Cagen Music LLC Reviews

31 | Northbrook, IL
See photos, pricing and details

31 Reviews for Cagen Music LLC

Recommended by 99%

31
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • S

    Scott Epton · Married on 11/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don Cagen Orchestra ROCKS! (no pun intended!)

    Our daughter's wedding was this past weekend and we couldn't have been happier with Don Cagen and his band. They were phenomenal, the music was amazing but even better than that they really made it a party! The flow of the night is generally dictated by the band and to say they "killed it" would be a gross understatement. I can't tell you how many people came up to us to tell us how much fun they had and how when the night came to end, they were shocked because they had so much fun and never even looked at their watches and couldn't believe what time it was. Guests of ours that said they rarely dance at weddings told us they were up dancing the entire night and barely even ate! It was an incredible party and far exceeded my wildest dreams. Thank you, Don & Becky!!!

    Sent on 11/19/2018
  • Corey

    Corey Kibort · Married on 11/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible!

    Don and Becky were INCREDIBLE! Our wedding was truly perfect because of them. The read the crowd and everyone was dancing the entire night. Throughout the whole year of working with them, they truly got to know us and wanted to make sure that the night was perfect for us. They were flexible and accommodating whenever we needed something, and we loved working with them. Thank you for making our wedding day amazing and perfect!

    Sent on 02/17/2019
  • J

    Jon Greenberg · Married on 11/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Terrific Band!

    They did a phenomenal job. Don and Becky captured the essence of what we wanted while also making sure every guest was dancing all night long. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 12/16/2018
  • A

    Amy Heller · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best of the best!

    The Don Cagen Orchestra is the most professional, patient,and customer orientated music group. They will work closely with you to make all the magical dreams come to life. Your only contact is Don Cagen personally. No in-between sales person that you will never see again! You talk, meet and coordinate with Don and then Don performs at you event...as it should be.

    Sent on 11/26/2018
  • Gina

    Gina Uhrich · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Wedding Band!

    The Don Cagen Orchestra played at our wedding at the end of August in 2018 and were fantastic! The band was one of my favorite parts of the wedding and we received a ton of compliments from our guests! All guests (young and old) packed the dance floor all night! My husband and I are University of Michigan grads and they surprised us by playing the fight song. I also used them for the instrumentation for the ceremony and cocktail hour. They were super helpful in making song suggestions for our ceremony and enhanced the instrumentation for our first dance - making them extra memorable!

    Sent on 11/19/2018
  • Colleen

    Colleen Tucker · Married on 12/31/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Book for your wedding/event!!

    As wedding & event planners, we just love working with the Cagen's because of their professionalism and pure talent. We have done countless weddings & non-wedding events with them, and they always deliver to go above & beyond, making the most seamless experience from the moment our clients book until the very last song and beyond! They are a true class act, and you can absolutely trust that they will deliver a FABULOUS party that will have your guests talking for years to come!

    Sent on 11/26/2018
  • M

    Mary · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you so much for providing top notch entertainment at our wedding. It was our favorite part of the the entire night. Your band made the night so special and we have received numerous compliments on your vocalists and musicians! Thank you for learning our bridal dance, it sounded wonderful, as did all of our song requests. From the night we first met Don at your office I knew we chose the right group! He did a great job as the MC and kept everything moving. Becky was always so helpful during every part of the planning process. I hope we see you soon and enjoy your music again!

    Sent on 12/30/2017
  • E

    Emily · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We fell in love with Don Cagen Orchestra at our very first meeting. Don was extremely professional and blew us away when he shared demos of the band's music. We knew from that day we didn't need to interview any other bands. From there, Don and Becky were responsive and calming during the wedding planning process - always listening to our requests but also providing advice from their expertise. Last but not least, Don Cagen Orchestra was the highlight of our wedding. Almost three months later, our guests are still raving about the band, from the ceremony music to the horah. We can't thank Don Cagen Orchestra enough!

    Sent on 12/14/2017
  • L

    Leah · Married on 07/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring Don Cagen orchestra for our wedding was one of the best things we did! We were debating between a band or dj for some time, but having a tent wedding, we had our hearts set on a band. After talking with many bands across Chicagoland area, I was set on Don Cagen, after speaking with Becky. Her professionalism and communication set them apart! We hired them without even listening to them in studio, based on recommendations from other vendors and from our conversations with them-they did not disappoint!!! Don came out for a final walk through the month prior and we instantly connected with him and his energetic personality. The day of music was everything we could have imagined and more! Although a July evening, the dance floor was packed for the majority of the night and we even had them play an extra hour because everyone was having so much fun! They are extremely talented! They knew how to read the dance floor and keep the guests energized and having fun! One of our guests loved them so much they hired them on the spot for their own wedding! Friends and family still talk about them and I am sure they will for years to come! Thanks for making our wedding day so memorable!

    Sent on 10/29/2017
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Second only to my groom and our family and friends, The Don Cagen Orchestra was the highlight of our entire wedding! I have so many positive things to say that I will just go in chronological order. First, contacting and booking with them was easy and they were really flexible with all of our ideas and needs. They were professional and personable from beginning to end. When it came to the planning process, Becky was available via email and phone and she really helped me make creative musical decisions that turned out perfectly.
    THE BIG DAY I will admit I was a little bit of a nervous wreck but as we arrived to the venue, Becky approached me and it just made all of my nerves go away because I knew that if everything else goes wrong I KNOW that at least the music would be right and that was so important to my husband and I.
    Chitarra played the violin and cello at our ceremony and even accompanied my sister during her musical offering which was a well known song in a different arrangement. They continued the beautiful music into cocktail hour. We requested modern, upbeat music and they nailed it because the ambiance was just perfect.
    Don rocked out one of my favorite songs on the trumpet for our introductions and their song choices for dinner and dancing could not have been more perfect for us. I feel like they totally understand our taste and didn't need much direction with that which eliminated a lot of unnecessary stress from the whole process.
    Overall, the Don Cagen Orchestra was my favorite part of our wedding and it also happened to be the least stressful and most fun part of it too. They are so versatile and they sound AMAZING! I highly recommend working with them for your wedding. Thank you, Don and Becky!

    Sent on 09/12/2017
  • D

    Doreen · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It has been over a week since our daughter's wedding, & we are STILL receiving RAVE reviews about the performance of this outstanding, top-tier band! Over the 18 mos. of planning for this event, communications with Don and Becky were an absolute pleasure. They listened carefully to the bride's and groom's requests and delivered all of them with a smile. We chose the 13-piece band for a perfect range of Genres, vocals, and instruments. Guests were on the dance floor until we had to close down! Additionally, we followed Becky's expert advice on including their violin act, The CoverGirls. WOW FACTOR x 10!! This superb, Pop/Rock surprise performance had all of our guests in shock & awe, ending with a huge standing ovation! These ladies blew the roof off our club!! We HIGHLY recommend this addition to your entertainment! Another highlight, among too many to list here, was Don's use of his EVI, which left us all mesmerized. We have all been on an emotional high for over a week now! Many thanks to Don, Becky, and their unbelievable performers for such a magical, memorable, FUN, and enchanting evening! The epitome of professionalism and musical entertainment!! Sincerely, Don & Daurine Bridenbaugh

    Sent on 10/30/2016
  • S

    Scott · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Two months after our wedding, folks are still asking, "where did you find THAT BAND?' We went into our planning process thinking we'd likely go with a DJ. Thankfully our wedding planner had the sense to talk us out of that. If you looking to create a lively, fun experience with professional musicians - Cagen Music is the way to go. The process was simple and fit our schedule and the night of we couldn't have been more pleased...the dance floor NEVER STOPPED. At first, at 10 piece band seemed excessive, but once we understood that it meant continuous music (no breaks) and such a variety of vocals and sounds we were convinced...Don and Becky didn't let us down.

    Sent on 12/11/2016
  • C

    Cara · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were lucky enough to have "The Big Beat" as our wedding band this past September. They literally brought the house down! We still have friends and family talking about how good they were. Besides the actual even, Don and Becky were amazing people to work with and totally understood our vision from the first time we met and throughout the planning process. I feel like the music can sometimes make or break the evening and I knew I had nothing to worry about once we found "The Big Beat".

    Sent on 12/16/2016
  • C

    Caroline · Married on 09/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cagen Music was the most incredible decision for us! We got married at the beautiful Blackstone Hotel, downtown Chicago, in September and had heard wonderful things about this band. We went to meet Don almost a year before the wedding and he played us some of their music via cd and we were blown away. Well, we were even more blown away the night of our wedding. They are the best band we have ever heard live. So professional, they work the crowd, know all the right beats to get the entire room on the dance floor all night long. The party did not stop!
    Becky and Don are so professional to work with every step of the way. I am Australian (my husband is American) and I requested a Men at Work song to be played and Don made it happen on the night. It was a huge hit and everything was SO memorable.
    They are worth every cent. You can't beat a live band but especially the Cagen's!

    Sent on 09/24/2016
  • B

    Becca · Married on 11/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don Cagen Orchestra is without a doubt the best of the best! Working with Becky and Don was spectular in every way possible. They were both highly communicative and involved with planning. In addition, they understood our wedding vision and were able to turn our dreams into a reality. Becky and Don offered new and unique ideas to make our wedding memorable and perfect. The entire Don Cagen Orchestra had high energy and passion on stage. They even learned a new song to play for our first dance. The violin show during dinner was beyond our dreams and we will never forget it!

    Our wedding guests are still talking about the brilliant and talented Don Cagen Orchestra. You and your wedding guests will remember the Don Cagen Orchestra for many years to come! Thank you so much to Becky, Don, and the entire Cagen Orchestra for making our wedding the best day of our lives!

    Sent on 12/31/2016
  • S

    Suzanne · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a professional and talented group! We were thrilled with the Don Cagen Orchestra. The dance floor was packed all night. My husband’s grandpa who has literally never danced in his entire life did not leave the dance floor once they started playing. After the evening came to an end, his grandma turned to me and said, "this was the best night of my life." The band knows how to read a crowd and keep the energy up. They took the time to learn our wedding song and played it beautifully. Thanks for making our wedding reception a total success!

    Sent on 01/23/2016
  • D

    David · Married on 11/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Yesterday we used Incognito for our wedding in St. Charles. Going into it there's always that fear that the band won't sound as anticipated, but holy cow did they hit it out of the park! The dance floor was jam packed from the very first song until the last song had finished. Every age group was on the floor having the time of their lives and we had countless guests ask us where we found the band telling us they've never seen a dance floor stay so packed. They were so good that after the last song our guests were chanting "one more song!" for an encore.

    Nothing but positive things to say about Incognito and very highly recommended.

    Sent on 11/09/2014
  • J

    Juli · Married on 08/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Cagen Orchestra made our cocktail hour and reception a memorable one! The guests commented that they felt like they were at a concert, loved the music, and danced the whole night. The selection of music was perfect for our guests and exactly what we wanted. The orchestra was able to read the feel of the guests and play the appropriate music to keep the dancing going. The orchestra kept their three violinists until the end with the guests cheering for them. The members of the orchestra made an effort to speak with us during/after the event. Becky and Don Cagen were very personable and a pleasure to work with. They were responsive and offered suggestions without being pushy. We chose to use their Jazz Trio during the cocktail hour, which was enjoyed by all. We chose the 13 member band, including the 3 violins, for our reception. They can perform a wide variety of music from classical to oldies to pop. They even learned/arranged our first dance song and father-daughter song even though those songs were not on their list and played them perfectly! I even had a friend ask if the orchestra would travel for their wedding! I would not have chosen another band or DJ for anything.

    Sent on 08/27/2014
  • J

    Judith · Married on 09/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our daughter's wedding was the highlight of our lives. Don and Becky took us by the hand and walked us through every step of the way. The bride and groom were invited to the Cagan home/studio and given a variety of choices to make for thier "evening. Many phone calls along the way assurd us we were in good hands. The day of the wedding the music at the church was magnificent. Don and his string quartet , made our guests gasp with each new selection. How could we have known it would only get better...The Reception was perfect. The orchestra had everyone on the dance floor all night long. And all night long our guests sang the praises of the musicians. We could not have asked for more. We would tell anyone not to hesitate to use these accomplished professionals. We all felt we had the greatest orchestra in Chicago! Thanks for everything!

    Sent on 11/05/2012
  • User2700403 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Incognito Band (subset from the entire band) from the Don Cagen Orchestra and are incredibly happy with the job they did! The dance floor was full the entire night, they alternated smoothly between music of different generations/genres and, most importantly, we had tons of fun! They also did our ceremony music and dinner music, which also were wonderful. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 10/08/2012
  • J

    Jane · Married on 09/24/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incognito played at my wedding this past weekend and was phenomenal! I was a bit hesitant, as I booked them without hearing them live or finding many reviews on them...but they were a hit! We needed band that would not only sound great, but would also entertain both our younger and older guests by integrating the age groups' music tastes without "sectioning" the music so only the older or younger guests would be dancing at any given time. As you know from attending weddings, that is no easy feat. But, Incognito achieved exactly that. The band even managed to get the older, really traditional folks to dance to Lady Gaga!!!

    Throughout the evening and after the wedding, many of our guests effusively commented on the band. They even learned 2 new songs for our wedding on short notice and BOTH sounded amazing! Leading up to the wedding, I interfaced primarily with Becky Cagen, who, like the band, is just fantastic! She provided the pefect balance of guidance and suggestions to provide us with reassurance and a seemless flow. I highly recommend Incognito for anyone who wants a fantastic band!

    Sent on 09/27/2011
  • S

    Kay · Married on 06/26/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Don's group, Orchestra Chicago. They did a great job and we have received many compliments from our guests.

    Sent on 07/15/2010
  • R

    Roula · Married on 06/05/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Becky & Don Cagen were great! We initially were only going to do a dj but decided that our venue needed the elegance of a band for entertainment. They are very professional & flexible with planning song selections for our wedding. We wanted 2 songs that were not on their list for our first dance & combined mother/son, father/daughter dance and they accommodated our request one week out from our wedding. They recommended having a greek band they work with to come cover that portion of dancing but we already had our dj working on that portion of the dancing. They have a "no problem" attitude to all things music related. They recommended hiring their violinists but it was out of our budget so they included the violinists at no extra charge to us. They provided our cocktail music & dancing from 9-12am. They were great at keeping the guests entertained & dancing throughout the entire the night.

    Sent on 11/17/2010
  • M

    mary · Married on 06/06/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All our guests talked about after our wedding was how great our band was...and...in particular...the 3 violinists who cranked it up as the evening went on...Don and his band were phenomenol...They knew their crowd and played to it...Absolutely fantastic !!! We'd use them again and again for future events...

    Sent on 08/24/2009
  • C

    Carrie · Married on 11/08/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cagen music is one in a millions. Becky and Don are some of the sweetest people I've ever dealt with in business. They're no pressure, want to please and really know their stuff. While they do have their own thing going on, they 'manage' other bands and really have a great thing going. As we had some stipulations as to how large our band could be at the Shedd, they worked with and dealth with all of the minor stipulations and never bothered me once with problems that they may have run across.

    Incognito, the band that played at our wedding, kicked some serious butt. While we did pay extra to keep the music going, they just played their hearts out the entire time! We have been to many weddings in the past year, and it's rare to see people really not ready to go when the lights come on. By the time we were asked to leave, there were so many people still there so pumped to go out from such a great time.

    I'd highly recommend spending the money and getting a class act with Cagen Music!

    Sent on 12/04/2008

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review