Caterman Catering Reviews

19 | San Jose, CA
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Caterman Catering

Recommended by 96%

19
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.6

6 User photos

Caterman Catering 1
Caterman Catering 2
Caterman Catering 3
Caterman Catering 4
Caterman Catering 5
Caterman Catering 6
Sort by:
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 07/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you to Caterman Catering for putting together a beautiful and delicious spread of food for our wedding. Here is a little background on our wedding and our search parameters: we had 200 guests, it was being held at a private residence, we were looking to rent all the tables/chairs/linens/heaters/etc. from this company, and we were wanting to feature several different types of food with food stations during our reception. Searching for a caterer for our reception that matched these parameters and was within our price range seemed impossible and was the most stressful part of the wedding planning process. Then I met Michelle. She was SO accommodating and helpful! The first question she asked me was my budget and from there she helped me figure out what rental or food items we could cut out in order to meet that budget. She even gave us recommendations on where to find better deals than what she could offer on certain items. I had established a great rapport with Michelle and when she became ill just a few weeks before the wedding, I became very nervous that everything was going to fall apart. However, Michelle had organized everything and passed it on to a brilliant coworker, Blanca! Blanca seamlessly stepped right into the role. My walk through with her was honestly perfect and alleviated all of my fears with her answering questions for me that I didn’t even know to ask! On our wedding day the Caterman Catering staff created our dream reception! We featured foods from Italy, Mexico, the Middle East and the U.S. and to enhance the look of the tables, Blanca brought decorations from her own home to spice up the displays! They were spectacular! Honestly, I could not have been happier with our choice to go with this catering company and I recommend them for any major even you are going to have. Thank you again to everyone! You were incredible!

    Caterman Catering 7
    Caterman Catering 8
    Caterman Catering 9
    Caterman Catering 10
    Caterman Catering 11
    Caterman Catering 12
  • L

    Larissa · Married on 09/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married in Monterey and we were initially hesitant to hire someone from San Jose to do the catering for our wedding, but we're so glad we did! We did an "upscale BBQ buffet" and everything was absolutely delicious. So many guest commented about how delicious the food was. Erika was also completely amazing throughout the planning process and accommodated all of the little changes we needed to make. I would highly recommend Caterman to anyone having a wedding on the Monterey Peninsula or anywhere else! They're fantastic!

  • User3557689 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best caterer!! We couldn't have been happier with the service or food. They were very professional, organized, and helpful. They had plenty of servers and were very affordable considering the food was really good and the execution was elegant. I would highly recommend them!

  • J

    jenn · Married on 07/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Caterman did a great job catering for our wedding. The staff was prompt in correspondence leading up to the wedding and answered all our questions, and the day of went so smoothly and the food was GREAT!

  • B

    Brian · Married on 07/06/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Many of my guests commented to me that they really loved the food. We really scored by choosing this caterer. Erika was absolute delight to work with. We were impressed with the tasting and the event was even better! They are just so good at what they do.

  • Natasha

    Natasha · Married on 04/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great food, great servers, great chef. They were all very attentive to the guests and went a little above and beyond what their requirements were. I was able to buy my own table cloths for cheaper, and they used them. Any change I wanted, she had a new estimate ready for me in a day. I have nothing to complain about them!

  • D

    Diane · Married on 12/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great value, terrific food, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Gomi went that extra mile; he was flexible, approachable and even stayed and congratulated us after the ceremony.

  • D

    Douglas · Married on 05/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Caterman is awesome. We had food delivered to us in those ugly aluminum trays and to-go containers. Caterman arranged the food onto plates with great presentation that you'd expect at a chic restaurant. The table setting and service were great; I would definitely use them again.

  • C

    Courtney · Married on 06/25/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Last night I had the best dream ever. It was my wedding day again. I couldn't be more bummed that it's over. All the hard work and planning definitely paid off. We had about 400 guests and all my dreams wouldn't have been possible without Caterman. They truly made my wedding what I wanted it to be. We worked w/ Erika and she was wonderful. From the first time I talked to her on the phone to seeing her at the event. We set up a tasting before deciding on a caterer and my mother is allergic to almost everything: wheat, eggs, dairy, certain greens, pork, and chicken. Basically anything that tastes good my mother is allergic to. So for our tasting they made her a special plate of food w/ everything she can eat. Then we had two site meetings to tour the facility. She was always on time and so easy to talk to. Everything I asked of her was performed w/o question and with a tone of "of course, it will be our pleasure" There was really nothing more I could ask for.

    On the day of the event all the tables and drapery looked awesome and they even let my Aunt who was doing the centerpieces share their work space in back to prep. She even made some vegetarian plates for the few vegetarians we had and brought a special plate to my mother for her to eat. All of the wait staff that they hired was so nice and friendly. The food itself was awesome. We got three different passed Hors d'oeuvre: Chicken Pinewheel, Eggplant Bruschetta, and a Stuffed Mushroom. Everyone seemed to enjoy them all and they even brought us some on a plate to the head table to eat. For dinner we had a mixed green salad, roasted vegetables, tri-tip, salmon, and mashed potatoes. Everyone seemed to really enjoy their meals and the salmon was perfectly cooked.

    The only bummer of the night I found out about later was one of our guests had a peanut allergy that they think was in the salad dressing. I let Erika know and she was very said and talked w/ their chef. There were notes in the order which I was told they are really good about following. I know mistakes happen and I'm very fortunate my guest was able to get the help he needed in time. Even despite this mishap I still love Caterman though and would use them for any of my future events.

  • S

    Sally · Married on 08/31/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married over Labor Day weekend and used Caterman for our catering, bartending, and linens/dinnerware rentals. Overall, we were really impressed with our whole experience with Caterman. We worked with Erika and being foodies, must've changed up the menu (and headcount/table setup) about 10 different times in the last couple weeks before the wedding. Erika was always incredibly professional whenever new changes were sent her way (patiently and very promptly dealing with our questions and never seeming irritated when doing so) and also very helpful (offering up her own input when we were being indecisive on menu options and throwing out helpful ideas wherever possible (as one example, when we mentioned we were doing ice cream sandwiches as one of our desserts, she recommended we get dry ice vs regular ice because she had a previous experience where the ice cream didn't hold up too well with regular ice, which we would've never known otherwise)). The day of the wedding pretty much went off without any hitches; the catering team showed up on time and set everything up according to schedule, and we were told by many guests that the food and drinks were great! The only ding in the ratings was because I caught some very minor errors in the final contract, but honestly, with so many changes we sent their way, I kind of feel bad taking off a half-point for that.

  • User3513675 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Food was excellent and service was great. I highly recommend.

  • M

    Mary · Married on 07/07/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gomi was fabulous. He made sure our day was special. He did everything from serving us a beautiful plate at the bridal table to hanging up decorations. The cook was great - the food was amazing. Everyone raved about the food and service. I definately would recommend this company.

  • D

    Kelley · Married on 07/20/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From start to finish, all of the staff at Caterman Catering were exceptionally friendly and warm. My fiance and I received personal attention, and did not feel as though we were just another client.
    The best part about Caterman Catering was their flexibility. When we told them that we were on a strict budget, they did their best to work within that and gave us tips as to how we could cut costs, never trying to talk us into something higher-priced. In the end, we ended up getting much more food, and much higher quality food than we ever thought we could afford! Their honesty and straightforwardness was very much appreciated.
    My fiance and I are fans of tapioca milk tea, an Asian beverage popular in this area. We had the idea that serving tapioca milk tea at our wedding would be a unique and personal touch. Caterman said that they had never made this drink before, but that they would give it a try! So we did indeed have our beloved milk tea on our wedding day. It was quite good and made an impression on all the guests.
    The servers who attended guests during the reception were professional, subtle and polite. Food never ran low and was elegantly presented.
    The chairs, tables, and linens we rented were clean, in good condition, and elegant.
    The only complaint I might have with Caterman was that occasionally our contact was difficult to get in touch with. Sometimes she seemed to be on vacation, sick, or out of the office for a few days at a time. This was somewhat worrisome at times. However, this was the exception rather than the rule.
    I would definitely recommend Caterman to any bride-to-be!

  • H

    Erin · Married on 01/02/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ignore the stars for "Value" and "Quality of Service" as we ultimately did not use their service. This was not at all due to a bad impression of the company but rather due to a change in our personal wedding style (decided we're going for an intimate potluck instead). However, I had a positive interaction with them worth noting, as they responded to my questions fully and promptly. Excerpts from an email with the event coordinator, Kayla, below:

    Thank you so much for your interest in Caterman Catering. My name is Kayla and I am the event coordinator for the company. Attached are a couple of breakfast menus for you as well as our ______ buffet menu.. Our prices include only the food. We are a full service catering company, meaning that we can supply rentals, beverages, staffing, you name it! All of our menus are listed as buffet, however they can be used as family style or sit-down as well for the same pricing. I would love to put together a full price quote for you, but first need a menu picked out as well as some more information.
    Will you need rentals such as tables, chairs, linens, placeware? Would you need staffing? Where will this be located? Do you have a specific theme in mind? For the Placeware, we do rent those and you definitely do not need to wash them, etc. You can get them the day before and all that needs to happen is they need to be placed back in the boxes that they come in. Also, I apologize, but while we can supply glasses and a bartender to the alcoholic drinks, we do not provide the actual alcohol.

  • N

    Natalya · Married on 07/29/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The staff was very helpful & very attentive throughout the whole process! Thanks

  • J

    Julia · Married on 05/25/2013

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The person that we originally dealt with left her job about 4 months before our wedding and the hand-off was a little sloppy but other than that you guys were great! The food was wonderful, the service was perfect and the people were super friendly and professional.

  • A

    Amanda · Married on 10/27/2018

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent food with some small bumps

    We used Caterman Catering for our wedding. Kayla was great to work with and helped make some of the projects I wanted for the wedding a reality. Caterman did an excellent job of handling special diets. We had a number of guests with severe allergies or restrictions, and there was no problem with making sure our guests were taken care of. Our tasting was very fun, and representative of the dishes we were served at the wedding.

    We did, however, have a few small issues. The biggest was that a server cleared my sister's plate while she was still eating--she had her fork in her hand. We also requested certain cheeses for the cheeseboard, which was noted in our contract, but weren't provided. Some of the appetizers ran out very quickly and guests were disappointed that they didn't get to try them. I changed a dish after the tasting, and the dish we received was nothing like it was described on the menu. At a minimum, it said it had parsley but there was nothing green on my plate. I would recommend making sure to try every dish you would like to serve at the tasting.

    Overall, our guests very much enjoyed the food. It was nice to have a caterer who took care of the rentals, so we didn't have to add an additional vendor.

  • User5312127 · Recently married

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Tried at a friends wedding and found it delicious

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review