Celebrations by Karen F. Murphy Reviews

21 | Norwood, MA
See photos, pricing and details

21 Reviews for Celebrations by Karen F. Murphy

Recommended by 100%

21
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • Alison

    Alison · Married on 10/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karen was completely amazing. She kept us on track all day long and ensured that everything went off w/out a hitch. She was professional, but relaxed and knew exactly what to do at every moment of the day. When the weather suddenly took a turn for the worse and we had to resort to Plan B for our photographs, Karen took care of everything. Karen was responsive, organized, and knows her stuff. If you are on the fence about hiring a day of coordinator, call Karen. She will alleviate so much day-off stress. Worth every penny and she's just SO NICE too.

  • M

    Maggie · Married on 07/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough about Karen! A friend told me the best money she spent was on a day of coordinator for her wedding and I couldn't agree more. From the moment I contacted Karen, she was responsive, kind and responsible. I was planning my wedding from the west coast and she accommodated her schedule to communicate with me. Leading up to the wedding she adjusted my timeline a few (million) times every time I sent her an update. The day of she worked with my family, my husband and his groomsman decorating the venue and updating me on the progress. She made me feel so at ease and not stressed about anything!! I would highly recommend Karen and her day of services! Thank you Karen!

  • M

    Maggie · Married on 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karen was absolutely wonderful. From our first meeting, I knew I had made the right choice. We had done so much planning and organizing on our own - we just really needed someone to make sure the day of went smoothly. She went above and beyond to make sure all of our little details were where they needed to be and that we had a great time. She also sent me one of my favorite pictures of the night! You're doing yourself a huge favor by hiring Karen.

  • A

    April · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Karen as our day of wedding coordinator and we were so pleased we did!! We would consider ourselves fairly demanding clients and Karen surpassed all of our expectations. We didn't once have to worry about anything during our wedding, she answered all of our questions in a timely fashion and was truly a pleasure to work with. She was so helpful in making us a timeline of our day to ensure everything ran smoothly and everyone knew where to be. She was SO quick at finding whoever we needed (pictures, bustle, lineups, etc). There was another wedding at our venue the same day as ours so Karen was essential to help coordinate the trolleys for the guests going to the church.. Karen went above and beyond our entire day, we received numerous compliments on how amazing she was. Right down to when I spilled a pumpkin pie martini on my dress, Karen was there in seconds fixing the situation (towels, soda water). I would recommend Karen to anyone looking for a day of coordinator that would like to put their minds at ease on their special day!

  • J

    J · Married on 08/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If anyone is looking to have your wedding be exactly what you want...you will definitely use Celebrations with Karen. She was nothing but professional and kind. She made sure every need was met, even ones we didn't think to do. We couldn't thank her enough for ensuring our wedding was out of this world. She is simply the best. She's attentive and goes above and beyond. When she says call or text me for whatever you need, she means it. I could go on and on about her. I'm recommending her to everyone I know getting married. She deserves more than she charges so we had to send more as a thank you. Just the best. Thank you so much Karen. We couldn't have asked for a better person to help ensure of day was everything and more.

  • W

    Mathilda · Married on 04/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Karen for our April wedding, and she was amazing. A month before, she contacted us to start putting together a detailed timeline of how the day would run from start to finish. She made sure that all of our vendors knew where to be when, and executed the schedule she had created with grace and humor. I am sure there are so many issues that Karen dealt with that day that I didn’t even know about. I really felt like I could just enjoy the day and be present in it, thanks to Karen taking control of all of the logistics. Karen also handled our rehearsal - she took control and wrangled our people so everyone knew where they had to be when. She also went above and beyond in setting up our centerpieces at our reception, which consisted of old books, a variety of found items, votive candles, and small florals. They looked beautiful and were exactly how we envisioned them.

    If you are looking for someone who will execute your vision for your wedding day and make helpful logistical suggestions - but will not try to tell you that you absolutely need a videographer and cascading floral arrangements, or start calling your mom weeks before to tell her you're making horrible planning choices (all things we've heard of planners doing) - then Karen is your girl. She is down-to-earth and she gets it, and she'll make your wedding day go exactly how you want it to.

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 11/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If I could give Karen 10 stars I would!!!! My mom was a huge help in planning my wedding but we both knew that on the day of we wanted to relax and not have to worry about anything. We found Karen and can't stop talking about how wonderful she was and how she was the best idea we had for the whole wedding! Not only did Karen take care of everything during the weeks leading up to the wedding (contacting vendors, putting together a day of timeline, etc.) she also handled EVERYTHING on the day of. If there were any issues then I didn't know about them because Karen dealt with it all. I was completely worry free and relaxed. She made sure to tell everyone where to be and where to go which helped to keep the day on schedule. If you're on the fence about hiring a day of coordinator I highly recommend that you use one and make sure it is Karen!!

  • E

    Erin · Married on 05/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had our wedding at a venue that does not provide an official wedding coordinator – and more than that it was just a bare bones “venue,” we had to bring in caterers, rentals, etc. I’m an extremely organized person and I have a lot of flexibility with my job so I really thought I handle the whole wedding planning process myself. But as the wedding got closer I realized there was no way I could handle all of the details of the wedding day! I’m so glad I found Karen. I reached out to several Day of Coordinators and after communicating with all of them, Karen was by far the easiest to interact and contract with and her fees were far more reasonable than everyone else. And she was so amazing! About a month and a half prior to the wedding we started emailing frequently and Karen brought up so many questions and details that, despite all of my research and wedding obsession, I NEVER would have thought of. She came to the venue walk-through and her presence was invaluable – it was so calming to know that she was there and had all of the details of the day organized to a T. She was so efficient in coordinating the contracts and timeline of the day with all of my other vendors. She was so helpful to us in figuring out how to run our rehearsal and wedding ceremony. And on the day of the wedding, she was a lifesaver. We had a snafu with our flowers and she was right there to take care of things so that I didn’t have to worry about a thing. She kept things on schedule and checked in with myself, the groom, and my parents frequently to make sure we didn’t need anything. My whole family just loved Karen and we were so happy and thankful that she was there with us on the wedding day! We were sad to say goodbye at the end of the day! I can’t recommend Karen Murphy highly enough. Her many years of experience in the wedding industry are apparent as soon as you meet her, and we don’t know what we would have done without her!

  • J

    Justine · Married on 10/25/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karen comes highly recommended on this board and I have to agree with everything everyone else has said. Karen was there for both my church service and reception, and attended the rehearsal at the church the day before. She was beyond amazing. Even a lot of my bridal party commented how great she was. She gave advice, made sure everyone was in the right spot, coordinated with vendors, made sure I didn’t see my husband before the service, you name it. She was so, so helpful and she can be hired for a very reasonable price. You won’t regret booking her! Highly recommend!

  • J

    Jessie · Married on 09/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring Karen as our Day Of Coordinator was one of the best decisions we made during our entire planning process. Not only is she totally personable and professional, her pricing is crazy reasonable, especially when you see the level of service you get for the money. I really appreciated her down-to-earth approach and she brought such a calming and warm energy to the day. We had a big storm the morning of our wedding that led to some hiccups early in the day -- Karen was totally on the ball and set my mind at ease. I felt so relieved knowing she was there to handle the last minute surprises. She was so attentive, not only to myself and my husband, but to our family and guests, and we received many compliments on how smoothly everything went. We couldn't have made it happen without Karen!


  • C

    Carly · Married on 08/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't think I can write a review that does Karen justice. Are you thinking about hiring a day-of coordinator? I highly recommend you do, and that you hire Karen. "Day-of" coordinator isn't quite the right term, as I started really working with Karen several weeks in advance of the wedding date. Through phone calls, emails, and a site walk through (Cambridge Boat Club), Karen assembled a super detailed plan of the decorations involved, the vendors, the timeline for the day, and my overall vision. Karen contacted all of my vendors in advance to confirm details with them and to provide her contact information in case they had any questions or problems the day of. She asked me questions that I hadn't even thought about (but were certainly important). It was really important to me that I be able to spend my wedding day focused on getting married, and thanks to Karen I was able to do this. Karen was my buffer; in my mind my wedding day went perfectly but I have no idea what was going on behind the scenes, only that I know Karen was working hard.

    In summary, you want to hire Karen. She's super organized, terrific at communication, and worked really hard to make sure the day went according to the plan we'd worked out in advance. I completely trusted her to be my voice & see out my vision.

  • User3363908 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I enlisted Karen's services as a day-of coordinator for my wedding. I wasn't absolutely sure I really needed a coordinator but after a meeting with Karen I knew I wasn't wasting my money. I can't say enough good things about Karen! She was organized, creative with plans, and assertive and diplomatic with vendors. She helped us plan our timeline so we could focus on what was most important. She stayed on top of all the small details from finding people for photos, to extra limo runs to loading the car. She also seems to really enjoy her job and helping couples execute their event. When I saw her waiting for us as we pulled up in the limo I instantly felt calm and relaxed. I highly recommend Karen.

  • S

    Sara · Married on 06/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karen was amazing to work with. We booked her services way in advance (about a year and a half). She met with us for an initial consultation and then we met again about a month and a half before the wedding. She was very organized and communicated regularly with me via email and phone. We had a minor crisis with our caterer the day before the wedding (!) and she immediately jumped in and took care of the situation so that I wouldn't have to worry about it. What a lifesaver! She completely made my day easy and I was unaware of any mishaps (if they happened). Karen helped the evening flow smoothly and went along with our plans so that it was exactly the reception we wanted to have. I highly recommend her. She is worth her weight in gold!

  • L

    Laura · Married on 04/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karen was my day of wedding coordinator for my April 2013 wedding. She was very accommodating from the beginning and we met in advance before I made my decision to hire her. She kept in touch by email and even phone calls in the couple of months leading to my wedding. She assisted with the entire planning of the day of my wedding which included a meeting with our venue in which she was very helpful as well as executing a schedule for the day. Karen assisted with our rehearsal as well in preparing the schedule and coordination of that.
    Karen was always extremely professional and organized and very helpful offering ideas and advice. She was very nice, easy to work with and very thoughtful. I hired a DOC because I am a worrier and felt nervous how things would play out the day of the wedding. I am not a good planner myself or organizer and felt this was a very important decision to make in having a DOC. I must say that hiring Karen was one of the best decisions I made. She truly went above and beyond in her role as DOC. She truly cares about what she does and it shows. I forgot my garter the day of my wedding and Karen quickly made one out of a rubber band and some flowers. That was entirely nerve wracking for me but Karen came to the rescue and did such a great job under pressure. I would highly recommend Karen as a wedding planner or a day of wedding coordinator. She is an amazing person!

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 07/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough great things about Karen and her assistant. She was one of the easiest people to work with throughout the whole process. She was always available and on the wedding day she was so calm and organized that I didn't have to worry about a thing. Everything ran smoothly because of her and on top of that, she genuinely cares about how everything turns out. She confirmed every detail with me and I would not hesitate to recommend her to anyone.

  • J

    Jenna · Married on 06/06/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karen did a wonderful job with our wedding! She was avaiable 24/7 and charged a reasonable amount.

  • M

    Meaghan · Married on 05/15/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wanted to thank Karen for all of her hard work. Things were not easy for my wedding. I had lots of people coming from out of town. There were lots of unexpected issues and dilemmas. She helped me stay focused on what I needed to be doing. We got things organized and she kept me on track. Coming from a large family it was like having another sister there to talk me through everything. Our wedding was such a success and everyone had a blast. I would recommend Karen to anyone getting married. She was my rock and a really appreciate everything she did for me.

  • E

    Erin · Married on 04/30/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wish there was an option to pick 10's for Karen!! I cannot believe how smooth the day of our wedding went because of her. I had nightmare's the 2 months prior to our wedding of all the things that could possibly go wrong, and thankfully, because of Karen Murphy @ Celebrations, our day was a dream come true. The best part about Karen was her calming demeanor. If there was ever an issue, Karen dealt with it without a sweat and without either of us ever knowing. Now thats a wedding planner! A++ for Karen all the way.

  • M

    Meghan · Married on 11/21/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karen was our Wedding Planner for our Wedding and I couldn't have done it without her! She was so organized, calm, very professional, and so easy to work with. When the day got closer and I started to freak out she reassured me not to worry and I didn't have anything to worry about because Karen handled everything. She helped with the invitations, decorations, table seating, and many more!! My wedding was just what I hoped it would be and I couldn't have done it without Karen's help!!!

  • C

    casey · Married on 08/08/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karen's services made our wedding planning a breeze. I would 100% recommend her for any bride!!

  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 07/07/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karens attention to detail was incredible! She allowed us to enjoy every aspect of our special day without a worry in the world!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review