Cafe Wha? Band Reviews

54 | New York, NY
See photos, pricing and details

54 Reviews for Cafe Wha? Band

Recommended by 100%

54
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

6 User photos

Cafe Wha? Band 1
Cafe Wha? Band 2
Cafe Wha? Band 3
Cafe Wha? Band 4
Cafe Wha? Band 5
Cafe Wha? Band 6
Sort by:
  • Maryam

    Maryam Shariat · Getting married on 05/04/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Insanely amazing - they *MADE* our party!

    Ben, Hap and the Cafe Wha? team are AMAZING. We worked with them on our organization's annual Gala and survey after survey listed them as *THE* highlight of the evening - and I have to agree! As an event planner, I can assuredly say that this team is PROFESSIONAL and INCREDIBLE.

    Sent on 05/09/2019
  • B

    Brandon · Married on 10/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best of the best

    Cafe Wha? is the absolute BEST!! We booked our wedding around their availability after that played my brother’s wedding. From working with Hap for booking, through meeting your band leader and the day of the event this team is made up of pros. Go to the cafe wha in New York and see this group and you will look nowhere else. The day after our wedding every single guest we saw told us how blown away they were by the band. Thanks for making our day PERFECT!!

    Sent on 10/29/2019
  • D

    Darah · Married on 09/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Unreal!i. Love. Cafe. Wha.

    I've been coming to Cafe Wha? for YEARS and just got married last Saturday and had Cafe Wha as our wedding band. It was single handedly the MOST amazing music, voices, instruments etc. I've ever heard. Kim, Hap and the rest of the team made all of our dreams come true and played their hearts out. Every single person was on the dance floor the ENTIRE night. I couldn't have asked for a better wedding band. THANK YOU!

    Sent on 09/13/2019
  • B

    Bill Gedney · Married on 09/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grand Slam Home Run by the Cafe Wha? Band

    The band was playing as the guests arrived . Everyone went directly to the dance floor, ignoring their table assignments, as the band was already rocking the house ! Everyone was blown away by how great these musicians are. The energy and great vibes were there from the very start and never stopped. The unbelievably perfect band to rock our event. This is the band you want. Period. Many thanks to all of the Cafe Wha? family for making our daughters wedding a complete success !!!

    Sent on 09/25/2019
  • Eliza

    Eliza T · Married on 09/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The absolute BEST band for a wedding.

    Cafe Wha is unbelievable. They had everyone on the dance floor the entire night at our wedding. All of our guests have been raving about them for weeks. They also did an amazing job with our ceremony music. Book them!

    Sent on 10/09/2019
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cafe Wha is the real deal

    Cafe Wha is a fantastic band - not only are they friendly and great to work with, they are truly talented and know how to pump up the crowd. 100% recommend them!!

    Sent on 09/30/2019
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 08/31/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply amazing

    I have been going to Cafe Wha every year since my 16th birthday, so when we got engaged we practically planned our wedding around the band’s availability. They did not disappoint. Hap and Ben were amazing throughout the planning process, and the band absolutely killed it. They were out on the dance floor with our guests- something I really never see other bands do. Our guests are still raving about their performance. They definitely aren’t the cheapest but you really do get what you pay for!

    Sent on 09/09/2019
  • B

    Beth · Married on 08/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best band in ny

    When picking vendors for our wedding, the band was a top priority. We wanted everyone dancing all night and wanted music that appealed to us and our friends (late twenties) and to our older family members as well. Cafe Wha killed it. Our guests are still talking about how good the band was a month later. There was never a lull in the night. Every single musician is amazingly talented and brought so much energy to our wedding night. They are seriously unlike any other elite wedding band out there. Just to give you a sense of how epic they were - at midnight, when the reception ended, the entire 240 person room started chanting "one more song, one more song." And of course, they delivered!

    I could not recommend Cafe Wha more. Ben and Hap were so easy to work with, and made planning fun and seamless. They are 100% worth the price and more.

    Sent on 09/10/2019
  • Zach

    Zach Nipon · Married on 07/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Band in the Game

    The Cafe Wha? band are truly the best at what they do. Since they spend so much time in the Cafe Wha? club, there is nobody better at reading a room, playing to that crowd, and bringing the party to life. They play all genres, create epic mashups, and are just generally great musicians. Every member of the band is a total professional. Quite literally every guest at my party came up to me at some point during or after our wedding to tell me it was the best wedding band they'd ever seen. They're not inexpensive, but they are also not even close to the priciest, so you definitely get your money's worth. Not to mention the whole process of working with hem was easy, seamless and very professional. Truly can't say enough good things about my experience with them.

    Sent on 07/22/2019
  • Rebecca

    Rebecca Goldberg · Married on 07/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The BEST out there!

    Cafe Wha!!!.... Everyone at the wedding could not stop talking about the band! "Where did you find this band? Who is this band?"
    We asked the same thing the first time we saw Cafe Wah at a wedding many years ago- way before we were even engaged. But one thing we knew was that whenever the time came we would be using Cafe Wah. Cafe Wah's performance is like going to a concert. They can play any song and make it their own and in a way you've never heard before. They were just amazing to work with and took our vision and made it come to life. They cater to the crowd and are the absolute best around. They made our wedding!

    Sent on 08/07/2019
    Cafe Wha? Band 7
    Cafe Wha? Band 8
  • S

    Sonali J · Married on 04/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    No need to look further!

    Cafe Wha is an amazing band. Ive followed them for years after moving to NYC and when my organization decided they wanted a band at our annual gala, I rallied hard to get Cafe Wha there and it was by far the best use of our budget. This band is amazing. They know how to read a crowd and they know how to make the event even more special. If you are going to have entertainment at your wedding or event, this is the band that will appeal to everyone in your crowd and that is priceless! Expect a lot of dancing and a ton of compliments from your guests after a night of entertainment from the Cafe Wha Band!!

    Sent on 04/09/2019
  • Keith

    Keith Singer · Married on 04/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly Recommended

    I hired 3 pieces from the Cafe Wha? Band (Kim, Mike and Ben) to serenade my wife and I at a restaurant for our 25th anniversary celebration. They were FANTASTIC ! They certainly left us with a memory that we will cherish for a lifetime. And the hiring, planning, preparation, etc. could not have gone any better as well. It was top-notch--from start to finish.

    Sent on 06/05/2019
  • Danielle

    Danielle · Married on 03/16/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Band!

    The Cafe Wha? band delivered a tremendous performance at our wedding at the Bowery Hotel. In terms of song selection, we largely deferred to the band’s discretion, and they did not disappoint. They managed to please all demographics and kept the dance floor packed throughout the night.

    In addition to being very easy to work with, there are a couple of factors that we thought differentiated the band from others we considered. First, they played continuously, without breaks, for the entire night. Second, you can see the band perform at the club in Greenwich Village before making your wedding band selection, which we did. Given the importance of choosing a wedding band, we found it surprising how few bands we could see perform live. Once we saw the band in person, we immediately chose them for our wedding. It was the best decision we could have made!

    Sent on 06/16/2019
  • K

    Katie Flatley · Married on 01/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved Cafe Wha Band!

    AMAZING performance from the Cafe Wha band at our wedding! They did an excellent job of reading the crowd and playing a wide genre of music, which kept the dance floor packed all night. Ben was very helpful throughout the entire process, he was patient with all of our questions and quick to answer us. The entire team did not disappoint. Music was really important to us and the band was AMAZING. Our guests are still talking about what an unbelievable job they did. Would highly recommend to anyone! Thank you to the entire Cafe Wha team!

    Sent on 02/08/2019
  • James

    James Coker · Married on 12/31/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Five Stars Would Recommend

    We had the Cafe Wha Band play our wedding on New Year's Eve in New York City. They were absolutely incredible. Our wedding had a lot of moving parts and various demands over the course of the night and they were more than accommodating. At our reception, the band infused the room with energy to keep us dancing past midnight all the way until 2AM. They were so good at reading the room for what it needed, whether it be something more upbeat or a chance to slow things down. Wedding guests of all ages were dancing and having a great time well into the late hours of the night. I cannot keep track of how many people told us how much they LOVED the band. Make sure to check them play at Cafe Wha in the Village to get a feel for what they are all about. You will not be disappointed.

    Sent on 01/20/2019
  • Cristen

    Cristen Latzoni · Married on 12/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing band

    We were lucky to work with the Cafe Wha band for our wedding on 12/15. They had a unique way of reading the crowd and playing the perfect songs for the moment. They kept the crowd beyond entertained and even came out onto the dance floor! We received endless compliments on the band. I wouldn't consider anyone else for a wedding band -- they are awesome. Throughout the process, they were easy to work with and very receptive to your needs and requests.

    Sent on 12/26/2018
    Cafe Wha? Band 9
    Cafe Wha? Band 10
    Cafe Wha? Band 11
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 12/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want to make your event, book them now.

    If you're lucky enough that Cafe Wha has your wedding date open, book them. I was very hesitant to shell out the money for a band versus a DJ, but they MADE the party. From beginning to end, people were dancing and having a great time. The band leader, Ben, is a genius at reading the crowd and leading your event logistics. We didn't have to worry about anything, they just took care of the flow of our event and coordinated with all of our other vendors seamlessly. They make songs you love sound better than the original. The key thing is that every band member is a LEAD SINGER, so they never need to take a break. People are still talking about the party we threw and how great the band was. If you are looking to splurge on one wedding vendor, this is the one to do it on. People will rarely remember your flowers, but they will always remember how much FUN they had.

    Sent on 01/22/2019
  • J

    Jodi & Kenny · Married on 11/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cafe Wha Band nailed it!!!

    We could not have been happier with them...they asked us for a list of what music we liked/disliked and absolutely had our guests dancing all night!! We would not have changed anything about our experience w them...from start to finish a real pleasure to work with them...👍

    Sent on 11/30/2018
  • J

    Jason · Married on 07/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Cafe Wha? as our wedding band after having seen them perform in their club in New York City. Their preparation was meticulous and were willing to go above and beyond to meet all of our specific needs. It was imperative to us to have a great band, and we couldn't be happier to have selected Cafe Wha? The band was able to adjust music according to the vibe of the room and had most of the 260 person wedding dancing the entire night. We cannot wait to go back and see them perform at their club.

    Sent on 08/06/2018
  • L

    Laura · Married on 06/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cafe Wha was incredible!! The musicians are so talented and easy to work with. We were so pleased with the music... in fact, our guests are still raving about it, and my guess is they will continue to do so for a while. So many people said, "Cafe Wha was the best wedding band they'd ever heard" - and it's true! We were blown away. I would HIGHLY recommend them for a wedding band. They know how to get everyone on the dance floor and keep them there all night! My husband and I couldn't have been happier with this choice for our wedding.

    Sent on 07/31/2018
  • R

    Rhonel · Married on 05/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you're looking for a sleek, highly stylized, with practiced dance moves, formulaic wedding band, keep looking. If you're looking for a Band that simply brings warmth, amazing talent, has a real life club feel, and can totally rock a room without blowing out your ear drums, look no further.
    Amazing evening.... No one wanted it to end.

    Sent on 05/14/2018
  • R

    Ronnie · Married on 02/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply the best! All of my guests said so! They played different styles of music at the ceremony, cocktail hour, sit down dinner and then a dessert/dance party . They did not drop the ball once. They filled every space beautifully. Working with Ben was a pleasure. He was professional, thorough, and talented! We had so much fun! I can not thank them enough.

    Sent on 03/23/2018
  • R

    Rom · Married on 02/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    During the planning of any event, let alone a wedding, a lot of time is spent doing research, especially for a key expense like a top band. My bride and I were beyond pleased with the level of service and quality delivered by Café Wha: these outstanding musicians had EVERYONE rocking from start to finish. So our little advice would be: go see Café Wha perform a set and book them right away---stop wasting your time researching for a band; you're going to need it for everything else!

    Sent on 02/06/2018
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 11/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring the Cafe Wha band is one of the best decisions we made for our wedding. From the moment we entered the reception, members of the nine piece band did not stop playing for a single second. They learned all of our special request - which ran the gamut of so many genres - rock, hip-hop, oldies, punk, R&B - and they nailed every single one. From Green Day to Kendrick Lamar to Foo Fighters to the theme song from The Golden Girls, they did everything from romantic to Rage Against The Machine and they were unreal all night long. They even mixed songs together, like oldies and hip-hop at once. Everyone we spoke to afterwards raved and said “where did you find that band??” We highly recommend them to all happy, music loving, couples!!!

    Sent on 12/11/2017
  • B

    Blake · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn’t have made a better choice with picking the Cafe Wha? Band! The customer service was remarkable and they made the entire process as stress free as possible! All of our recommendations and requests were taken into account and they rocked! Some of their renditions sound better than the actual artists who made them famous! The band made the night and had the dance floor packed!

    Sent on 11/14/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review