Skip to main content
Weddings

Cate Barry Photography Reviews

Cate Barry Photography

Cate Barry Photography

New Haven, CT
5.0 out of 5 rating, 52 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
52 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
100% Recommended by couples

Awards

52
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner

113 User photos

  • S
    Sara S. Sent on 10/06/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Creative, kind and inclusive!

    We loved working with Cate and highly recommend her as a wedding photographer!! Something we really appreciated about her right away was that she wanted to get to know us both as people and really wanted to understand our vision for our wedding. We had an engagement photoshoot with her, which also gave us a chance to get to know each other and she gave us lots of prompts and creative ways to feel comfortable in the photos which made the session really fun! On the day of the wedding, Cate and her assistant Mimi were so supportive, flexible, and fun to work with! They captured intimate and emotional moments of our wedding as well as the general landscape/ layout of the wedding, which was exactly what we wanted. Something we really appreciated about Cate is her ability to capture the emotions and interactions among people and we really like that she took photos of the typical wedding moments (first dance, etc) as well s the more unique moments (the kids playing, the flowers, guests emotional reactions, etc). She also sent us a sneak peek video slideshow of the wedding photos only about a week after the wedding which we enjoyed sharing with our guests. Many of our guests have commented on how much they like the photos and also on Cate’s positive and unobtrusive presence during the wedding. She is not only a highly skilled and creative photographer, but she is also a genuinely caring and very inclusive person who strives to capture all people authentically and joyfully through her photographs.
  • Julia
    Julia A. Sent on 11/14/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible Photographer and Person!

    Cate is incredible! She photographed our wedding in June of 2023 as well as our engagement shoot in May of 2022. Two of the main reasons we hired her were because of her intense inclusivity of the LGBTQ+ community and her candid photography style. She was not uncomfortable at all with us as an LGBTQ+ couple in front of the camera, which made us more comfortable too, and she was able to capture such special moments throughout the day that photographers who focus on posed and “traditional” wedding shots wouldn’t have.

    Our engagement shoot was the first formal photoshoot we had ever done together as a couple, and once we told Cate this, she did such a good job at giving us direction on how to pose and where to look. She even has certain prompts of things that, for example, she had one of us whisper into the others’ ear to elicit certain emotions. Our top priority in our engagement shoot was variety, since we wanted to use the photos for our save the dates, our website, etc., and Cate took that priority very seriously. We shot at a park with a ton of different backgrounds/vibes and even did an outfit change mid-way through.

    The day of our wedding, Cate came prepared with notes and a plan. She arrived on time and stayed on time throughout the day. She captured all the shots we asked her for specifically, plus a lot of special ones we weren’t expecting. She did an especially good job taking the large family photos we asked for, even with a whole bunch of people running in different directions! She also brought on a second shooter who had an incredibly similar style to hers, which was great for consistency across our photos from the day.

    If you’re looking for a calm, passionate, detail-oriented photographer with a knack for catching the small, intimate moments throughout your wedding day (in addition to the big, exciting ones of course), Cate is your person!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Megan
    Megan B. Sent on 11/21/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Cate Barry: Infinity out of 10

    I will start my review with this: Cate is the reason we chose a wedding date and began to plan our wedding. The only thing I knew for sure we wanted on our wedding day, was Cate photographing us and she exceeded every expectation we had. From day 1, she put our mind at ease of her entire process and timeline. She made recommendations that 100% fit our personalities and vibe.
    We are not people that know how to be photographed, we are awkward and silly. Cate celebrated the silliness and helped us not feel awkward at all. Before our wedding, we snuck away to take 1 on 1 photos, and it was such a gift she gave us. A few moments of peace and love before the real celebrating began. HUGE SHOUTOUT to her second shooter as well, they had such amazing attention to detail (caught that I had my hair tie still on my wrist LMAO)
    After our posed shots on our wedding day, I feel l didn't see Cate or her assistant for a long time because they melded into the background and caught so many amazing beautiful candid photos that I treasure so much already.
    Cate went above and beyond for us. She had fun with us, laughed with us, encouraged us when we felt awkward, and made us feel so special. She even knew how to capture the attention of our three dogs for a family pic.
    Thank you Cate and team! If I could give you a million stars and planets, I would.
  • R
    Richard B. Sent on 02/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best photographer ever!

    Cate and Kieran were absolutely amazing. They made two introverts feel so comfortable and perfectly captured our wedding day. Highly recommend to anyone!
  • D
    Dan M. Sent on 02/15/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply the Best

    I cannot possibly say enough good things about Cate and her team. Throughout all of the chaos, stress and changes of plans with the wedding itself, Cate provided me and my wife a sense of comfort and peace. She has such a calming, yet confident presence which reassures you that everything will work out as it should - allowing you to relax and enjoy the magic of your day. From the initial meet to planning sessions to the delivery of the completed photos, everything was absolutely perfect. If you don't book with Cate, you're missing out!
  • Sam
    Sam T. Sent on 01/16/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Cate is perfrction!

    Cate is AMAZING! Scott and I first met her through a friend and did a couples shoot. She made us feel so comfortable and the pictures came out so beautifully! When we got engaged, there wasn’t even a question as to who would be our photographer. We NEEDED her!! I cannot speak highly enough of her work ethic, ability to make us feel comfortable and the true talent she has as a photographer. I’ve recommended multiple friends to her as well and they all love her. I’ll continue to recommend her to anyone and everyone I can! You will not be disappointed! The quality of her work and beautiful pictures speak for themselves!
  • K
    Katy C. Sent on 11/28/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Photographer

    Cate is absolutely amazing. We worked with her for our engagement and wedding photos and I highly recommend her. We also had the pleasure of a second photographer, Kieran, for our wedding, They are top notch photographers. They were punctual, got every shot we asked for and more, and are both so easy to get along with. The photographs we received were beautiful and could not have been more perfect. We hate getting our pictures taken, but Cate makes it so fun that we are eager to book more sessions with her in the future. She is especially amazing with the LGBTQ+ community, which was so important for us. If you are looking for the best photographer, she is the one you need.
  • M
    Matt W. Sent on 01/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best photographer!!

    Cate is amazing!! My wife and I booked her for our wedding and we honestly could not have asked for a better experience. She was so easy to work with from day 1 and she did such a great job of making us feel comfortable and confident in front of the camera.

    Her photos are stunning and she absolutely captured all the emotions of the day, all without anyone noticing she was even there. Our family and friends were equally impressed! She helped make our wedding day exactly what we wanted and looking at her photos puts us right back in that moment. We would 100% recommend!
  • Michelle
    Michelle Sent on 12/26/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Photos of your Dreams

    Cate is truly talented, from her warm personality to her artistic eye, she’s everything you need to capture the biggest day in your life. When choosing a photographer it is so important to pick someone who you feel comfortable with because they’re essentially spending the whole day with you, and from our first phone call I knew she was the one! You won’t find anyone more passionate and thoughtful than her. Even when we had a small blunder at the venue she stepped in and helped us out without hesitation. She captured the essence of our day and I’m so happy with how our wedding album turned out. I would hire her again in a heartbeat!
  • H
    Hillary A. Sent on 11/20/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Cate is the absolute best

    Hiring Cate is the best thing you can possibly do for your wedding. Throughout the entire process Cate was incredibly personable, warm, and fun -- while being extremely professional, competent, and very very good at what she does. My wife and I feel so fortunate that we have such beautiful photos that really capture all of the moments and feelings at our wedding. We are already trying to figure out another excuse to have our photos taken so we can work with Cate again!
  • S
    Sophie H. Sent on 11/21/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We love Cate Barry!

    My wife and I loved every single minute of working with Cate, an incredibly talented photographer who is also warm, funny, and kind. She made our families smile, made us feel gorgeous, and captured hundreds of special and emotional moments on our wedding day. She's everything you could hope for in a wedding photographer.
  • M
    Matthew K. Sent on 12/12/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Top-Notch Photographer, A+++ Recommended

    Cate and her crew were phenomenal! We met Cate and saw her work firsthand at a friend’s wedding. The photos came out so well that we hired Cate for ours, and they came out great as well. Cate is an incredibly kind and warm person with a great eye. Not only did they catch the right shots, but the post-processing was really great too. Cate has an eye for contrast and color. At our wedding, two of our dear friends are professional sports photographers and they were commenting very positively on everything Cate was doing too. You can't go wrong - THANK YOU!
  • Abigael
    Abigael Y. Sent on 07/14/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Cate is the best!!!

    Cate is an awesome photographer and even better human!! She was very fun to work with and made me and my fiancee feel totally comfortable during our photo shoot. As a queer couple, we were nervous about the process, but could not be more thankful to have found Cate. She had creative ways of capturing fun, genuine, and sweet moments that we will will look back on and appreciate forever.
  • M
    Maggie R. Sent on 06/29/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Such a fun and romantic experience!

    Cate did an amazing job with our engagement photo shoot! She was so fun and good at what she does. She had us laughing and feeling relaxed the whole time. Our pictures came out beautiful!
  • R
    Regan K. Sent on 12/14/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A great experience

    Cate is exactly what I was looking for in a wedding photographer. She understood what I wanted (to get through the staged photos as quickly as possible) and to capture the candid moments that I knew I’d really want. She was professional, kind, warm - really everything you would want on such a fun/stressful/exciting day.
  • Victoria
    Victoria P. Sent on 07/31/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful and Easy Session

    Mason and I had our engagement session with Cate and she was such a joy to work with. Cate made Mason super comfortable in front of the camera and everything we did felt super natural. Will definitely be using her talents and service again.
  • S
    Samantha Sent on 01/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Photographer!

    Cate was so fantastic to work with! Her style of photography included everything we were looking for : dynamic, fun, playful, tender and sweet. We are not photo people, at all, but we enjoyed our engagement shoot so much! Such beautiful tender moments captured forever, in a special place to us, truly means so much to have them forever. Cate made our shoot easy, fun and also tender, romantic and sweet. We enjoyed working with her greatly!

    Cate Barry Photography's reply:

    Sam--this is such a beautiful review. Thank you so much!! It was such a joy working with you both. And thank you for introducing me to Lake Wintergreen--I will never forget your session on that gorgeous fall day. Big hugs to you both.
  • Ian
    Ian B. Sent on 02/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Five stars, 10/10, no notes!

    I truly can’t recommend Cate highly enough. When my wife and I were looking for wedding photographers I kept thinking that so many of the pictures looked either like stock photos or the Goodfellas poster, and Cate perfectly matched the exact opposite of that energy. We literally rescheduled our wedding around her availability and would do it again in a heartbeat. She was a delight to work with; if she weren’t photographing the wedding, we probably would have invited her as a guest after the first few times we chatted over Zoom. And the pictures, of course, were incredible—both in quality and in sheer numbers.
  • Taylor
    Taylor K. Sent on 01/11/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    An unforgettable experience!

    We had the most amazing engagement shoot with Cate! She was willing to travel to our preferred site, was timely and super professional. She was able to capture our love in a way I never thought possible, making us laugh and even cry, bringing out a tenderness we don’t show often outside of our home. We HIGHLY recommend Cate, do yourself the favor and use her services, we are sure glad we did!

    Cate Barry Photography's reply:

    Thank you so much, Taylor! You KNOW this was one of my absolute favorite sessions of 2020. I loved working with you both. :-D
  • D
    Diana F. Sent on 11/30/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Can't recommend enough

    I could not be happier with how my photos came out. As a 2021 bride, I had both a small, intimate ceremony and a reception full of friends and family. Cate captured both in such a way that when I look back at my photos I get to experience all of those emotions again. So professional and easy to communicate with! I cannot recommend Cate and her team enough.
  • C
    Carson A. Sent on 12/14/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic Photographer!

    Cate was absolutely spectacular through the whole experience of planning the wedding! She was flexible and communicated well and respectful of all our weird requests and last minute changes! Her pictures turned out FANTASTIC and we got them in a timely manner, they will be treasured for years and years to come!
  • C
    Clinton F. Sent on 12/30/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Cate is simply GREAT

    In addition to being a wonderful photographer, Cate has an extraordinary sensitivity and empathy that allows her to bring out the best from all of her subjects. They simply shine in the photos Cate takes. It was a GREAT experience working with her (and we did so over the course of over a year given Covid postponements). We cannot speak too highly about Cate.
  • Jessica
    Jessica Sent on 09/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Phenomenal !!

    Cate Barry is AMAZING at what she does! Her photos are so beautiful, and she truly has a talent for capturing real emotion and moments of connection between people. On top of that, she is so kind, genuine, and fun. My husband is not at all comfortable when cameras come out, and hates having his photo taken. Through her own brand of magic, Cate was able to get so many photos of his real smiles and expressions, and he felt relaxed and comfortable the whole time. When my husband and I look at Cate's photos of us, we can see and feel all the emotions we had in those moments, and we're not in the standard or cliched poses, we just look like us, having fun and being in love in a gorgeous setting. If you are looking for beautiful candid photos that center emotion and show you authentically, and a photographer with crazy talent, true professionalism, and infectious enthusiasm, I would 110% recommend Cate Barry!
  • P
    Paige B. Sent on 01/05/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Cate Barry is the best, hands down

    You must hire Cate immediately to photograph your wedding! She is an incredible photographer and perhaps more importantly a wonderful person to know and work with. We booked Cate for our August wedding and she made the entire process from planning to execution and follow-up so smooth. With few directives and limited group portraits (our choice) Cate took it upon herself to capture tons of intimate and fun moments with our friends and family during the celebration. Her and her assistant’s presence was unintrusive yet they were available whenever we needed them. When it came to our couple’s portraits, Cate gave us fun cues rather than poses that prompted us to be silly and romantic with one another. Rather than pulling us out of the festivities this gave us time to connect and honestly provided some of our favorite memories from the whole day. And that’s definitely reflected in the photos. We can’t stop clicking through and reminiscing. Please book Cate—she is a gem of a human, an immaculate professional, and a true artist
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours