Camden County Boathouse Reviews

49 | Merchantville, NJ
See photos, pricing and details

49 Reviews for Camden County Boathouse

Recommended by 98%

49
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

2 User photos

Camden County Boathouse 1
Camden County Boathouse 2
Sort by:
  • User4997986 · event on 04/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Jeannette leading up the our event was always a pleasant and productive experience. Alexis was a wonderful asset at our actual event to ensure everything ran smoothly. Great job!

    Sent on 04/21/2015

    Camden County Boathouse's reply:

    We look forward to working with you in the future and it was our absolute pleasure to host your event! Jeannette & Elaine
  • User5010455 · event on 04/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was our first event with the Boathouse and I am blown away by how well it went. The quality of the venue and the professionalism of the staff is top notch, and the price is very affordable compared to other venues in the area. Looking forward to booking more events with you.

    Sent on 04/24/2015
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 04/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Camden county boathouse was beautiful! Our guest raved about its great views, the deck, and the interior. The staff at the boathouse was great througout the entire wedding planning process. They were always very quick to respond to question and super helpful!

    Sent on 04/15/2015

    Camden County Boathouse's reply:

    It was our absolute pleasure to be part of your special day!
    - Best wishes, Elaine & Jeannette
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 01/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Elaine and Jeannette were so helpful when our original venue cancelled on us. We (and our guests) absolutely loved The Camden Boathouse. It was perfect! Visiting and deciding on The Camden Boathouse was one of the smoothest interactions we had. The contract, paperwork, and payments were very efficient and made us feel confident in our decision. The room and set-up was perfect. The assistance in letting us set up earlier that day helped immensely. We feel that it was meant to be.

    The Camden Boathouse was so beautiful and we had so many amazing pictures taken from the balcony, river, and doors of the boathouse, which couldn’t have been done anywhere else. The price was extremely helpful and we appreciate the seasonal and booking discounts immensely.

    The caterer, McFadden’s (Kevin) was excellent, from our first interaction with him and Debbie. We were taken care of; their food was so amazing (we are still having cravings)! Their service was beyond expectation and we need to express that among the other pre-approved caterers, McFadden’s food was excellent and the price was very reasonable with our budget.

    This was all possible due to the excellent tour that Joe provided and the complimentary tickets to attend the Bridal Event hosted at The Camden Boathouse. The Camden Boathouse team saved our day and made it possible to have the best wedding reception we could have ever hoped for.

    Sent on 03/14/2015
  • Renee

    Renee · Married on 09/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had out ceremony and reception at the Camden County Boathouse and loved every minute of it. From the spectacular views on the main deck, to the sun setting against the Philadelphia skyline....can't ask for more!!

    The price was a great value for the amount of space, flexibility and scenery that you get from the Boathouse.

    Jeannette was our main contact point and was always honest, informative, and professional with all questions and requests that we had. Even with last minute use of the overhead projector for a slideshow, Jeannette made it a point to make sure everything would work without any issues.

    100% recommend giving Jeannette a call and scheduling some time to see this spectacular gem set on the Cooper River.

    Sent on 11/11/2014
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so pleased with our wedding at the Camden County Boathouse! As soon as we looked at the venue, we knew this is where we wanted to have our reception! We wanted a reception site that wasn't the typical wedding ballroom. The staff was very helpful and happy to answer any questions I had up until the days right before the wedding. Our guests loved the balcony overlooking Cooper River throughout the night and the room looked wonderful. We had about 190 people which is almost the maximum for the venue, however, even with adding a bar inside the ballroom because of possible rain, it didn't feel too cramped. The dance floor was large enough for everyone to dance all night, also. We couldn't be happier with our decision and our guests loved it too!

    Sent on 09/25/2014
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 11/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I fell in love with the boathouse the first time we saw it. We are so happy that we ended up using it as our wedding venue! The boathouse is absolutely beautiful and offers a great venue for couples looking for something a little different than the traditional ballroom type feel. One of the greatest things about the boathouse is the large dance floor! Our guests were on the dance floor all night and there was plenty of room for all 175 dancers! Additionally the room didn't feel cramped at all with all of our guests in it.
    Furthermore, the staff is excellent! Elaine is so responsive and helps with anything she can. We are so happy to have such fond memories of a beautiful November night at the boathouse!

    Sent on 01/21/2014
  • M

    Marshall · Married on 09/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place was amazing!!!! My wife and I were looking for venues all over PA and Delaware. We didn't think New Jersey would be an option because we have guest coming from all over and wanted a place that was closer to our church in PA. Also, let's be honest, New Jersey isn't the easiest place to drive if you have never been there.

    I'm extremely delighted to have gotten married at the Boathouse. The location was amazing, on a river in a park!!!! Were can you find that in PA or DE without paying alot of money or having to wait over a year to get the venue you want on a day that doesn't work for anyone!!!

    We have 110 guest the fit comfortable in the venue, the space and the deck were great for taking pictures and mingling with guest. Please see this place before you make a decision on your location!!!! Also, the staff will allow you to walk around as they are setting up for a ceremony/reception. If there is a wedding on the day you go. Please go see the setup!!!! It will allow you to see how the space will be used.

    Sent on 10/06/2013
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 08/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Camden County Boathouse is the perfect venue for a couple who is on a budget yet would like to have a classy wedding. The deck is beautiful and there is a lot of natural light; perfect for a summer wedding. We had approximately 180 guests. We used McFaddens catering as their pricing is very reasonable. They are very organized and the staff moves everything along swiftly which allows more time for dancing and other wedding activities. This place is not your typical cookie cutter wedding venue. The banquet room is very simple, but the deck and large windows is what makes this place such a gem. It is not your typical "hall" wedding with bad floors and drop ceiling. My guests had an amazing time. The dance floor is in the center which is nice. I am in love with this venue and hope to one day get to experience another wedding at the Boathouse.

    Sent on 01/15/2015

    Camden County Boathouse's reply:

    Thank you Melissa for the kind words. Your wedding was beautiful and we are so happy we were able to be part of your special day - Boathouse Management
  • B

    Becky · Married on 07/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff was very friendly and helpful with everything! The venue is breathtaking and my wedding pictures are so beautiful to look back on!

    Sent on 01/17/2014
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 06/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great venue for a smaller wedding. We had about 100 guests and it was a good space for that, and we could have fit more if needed. The room is awesome and has some beautiful views. The deck is perfection, looking over Cooper River and the park and also providing a great view of the Philadelphia skyline. Pricing was good, we paid extra to extend our time past the normal amount of hours only because we were having the ceremony there as well as everything else. They give you a list of about 5 vendors to choose from, I'd recommend A la Carte catering. You have to provide your own alcohol, only because it's a government building. The outside of the building is beautiful as well as inside. Everyone was helpful there and easy to keep in touch with. Great choice!

    Sent on 06/11/2013
  • Stephanie

    Stephanie · Married on 08/28/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hidden Gem of South Jersey! Brand New Building (3yrs) located on beautiful river front property. 2nd floor ballroom with wrap around deck over looking the river. Bring in your own caterer off their list (i highly recommend McFadden's Lakeside) and alcohol. Low room rental fee. Max: 200 people but I would aim for lower as the room is not huge but does feel very intimate. The room is decorated nicely and the chairs don't need chair covers. Ample parking and great for pictures

    Sent on 09/17/2010
  • A

    alexis · Married on 10/23/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue itself was perfect - the view, the amenities, the service from the staff (especially Jeanette). However, the weekend of our wedding was also the breast cancer walk and we were not notified about this until literally 2 days prior to the wedding. The day of was hectic and flooded with walkers, and the road was closed off. The day was so lovely once all of the stress from the outside died down a little, but such a large event is planned far in advanced and we would have picked a different weekend if we had been told beforehand. It was an unnecessary stress and panic to deal with and it should have been handled a lot better.

    Sent on 10/26/2016
  • User4476287 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely gorgeous and spacey and for a fantastic price! Only wish they were more flexible with caterers.

    Sent on 12/19/2014
  • K

    Katie · Married on 10/01/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I totally agree with Stephanie's review. The Boathouse is not highly marketed so it's easy to overlook. My husband and I found it to be reasonably priced with interesting exterior architecture and a beautiful view of the Cooper River, which made it a stand out for our less traditional tastes while still needing to accommodate our more traditional family members.

    Keep in mind: There's no real place to do cocktail hour other than in the middle of the dance floor, the downstairs lobby, or the upstairs hallway. Keep in mind, we only had our reception here, so I'm not sure how the transition is between ceremony and cocktail. The location also doesn't come up on some older GPS's, so be sure your directions between church and reception are "spot on."

    However, it is off of Rt. 70 and less than a mile to the Crowne Plaza, which was good for our guests. We were TREMENDOUSLY happy with the Boathouse and hope others discover it, too!

    Sent on 01/03/2012
  • M

    Maggie · Married on 08/30/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding here in Aug 2008, it was a fabulous venue. The location on the water is beautiful, the decor is casual but wonderful. We had 180 people at our wedding and a full dance floor and there was plenty of room. They have a bridal suite and a seperate room for food to allow for more seating.

    Sent on 10/10/2013
  • Jeffrey

    Jeffrey · Married on 10/11/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Space/ Best staff

    The boathouse was everything I wanted for my wedding and more! The ladies there, especially Kristen and Danielle, were responsive, attentive, and so sweet! The space was beautiful! The new ballroom and ceremony space are out of this world gorgeous!

    The only thing that was a problem was the rowers on site. Now, I knew full well that they would be there...it is part of the contract you sign, however, the one coach was a total jerk and would not let us take photos on the dock (WHICH IS USED TO ADVERTISE THE BOATHOUSE AS A WEDDING VENUE). He was a total jerk about it and yelled at us very rudely. We also weren’t able to get pictures in front of the doors, as advertised, due to the rowers. So, definitely try to pick a month they aren’t in season. They also were running really close to the ceremony space which was annoying. Again, not the boathouses fault...but they really should have more of a plan in place for the rowers.

    Sent on 10/13/2019
  • C

    Chrissy Sirianni · Married on 05/11/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    On the river!

    The boathouse was recently renovated and it is SO NICE now. The balcony overlooking the river was our favorite part and we were lucky enough for great weather so we could take advantage of it. The scenery around the boathouse made pictures so easy. They also added a newly landscaped ceremony area (2 weeks before our wedding, eek!) which is such an improvement from what was previously there. They have 3 caterers to choose from. We went with Sensational Hosts and couldn't have been happier with them.

    Sent on 06/12/2019
  • J

    Jennifer · event on 12/13/2015

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Beautiful venue! Very flexible and helpful staff.

    Sent on 02/26/2016
  • J

    Jillian · Married on 05/16/2015

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue! However, they really aren't flexible with things such as dates and caterers. You can only use their approved vendors. But their vendors are all wonderful! Definitely recommended!

    Sent on 06/14/2015
  • Beautygirlsmom

    Anna · Married on 11/19/2016

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    This is the most beautiful setting for a wedding. We had my daughter's wedding here on 11/19/16, and the day could not have been more beautiful. The view is stunning, and because we had an unseasonably warm day, they were able to extend the time they spent taking pictures outside - GORGEOUS! This is really a four season view! The warm wood and bright windows set this venue apart from other NJ cookie cutter venues.

    Sent on 12/10/2016
  • Natta

    Natta · Married on 07/26/2019

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Your experience is caterer dependent..

    We held our ceremony on site. The location of the ceremony was not well thought out, there is a parking lot between the building and the ceremony site. While it is beautiful -the space is on the small side, creating a very short aisle to come down. This space is new (2019), and had not been built at the time we signed our contract. It is canopied under the trees, and faces the river - for $500, it does not come with seating - something to consider as 100 chairs could easily add another $150-200 to your bill for set up, rental and removal. Your caterer handles this for you. So you may end up with basic plastic folding chairs. Fortunately, the park setting alleviates the need for much in the way of aisle décor.

    The remodeled interior is beautiful. It has nice views. You are the only event, so it is private.

    There is a bridal suite, but there was no where for the groomsmen to wait, so my husband was upset that several times the guys tried to settle in to a space, they were asked to move and eventually ended up in the lounge area in the men's room.

    They only allow the 3 caterers on their preferred list to come in, so your options here are limited. By the time you factor in all the rentals, the location, service charges, the caterer, etc -you're really spending around $150/head for a wedding here. Something to consider if you got sticker shocking while looking at all inclusive locations that tell the all in price up front.

    The people who work here, will take their venue payments but really have nothing to do with the outcome of your event. That is entirely dependent on your caterer. The venue has a strict 1 hour clean up policy, so your caterer will want to end your event as close to 11 as possible so they can clean up.

    Sent on 07/31/2019
    Camden County Boathouse 3
    Camden County Boathouse 4
  • K

    Kim E · event on 11/04/2015

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Initially interfaced with Elaine followed by Jeanette at the Boathouse. Even in the midst of a hiccup, staff were professional all the way. Much can be accomplished when people work together. Our guests just kept complimenting the space. It was a great choice to kick off the ROMBE Summit!

    Sent on 11/10/2015
  • A

    Adriana · event on 05/28/2015

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    the event went really well. The venue is great and the people are outstanding

    Sent on 06/09/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review