Cake Coquette Reviews

23 | San Francisco, CA
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for Cake Coquette

Recommended by 99%

23
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

1 User photo

Cake Coquette 1
Sort by:
  • Stephanie

    Stephanie · Married on 10/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely Perfect!

    When we were looking for a vendor to make our cake, our #1 choice was Cake Coquette based on the pictures we saw of their creations, but we didn't know if they would be within our budget and be able to meet our needs.

    We are gluten free, as are a few of our guests, and they had lots of GF options flavors. Then we really liked the look of a few different cake designs they made in the past, and the amazing team of women was able to put together exactly our vision of a perfect wedding cake.

    I want more reasons to order beautifully designed cakes from this great team, and highly recommend them to anyone looking for a perfectly made and designed cake. Hire them and you won't regret it! (Also, we booked them with 3.5 months left before our wedding date -- in case this info helps.)

    Cake Coquette 2
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 12/31/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a vision for our NYE wedding cake and Gabby made it come to life. We wanted gold cupcakes with a mini gold cake for the top. It turned out so beautiful and GOLD! It was the centerpiece of the reception area and was perfect. It also tasted delicious!

  • J

    Jessie · Married on 09/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gabby and her team really did amazing job for our wedding. They deserve all the complimentary. Since I live in China, and it's an overseas wedding, it was impossible for us to meet face to face before the wedding, and I also couldn't go to their store or workshop for sample taste; besides, we have 15-hour jet lag, all the communications were made in emails. However, our communications were very smooth and efficient, since Gabby's team was very professional. Normally I sent out emails during daytime in our time zone, and I could always get her feedback next morning on time. What I did was sent to them sample pictures I liked and asked them if they were able to do the similar thing and told them how many guests we had. Gabby would suggest the size of our wedding cake, provide different favors they had and estimate the total cost. We didn't encounter any problems during our communication. Gabby took down all my detailed requests in different emails, and didn't miss one single item. And all the payments had been cleared before the wedding, which was really efficient and straightforward.
    On the wedding day, I didn't have chance to meet any staff from Cake Coquette; when they came and did preparation, I was taking my wedding photos outdoor. When I was ready for the reception, my wedding coordinator told me that everything was set, including the wedding cake, cupcakes and cookies. As I walked into the restaurant, I was definitely impressed by the beautiful wedding cake as well as those very exquisite desserts. All these items were made exactly as same as the picture I provided. I had to say that their workmanship was perfect, which making the cake table a shining point on my wedding. And they looked so pretty in the lens, please check those lovely pictures. The style and color matched the soft ambient uplighting perfectly. Besides, the cake and desserts were also very tasty. We even brought the rest of cake to our after party and we really liked the chocolate favor.

  • W

    wayne · Married on 06/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Talya at Cake Coquette made our cake tasting very easy and she was so helpful and friendly. She worked closely with our florist to ensure the final look of our cake with orchids cascading down the tiers was exceptional! The Citrus buttermilk cake with Citrus cream and Blueberry preserves was simply delicious!! We highly recommend Cake Coquette! Wayne and Anthony

  • V

    Veni · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gabby is an amazing Baker and creates wonderful cakes. She is very professional and very detail oriented. She was able to create our cake sketch based on our requirements in minutes and the actual cake looked even better.

    Thank you, Gabby!

  • C

    Catherine · Married on 04/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gabby is a truly talented cake baker. We had initially planned to use her for our wedding in August, but we decided to push up the wedding due to a family member's health. Not only did Gabby redo the cake plan entirely (from two tier tiny presentation cake to a three tier cake for 70 people!) but she also made it work so that her fee would be covered by the initial deposit we made. Her cakes are scrumptious and her professionalism is fantastic, you can't go wrong!
    P.S. We had initially planned on doing cupcakes as well, so don't assume Cake Coquette is a one trick pony! ;-)

  • Fondren

    Fondren · Married on 08/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gabby from Cake Coquette was so wonderful and easy to work with! My fiance and I were planning our wedding from Florida and we literally had NO idea where to look when trying to find the perfect wedding cake! Fortunately our amazing hotel, The Clift, recommended Cake Coquette and during our visit to SF to meet our vendors, we had the wonderful opportunity to sit down with Gabby! It was a perfect match!! She took our ideas and created the most beautiful schematic of our wedding cake in what seemed like minutes! We loved her Ombre cake that had been featured in many wedding magazines and blogs (and tagged on my Pinterest) but we also loved chevron print which is so popular right now! She was able to combine the two designs into what I believe is one of the most special and unique wedding cakes I've ever seen! Working with Gabby was seamless as well, she is a true master of her craft & profession making the decisions very easy from the get go! If you are getting married in the Bay area- CALL Cake Coquette! You will not be disappointed!

  • P

    Patty · Married on 09/30/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AUSSIE BOY meets AMERICAN GIRL
    Gabby,

    Thank you for being inspired by my idea to create exactly our Dream wedding Cupcake Carousel at the Thomas Fogarty Winery on Sept 30, 2011. The Cupcake Carousel was perfect with all the different flavor mini cupcakes and the cute little animals, and thank you for the kangaroos! In our design appointment you had the exact imagination I needed to make this happen. You are amazing!
    Thanks again and Best Wishes,
    PK + AK

  • J

    Jutta · Married on 06/12/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having seen samples of Gabrielle's (Cake Coquette) work online, we went to meet her and taste her cakes. Not only is the quality and taste of her confections excellent - she is a highly creative and enthusiastic person; she immediately understood our children's idea, made it her own, and began sketching right away. The cake of our children's dreams grew to full sketched reality right there, at our first meeting! There was no doubt whatsoever that Gabrielle was the best - artist as much as confectioner.
    She accommodated even our extravagant wishes, she is organized and professional, and her cake, in the end, was a showstopper, an absolute piece of art.
    We could not have been happier!

  • Oliveshadow

    Giselle · Married on 04/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful cake! Gabby was great. The cake was gorgeous and tasted great! We had a wedding full of foodies and they all said that it was the best cake they have had... Period. Lots of weddings they throw away lots of cake. At ours, they didn't throw away any. It was all gone! And, we had ordered extra! Lots of cake places can make a cake look nice. This both looked AND tasted great!

  • Lacey

    Lacey · Married on 06/12/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gabby from Cake Coquette made us the most exquisite and perfect wedding cake imaginable. It was not only gorgeous and matched all our themes and specifications perfectly, but it was one of the best tasting cakes I have ever had. All our guests commented on how delicious and beautiful it was. She is extremely helpful and listened to everything we wanted. She worked with our vintage photos to create a beautifully replicated 1930s style cake that was everything we wanted. Her prices are also very reasonable. Thank you SO much Gabby! We highly recommend Cake Coquette!

  • A

    AnaMaria · Married on 11/27/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I chose Cake Coquette after seeing pictures of the owner Gabrielle's work in two wedding magazines and after looking at the beautiful cakes on her website. I emailed her about three and a half months before my wedding date, hoping that she would be able to make the cake for my November wedding. She responded right away and my husband and I were able to have a one on one appointment with her within a few days. During our appointment, we discussed our ideas of what we wanted our cake to look like,I even brought her a sample of our invitation paper to see if she could incorporate the design into the look of our cake. We also tasted several different cake flavors...we ended up going with two layers of strawberry creme and two layers of citrus/lemon creme...Gabby custom designed our cake for us and the result was absolutely stunning! On our wedding day,she showed up promptly and set up the cake herself. Our guests were so impressed with the cake...some even thought it was fake because the design was so intricate and unique! Thanks Gabby for a delicious and beautiful work of art!

  • M

    Julie · Married on 10/24/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiance and I had originally decided to have a low-key dinner at a restaurant instead of the traditional reception. Less than 30 days before the wedding, he changed his mind and decided he wanted a beautiful, formal cake. To make matters more complicated, several people in my family, including me, are gluten intolerant (no wheat, barley, rye, etc.). As soon as we saw on the websites her Versailles and Marie Antoinette cakes made for other events and that she offered gluten free options, we were sold. My fiance had proposed to me in Marie Antoinette's Temple of Love in Versailles, so we knew we had to have one like those. Gaby emailed us back immediately and set up an appointment for us to taste. The samples were amazing, and I asked to have her adjust a couple of the flavor combinations so we could have it all. To add to the challenges Gaby overcame, we live in San Jose, so we needed to have her deliver it from San Francisco. I was a little nervous about how well everything would turn out on the wedding day, given all the variables, but Gaby was such a professional! The cake was delivered and set up by Gaby without anyone there to attend (we had no coordinator or relatives who could be spared to supervise). The cake was PERFECT! Not only was it so beautiful that a couple guests actually gasped when they saw it, everyone loved the flavors and texture. Absolutely no one guessed it was gluten free. When we told them the following day (over the leftovers), no one believed us. The price was reasonable considering the quality of the cake, but when you add to it the rush job and delivery distance, we think it was a deal! We will definitely be using Gaby for any big parties/special events we hold, and we'll probably have her do some smaller anniversary cakes just for the two of us. It was the best cake I've had, which is all the more amazing to me because I've only known about the gluten thing for the last two years. Before that, I was enjoying regular cakes etc.

  • E

    Elle · Married on 09/12/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gabby - Is an absolute artist! I choose Gabby because of her delicious, fresh cakes and of course her attention to detail. I really did not have much ideas in terms of design, but she did help my fiancee and I put something together which made the process so much easier and helpful. She was always attentive and responsive, I was surprise she was able to do it in such a short time. On the day off, people wanted more than one piece, because it was so delicious! I was lucky I got to have all three tastings. Gabby thank you for a terrific and delicious masterpiece!

  • A

    Ashlea · Married on 06/14/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gabrielle did such a wonderful job on our cake! It was tasty, beautiful and very reasonably priced. I tried to save the top layer of cake for our one year anniversary, but it was so delicious, I was only able to wait a month before i had to have it!

  • T

    Cristina · Married on 04/18/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gaby makes the most beautiful, creative cakes in San Francisco. Plus, she's simply a joy to work with: organized, responsive and professional. Her prices are reasonable too.

  • T

    Tony · Married on 03/29/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gabby's cake creation for our wedding last week was TIGHT!!! My fiance (well, now wife...WEIRD) wanted a subtle 70's theme, so Gabby wove in green & orange flowers, and a cool pattern of modeling chocolate circles in different sizes. It was subtle and very tasteful. Long story short, she does awesome & tatsy work, and is very collaborative.

    I love that she doesn't use fondant!! She's a self-professed icing obsessor....so no fondant, and instead just a smooth sea of beautiful and tasty buttercream.

  • G

    Glenn · Married on 10/31/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a spectacular creation this baker made! We requested a four-layer cake with two different cake flavors and two different ganache fillings. We asked for an ocean theme, and the shells and sea-decorations on the cake were beautiful! We were later stunned to learn that they were not made of sugar, but of white chocolate: we are STILL enjoying eating them, two months later!

    We gave the baker several photographs of "kissing gouramis" and she made a PERFECT sculpture of the fish to top the cake: ALL our guests are still talking about the beautiful and unusual wedding cake!

    Her price was in the same range as all others we evaluated, but her cake was -- BY FAR -- the moistest and tastiest of all. You can't do better for a wedding cake than the Cake Coquette!

  • Kylie

    Kylie · Married on 03/03/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiancé and I had no idea of what we wanted when we first went into the meeting with Cake coquette. They were very friendly and made wonderful suggestions. There cake was absolutely delicious we had been to several other bakers and have not been impressed. I Kennekuk at war absolutely blown away! They were delicious and the cake artistry was unparalleled. We love them so much we had them do the cake for my bridal shower as well! I would highly highly recommend Cake Coquette to anyone!

  • T

    Tina · Married on 07/10/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I give Gabby the owner/baker, props for giving me the most wonderful cake ever. She's very professional and will respond asap to your inquiries, I would say the cake was a bit pricy, but the design was amazing and the taste was wonderful. Id recommend her to anyone.

  • D

    Denelle · Married on 11/06/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gabby of Cake Coquette was so easy to work with and was very responsive to our emails. She really helped us out after the bakery that was on our hotel's "recommended" list fell through at the last minute and couldn't deliver the cake design we had agreed upon. Via our planner she quickly set up a meeting with us to discuss more about what we envisioned our wedding cake to be. Our cake design was slightly more intricate than normal but she definitely took in stride and was excited about the challenge. We brought the picture of the cake design we had selected and she immediately knew it been originally made/designed by ron ben-israel. Most importantly she knew exactly the method on how the cake had been designed and unlike other bakeries didn't try to convince us to change our design but was excited to take up the challenge. As we talked she sketched what we had discussed and presented us with a final sketch of our wedding cake with all the details listed inc. the associated costs. She presented us with many different cake flavors that had a variety of different fillings and ganaches. Although, my husband is usually not a fan of German chocolate cake (he hates coconut) or Red Velvet, he loved her's! During the wedding reception, we received many compliments on how great the German Chocolate cake was. Gabby was very flexible and helped us select another cake/ganache combo for those wedding guests who didn't want chocolate. Lastly, she also provided us mini red velvet and peanut butter choco cupcakes for our late night snacks at a very reasonable cost. They were also very yummy. We were very happy with the design of our wedding cake and are so happy we chose Gabby.

  • Cherise

    Cherise · Married on 09/26/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The cakes were absolutely delicious, and egveryone said so. The wedding cake was done exactly as I had hoped and we had also ordered a Grooms cake which was a Raiders helmet. It did not come out as good as Gabrielles website showed and she has since removed the picture of it, but noone but myself knows and everyone loved it, especially my husband!!! How cool was I for getting the cake and it was my surprise gift to hubby!!! Thanks Gabrielle!!!

  • User2758994 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I highly recommend Cake Coquette. Even though we didn't use fondant on our cake, Gabrielle still made a beautiful and delicious cake. We had our own design in mind and her team was very flexible. She kept it simple and refreshing. We were able to have some of the tiers in hazelnut cake (so good with coffee) and some tiers in lemon citrus (so light and refreshing). The rep with whom I worked, Talya Brass, was very personable and responsive. Arranging the cake tasting was fun and it was a great experience overall. The prices are also very reasonable and commensurate with the bells and whistles that you may or may not want on your cake.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review