Cana Vineyards and Winery Reviews

9 | Middleburg, VA
See photos, pricing and details

9 Reviews for Cana Vineyards and Winery

Recommended by 82%

9

4.1 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.3
  • Professionalism 4.3
  • Flexibility 4.1
  • Value 4.2
  • Average response time 3.8
Sort by:
  • R

    Ruth · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We celebrated our Daughter's wedding at Cana Winery last October and could not be more pleased with both the facility and the courteous staff. Alison, the wedding coordinator, is one of the kindness and beyond helpful persons to work with. She made suggestions along the way, always available to respond to questions, and helped with every detail, including gathering our items at the end of the evening. The winery is beautiful as well as the surrounding views which allowed for outstanding photo opportunities. We highly recommend family/wedding party photos on their grand staircase! The wines are wonderful and several of our guests have become members after the wedding!! The Winery has four caterers from which they require you to select from, which was helpful too. We highly recommend Angela from A La Carte Caterers, wonderful food, artful setup, and work seamlessly with Alison. We truly recommend Cana Winery for anyone wishing to create a beautiful and magical wedding experience!!

    Sent on 02/16/2017
  • B

    Brad · Married on 10/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our ceremony at Cana on Friday, 11/1 at sunset next to their young vines, and then had the reception inside and under their tent. It was perfect, and we could not have found better anywhere in Virginia. They worked with us every step of the way. Their grounds are beautiful, the grounds are amazing and the building is perfect for a wedding. They are prepared for everything you could want. Private Bridal Suite, sound system, power, tables, lighting, atmosphere, views, bathrooms... you name it, they got it. If we had to do it all over, we'd do it here again.

    Sent on 11/15/2013
  • J

    Joash · Married on 03/25/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I were able to have the most beautiful wedding reception at Cana Vineyards and Winery. Alison, our event manager, was absolutely invaluable in working with us and our caterers to make our night the most amazing night we could have asked for. We cannot express how much we appreciated her hard work, attentiveness, professionalism, and thoughtfulness in the months leading up to our special day and especially on our wedding day itself. Thanks again, Alison!

    Sent on 09/23/2017
  • E

    Erin · Married on 09/10/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I loved our wedding at Cana. They laid out just a couple of ground rules, but otherwise they were highly flexible and responsive to our needs. Their event coordinator, Alison, was quick to respond to emails and patient with us as we worked through the details of our ceremony and reception. Our decorations were relatively simple and uncomplicated, but even so I have to commend Cana for their flexibility and responsiveness to last-minute requests. Working with Cana was a joy, and was consistently among the least-stressful parts of planning our wedding.

    And, it goes without saying, the venue itself is stunningly beautiful. From the mountains in the backdrop to the grape vines, to the picturesque patio and gazebo where we had our ceremony, everything was absolutely gorgeous. We were able to take pictures in the vineyard itself, among the grape vines, which is normally off-limits to regular customers. They also allowed us into their wine-barrel room (again, normally off-limits) for more pictures. This allowed us to have a range of beautiful photos in both indoor and outdoor locations.

    Overall, we could not be more pleased with Cana. Everything worked out incredibly well and meshed perfectly with the vision and feel we wanted and ended up getting for our wedding. But here are two things to be aware of to make sure Cana will be a good fit for your wedding: first, they do not allow open flames, so if you're planning that as an integral part of your wedding, you will need to look elsewhere. Second, they require that you choose your caterers from 4 pre-approved companies that they normally work with (although it sounded like they would be happy to vet a company of our choosing, if we went that route). In our case it was a non-issue, since we checked out the first caterer from their list (John Feist) and absolutely fell in love with his food and service, but if you are set on a particular caterer you will want to keep their limitation in mind.

    Sent on 10/03/2016
  • User5540596 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This winery is simply gorgeous and worked perfectly for our wedding! There are so many options and flexibility with the space it's a dream to work with! We had our wedding in the fall and it was gorgeous with the fall colors on the mountain!

    Things to know about using this venue:
    -you can't have a ceremony prior to 6pm without shutting down the whole winery
    -wine minimum per person of drinking age (but you can keep the wine not used)
    -tables and chairs provided

    The staff is lovely and I'm so pleased with our experience!

    Sent on 10/28/2015
  • J

    Judy · Married on 05/31/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cana Vineyards and Winery was the venue for our son's rehearsal dinner. It was a most magical setting on the top of a vine-covered hilltop. It is very elegant and provides both an indoor and/or outside facility. They have a superb sound system, video screens, etc. Because they are relatively new, we were one of the first to have a rehearsal dinner there, so there were some frustrating communication responses that occurred in setting our date. However with the help and wonderful cooperation of the owners Les and Karen Bell everything got resolved.
    It is a fantastic location for either a wedding or any very special event. To this day we still have friends telling us how much they enjoyed the rehearsal dinner at Cana. "In Cana is the magic of marriage, where Christ turned water to wine"...

    Sent on 02/10/2014
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 10/07/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff at Cana Vineyards (especially Alison) were so wonderful. They worked with us to accommodate our needs for the day (such as keeping the tent on the patio up an extra week in October, in cased it rained on our wedding day; thankfully it didn't!). The atmosphere at the venue was perfect; the view and surrounding area was perfect for capturing a picturesque fall day. There was a room available to us on the second floor; we were able to keep all of our decorations and other stuff up there the night before the wedding, and it was a great place to just relax before the ceremony. The chairs for the ceremony and the tables for the reception were arranged perfectly. The patio/dance floor had wonderful lights that added to the ambiance. The day turned out to be exactly what we were hoping for and then some, this was a wonderful place to get married.

    Sent on 10/26/2017
  • E

    Emily · Married on 09/13/2014

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Cana is nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains and gives an incredible view from any location on the property. Having been open only a little over two years the building itself is beautiful and has a fantastic sound system and bar. Depending on the size of your wedding you can use different areas of the building, lawn and vineyard to hold your ceremony/reception. They include the entire building, lawn, vineyard and tent in the cost to rent the venue. While pricy it is all-inclusive. Additionally, they have a great "bridal suite" upstairs to get ready right at the venue! Unfortunately, working with the owners was not as smooth as we would have hoped. With only being open for two years I do not think the owners have a great understanding of what goes into setting up for a wedding and that if they are going to "sell" the venue as an all-inclusive they need to let those decorating have access to the entire venue for a reasonable amount of time before the event is set to start. You pay to use the venue from 6-11pm, however they continue to have guests there up until 6pm. Meaning that your vendors have to work at setting up around winery customers. The owners say they will close off areas for you to start setting up, but they really do not give your vendors access to all the areas they need to set up if the venue is truly all-inclusive. Because of the large size of our wedding they ended up closing an extra hour early to allow for set up and allowed my wedding planner in early on Thursday/Friday morning to hang lights. We were so grateful for these considerations! We’d given them a detailed schedule of events before the wedding day and they did not make any changes, however on the day of the event they continually told my wedding planner and the catering staff they could not set up in certain areas because of their customers and they did not let the DJ begin set up until 30 min before the wedding! Beautiful venue, but the owners need to decide if they want to have weddings.

    Sent on 10/27/2014
  • User4021491 · 2+ years ago

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    I'm sad to have to write this review, but other brides should beware of this venue! We looked high and low for the perfect venue for our fall wedding. When we found Cana we knew instantly that it was the spot- the view is sensational, and the building itself is gorgeous with lots of options for rain. I had a vision for the day, as most brides do, and that included some add ons- I wanted the tent lined with fabric and lights, a stage added for the band, etc. Nothing too crazy or out of the ordinary. But coordinating this with Cana was a complete nightmare.

    They acted like my wedding was an irritation, an inconvenience for them. They were uptight and rude about everything, and it was clear that they are only doing weddings to try and make extra money without giving up anything. At every turn they complained about my wedding or said no to something because their regular customers might be inconvenienced- never mind that I was definitely their biggest customer that day! When you are having your wedding somewhere and paying a lot of money for that privileged you expect the venue to work with you to make the day as beautiful as possible. Cana did not care one whip about my wedding.

    Not only were they rude, but completely unprofessional. They called my parents in the limo on their way back to the hotel after the wedding and demanded that they turn around and come back to pay the final bill! They of course refused, and the next day when they discussed the payments it turned out that they owed US money. And then, they overcharged my dad's card and ended up sending a check for the difference.

    I would only suggest a bride book this venue if they want a super simple wedding with minimal set up, and if they've hired someone to do that setup for them and deal with the venue for them, like a wedding planner. Even trying to find out simple things, like where the caterers can set up, was painful. Brides know how stressful it is to plan a wedding- do yourself a f

    Sent on 11/05/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review