Cannon River Catering Company Reviews

22 | Cannon Falls, MN
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for Cannon River Catering Company

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.7

Awards

22
Order by:
  • Meghan

    Meghan Delgado · Married on 11/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delgado-Johnson Wedding

    Barb, Chris and their crew were amazing!!! My husband and I wanted to use old family recipes to serve at our wedding and they were able to replicate these all the way down to the love that was added! Our guests also loved the meal and have asked for the recipes! We also opted to have a popcorn and sundae bar available and these were both a hit!!! The team was incredible to work with and very responsive! They really knew what they were doing and it felt like working with old friends! I highly recommend working with this catering company!!!! Thank you so much for the wonderful service and fantastic meals and treats!!!

    Sent on 11/09/2018

    Cannon River Catering Company's reply:

    Meghan, thank you so much for the sweet review!! You guys were great to work with, and your guests were so very kind to us and our crew while we served everyone. :)
    We wish you all of the happiness!!
    ~Chris & Barbara
  • B

    Bryan · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our first impression, spectacular! We put in a request to meet with them and told them what we like/were envisioning for our wedding. We love spicy food, but we knew not all our guests felt the same way. We went to our taste tasting (we also brought my parents along) and were amazed! They brought us so much food to try and everything was delicious! It made it that much harder for us to make our decision for our menu. Chris and Barb could not have been more pleasant either! They are super personable, they answered all our questions, were quick to get back to our emails. Honestly, I cannot say enough good things about them. Any time we are in town we stop and eat at their restaurant because the food is amazing and the service is great!
    Eventually we did decide on our menu and decided to go with a buffet. Our menu consisted of Cajun shrimp penne, Caribbean jerk chicken, red potatoes, green beans, Caesar salad and bread. The kid’s meal was mac and cheese, chicken nuggets, carrots and applesauce. They provided our napkins and a coffee bar. They also served our guests, which made it seem classier in my opinion. All of this was super affordable for a wedding; I was shocked (especially since the food was amazing). They also went above and beyond by helping me out for no extra charge! I had asked them if they would put out our dessert (a cookie bar) and milk (the cartons kids get at school) and they said “of course, no problem at all!” People are still telling me about how delicious the food was at my wedding! We truly recommend Chris and Barb, they are truly wonderful and they know how to run an amazing catering company!

    Sent on 10/29/2017
  • E

    Emily · Married on 04/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris and Barb were great to work with! They catered our wedding at the Cannon River Winery for 220 people. Guests raved about the appetizers and the food. They are super flexible and are just really nice people. Can't say enough good things about them!!!

    Sent on 06/18/2016
  • D

    deb · Married on 11/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very easy to work with and the food was great!!!!

    Sent on 12/04/2015
  • User6018151 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Before dinner appetizers were a big hit. Servers were good, Dinner and dessert was very tasty. Thanks for providing the catering.

    Sent on 12/03/2015
  • User6017910 · event on: 11/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    food and service were awesome!

    Sent on 12/03/2015
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 10/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I could not have been happier with Cannon River Catering Company! They are a family-run company and you get the personal, one-on-one attention you won't receive elsewhere.

    From the very beginning, Chris and Barbara were responsive and happy to answer any questions we had, always responding in a timely manner. The catering menu offers many different selections and combinations for any type of reception you may be hosting and they offer their personal ideas on how to make a great menu for guests.

    When it came time to sit down and taste the menu, it was an unbelievable experience! Chris and Barbara made sure we had all options to taste (unlike other caterers, where you get to sample only a few entrees) and they really held our hand through the selection process to ensure we selected crowd-pleasing options for our large guest count.

    The quote provided was extremely reasonable and we felt we received an incredible value for the services and food Cannon River Catering Company provided.

    Feedback we received from our guests was that it was some of the best food they've eaten at a wedding and my husband and I completely agree! The portion sizes were great and presentation on the plate was beautiful. Two months after our wedding and friends are still commenting how great the food was!

    We are so happy we selected Cannon River Catering Company to cater our wedding, they really helped make our big day exceptional and unforgettable.

    Sent on 12/03/2015
  • K

    Katie · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris and Barb are AMAZING. They were super sweet, responsive, flexible and professional. The food they make is delicious. Every single guest raved about the beef! Not only do they cater food for weddings (We had 190 at our wedding) but they have a diner in Cannon Falls -- the diner is amazing.
    They are such wonderful people and they make delicious food. I would highly recommend Chris and Barb to every bride and groom.

    Sent on 12/03/2015
  • A

    April · Married on 10/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had Cannon River Catering cater our Groom's dinner at the Cannon River Winery, the evening before our wedding. We did the buffet option and had the Meritage (red wine) Braised Beef and Sage-Rubbed Turkey, with sides. I will start off by saying I have never been disappointed with the food Cannon River Catering produces, as I have had it a few times for various events, and our event was no different. The food was hot, full of flavor, and delicious. The staff is very professional, and they provided everything from the linens and cloth napkins to the dinnerware/silverware, and were extremely attentive to timing. Aside from my own positive opinions of the food, we received many great compliments from our guests as well. I would highly recommend Cannon River Catering to anyone who enjoys the comforts of home-cooked food, but elevated. We were very happy working with CRC Co.

    Sent on 12/04/2015
  • J

    Jodi · Married on 09/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris and Barbara were terrific to work with. Their friendly service and exceptional food is highly recommended.

    Sent on 12/09/2015
  • E

    Erin · Married on 09/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cannon River Catering Company did a stellar job catering our wedding! From initial contract/menu communications and emails a year prior to the event, they were responsive and flexible in menu options, and all aspects of the services. You could really pick and choose how much you needed or didn't need. Their prices could not be beat, and for the friendly, professional and personal service they provide, it was more than worth it!

    The Ferndale turkey and Swedish meatballs were a hit! Homemade salad dressings were tasty and added an elegant touch to even a farm weddding. Be sure to double your order on their homemade pies for your desert table! We were too conservative in our pie order and they were so good even I (the bride) and my groom, didn't get a piece of that amazing strawberry-rhubarb! They were so good, you didn't even have to worry or think about it. A truly professional service, but still have the personal touch of people who are from a small town and just really care.

    Thanks Cannon River Catering!

    Sent on 12/03/2015
  • C

    Christian · Married on 09/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The only thing more awesome than Chris and Barb is their food, maybe. I wish I hadn't been so busy being a groom I could have gone back for seconds, thirds, and whatever was left on the sides of the serving dishes.

    Sent on 12/04/2015
  • R

    Roxanne · Married on 08/08/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cannon River Catering catered our son's wedding in August 2015 and our daughter's wedding in September 2015. We first had the opportunity of doing a "food tasting" to decide on the menus. That experience was wonderful and Chris and Barb are professional and gracious. They were absolutely wonderful to work with. They and their staff did an outstanding job of serving the 200 guests at each wedding. The last meal served was as hot as the first meal served. Their catering staff was professional in their attire as well as in their service to our guests. The food was plated and served and the presentation was beautiful and the food was absolutely delicious! We still have people commenting on how great the food was at the weddings. I would recommend Cannon River Catering anytime and give them 5 Stars! We are so very happy to have them in our community.

    Sent on 12/03/2015
  • D

    Debbie · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cannon River Catering catered the groom's supper for us the night before the wedding. They were exceptionally accommodating with their facility and we heard rave reviews on the food from our guests! I love the personal service we receive from Chris & Barb!

    Sent on 12/08/2015
  • User6018252 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Terrific food and service for rehearsal dinner.

    Sent on 12/03/2015
  • User6019465 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would highly recommend Cannon River Catering! They were great to work with in every way ( kind, accommodating, proficient, honest, professional) and....their food was delicious!

    Sent on 12/04/2015
  • User6019554 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food was delicious and affordable!

    Sent on 12/04/2015
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 05/19/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris and Barbara are the epitome of quality family owned and operated small business. They treated us like part of their family from the beginning-- from meeting their kids at our tasting to offering to treat us to breakfast at their local cafe the morning after the wedding.
    They were so accommodating- and even brought us some of our appetizers to the brewery across the street (Tillion), where the wedding party was hanging out during guest cocktail hour. The food quality was amazing, and guests had so many good things to say. They also coordinated late night pizza for us (through Pizza Man).
    My only critique is that sometimes they do take a few days to get back to you by email, but are always responsive to a phone call.
    I would recommend them to anyone!-- Especially if you are utilizing Cannon River Winery reception space.

    Sent on 05/28/2018
  • User5611970 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing food, real scratch cooking, great customer service, super easy to work with. Took care of everything, we had no worries once we met the owners and tasted their fabulous cooking. Look no further! These guys travel plus are exclusive at a couple venues, so book early.

    Sent on 11/12/2015
  • J

    James · Married on 08/23/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Fantastic service. Quality and quantity of the meal was superb.

    Sent on 12/03/2015
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 08/15/2015

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We had a wonderful time with cannon river catering! We had used their restaurant Nicks diner for our grooms dinner! We had wonderful service, would recommend to any of my friends.

    Sent on 12/03/2015
  • D

    Dan McAnany · Married on 09/20/2019

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Still dreaming about that pork!

    We’re very happy with the food and service from Cannon River. I think the hardest part was narrowing down our options after the initial tasting! Also, the food we served on our wedding day tasted just like the smaller plates we were served at our tasting- nothing lost in scaling up to feed a large group.
    Everything ran smoothly with set up and tear down, and they moved tables through the buffet line quickly. Also, they were flexible enough to allow a third party vendor we selected provide dessert.

    The only opportunity for improvement would be for more timely communication. There were several instances where emails went without a response until I sent another follow-up the next week. I understand this may be a temporary symptom of a growing business and I trust it will be resolved if it hasn’t already.

    Overall great food and service for a fair price, and don’t forget to check out their restaurant as well!

    Sent on 11/20/2019

    Cannon River Catering Company's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind review!! We loved the menu you guys chose for you and your guests!! It was a joy working with you and serving you & your guests on your special day. We wish you the very best!!