Caribou Bay Retreat Reviews

22 | Coloma, WI
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for Caribou Bay Retreat

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

22

49 User photos

Order by:
  • Madeline

    Madeline Dubois · Getting married on 10/24/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic Venue and Owners

    Mona and her husband are very kind and super accommodating. The venue itself is gorgeous and perfect for cozy woodsy touch to your wedding. My experience working with Caribou Bay Retreat has been a dream so far and I can't wait to be wed there in October 2020.

    Sent on 09/15/2019
  • Samantha

    Samantha Gingras · Getting married on 10/03/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing so far

    We have had nothing but good meetings and conversations with mona at caribou bay retreat.

    Sent on 09/15/2019
  • Megan

    Megan Kalish · Married on 10/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An absolute dream!

    We had the best wedding weekend at Caribou Bay. We loved that we were able to stay Thursday-Sunday and have our entire bridal party on the property with us. We also loved having the decor available to use and the walking trails on property as well. It is gorgeous, reasonably priced, and completely perfect.

    Sent on 11/02/2019
  • C

    Chelsie · Married on 09/14/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything you Need in One Place

    Caribou Bay has it all. The most beautiful setting, twinkly lights, lodging for your closest friends or family, views for days, and all of the decorations. Trust me when I say, you do NOT need to purchase any decorations, Mona & Jack have pretty much everything!

    Sent on 09/27/2019
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Wedding Weekend

    Mona and Jack were wonderful to work with whole planning our wedding! The grounds and buildings are beautiful. They clearly have a passion and pride in their work. Our guests were blow away from the beauty of the venue. It was great to be able to have our family stay at the house for a few days together!

    Sent on 09/27/2019
  • Nichole

    Nichole · Married on 08/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A beautiful location

    I can only say wonderful things about Caribou Bay. Before we picked a venue I knew I wanted an elegant, woodsy, rustic style wedding, but I was kind of over the barn wedding thing. After visiting a few other venues, we found Caribou Bay on wedding wire and knew immediately that was the place. Jack and Mona were amazing to work with, incredibly responsive, and allowed for so much flexibility with the space. The space is already partially decorated with rustic decor, plus Mona has a ton of additional decor to use, that we saved a ton by using what was already there. We also loved that we were able to stay at the house on the property all weekend with our wedding party, which really made our whole wedding feel like a full weekend experience, versus a single day.

    Sent on 02/09/2020
  • L

    Lesa Garrison O'connell · Married on 08/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding renewal

    We could not have asked for a better venue with better owners! They truly went above and beyond to ensure our day was special. Every tiny detail was covered and perfect! Thank you Caribou Bay Retreat for making our day amazing!!!

    Sent on 08/22/2019
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Quiet Retreat

    Caribou provided enough space to accommodate our entire wedding of over 240 people. Mona and Jack did an excellent job helping us with questions that came up when it came time to setting up. We had a wonderful, RELAXING weekend with our friends and family. My only feedback would be to make sure and bring extra blankets/pillows/shampoos for guests staying at the venue. There is more than enough space for extra blow up mattresses, if needed. We felt there was ample décor and items you can borrow for the big day - really saved our butts a few times. All in all, this is the #1 spot we'd recommend for anyone planning a wedding!

    Sent on 10/18/2018
  • MrsBrownie

    Sara · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mona and Jack have been an absolute blessing throughout the whole process of planning our wedding! We met with Mona as our first tour of venues, feel in love with Caribou Bay and booked our special day without giving a second thought to looking at other places. The length of stay included for the wedding was 4 days and offered beautiful accommodations for our whole wedding party and even some family! The event center and outdoor ceremony site have been decorated in a beautiful, classic rustic theme and Mona makes sure to change up elements based on the seasons. The only thing we needed to worry about was table decor, which was a huge stress relief. The guest house was comfy and really did feel like a home away from home! There are plenty of photography opportunities, hiking trails, outdoor as well as indoor activities. If I had the chance to do it all over again, my decision wouldn't change!! I would recommend Caribou Bay Retreat a trillion times over!! THANK YOU MONA AND JACK!!

    Sent on 10/12/2018
  • M

    Mike · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Outstanding experience with Jack & Mona! Would highly recommend this venue for any wedding or larger group function. Access to entire property offers so many options. Our family is spread across the country, so having the ability to host a large cookout, on the premises, the night before the wedding was a huge bonus! This gave us an opportunity to catch up before the wedding. A BIG plus to my wife & I as hosts for the weekend.

    The result of having such an awesome venue to enjoy out daughter's wedding? Everyone as having such a great time, no one took many photos! Guess everyone was too busy saving memories to the memory bank instead of the cloud! Will have to wait for pics from our photographer.

    Thanks Jack & Mona for a memorable wedding weekend! One that Alexis & Tyler will cherish for a lifetime!

    Sent on 09/04/2018
  • Amanda

    Amanda · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so glad that we chose Caribou Bay Retreat as our wedding venue. The moment we met the owner and saw the property, we were in love. Mona--the owner-- was extremely accommodating and happy to help us create the wedding we imagined. Mona allowed us to visit the venue several times to plan our day, she let my husband and I bring our puppy along, and she made sure that we had everything we needed. In the end, we had a wedding that was everything we'd hoped for, and more.
    I highly recommend having your wedding at Caribou Bay Retreat-- in fact, I recommend getting up to Caribou Bay whenever you get the chance! The people are fantastic, the property is beyond beautiful, the price is incredible... the list could go on. I can't say enough good things about Caribou Bay Retreat.

    Sent on 07/05/2018
  • E

    Emma · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfection. Using this venue was the best decision we made when planning the wedding. Jack and Mona took away so much of the stress by providing so many amenities as well as great advice and support! Mona is unbelievably responsive and very professional.
    If you are a nature-loving couple looking for a venue that will provide a magical peaceful ceremony and reception, you just found it.

    Sent on 06/14/2018
  • K

    Kelsey · Married on 05/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Was absolutely a dream! Wonderful whimsical & woodland themed, which was perfect for what we wanted our wedding to be. Guests loved it, so many compliments and they loved the property itself.

    Sent on 05/24/2018
  • J

    Julie · Married on 05/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Caribou Bay Retreat is a slice of heaven in the Wisconsin countryside. The owners, Mona and Jack, go above and beyond to make sure every detail is taken care of. They are wonderful event planners and superb hosts. On the property, there is a warm and inviting guest house for your wedding party to spend the weekend. Several bedrooms, full kitchen, fireplace, pool table, hot tub...everything you could need. We enjoyed watching the birds at the feeders and the ducklings on the pond. Our ceremony was on the lawn at the darling white wood chapel. The birds were chirping and the pines were swaying. It was magical. Mona has beautiful flowers throughout the property. Your reception can be held outdoors as well, or in the amazing event center which is decorated on the outside with colorful barn quilts. This venue has to be seen to be believed. The ceiling is lined with twigs and twinkling lights, beautiful handmade wood tables and chairs are included for your guests, decorations include vintage baskets, tools, lanterns, and lamps and there is a built-in Saloon with a natural wood bar. Caribou Bay Retreat is the perfect place to hold your wedding...our guests and family will never forget it!

    Sent on 05/29/2018
  • N

    Nancy · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at Caribou Bay in October and the whole experience was just amazing. We stayed Thursday thru Sunday and it was great to have the extra time before hand to set up and get organized so the day of the ceremony was stress free. The house was large enough to accommodate all of our immediate family and it was so wonderful to have everyone together. Jack and Mona do an awesome job with the entire venue with it's rustic charm and the added touches with the landscaping made for beautiful fall pictures. The outdoor Chapel is beautiful with the woods as a back drop and the Mecan River running through the property. Mona has great connections with local vendors for entertainment, caterers, flowers, bakery and accommodations for guest. They were very helpful thoughout the entire planning process and we could not have asked for anything more. We have so many cherished memories and the guests all commented on how perfect everything was. Everyone had an amazing time --- truly a wonderful experience. Thanks Jack and Mona!!

    Sent on 12/17/2017
  • L

    Laura · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Words cannot express how wonderful this venue is! Our wedding was amazing. Mona and Jack were so helpful and provided a magical place for our special day!

    Sent on 09/24/2017
  • T

    Tracie · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The entire experience is worth every penny. There were so many enjoyable moments that we will forever capture in our hearts and for a lifetime. The property is outstanding there is not a spot anywhere where your photos will not turn out. The whole experience was cherished by all. Thanks so much for that.

    Sent on 09/27/2017
  • B

    Beckah · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mona and Jack do an incredible job with this property! They live on site, so are available for anything you might need. The large main cabin was a perfect place to house our wedding party- at no extra charge. We stayed Thursday through Sunday, which meant we had a lot of time to set up and take down. We actually got to ENJOY setting up our wedding, rather than rushing through.

    The event center is already decorated in a rustic, antique style. Their Amish neighbors handcrafted wooden tables and the bar top. The local school donated a set of wooden chairs. Everything was already so charming- we brought in table decorations.

    The chapel is a beautiful place for the ceremony. It is up on a hill overlooking the lake and surrounded by beautiful tall pines. It is a bit of a walk from the parking lot, so we had 2 vans running to drive people up the hill. Worked great.

    We set up cocktail hour on the lawn in front of the lake. Guests loved it!

    Mona helps you select local vendors, as well. We went with Moose Inn Catering- AMAZING. They even grilled our chicken on site.

    Our guests had nothing but compliments. We had THE BEST day.

    Sent on 07/06/2017
  • User4942892 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Garden of Eden Sanctuary in Wisconsin!

    🌻We have been working with Mona and Jack for 10 years at the Caribou. They are amazing people and offer a beautiful safe space for weddings and other events. Their property looks like it's out of a storybook! Their wedding package is "All Inclusive"!! You arrive, park your car and the rest is easy! Walk over a mystical bridge to their outdoor ceremony area located on a hill ...overlooking the pristine pond ....surrounded by enchanting woods! Magnificent!! Stroll back over the bridge, past the beach and the Hansel and Gretel pathway twists through the woods to the main dining hall. Gorgeous! It's a ONE STOP SHOP FRIENDS. No crazy traffic, no re-parking the car, no general public wandering, no street signs, power lines, noise etc. The Caribou Bay is Paradise!! Its a breathtaking private space for you to relax, wander, celebrate and enjoy with your friends and family! Mona and Jack also offer a giant fire-pit for moonlight conversations, snuggling, roast marshmallows, sipping a glass of wine or just basking under the stars friends. (and there are A LOT of stars free from city light pollution) Mona and Jack's main dining area features the most country chic decor, stunning head table for the Bride & Groom, living room area for lounging and stretching your feet, private bath rooms and a quaint bar. Mona and Jack also include 2 structures for pre-bridal (one for the ladies & one for the guys) ...Both spacious and loaded with little extras ( kitchen, patio, bar, hot tub and more). Plenty of parking and a safe space for everyone. So many phenomenal photo opportunities!! Mona & Jack are the PERFECT hosts!!! Caribou Bay is a DREAM COME TRUE for any bride searching for the best and most unique wedding venue!!!! Look no further... this is SHANGRI-LA!!! Cheers and see you all soon!!!

    Sent on 11/02/2019
  • P

    Paige · Married on 06/22/2019

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Beautiful wedding

    Caribou Bay Retreat is an absolutely beautiful location for a wedding. Has everything in one place (outdoor ceremony, housing for wedding party, and reception event building) which is super convenient for both wedding party and guests! The owner also has a large selection of perfect decorations that can be used in the event center and as center pieces. Was an absolutely wonderful experience and would highly recommend!

    Sent on 06/27/2019
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 06/24/2017

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Caribou Bay Retreat was perfect for our wedding! It's so beautiful and you have so many options with the property - from the chapel to reception space, it's all fantastic. The owners are absolutely wonderful to work with and made so many beautiful additions to the outdoor space and more. I'd highly recommend it for a unique, beautiful outdoor wedding with a gorgeous event center that you won't just want to use as your rain back-up plan!

    Sent on 07/22/2017
  • A

    Alex · Married on 06/16/2018

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The property at Caribou Bay is absolutely beautiful and relaxing! The lake is great for swimming, fishing or just hanging out. The event center is perfect for parties and receptions! We could not have been happier with our stay! Thanks Mona and Jack!

    Sent on 06/21/2018