Cakes by Cecile Reviews

28 | Columbus, OH
See photos, pricing and details

28 Reviews for Cakes by Cecile

Recommended by 95% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

28
Order by:
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 08/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The cake was phenomenal!! My friend and her husband used Cecile for their wedding cake and it was honestly the best cake I have ever had, so I of course already knew who I wanted to bake my wedding cake! Most wedding cake is dry and sometimes does not have much flavor, but Cecile's is very moist and flavorful, but not too rich! The icing that she using for the outside of the cake, and the buttercream she uses for between the layers is to die for. One of the things I really like is that instead of using the sugary fruit glaze between the cake layers, she always uses fresh diced raspberries/strawberries... SO GOOD! She is very affordable as well and I would recommend her to anyone and everyone. The white chocolate cake and the strawberry cake are my favorites!!! :)

    Sent on 09/22/2015
  • User5063316 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gave us exactly what we asked for and more. Cake looked fabulous and tasted delicious. All of the guests were asking where the cake was from. Pleasure to work with and will recommend to all of my friends.

    Sent on 05/11/2015
  • B

    Bekah · Married on 05/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have been happier with our wedding cake from Cakes by Cecile. She was incredibly accommodating when planning the cake. She allowed us to come in twice for taste testings to find the perfect flavors. She even allowed us to do different flavors for each tier of the cake since we couldn't decide! Last minute we decide to have her make a grooms cake as well, and she was so helpful in getting us exactly what we wanted within our tight budget. In addition to her great customer service and beautiful cake design, I am convinced she makes the best tasting cakes in the Columbus area. You can not go wrong with Cakes by Cecile. Thank you so much Cecile for making us the perfect wedding cake!

    Sent on 10/06/2014
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 09/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Besides her cake being out of this world delicious, Cecile is great to work with. We chose an untraditional Lego cake topper. When the venue transferred the topper to Cecile, it was in several pieces. She reconstructed the topper and we had no idea it had even happened. She went above and beyond to make sure everything went smoothly.

    Sent on 01/09/2014
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 08/07/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cecile's cake is SO amazing! We all fell in love with it. She was so flexible in letting my fiance and parents come do our tasting and even let my fiance come back to try an additional flavor. She was so fun to work with and tolerated my dad's silliness. Her prices are very reasonable compared to other bakers in the area. I tried a lot of wedding cake before booking Cecile and hers was by far the best! We will be using her again for special occasions in the future!

    Sent on 08/18/2010
  • J

    Jen · Married on 11/14/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Out of all my wedding vendors, Cecile was the easiest to work with and I got exactly what I asked for and more than I could ever have wanted. It was the one thing that I didn't have to worry about throughout the whole wedding process. The cake was delicious and I can't wait until this summer when I can use her again for my baby shower!!!

    Sent on 03/18/2010
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 10/24/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I just recently got married in October, all of my guests are STILL talking about how delicious my wedding cake was! Cecile is such a wonderful person to work with! I would recommend Cakes by Cecile to anyone! I am very excited to order more cakes from Cecile for future special events. Thanks Cecile for making my wedding extra special with your amazing talent in cakes!

    Sent on 03/18/2010
  • A

    Angie · Married on 10/03/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cecile has the most delicious cake! My guests throughly enjoyed the variety of layers she made for us. And she decorated the cake with winding red roses down the side of the cake which was show stopping!!! She does amazing work.

    Sent on 03/18/2010
  • C

    Angela · Married on 09/19/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cecile was wonderful to work with. She took the time to understand what I wanted and was able to provide it over and above what I had envisioned. When I wanted to change the shape of my cake from round to square it was not an issue and she made it work wonderfully. My guests loved the look and taste of it!!

    Sent on 03/18/2010
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 08/01/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved our wedding cake made by Cecile!

    Sent on 03/19/2010
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 05/30/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect cake, so delicious and beautiful. Customized exactly to the photo as I requested plus changes I made to the concept. Flexibility - Cake topper was suppossed to be dropped off to her, I got into town later and ran short on time, she had no issue with putting topper on at the site. Delivery was on time, setup perfect and beautiful. Everyone RAVED about how delicious and moist the cake was!! Did two flavors for no extra cost and kitchen cakes were priced PER SHEET CAKE rather than by portion, huge cost savings there! Amazing price and value. Also, beautiful custom "globe" grooms cake for my geographer hubby - made really from just a concept and a very rough photo, came out perfectly, and with my hubby's favorite carrot cake inside - couldn't believe it but tasted even better than the wedding cake. Cannot recommend highly enough!

    Sent on 07/10/2009
  • H

    Hana · Married on 05/10/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone who came to my wedding "loves" my wedding cake. Cecile is just like mother, she knows what works for my wedding. you will love her cake design and the quality of her cake. All of my girl friends asked for cecile's infomation for their big events.

    Sent on 06/08/2009
  • T

    Tessa · Married on 02/21/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cecile is AMAZING!!!! She is so wonderful to work with and was very accomodating! Her cake is absolutely to die for!!!! I samples her cake over 5 years ago and always said when I get married I'm having Cecile do my cake. This was one area where I refused to save money - her cake is the most delicious, highest quality you will ever have!!!

    She did an amazing job and the cake looked beautiful! She set everything up for us and I did not have one single issue with her throughout the whole process!

    Nothing but postive answers from me

    Sent on 05/14/2009
  • G

    Kris · Married on 12/06/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    OUTSTANDING CAKE! Best cake we ever had at a wedding. The cake was very elegant and well-decorated.

    Sent on 05/27/2009
  • J

    Joy · Married on 11/29/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend Cakes by Cecile because of its outstanding quality and reasonable price. Cecille went out of her way to design the most appropriate cake suited for the theme and color of the wedding. The guests at our wedding were so pleased with the wedding cake. The cake was so exceptional and exquisite! The cake was beautiful, elegant and tasty :))))

    Joy Kouns Lewis

    Sent on 06/01/2009
  • C

    Beth · Married on 10/18/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Recommend this vendor highly. The cake was absolutely beautiful and delicious. All of the guests loved it and we got the most value for our money.

    Sent on 06/10/2009
  • N

    Janelle · Married on 10/11/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The cake made for my wedding day by Cecile was exactly what I had imagined. I brought in a picture of what I wanted and was psyched to see the exact same cake sitting beautifully at my reception! The taste of the cake was fabulous as well and everyone raved about it. Thanks Cecile!

    Sent on 03/18/2010
  • M

    Marina · Married on 07/21/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hands down, Cakes by Cecile is the best. Her cake is made with love in her very own kitchen. Let's face it, most wedding cakes taste processed and overly sweet. How can you beat made from scratch, homemade cake? My wedding guests made a point of telling me how much they enjoyed it. The best part was that we froze the top tier of our cake and it was moist and delicious almost 2 years later. I couldn't believe it.

    She is personable and friendly and she made us feel comfortable right from the start. I would highly recommend her cake for any occasion.

    Sent on 12/07/2010
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 06/14/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cecile was an absolute pleasure to work with! I met with several bakers; I met with those at some of the most highly recommended Columbus bakeries, as well as some home-bakers. Cecile was by far the best choice. She was friendly and unintimidating - giving me plenty of options and giving an opinion, without pressuring me. She let me take my time deciding on design as well as flavors, allowing me to try several different kinds of cakes and frostings. She kept in contact with me, my florist, and the hotel staff and the cake was on time the day of the wedding. It was beautiful and looked better than expected. It also tasted great, which isn't always the case with pretty cakes. Our guests raved about it and we couldn't be happier.

    My husband and I highly recommend Cecile for anyone looking for a beautiful, delicious, and reasonably priced, cake!
    Jennifer De Tillio

    Sent on 05/14/2009
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 01/19/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding cake turned out more beautiful then I could ever have imagined. Even my husband loved it. We didn't even want to cut into it, it was just too pretty. It tasted great and was reasonably priced. Cecile did a great job. My cake was supposed to have icing draped to look like folds in a dress. It looked so real people actually thought something was draped over the cake.

    Sent on 03/20/2008
  • User3636232 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cecile provided cakes for my 40th Birhtday Gala Dinner. I had a different flavor cake on each table and my guests enjoyed tasting the various flavors. Cecile was very easy to work with and provided excellent customer service. I will continue to use her.

    Sent on 10/28/2013
  • K

    Kristine · Married on 05/28/2005

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most delicious cake. Beautifully decorated too. Our cake was pictured in Columbus Bride Magazine.

    Sent on 06/03/2009
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 08/16/2003

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cecile made the most beautiful delicious cake for my wedding. The cake and icing were beautiful (just like a magazine picture I had shown her) and everyone continues to talk about how it was the best wedding cake they'd ever had. I continue to call Cecile for birthdays and special occasions because I can't get enough of her cake...and, recently, she even made me a gluten free cake because I found out I have to follow a gluten free diet, and it was just as delicious as the ones with wheat flour. She is truly an unbelievable baker!

    Sent on 05/14/2009
  • K

    Catherine · Married on 09/16/2007

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cecile was really easy to work with to get the design we liked. I have a food allergy (gluten) and cecile specially learned to make a separate cake for my that was gluten free. The flavors were exotic and tasty and our guests were very complimentary of the cakes.

    Sent on 08/27/2008
  • K

    Katie · Married on 11/01/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cecile did an outstanding job with our wedding cake. When we met with her and did a cake tasting, we knew she was our top choice! There were many different flavors to choose from, and the cake was sweet but not too sweet. We've heard many stories of wedding cake disasters, but we lucked out with Cecile and she nailed the look! We received many compliments on it.

    Sent on 03/17/2015