Skip to main content
Weddings

Cakes by Liza, LLC Reviews

Cakes by Liza, LLC

Cakes by Liza, LLC

Virginia Beach, VA
4.9 out of 5 rating, 60 Reviews
View more information

60 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 60
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

8 User photos

  • S
    Shelby K. Married on 05/22/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic Service and Product

    I was put in charge of three items for the wedding: the DJ, the officiant, and the cake. With the exclusion of food, probably the three most important things to have on the big day. I found Liza by searching for people in the area, and I am so glad I did. First, her response was prompt which gave me confidence that when it came down to the wire I wouldn't need to worry about getting in touch with her. Next, when trying samples (because you should always try a sample before you commit), she did a wonderful job presenting her work, making some samples, and letting us try different flavor combinations. My wife was against almond cake based on prior experiences, but Liza did such a terrific job it is ultimately the flavor we went with.

    She was flexible to work with (we were unsure about the final number until about a month before), she checked in before making the final cake to make sure we were on the same page, and she delivered it on time and in beautiful condition. I really can't say enough about how beautiful it was. We received so many compliments (even though we didn't do anything), I can't recommend her enough!

    Cakes by Liza, LLC's reply:

    Thank you for giving me the opportunity to be part of your wedding. It was such a pleasure working with you and your husband. May you be blessed with a wonderful life together. Congratulations!
  • Micah
    Micah K. Married on 05/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Delicious and Beautiful Cake!

    We chose two flavors: her almond cake with chocolate ganache filling and red velvet cake with cream cheese filling. Both were moist and delicious, and the cake overall turned out beautifully. Cakes by Liza creates with excellent craftsmanship, excellent service, and always serves with love. The process couldn't have been smoother. Thank you again!

    Cakes by Liza, LLC's reply:

    Thank you Micah and Bryan! It was such a pleasure working with you both. Congratulations and make a beautiful life together!
  • C
    Carrie (. Married on 06/01/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic experience and beautiful cake!

    Our wedding cake was gorgeous, and was delicious as well! I showed Liza some sample photos and described what we wanted, and she brought our vision to life. The cake received so many compliments; we were overjoyed with the results! Very satisfied customers here!

    Cakes by Liza, LLC's reply:

    Thank you Carrie! It was my pleasure working with you. Bless you both and wishing you love and happiness!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • A
    Anna Married on 09/21/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding cake was absolutely amazing! We asked Liza for a simple, but elegant cake with a picture for inspiration. She surpassed our expectations and the cake was even better than we imagined.

    We got a 3 tier cake with the bottom tier being a hexagon shape. We wanted a marble look to it, but we also wanted gold incorporated into it. The flavor we went with was a Pistachio and Chocolate Ganache. It tasted as good as it looked too!

    Liza delivered the cake herself to the venue. She arrived early, set up the cake, and decorated it with the greenery to match our theme. She also ended up providing a gorgeous gold cake stand to match.

    We're very pleased with the cake and the service!

    Cakes by Liza, LLC's reply:

    Thank you Anna and Jeron! So happy to be part of your wedding. Wishing you a life of love and happiness. Congratulations!
  • N
    Nina Married on 08/04/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I am SO glad that she made our wedding cake! It was truly the best cake I have EVER tasted. She listened to what I wanted and went way above and beyond my expectations. Our guests would not stop raving about how delicious and perfect the cake was. I asked her to make me a naked style wedding cake with a marbled inside of chocolate and vanilla. It wasn't too sweet, it was beautifully decorated, and the flavors inside were absolutely delicious (the chocolate ganache inside that cake was spectacular). I'm glad we took the topper so that I can have a delicious snack whenever the craving hits (which is pretty often!). She is incredibly talented and passionate about her cakes, and it really shows. I seriously can't thank her enough - Thank you again, Liza, for helping to make my wedding so much sweeter! I will always remember how much I enjoyed the cake on my wedding day <3

    Cakes by Liza, LLC's reply:

    You have made my job so easy. Thank you for the opportunity of working with you! So honored to be part of your special day and I’m glad you both loved it and your guests enjoyed it. Thank you again!
  • C
    Christy Married on 07/04/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Liza was amazing. The cake was the most beautiful cake. All of my guest were impressed. Liza was also very helpful to my mother ! We are so grateful! Thank you Liza!! ❤️

    Cakes by Liza, LLC's reply:

    Thank you Christy!
  • M
    Michelle Married on 05/15/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding cake was beautiful and everything we hoped for!! We had the almond cake with raspberry filling and the red velvet cake on alternating tiers. IT WAS DELICIOUS and had our guests wanting more. And even after a year, on our anniversary, cutting into our top tier per tradition, was still in perfect condition. Thank you, Cakes by Liza!!

    Cakes by Liza, LLC's reply:

    Thank you Adrian and Michele! Wishing you more anniversaries to come.
  • L
    Lois Married on 04/02/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Great taste, design, and yummy!
  • K
    Kristina L. Married on 09/02/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Liza was awesome! All the little details that my husband and I asked for were amazing! The lacey details that she added from my dress to the cake was flawless! I even asked for a lego/starwars groom cake and she did a great job with it! (My husband is kinda a nerd) I was nervous it was going to look too "kiddy" at first but she still made it look classy. She maintained communications the whole time during planning and I highly recommend her!

    Cakes by Liza, LLC's reply:

    Thank you Kristina! It was a pleasure working with you.
  • B
    Bonnie Married on 05/07/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Liza made my dream wedding cake! All my guests not only loved how beautiful and unique it was, but it was delicious! Thank you Aliza for making our day even more special. You are an amazing artist!
  • T
    Tamika Event on: 03/13/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Cakes by Liza was AWESOME! From the time I placed my order, up to deliver/pick-up her service has been the best. Any questions I had, she responded the same day. Upon pick-up she had the cake ready for transportation. her cake was so beautiful I had to force my guest to cut and eat. I would highly recommend her services and I will be a returning customer.
  • T
    Tina Married on 02/07/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Liza was a delight. So accommodating, creative and professional.
    Everyone just raved over her display and delicious cakes. On the most special day, my daughter's wedding, Liza prepared everything with such care and precision. We couldn't have been happier!
  • H
    Holly Married on 11/15/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Liza's work is FABULOUS! Since I had no idea what I really wanted for my wedding cake, I gave her the reins, and her creativity ran away with it. The final product was GORGEOUS and was a perfect centerpiece to our lovebird-themed wedding. The intricate details on the cake were perfect and elegant, while the handmade bird's nest as our topper and flowers were the best reflection of our personalities. She also had so many flavors to choose from that every guest was able to have a little bit of everything. We had chocolate, lemon, butter rum, and mocha chiffon. Everyone gave our cake so many compliments with regard to design, flavor, moistness, everything! We couldn't have been happier with the work she did and would HIGHLY recommend her to anyone. Can't wait to take another bite in a year!
  • T
    Tonya Event on: 09/26/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Liza - prepared a delicious Red Velvet Cake with pecans for my military retirement! Honestly, the best Red Velvet recipe I've ever tasted plus the cake was decorated beautifully. This was just the topper for my military culmination. Thanks again.
    Tonya
  • User2034707 Event on: 09/19/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Absolute pleasure to work with and I cannot quantify the number of compliments her cake received at my husband's retirement party. Highest recommendation!
  • B
    Bill Married on 09/07/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My son was getting married in Va Beach and we weren't familiar with any professional cake designers in the area, so we found Liza online and took a chance without knowing much about her work. We completed the entire transaction online and over the phone without any problems. We were absolutely pleased with her service, professionalism, and design and quality of the cake. Everyone at the wedding was very impressed and loved the cake. I would highly recommend Liza and would definitly use her again.
  • M
    Michelle Event on: 08/30/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you have high standards, this is who you want. She responds quickly, needs little direction, and puts 100% detail in all her work. The cake she made for my husband's promotion was the most beautiful cake I have ever seen. The American flag was so detailed, she put in 'stitches' on the seams and stars. The flag had a tint to it to create a shadow so that it appeared to be bent. No detail was left out. When our party guests arrived, the first thing that was noticed was th cake (even when I had a full cater in the kitchen cooking), for the first hour the cake was the center of attention and 'in awe'. We began to cut the cake and I started to worry if the taste would even come close to the decorative side....but damn! If you're looking for the highest standard and best business ethic, then you have found it. 100% recommendation.
  • User2033890 Event on: 08/08/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Liza made the cake for my retirement celebration. The cake was fantastic in presentation and outstanding in taste. I recommend Liza for every need.
  • User2034211 Event on: 06/14/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The cake was BEAUTIFUL! Every detail I asked for was done to perfection.
  • M
    Mercy Event on: 09/27/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Liza made a cake for my husband's commissioning, The cake was AWESOME. Great attention to detail, I will definitely be going to her for all my events.
  • G
    Glorietta Married on 09/14/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Liza created another beautiful and delicious cake for my son's wedding. She surpassed our expectations once again. All the guests were impressed with the cake. Liza can really make cakes beyond your imagination for any occasion.
  • A
    Aaron Event on: 08/05/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The birthday cake I ordered and received was perfect! Cakes by Liza was able to fulfill the order on a two weeks notice. The cake was absolutely amazing and everyone that attended the birthday party was in awe of the cake. Thank you for making the night a success! I will recommend cakes by Liza to all my friends in the future.
  • J
    Jennifer Event on: 08/04/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Liza is top of the line in the cake business! This was my first experience with CakesbyLiza. After finding her by google search in my area, she responded quickly. I forwarded 4 pictures of cakes I liked, we discussed a design, and flavor options. She even delivered the cake when she was required to change the pick up time. The entire experience was a 10!! And...THE CAKE WAS AMAZINGLY CUTE! Minnie mouse, raised flowers and butterflies, polk-a-dots, pink purple, green, and all just PERFECT! Two layer fondant cakes are a "special investment" and I'd say we got our moneys worth. Thank you Liza! We'll be back!
  • D
    Debbie Married on 07/27/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We loved our wedding cake! Liza went above and beyond to make our cake gorgeous and exactly what we wanted! Thanks Liza!
  • A
    Adam Event on: 06/23/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Excellent cake for a Navy retirement. Very professional and easy to work with. Cake was very moist and decorated with extreme attention to detail and clean presentation. Would highly recommend and use again for special occasions for a cake!!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message