bring that to life. I was so happy on my wedding day when the flowers came, I couldn't have imagined them any better. The big plus was the price. I got quotes from a few other flower places in Austin and she was over 50% less than them and I got a ton of flowers. Use Donna at Central Market and you will not be disappointed.

    Sent on 04/29/2010
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 02/27/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My bridesmaids and I decided to have a go at making our own bouquets, and Donna in the Central Market flower shop on 38th was so helpful in helping me figure out exactly which and how many flowers I needed to make exactly what I wanted. The order came in and I received a call from her letting me know of a small difference from what we ordered, and they were so helpful in finding me an alternative to make sure I was happy with what I got. Making your own bouquet is a fun way to put a more personal touch on your day, and the gals at Central Market were a huge help in making that possible. Besides their great customer service, the flowers there are very affordable and I would go back to them again and again.

    Sent on 03/29/2010
  • K

    Kristy · Married on 10/10/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I ordered the bulk of my flowers (all gerbera daisies) from another vendor, but when I got them, the one color I needed for my bouquet was missing. I tried a couple different places around Austin but no one seemed to have many, if any, gerberas. Luckily, I called Central Market (Lamar & 38th) and they had a whole bucket full of the burgundy color I needed (not to mention every other color imaginable). They were cheap, too, and in fantastic condition. A couple family friends actually made my bouquet for me, and it was one of my favourite details from the wedding. If you are doing your own flowers, or at least bouquets/boutonnieres, I'd definitely recommend getting your flowers from Central Market. Great selection, great condition, and friendly staff.

    Sent on 10/28/2009
  • M

    April · Married on 09/19/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Diana knew exactly what I wanted before I did! :-) When I saw her at the wedding I knew all would be OK. She is charming to work with, responsible, trustworthy and turned out to be good friend went above and beyond to make sure my wedding day was perfect!

    Sent on 11/18/2008
  • S

    sarah · Married on 02/23/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    the flowers are gorgeous!!!

    Sent on 05/30/2008

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review