Carnivale Reviews

52 | Chicago, IL
See photos, pricing and details

52 Reviews for Carnivale

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

52

9 User photos

Order by:
  • I

    Ivory C. · Married on 06/19/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am in engagement with my fiance

    So it will be the best wedding day every

    Sent on 11/14/2019
  • Stacey

    Stacey H. · Married on 09/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carnivale for the WIN!!! Best wedding venue in Chicago!

    If you are having a 200+ person wedding in Chicago, look no further. Carnivale is the best decision you will ever make. We are SO happy with our wedding. As a professional Event Manager, I can tell you that Carnivale is the best in the business. The service, the venue, the food, the joy! Don't waste your money on flowers or decor because you don't need to here!!! We did a buyout for 275 guests and every person has told us that it was the best wedding they've ever been to. We agree!!! If you work with Erica (she is amazing!) please feel free to ask her for more details on our site plans, etc. The work is all done already. You and your guests will have the BEST time ever! Happy wedding day :) ENJOY!

    Sent on 09/17/2019
  • Dani

    Dani · Married on 06/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An unforgettable venue for an unforgettable day.

    Choosing Carnivale will be the best decision you make all year, next to getting engaged to the love of your life. If I sound like I’m gushing, it’s because Carnivale really pulls out all of the stops to make sure you have a fantastic day. Not only is the venue bonkers breathtaking (warning: Must Love Color), the food, drinks, and service are top-notch. Plus, considering the amazing quality of service you receive, it’s reasonably priced for downtown Chicago.

    After first working with Doug and then Serena, we were given over to the very experienced hands of Erica, and I could not be more grateful to have her helping us through every step of the way. She answered my many questions in an incredibly timely manner and even dressed our presentation cake with flowers on our wedding day.

    Here are the details for our Saturday summer wedding, and I wouldn’t change a thing:
    -Ceremony at 3:15pm in the main dining room (our friend played classical guitar)
    -Cocktail hour in the main bar from 4-5pm
    -Reception upstairs in the Samba room for 165 gusts from 5-9pm with music by DJ-Chicago; we did family style dinner (everything was amazing, but the stars were the corn empanadas, seafood paella, short rib, Catalan spinach, and passionfruit cheesecake bites for dessert); we chose a 4-hour bar package with beer, wine and signature cocktails (mojitos, margaritas, and sangria) and added a cava toast for the speeches
    -After party at Jefferson Tap (a 5-minute walk away) from 9-midnight

    Multiple people said this was the best food they'd ever had at a wedding, which is exactly what we were hoping to hear. You will not regret picking Carnivale!

    Sent on 07/08/2019
  • C

    Carolina · Married on 05/24/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful wedding

    I just loved that I did not have to worry about a thing. Molly was so great and did most things. The reception was perfect. Venue is so beautiful and food oh my god the best! So delicious! Not the typical wedding food. Everyone loved it so much and it was so much food! Everyone at Carnivale took great care of us. Thank you for making our wedding the best! And stress free :) everything came out so perfect, way better than expected .

    Sent on 06/24/2019
  • M

    Mr And M. · Married on 04/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mr and Mrs Smith

    What a beautiful, wonderful and exciting place to have a wedding. The service, the venue, food and the coordinator Erica Ferreri was exceptional!!

    Sent on 04/18/2019
  • M

    Marguerite M. · Married on 12/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My dream wedding!

    My dream venue. Everything was perfect! The food, drinks, service- just everything was memorable. My guests have not been able to stop talking about it! We worked with Serena and she was such a delight to work with. I highly recommend this venue for those who want to put a colorful twist on their traditional (or not) wedding!

    Sent on 01/05/2019
  • C

    Cara P. · Married on 11/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing experience

    Chicago brides-this is the place for you. Working with Tiffany Junta made planning our wedding so easy. She is responsive and goes out of her way to make sure that you are comfortable through the entire process. She is great at answering questions, working with outside vendors, and calming anxious brides. Be sure to ask for her by name. The food and drinks at Carnivale are still being raved about by our guests. The space is beautifully decorated and is easy to compliment with simple flowers and decorations. This is not your cookie cutter banquet hall. The eclectic artwork and colors of the main dining hall are carried up through the Samba room creating a truly unique wedding experience. This is complimented further by the amazing staff, food, drinks, and Tiffany. Do yourself a favor and host your wedding here. You won’t regret it.

    Sent on 11/26/2018
  • A

    Amy · Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I honestly cannot say enough good things about Carnivale, and specifically, the event coordinator, Doug. My husband and I ended up having a change of plans and had to plan our wedding with only about 6 weeks notice. We were very stressed out about this and worried about finding a venue. Form the very beginning Doug and the Carnivale staff made the process so much. They were able to be so flexible with what we wanted to do and the budget we were working with, and basically said they could make everything we wanted happen on short notice and within budget. Doug was such a dream to work with and made what was a stressful process so much fun. He took care of literally everything. We stayed within budget, Doug thought of literally everything that we needed. The venue was amazing and beautiful and the food was unbelievable. Almost every guest said it was by far the best wedding food they had ever had. We had so much fun on our wedding night and it was honestly better than I could have ever expected even if I had a year to plan (and we only used 4 of the 6 weeks to plan this one!). I would highly recommend this venue to anyone in Chicago. I wouldn't have changed a thing and am so grateful to Doug and his staff for making our wedding the best day ever.

    Sent on 05/15/2018
  • D

    Dana · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Wedding

    We got married at Carnivale on October 20, 2018, and had the most perfect wedding. Much of this can be attributed to the fact that we selected Carnivale as our venue. The space is beautiful, fun and lively. I don't like to decorate and Carnivale is already decorated, so adding decor to the space is really not even necessary. The food was delicious and the service was top-notch. Throughout the planning process, we worked with Serena, who was wonderful, delightful and extremely competent! She promptly answered my questions and emails, helped us make important decisions and went above and beyond to take the lead on the bridal party & ceremony logistics during the rehearsal and on the day of the wedding. She accommodated our unique requests and was attentive to detail. Serena remembered my husband's favorite drink (Pisco Sour from Peru--not an easy cocktail to make) and handed it to him as soon as the ceremony ended. During the reception, Serena and Luis, the banquet manager, made sure everything ran smoothly. Luis and his staff were attentive to all the guests.

    Carnivale had a chuppah that someone had left behind from a previous wedding and kindly stored the big structure in their office for months so that we could use it at our wedding. Serena measured it for me and even had it assembled prior to the ceremony.

    We had guests from Chicago, all over the United States and Peru; everyone had a blast and can't stop talking about it, saying that it was the best wedding and venue (with the best food & drinks). This is a huge compliment coming from people who have been to weddings at the most high-end places. We wouldn't have changed a thing.

    Sent on 10/29/2018
  • Jamila

    Jamila · Married on 10/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Choice for our non-traditional wedding

    Carnivale was the only choice for our wedding. We wanted a party that just so happened to have a wedding ceremony in the beginning! lol. We wanted to reflect the energetic, colorful and fun relationship that we have. We worked with Serena P., and she knows her stuff, is super responsive, helpful and worked with whatever crazy idea that we threw at her! Food and drinks were high on our priority list, and we knew that everyone would leave raving about them at Carnivale! Our guests are still talking about our big day. We plan to return for our anniversaries!

    Sent on 11/01/2018
  • E

    Erika · Married on 10/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff at Carnivale were very professional and helpful in every way. The staff was always on hand. They checked in with us multiple times throughout the night. The food was delicious and we couldn't have created a better ambiance. Our guests had a great time and we highly recommend hosting a wedding here.

    Sent on 10/08/2018
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 06/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carnivale was the most amazing venue to hold our wedding. Doug was so helpful throughout the entire wedding process, taking the time to answer our MANY questions, providing his own expertise and ideas, and working to adapt the venue to our ideas and requests. The space itself is amazing- so colorful and exciting without even having to worry about bringing our own decorations. Our guests could not stop raving about the colorful atmosphere and of course the amazing food. Although our wedding is over, we will definitely be back at Carnivale soon!

    Sent on 06/21/2018
  • R

    Rose · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my daughter's bridal shower! Everyone loved it and the food was incredible and the staff was awesome.
    LOVED IT!

    Sent on 06/13/2018
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 05/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Doug and the entire crew at Carnivale were so accomidating. If you are having your wedding at Carnivale, you are obviously looking to throw a bright, fun, lively event, but Doug just takes it above and beyond! It is clear he loves his job and made me feel so excited each step of the way. He also worked with us to maximize our budget and make sure no money was wasted. Couldn’t be happier with the service we recieved from Carnivale :))))

    Sent on 06/03/2018
  • D

    Dolores · Married on 05/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our daughter Stephanie and new son-in-law Tyler's wedding was a dream come true. Doug and his staff at Carnivale went above and beyond to make our event fantastic. Doug was so accommodating and helpful with all aspects from planning to the final moments of our celebration. Fantastic food, beautiful and colorful room, and an amazing staff. Thank You Carnivale for making Stephanie & Tyler's wedding a modern day Fairy Tale!!

    Sent on 06/12/2018
  • R

    Rachael · Married on 05/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can’t express enough how fantastic working with the wedding planner Doug was! He was very thorough, professional, and exceptional! My husband and I had the wedding of our dreams and all our friends and family enjoyed themselves!

    Sent on 05/25/2018
  • M

    Maureen · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I came to Carnivale with what I thought was a pretty tall order-- Indian/American fusion, with multiple dietary restrictions, in a cocktail style reception-- they handled it better than I could have ever imagined. The event team was so easy to work with, and thought of logistics and details I never would have imagined. They were very mindful of our budget, and did a great job of suggesting options to keep us on track.

    The atmosphere at Carnivale is beautiful, and really fit in with the fun, celebratory vibe we were going for. The food was delicious, and we managed to please the wide array of preferences our guests had.

    Sent on 05/02/2018
  • L

    Lexi · Married on 04/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married on 4/7/18, and we could not have been happier with our wedding at Carnivale! We worked with Doug as our wedding coordinator and cannot say enough good things about him! He was extremely helpful and always responded quickly and answered all of my questions (and trust me, there were a lot!) thoroughly. He was a dream to work with, and made my life as a bride that much easier. He took care of setting up all of our decorations on the day of the wedding, and he did a fantastic job! Everything looked beautiful and exactly the way I wanted it. Doug was attentive to detail and came through on all of my requests.

    Our wedding was held in the Samba room for around 160 guests. It was a unique, fun, and gorgeous space! It made for the perfect environment for a party!

    The food was excellent! We did a family style meal, which allowed us to give our guests a taste of everything. We had so many options, and we really loved everything! Our tasting was great, and it was hard to pick what to serve for the wedding since everything was so delicious! We've heard from many guests about how great the food was!

    The signature drinks (sangria, margaritas, and mojitos) were the perfect addition to our bar package. It was fun to give guests a different option to kick off the cocktail hour.

    My one, and only, complaint was that the servers removed the floral centerpieces when dinner was served to make space for all of the family style dishes that were served. Which that is totally fine and I completely understand the need for table space for the meal. However, the centerpieces were never returned to the tables after dinner. We spent a significant amount of money on the flowers for the reception, only to have them all moved to the gift/card table for the majority of the night.

    Overall, our wedding experience with Carnivale was absolutely wonderful! From the moment we first looked at the venue to the end of our reception, Carnivale was amazing!!

    Sent on 04/18/2018
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 10/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Doug at Carnivale has been a dream from start to finish. He is so attentive and detailed oriented! My husband and I planned our entire wedding, ceremony and reception, in the large private room on the second floor. We chose Carnivale because we knew the food was great, they have great service and we didn't have to fuss with decor/lighting/linnens as they were already there and the space is so vibrant! Doug helped us with every detail and even completed some of our items for us. When I arrived at the venue for the ceremony, I didn't have to make any decisions or change a thing. Everything was set up perfectly, in exactly the way we specified. The night was PERFECT. The food was wonderful, service was timely and our guests had a great time! It's been almost two weeks and we are still hearing from our guests about the fabulous time they had at Carnivale! Book this for your wedding NOW!

    Sent on 10/24/2017
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I wanted a small (although Carnivale can accommodate large weddings), intimate, unique wedding venue that our guests would never forget - that's exactly what Carnivale delivered!! Working with our event coordinator was incredibly convenient, especially with my crazy work schedule which I thought would have been difficult. It was literally as simple as telling them our visions/likes/dislikes and they made it happen! We also got engaged, found a venue, and planned the entire wedding (~90 people) within 5 months start to finish, all with minimal to no wedding planning anxiety like everyone says you'll have! The night of the wedding was glitch free and they made us feel like royalty - butler passed drinks and apps, fun funky furniture for our guests, VERY fast room change from dinner to dancing, and of course the amazing drinks! We would highly recommend Carnivale as an event location - wedding or not! The pictures speak a thousand words for years to come with the atmosphere, too!

    Sent on 10/25/2017
  • C

    Carey · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our rehearsal dinner for about 120 people at Carnivale on June 16th, 2017. It was fantastic working with Doug from beginning to end. He was very accommodating in making sure our menu was exactly what we wanted, even when some items were not originally listed on the family style menu (we took some items from the regular menu and subbed them in). We constantly communicated via email, and he always responded in a timely manner. The food at the rehearsal dinner was absolutely delicious, and our guests really enjoyed the family-style menu, which encouraged conversation between guests and gave it an overall very fun vibe. We were able to add personal touches to the evening...they have a TV where you can enter a USB with pictures, and it will play a slideshow for you throughout the evening. We played a slideshow, and additionally, we made our own playlist for the evening, and they just plugged in our phone and put our music through the speaker system. The only negative thing I have to say is that tasting times are inconvenient, since they are only on week nights in the late afternoon when most people are working. Doug told us to book a table on a weekend, and they would throw in a couple dishes on the house for us to try. There must have been a small miscommunication, because we did not have any items comped, but we let Doug know. Due to this minor error, he took an upcharge from our menu for our event and comped it (we added a white fish, which was extra originally, which was then taken off of our invoice! awesome.). He also comped our use of their speaker/microphone for the speeches. The whole evening was great, from the atmosphere to the drinks to the food! If you have a large event, I highly recommend going with Carnivale!

    Sent on 07/05/2017
  • L

    Les · Married on 05/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Use them. Amazing event. Food...drink...environment...staff (especially Doug)

    Sent on 05/30/2017
  • C

    Christine · Married on 05/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have chosen a better venue than Carnivale to host our wedding and reception! Doug is hands down the best wedding coordinator of all time and you can tell he genuinely loves what he does. He made sure everything went off without a hitch and checked in with us regularly. The prices were way better than what I thought they would be and every single one of our guests said it was the best wedding they've ever been to! The food, the decor, the service, all impeccable. My heart is swelling with gratitude <3 thank you guys soooo much

    Sent on 05/14/2017
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Doug at Carnivale was a total dream - he seemed genuinely interested in making sure our wedding was exactly how we wanted it! The night was a blast, and everything went off without a hitch! Doug worked with all of our vendors beforehand so we were sure everything would be perfect the day of, and he and his team went the extra mile to add some personal touches they knew we would appreciate to the night.

    Sent on 11/06/2016