Cakes With a Kick Reviews

50 | Saint Petersburg, FL
See photos, pricing and details

50 Reviews for Cakes With a Kick

Recommended by 98%

50
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • L

    Ludee · Married on 05/25/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    my husband and I had our cake done by cake with a kick for our wedding...we had too many to choose from they can design anything..just name it.. the cake was extremely beautiful..it's like i had my cake dream come true..and all of my guests loved it...im looking forward to book cake with a kick for any event we may have in the future.

    Sent on 07/09/2013
  • User2450280 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was looking for someone very talented to do a groomsmen cake for my husband. We got married May 24th of 2013 at Tampa Palms Country Club. I went to Cakes with a Kick with some thought in mind to do a military cake. I left the design completely up to Mike and Rommy! I only told them that my further husband, at that time, was leaving for the US Army and I he loved chocolate. I never saw a design or heard their plan until I walked into my reception on my wedding day (that's because I wanted it that way). I was so impressed with their design! They did an army tank with wedding cans coming off the back and it had our last name across the back of the tank! It looked so cool and so real! I was amazed. I was even happier with the taste. They ended doing a chocolate orange, and oh man! Delicious and so moist! I would recommend them to anyone for any event! I can't thank Cakes with a Kick enough!

    Sent on 07/26/2013
  • Mary

    Mary · Married on 03/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough about how talented Rommy and Mike are! They absolutely brought my vision of a gorgeous but unconventional wedding cake to life. To be honest the cake almost got more attention at the wedding than I or my husband did ;) The entire kitchen staff came at the venue came out to look at it, and guests were taking pictures and commenting on it all night long. From our first meeting and tasting to the delivery, Cakes with a Kick were absolute professionals and a pleasure to deal with. The cake looked amazing, and tasted pretty great as well. I would recommend them for any Central Florida celebration!

    Sent on 03/11/2013
  • Janine

    Janine · Married on 03/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOW!!! My cakes were STUNNING and DELICIOUS!!! I surprised my husband with a groom's cake of his fire fighter helmet and he was smiling from ear to ear. He was in shock at the detail that Cakes with a Kick was able to get on the cake. Our wedding cake was also simple and absolutely beautiful. I ate two pieces of cake at my reception (And two more that night) I could not get enough of it! I have never had wedding cake that delicious. Everything tasted super fresh and perfect. Honestly, the cakes were way beyond my expectations and I was thrilled with my choice!

    Sent on 03/07/2013
  • User3157682 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding and grooms cakes were beautiful and delicious.

    Sent on 03/29/2013
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 11/17/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our cake was AMAZING!!! Guests at the wedding didn't even know it was a cake!! It was exactly what we wanted! Cakes With a Kick has SO many flavor and filling options that are unbelievably delicious!! A guest favorite was the pumpkin cake with cream cheese and marshmallow filling!! I would definitely recommend them, especially if you want a unique looking cake!!

    Sent on 12/01/2012
  • M

    Megan · event on 10/27/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was one of the nicest experiences- Rommy was an absolute pleasure and always responded promptly to my emails. The cake was amazing; both aesthetically and in taste. Everyone at our party really enjoyed the orange-almond cake.
    It takes a lot to impress me and I was definitely blown-away. Cakes with a Kick did an amazing job especially on all the little details- the ones that set them apart from the rest. I would highly recommend them to anyone who is wanting the absolute best.

    Sent on 11/09/2012
  • J

    Jennie · event on 09/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome company!!! Loved the prompt service and attention to detail!!!!

    Sent on 11/08/2012
  • P

    patricia · event on 08/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing cake both in detail and taste, as well as cup cakes, extra added touch the sculpted 50 on each. Owners very friendly and helpful, would use again and recommend for any special occasion.

    Sent on 08/19/2012
  • B

    Brenna · Married on 07/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The cake was absolutely amazing and tasted delicious! Rommy was able to make it look exactly like I had envision and the cake tasted just as good as the day we had the tasting. She responded to all of my many many emails quickly and was so helpful since we were doing things long distance. The cake was very reasonably priced especially for all of the special design requests I had. Everyone at the reception thought the cake looked amazing. I couldn't have been happier!

    Sent on 07/23/2012
  • K

    Karen · Married on 06/25/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful and delicious cake. We chose to decorate it with real flowers on top of the white frosting and it was gorgeous. We had 3 different flavours and liked all of them.
    Great service as well as it got delivered in the middle of a tropical storm and just after a tornado !!

    Sent on 08/20/2012
  • J

    jannet · Married on 06/05/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Can not stop talking about this place. Out of all the vendors that provided services for my wedding, the cake is all people keep talking about. At least I will be able to tell all my friends at their weddings; "I told you to call Cakes With a Kick", believe me, I will know if they called someone else. My wedding was a destination wedding, although I visit the Tampa Bay area often, all communication was done by e-mail and phone. Trying to get my ideals and what I wanted for that perfect day for me was not easy but one vendor really listened and soared way beyond my expectations; CAKES WITH A KICK! You can tell the time taken for the small details in decorating the cake that they really pride themselves or their talent. At first bite, you know it was hand crafted by a master baker using the best ingredients, not someone that helped mom open the cake mix box when they were a kid. A real piece of art to both the eyes and mouth. Even the Pastry Chef at the venue wowed about the cake design and taste.
    Rommy, I can not thank you enough for the wonderful job you did.

    Sent on 07/10/2012
  • J

    Jennifer · event on 06/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cakes with a kick were absolutely amazing! Wonderful website which was how I decided to go with them. They were wonderful to work with. I wanted a sail boat cake for my boyfriends birthday, they sent me picrures of previous cakes they made and used pictures I sent of my boyfriends sailboat as inspiration. They always kept me in the loop and called to confirm details. The cake was beautiful and was exactly what I wanted as well as delicious! My boyfriend was very surprised! I will always use cake with a kick from now on!

    Sent on 06/04/2012
  • P

    Paola · Married on 05/26/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When I first started planning my wedding, I told the groom that I didn’t really care about much – just my dress and the cake. When I finally found my dress, I knew I had to find the best place in the Tampa Bay area to make the wedding cake of my dreams. I researched for a good while, basically just going through pictures on cake vendor websites until finally I stumbled upon Rommy from Cakes with a Kick. When I saw the pictures, I knew she had to make our cake.

    I had a particular cake in mind, an intricate Mario Bros. cake that I’d found while researching for my sister’s wedding. I sent the pic of the cake to Rommy and she sounded really excited to make it, the only issues I encountered were the price and the size (it could only serve up to 50). I asked if we could somehow customize it so we could keep the concept of the cake and the topper, which was Princess Peach’s castle with Mario and Peach kissing in front of it. I also wanted it to serve all of our 150 guests. Rommy quickly drew up a mock-up of the cake with sizing and everything, and it looked great! From there the groom and I went in for a tasting with his parents, every cake flavored we tried was better than the last! We finally settled on lemon cake with lemon filling for the bottom tier, marble cake with raspberry filling for the middle tier and orange almond cake with dulce de leche for the top tier.

    When the wedding day finally came I was super excited to see the cake, it was actually one of the things I couldn’t wait to see! When I finally did see it I was taken aback at how great it looked. It was everything I dreamed of and more, Rommy definitely out did herself! I’m sure she’ll eventually post pics on her website of the cake but everyone at my wedding loved it. My photographer even took the groom and I aside to ask us about it, he said it was the best wedding cake he’d ever seen. What’s more is how great it tasted! Although I was only able to try one flavor (my favorite – the lemon with lemon) I heard the other flavors were awesome as well.

    I would totally recommend Cakes with a Kick to anyone looking for a one-of-a-kind wedding cake, or any cake for that matter! She was great to work with, prompt to respond, open to suggestions, everything a bride-to-be is looking for!

    Sent on 06/05/2012
  • C

    Candace · Married on 04/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A lot of bakeries can make pretty cakes, but very, very few create delicious ones too. Cakes With A Kick delivers on all levels. They listen attentively to get a true understanding of what you want, and they're very prompt in answering any questions you may have, so you get exactly the cake you've dreamed of. Several of our guests have begged for the recipe to our chocolate chip cake, and they keep telling me that it was one of the BEST desserts they've ever had. I have to agree! I couldn't be happier!

    Sent on 06/04/2012
  • D

    Daryll · Married on 04/14/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Cakes with a Kick do both our wedding cake and groom's cake. It was such a pleasure working with them and our cakes were beautifully designed! In addition, we had so many delicious flavors to choose from but were very happy with the ones we chose! We would highly recommend Cakes with a Kick to anyone who wants someone who is creative and pleasant to work with.

    Sent on 02/06/2013
  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 03/17/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My experience with Cakes with a Kick was fantastic! I am still receiving compliments from my guests about how beautiful and delicious the cakes were. I had my regular wedding cake and a grooms cake. Rommy and her husband both worked with me to get what I had in my mind made into a cake design for both of the cakes. It was hard to describe but they both made it super easy for me and they turned out perfect. The groom's cake was designed to be a mud tire, with sidewall writing of our name and the date and all. It was adorable and everyone (including the groom) LOVED it. I will always remember what a fantastic job Cakes with a Kick for my wedding cakes!!!!!! Can't recommend them enough!!!! If you'd like to see pictures look at my wedding wire photo album :)

    Sent on 06/03/2012
  • J

    jon · event on 01/14/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They are amazing!!!!! Ace and the Boss of Florida!!! Rommy and Mike make a great team and the cake was FANTASTIC. Details that no one expected or could ever imagine were flawless. AND THE TASTE.....WOW!!!!!! Never will another bakery even get a chance to do a cake for our events.

    Sent on 03/01/2012
  • S

    Sonya · Married on 12/30/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WE were very impressed with the cake. It not only looked amazing, but it tasted equally as great. We would highly recommend cakes with a kick for anyone who wants a quality cake.

    Sent on 01/21/2012
  • B

    B · event on 12/10/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rommy & Mike were unbelievable! They were quick to respond, gave great input to our project, and delivered a cake that nobody at our party will forget! Definitely would recommend and use them again in the future!

    Sent on 12/16/2011
  • A

    Audrey · Married on 11/20/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cakes with a Kick is hands-down the best cake making company that I came across for my wedding cake, and I feel SO fortunate to have found them! I recently had a Mad Hatter themed wedding and I was VERY particular about my vendors because I wanted to ensure that each vendor was not only professional and talented, but CREATIVE, ARTISTIC, and that UNDERSTOOD the look that I was going for because this theme could very easily be made into a cheesy and sloppy wedding. When I met with Rommy about my wedding cake, I expressed to her the ideas that I had about my theme and informed her that I intended for the wedding cake to be the central piece of the entire event... no pressure, right? :) She immediately began to sketch up ideas that were not only exactly what I was going for, but they were better and more innovative than any other company that I had met with would allow... they all said that the topsy-turvy creative cake that I wanted was too difficult to be done well. Let me tell you that it was done PERFECTLY by Cakes with a Kick! Rommy made the most beautifully artistic and unbelievable cake for me... I loved it! Many of my guests were actually questioning if it was even a real cake because it looked so fantastic... but they sure believed it when they tasted it because everyone thought it was to die for. Everything about my experience with this company from the initial meeting, to the follow ups, to the professionalism with each encounter, to the amazing outcome of the cake was 100% amazing... I couldn't have asked for anything better and would recommend them to absolutely anyone. Thank you, Rommy, for making my wedding so memorable!

    ***I would also like to add that although it was not able to be done because Rommy does not have experience (yet) in this area and we found her so late that she did not have a sufficient amount of time to learn and perfect it, she was VERY interested in accomodating my allergy to gluten. We accepted that she was not a vendor that offers gluten-free options, as most cake vendors do not, but she insisted on spending her own time to personally research the need of someone with that allergy and attempting to incorporate that into my wedding cake. I was so pleased that she was even attempting to accomodate something that we had not even asked or expected her to accomodate! What a wonderful experience!

    Sent on 11/29/2011
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 11/19/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rommy did an fantastic job with the execution of the specs I provided for her and made some creative suggestions which enhanced the look of the cake. The finished wedding cake was absolutely stunning. My husband could not believe the craftsmanship and detail - we did not want to cut into the cake!
    Once the restaurant served the cake, the guests were raving about how well it tasted...we had a different flavor for each tier and each one tasted as good as the samples she provided during our tasting appointment.

    Sent on 12/08/2011
  • R

    Rommy · Married on 11/12/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rommy Lieber of Cakes with a Kick makes one beautiful cake. She's very creative and helps you envision the perfect cake. The perfect tasting cake. It also helps that she's super personable and friendly. It was a pleasure doing business with her.

    Sent on 01/27/2012
  • K

    Katie · Married on 10/29/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These cupcakes were the best! We had 3 flavors and our guest loved the chocolate chip cupcake and pumpkin cupcake the best! These cupcakes were moist and delicious!

    Sent on 12/26/2011
  • M

    Michael · Married on 10/15/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Did a geat job with a very difficult design!

    Sent on 10/24/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review