Carmen Wang Photography Reviews

53 | Rockville, MD
See photos, pricing and details

53 Reviews for Carmen Wang Photography

Recommended by 100%

53
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • J

    Jen · Married on 05/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carmen Wang was referred to my by a friend and I could not have been happier with the outcome. From the beginning Bo and Carmen were easy to work with and flexible for meetings. They had great tips for a wedding timeline and really took away the stress. Bo was great to work during our engagement photos and I knew the wedding would be a breeze. Our friends and family cannot stop talking about our pictures. Bo works very hard and is great at working with the entire wedding party. I would recommend Carmen Wang to everyone looking for wedding photography. Best vendor choice I made.

  • N

    Nancy · Married on 10/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carmen and Bo were the perfect wedding photographers. We chose them because we thought they had the best portfolio- the quality of the photography is gorgeous! But they also are conscientious business owners. Their email correspondence was clear and prompt, they were very flexible about providing us with the photography package that best met our needs and the style of our wedding, and they were endlessly supportive, positive and upbeat. Bo was wonderful to work with at the wedding, and very game to photograph our fun family parade from the church - UPHILL- to my inlaw's home for the reception- lead by a bagpiper!!!! Good-natured, talented and accommodating, I don't think you can do better than Carmen Wang Photography!

  • K

    Kendra · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was in October 2014 at the Hotel Monaco in Alexandria, VA. I spoke with a few photographers; however, I chose Bo and Carmen due to their professionalism and I loved the style of their photographs on their website. They were very easy to work with and I would recommend them to anyone I know looking for a photographer. If we lived in the area, I would consider using them for other photography as well (e.g. when we we decide to have a baby).

    Once we were closer to the wedding and discussing specifics about locations, I did get nervous that they were not as familiar with the Old Town area as I had hoped. To my surprise, they did an additional site scouting trip to make sure that I was able to get the outdoor pictures that I wanted! Our pictures turned out fantastic! Thank you!

  • User3711971 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I struggled to find a photographer because there are so many and every one of my friends had a recommendation. We found Bo and Carmen on Wedding Wire and are thrilled with the results. We met at a Panera to talk about packages and their services, and I wrote a check on the spot. I haven't received the photos from the big day yet, but they are so professional and fun. The engagement photos turned out wonderful. Bo listened to us well and was good at making us laugh. He knew we didn't want everything to look super staged. I told him I am not a model, don't make me look like one. The best part is that they were super detail oriented. If I was an inch off, they had me move. They weren't afraid to stop and tell someone to take a step back. I said the day after to my HUSBAND, I didn't even see Bo & Carmen during the reception or ceremony, but that it was a GREAT thing because I know they were there but didn't get in the way. I look forward to recommending their services in the future!

  • K

    Katharine · Married on 07/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bo was phenomenal to work with from the moment we met him, throughout the whole planning process, the day-of the wedding, and after the wedding too! My husband and I were extremely pleased with his work! Bo and Carmen are true professionals! Let me list just a few things that really made them shine:
    1. Provided numerous helpful tips so that the photo shoots would fit seamlessly into the flow of the wedding
    2. Bo returned phone calls promptly and was always very patient and helpful when discussing our plans over the phone.
    3. Throughout the wedding, the very moment something photo-worthy happened I would turn around and there Bo was, ready to capture the moment on film!
    4. The photos were delivered ahead of schedule, and Carmen and Bo edited A LOT more photos for us than they had to based on our contract.
    5. The pictures are AMAZING!! Bo and Carmen blew us away, surpassing our expectations by a mile. They were truly a dream to work with.

  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 06/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bo and Carmen are outstanding photographers! They are consummate photographic artists and professionals. They're also great to work with and very flexible on the wedding day! From the initial e-mail contact to hand-delivering the beautiful finished albums, they were fantastic! I recommend them very highly.

  • S

    Sam · Married on 05/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Planning a wedding is full of big decisions and honestly the photographer is one of *the* most important ones. It's how you're going to remember all the little details about your big day and display in your home for years to come. I could not be happier that we chose Carmen & Bo! First, they were very accommodating, responsive, and easy to work with to plan everything (plus had a lot of good advice that was helpful for us when thinking about the big day). They had never worked at our venue before so they even drove out there to check the place out in order to be 100% prepared. Then, on the day of, Bo was on top of it with setting up great shots and wrangling our (kinda huge) wedding party so that everyone was where they needed to be. Finally, the final product- we got A TON of pictures and they are pretty much all STUNNING. Like, wedding-magazine stunning. Carmen edits everything so that it looks super gorgeous but not to the point where it looks fake--just right! Overall- SO pleased with our experience and so confident that we made the right choice!

  • S

    Suzanne · Married on 10/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bo and Carmen were a a true delight to work with at every step of the process. I chose them because the quality of their work really set them apart in my search for a photographer. They were professional and responsive throughout the planning and the photos of my wedding turned out wonderful. I could not have asked for better photography support of my wedding day!

  • D

    David · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bo is so nice and easy to work with! He cares so much about getting the right photos for you, he really made us feel comfortable and that we were the most important people he had met. This personality paired with his exceptional talent for photography left us in awe when we finally saw our photos. All of them were so beautiful we could not pick 200 out by ourselves and we asked them to finish the list for us, which they were more than happy to do. Carmen's editing and fine art photos are absolutely Incredible. We feel so blessed that we find them for our photography needs. We loved the pictures so much we went back to them without a second thought for our Maternity photos which also came out absolutely incredible. THANK YOU BO AND CARMEN!!! YOU ARE THE BEST!!! LOVE DAVID AND NISSRIN

  • J

    julie · Married on 07/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carmen Wang Photography is our best investment for our wedding. They are so easy to work with and on wedding day, they made us feel very relaxed and excited at the same time. The photos are more than amazing; they have great sense of romantic poses, backdrop, lighting and wedding emotions. More importantly, they work very hard to get wow shots even late at night.

    I would recommend them to any brides to be with all my heart. One tip is to give them full trust on how to get best shots: they are the BEST!

  • J

    jessica · Married on 06/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They are the BEST and we love our photos SO MUCH! They have been very persistent to get great wedding shots very efficiently. The way they help us with the schedule, they have put tons of consideration into how to take best shots at every stage of wedding. Also we upgraded our albums and they look amazing. We will treasure the photos and albums forever! If you hire them, you are in great hands and all you need to do is to let them take the lead. Will recommend them to any bride-to-be!

  • S

    sandy · Married on 06/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband I are so happy with our choice of Carmen Wang Photography. My husband I have been over 30 weddings and paid attendtion to how those wedding photographers work on wedding day. Also we reviewed their work afterward because we know there is no 2nd chance for wedding photos. For our own wedding, we interviewed 5 photographers and asked a lot of questions. Carmen Wang Photography became our favorite for their touch of artistic looks and great photos of emotional moments. After we hired them, they helped us with our schedule and taught us how to plan the wedding for the best photos (in a very polite and humble way). With their help, our wedding went smoomthly.

    We got our wedding photos very quickly. They are way beyond our expectation: so classic so beautiful. We got so many compliments that we are recommending Carmen Wang Photography to any brides to be. You will be very happy with them, guaranteed.

  • R

    Robin · Married on 05/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing Bo and Carmen as my photographer and choosing the Carnegie Institution of Science as my venue were the two best things I chose for my wedding, and fortunately, Bo has worked at Carnegie a ton. From the moment I met Bo and Carmen, I was impressed with their professionalism as well as their portfolio of work. Their prices were in-line with other photographers, but they were willing to offer a military discount and were flexible with elements of their package (I traded a second photographer for two parent albums). Throughout the 16 months I worked with them, they were extremely responsive by email and phone. And Bo was so much fun to work with on our shoots. Our engagement pictures are amazing. And even better, you get the copyright to all of your photos and they give you every one they take. We had about 70 engagement pictures and then 1600+ from the wedding! Our wedding pictures are truly just stunning and the photo album is gorgeous (and they even through in a few surprise extras). They edit 300 pictures and fine edit about 30 and create an amazing blog post, which is perfect for sharing with people. They even were able to merge faces in from one picture to another if someone was blinking and edit out my shoes in a picture of me lifted on a chair. My only suggestions would be if you have specific must-have moments, tell them ahead of time - I don't have one of my husband breaking the glass at our Jewish wedding, which is a big deal! Also their photojournalistic style means you have fewer pictures looking at the camera that you might want to frame, so there are a lot of me dancing with friends pictures, but not many posed ones and I wish I had more, so ask for that if you want that. I also was nervous about my time and so said no to pics with each bridesmaid and I regret that so I suggested that he be more forceful if the girl says no! Despite those suggestions, I wouldn't hesitate to use them again and recommend them as one of your best wedding decisions!

  • User1717739 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From our initial consultation, I could tell I wanted to hire CarmenWang Photography. Bo was warm, friendly, and extremely attentive to my vision of my wedding photography. It was obvious that his primary concern was to make me happy. Over the next year, we kept in touch. If I had a question, I would shoot Bo an email, and he would always reply back promptly.

    Flash forward to the actual wedding day. Bo & Carmen arrived ready to start snapping gorgeous photos right away. I had several of my bridesmaids (who have been in other weddings recently) tell me how comfortable Bo made them feel in front of the camera and how he was so much more professional than any other photographer they had worked with. I too felt so comfortable in front of the camera, even though I am the last person to want to get their photo taken in everyday life. Bo & Carmen were never intrusive throughout the wedding... in fact, after portraits, I hardly noticed they were there!

    Now, just a couple weeks after the wedding, I got back my edited photos. All I can say is WOW. The photos were just perfect. Not only is every shot beautiful, but Bo & Carmen managed to somehow get all of the shots I was dying to get in my beautiful venue, something I thought was not humanly possible. Putting into words how gorgeous my wedding photos are is impossible. Again, as someone who is not normally photogenic nor is comfortable in front of the camera, I am astonished at how good I look in these photos! Bo & Carmen did a magnificent job capturing beautiful candid photos as well. My husband and I spent the entire night looking through the photos, reliving our fabulous day.

    I cannot say enough good things about CarmenWang Photography. Bo & Carmen were so lovely to work with. They were professional, responsive, always kind, friendly, funny when necessary, and above all, true creative geniuses. I cannot imagine working with anyone else for my wedding day, and wholeheartedly recommend them to all brides!

  • Elizabeth

    Elizabeth · Married on 10/13/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bo and Carmen are so wonderful to work with! My husband and I are so glad we booked with them. Our engagement pictures and our wedding pictures are gorgeous -- we could not have asked for better pictures. Bo really knows how to capture special moments and just what to do with wedding party members to make the pictures beautiful. My husband was so happy with the wedding pictures that he wants to hire Bo & Carmen for everything from birthdays to holidays.....and maybe even a Friday night! They are THAT good! Super easy to work with, very flexible, and genuinely nice people. We talked to and met with several photographers before meeting Bo. After talking to him for about 30 minutes, seeing their work and reviewing their available packages there was no doubt we were hiring them. Our family and friends have commented that our pictures are some of the best they have ever seen. You will not be disappointed with Carmen Wang Photography!!

  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 09/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bo and Carmen are amazing and we couldn't be happier with our choice as them for our wedding photographers! We first did an engagement session with them over the summer, and have never been so happy with photos of us! We picked the locations but Bo really knows how to capture a shot/moment and we ended up with our favorite photos being those that were not planned! We didn't have a wedding planner, so Bo and Carmen's advice about our wedding day timeline was so valuable! During planning, they have a great balance of listening to what you want for your wedding day, and providing practical advice about whether or not your ideas can turn into reality - Because of that Bo and Carmen helped us capture all that we wanted on our wedding day! Everything went according to timeline and we had enough time to get the pre and post-ceremony shots that we wanted...and more! Bo has so much energy and is constantly looking out for opportunities to create a beautiful photo. He did this throughout our cocktail hour and reception and we ended up with gorgeous photos. This is exactly what we were looking for. Carmen's editing skills are exceptional and she was able to get the look and feel we were looking for on our favorite photos. In addition to the photos, Bo and Carmen created some beautiful mementos for us to remember our day: First is a photo montage of our favorite pictures organized in order to tell the story of our day. This was so much fun to share with our friends and family. Second, we just received our beautiful leather-bound photo album, which is now our favorite keepsake. In addition to that, Bo and Carmen gave us a 2013 wall calendar which we love!
    Not only are they talented, Bo and Carmen are easy to work with, super friendly and take so much pride in their work. A close friend has already taken our recommendation for their wedding next year, and we will continue to recommend them to our friends and anyone else in the DC area for their weddings!

  • User1666530 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I LOVE Bo and Carmen!! In addition to our wedding photos, we had an engagement session and an day after session with them. All of our pictures are just beautiful and we couldn't have been happier. I searched for what seemed like forever for an affordable but talented photographer, and was thrilled when I found Bo and Carmen. Not only are they affordable, but they are extremely talented and are so passionate about what they do. On our wedding day, Bo went to the location we were going to take pictures beforehand and realized it was closed. He found an alternate place to take them and saved the day. Since it was so hot on our wedding day, we couldn't take as many pictures of just me and my husband together, so we scheduled a shoot after the wedding to get them. They made us feel so comfortable and at ease, and the pictures turned out amazing! Even for our two other shoots, they visited the area beforehand and knew where the best shots were, so the whole process went so smoothly. They really have an eye for what photography and capture all the special moments from your wedding day! We were truely lucky to have them as our photographer and we highly recommend them!!

  • Y

    Yelena · Married on 07/14/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I both absolutely loved the work of Bo and Carmen. The work that you see on their website is exactly the type of work that you can expect on your big day for memories that will last for a lifetime. We got the engagement and the wedding day package and had such a great time at our engagement shoot on Theodore Island. Bo has a great eye for capturing the best shots utilizing the light. We received many compliments. Carmen does an amazing job of making pictures that I think many other photographers don't think of - she is very creative.

    On our wedding day, Bo took pictures in many different areas ( preparation, before the ceremony, ceremony, after the ceremony, limo, and at the reception) and made sure to capture the whole wedding story. We also selected to purchase a photo book and are so thankful for that decision as both Carmen and Bo did an amazing job telling our story- believe us you want to make sure to do this as after the wedding you have too many other things going on to make a photo book, especially with the type of eye that Bo and Carmen both have.

    Their response time was excellent and their flexibility was wonderful! Best decision we made for our wedding day.

  • J

    Jesse · Married on 06/23/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best of the best! Great photos that wowed all of our guests. Could not be happier; best investment for the quality of the work. Will recommend to anyone.

  • E

    Elise · Married on 06/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you've done your homework, and I'm sure you have, you'll see the same positives stressed again and again in the reviews for Carmen Wang Photography. We couldn't have been happier with the quality of service, the great personalities of both Bo and Carmen, the fast turnaround in communication and receipt of our photos, and on and on.
    We had a very casual and intimate backyard barbecue that was captured perfectly in the pictures that Bo took. He worked extremely hard to capture us, our family, and friends that traveled from all over the US to be there. We are so grateful at the care they both took in creating keepsakes that will be with us forever!

  • Miriam

    Miriam · Married on 06/03/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    i used carmenwangphotography.com for my wedding and cannot say enough great things about them. we did engagements shots and wedding shots and trash the dress. it was a jewish ceremony which was really long with lots of important shots and they did a great job.

    they are a husband and wife team who make the whole experience fun and incredible. pictures are great and the price was unbeatable. i searched around in the DC/VA/MD area and am so thrilled we used them. feel free to contact me for more details.

  • X

    Xandra · Married on 05/26/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired someone else for our proposal shots and they are very plain. After reading so many terrific reviews about them, we decided to hire them. Our engagement session photos blew us away, especially compared to the previous ones. They are so BEAUTIFUL and gave us absolute confidence in them. Our wedding photos are gorgeous and my husband and I LOVE them. We have looked the photos over 10 times and every time we are still awed. They will be treasured forever and we can NOT thank them enough for such artistic work.

  • W

    Chen · Married on 05/19/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so lucky to have Bo and Carmen for our wedding photography. They were professional, kind, detail-oriented. They made the entire process so easy and worry-free. The resulted photos exceeded our expectation. I recommended them to our friends.
    We were late for the engagement shot, and Bo and Carmen waited us for over an hour and half. We felt so bad, and worried that the time left wouldn't be enough. Carmen and Bo told us not to worry. They worked until the park closed for the day. We really appreciated their professionalism.
    We are so lucky to have Bo and Carmen for our wedding photography. They were professional, kind, detail-oriented. They made the entire process so easy and worry-free. The resulted photos exceeded our expectation. I recommended them to our friends.
    We were late for the engagement shot, and Bo and Carmen waited us for over an hour and half. We felt so bad, and worried that the time left wouldn't be enough. Carmen and Bo told us not to worry. They worked until the park closed for the day. We really appreciated their professionalism.

  • N

    Nina · Married on 05/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carmen and Bo were an absolute pleasure to work with! After a brief meeting at the bridal expo at the DC Convention Center I decided to schedule a consultation with them and have been blessed ever since!

    Carmen and Bo's photography is based on a true talent and passion for what they do. Every captured moment told a story and I could not have been more pleased with the final products.

    They went above and beyond their contracted services and provided the utmost professionalism and generosity. My family and I will forever cherish these memories.

    If you want a team of lovely, easy-going, talented, and budget-friendly individuals then do yourselves a favor and go with CarmenWangPhotography!

  • C

    Christy · Married on 03/31/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best of the best. The photos are amazing and we got so many compliments from our guests. They really worked with us about our schedule and gave us so many helpful tips, which made our big day so smooth and stress free. They are so easy to work with and their professionalism put us at ease so we had a great time. Highly recommend to anyone who looks for something extraordinary you can treasure for whole life.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review