Skip to main content
Weddings

Butternut Farm Golf Club Reviews

Butternut Farm Golf Club View more information

163 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 163
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

37 User photos

  • Carolyn
    Carolyn A. Married on 11/06/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful Experience with Talented Staff

    It took months to find a place as special as Butternut. There are so many great choices for your wedding venue in eastern Massachusetts. We looked as far north as Gloucester and all the way down to Plymouth.

    Butternut had a lot of strengths over the other venues we visited. In no particular order we rated them highly on the following:

    1) Reception and Ceremony are conveniently close for your guest. The Outdoor
    farmer porch cover and Indoor backup options are genius and beautiful. All handicap accessible with elevator access to reception upstairs.

    2) Immaculate grounds for photographs. In Spring/Summer or Fall they have wonderful floral arrangements.

    3) Ease of access for guest traveling to wedding. They are conveniently not sharing any parking with other businesses. Guest will have plenty of parking available ,which was a huge plus over places we looked at closer to Boston. We had no issues setting up a shuttle service to our hotel at Embassy Suites. It's a relief when you don't have to worry about guest hitting traffic!

    4) Vendor's partner relationships - Over time Butternut has developed a well vetted vendor list and we loved each one. They all work together on delivering a most memorable experience for you and your loved ones.
    C-Zone Entertainment "DJ Paul" - https://czonemusic.com/
    Dianne Rockwell the Cake Lady - https://www.facebook.com/people/Dianne-Rockwell-the-Cake-Lady/100057527255777/
    Mugford's Flower Shop - https://mugfords.com/
    Justice of the Peace - Geri Weinstein https://justicegeri.com/

    The only vendor we added separately was our photographer choice, which has experience at this venue and it showed - they'll convince you a first look is wise and it shows in their work
    Cora+Sal Wedding Photography - https://www.corasalphotography.com/

    5) Guest will enjoy all the food selections. Their kitchen is fully dedicated to your event and not splitting time between a restaurant like so many other venues. Friends and family whom attended weddings at Butternut had mentioned their food was excellent and we wholeheartedly agree!

    6) Butternut's staff and their wedding planners (Colleen!) are pros. They are constantly reaching out and will keep you in the loop on all the key decisions during the planning process. One thing that stood out was how thoughtful the staff at Butternut was in 2020 when we ultimately moved our wedding date. They invited us up on our original date and surprised us with a cake and bouquet as a thank you.

    Thank you Butternut! We loved every moment!
  • M
    Michelle P. Married on 10/16/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely stunning

    We absolutely fell in love with this venue the first time we viewed it and knew we had to have our wedding here. They went above and beyond for us and our guests. The service and food was amazing. We couldn’t have asked for a more perfect day!
  • Kaitlin
    Kaitlin F. Married on 08/21/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    9/25/2020 Wedding

    This venue was so perfect - everything set up perfectly, the food was AMAZING, the coordinators and staff were so kind and helpful, and the entire venue was just so beautiful and we could not have been happier with Butternut as our choice! We couldn't have done it without you, thank you Butternut!
  • A
    Allison Married on 07/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wish we could give more than 5 stars!

    We can not thank Hope, Erin and the rest of the Butternut staff enough for making our wedding the best day! When we were first looking for a venue and went to Butternut, we met Hope. She so friendly and made us feel welcome by telling us all about Butternut and answering all of our questions. After meeting her and seeing how beautiful the course was with the pond, the covered bridge and willow tree, we were sold! During the planning process, Erin was always responsive and extremely thoughtful with helping us plan all the details for the wedding day. She truly thought of everything and made up a great timeline for us to follow. On the day of the wedding, Erin's presence and attention to detail were exactly what we needed. She and her team set up all of the details in the room exactly how we imagined. She kept us on schedule and perfectly facilitated everything, starting with the ceremony all the way through the end of the reception. The servers and bartenders were attentive, the food was delicious and all of our guests had a great time! We couldn't be happier with our decision to have our wedding at Butternut and would highly recommend it to any couple looking for a venue!
  • Jami
    Jami S. Married on 07/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Perfect Venue

    Hope, Erin, and the rest of the Butternut team are truly amazing people to work with. After touring the venue with Hope and hearing about the vendor inclusive package, choosing Butternut for our wedding was an easy decision. They made the whole process so seamless including navigating a postponement, continuous COVID guidelines changing, and a tropical storm on the wedding day! We did have to utilize the covered porch for our ceremony which is an added bonus to Butternut especially with the unpredictability of the weather on our day. It really put our minds at ease knowing we had an outdoor rain option and still had the same beautiful background. We chose the stuffed filet and stuffed chicken for our entrees and received so many wonderful reviews. They selected the most wonderful vendors to be a part of their inclusive package and we could not be happier we went with the package. Our guests had a wonderful time and we had our dream wedding!
  • J
    Jennifer A. Married on 05/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Venue Ever!

    Our wedding was literally everything I had hoped it would be!  The flowers were beautiful, the cake was delicious, the music was loud and perfect, and Hope and Erin are absolute life savers throughout the evening and throughthe planning process.  It was the BEST day of our lives!!

    My mom and uncle even said it was (unbiasedly) the best wedding they had ever been to.  How can you ask for anything other than that?!

    The staff at Butternut are the best!
  • Toni
    Toni G. Married on 05/15/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great all inclusive Venue!

    Giving Butternut 5 stars was easy… they hosted our wedding this last weekend, and we had the time of our lives. I received phone calls and comments that the food was the best wedding food they’ve ever had, and the most smoothest run wedding they’ve been to. Just perfect!

    It’s been a long journey… COVID cancelled plans the first time around. We waited right up to the wire before changing the date and BNF was great to work with, super helpful, took suggestions, was always willing to listen, help, and do what it takes to make it happen. They stuck it out and was 100% fully committed. Colleen and Hope were great to work with, and we were so lucky to also get Erin on our wedding day to help out!
  • Gabrielle
    Gabrielle G. Married on 05/01/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So incredible!

    I had the absolute time of my LIFE!!! Everything went so smoothly. Everyone was so helpful all through the night. I could not have dreamt of a better experience! Gorgeous venue, amazing people. We could not be happier with our choice.
  • Matt
    Matt H. Married on 10/16/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Elegant Venue, Fantastic Staff, Picturesque Views

    Thank you Butternut Farm so much for being the perfect hosts to our special day. The 1-click wedding package as well as the great team of Hope, Chrissie Sue and the Butternut staff made the process very easy during a very challenging year of Covid. We can't wait for part 2 at Butternut next year with the rest of our friends and family. We are so so happy we picked Butternut. Thank you! Matt and Melissa Hanks 10/16/20.
  • Krystine
    Krystine Married on 09/19/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfection at Butternut

    Hope and Thalita were absolutely the best to work with when planning our wedding! Everything went so smoothly. All our wedding guests raved about the food, drinks and the service! We highly recommend Butternut!
  • B
    Benjamin T. Married on 08/15/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Butternut Farm COVID Wedding

    Butternut Farm was the perfect venue partner for our wedding. Hope and her team continuously supported us through the entire process, especially as we adapted to the changing COVID guidelines. They helped us select our vendor team, plan for the event, and executed it flawlessly on that day. Due to the pandemic, we changed our original wedding plan to a fourteen person microwedding and Butternut Farm made it extremely special for us and our families. We are especially thankful to Butternut Farm for pairing us with our talented and committed event coordinator Chrissie Sue. She and Hope made our day perfect in every way! Our outdoor ceremony was magical as the backdrop of the golf course makes it the picture perfect location. The hors d’oeuvres and dinner were delicious and the service was fantastic from start to finish. We highly recommend Hope and Butternut Farm to anybody looking for a wedding venue!
  • Josh
    Josh S. Married on 07/19/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfection tucked away

    this place couldnt be anymore perfect ... the level attention and service is beyond measure my fiance was in tears as we left the place absolutely perfect
  • K
    Keryn C. Married on 04/11/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Venue for a wedding!

    This venue has everything you need! It has an amazing staff, beautiful setting and they truly want your day to be so special every minute! There was no stress in planning.
  • L
    Lauren J. Married on 12/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding at Butternut

    My husband and I had our ceremony and reception at Butternut on 12/7/19. We highly recommend this location! We worked closely with Hope and Erin. They were wonderful to work with. Very responsive and helpful! We went with the all inclusive wedding package that they offer and we were very pleased with the price and the options they gave us. We highly recommend this venue to everyone!
  • J
    Jessica M. Married on 11/02/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing experience!


    "Amazing space, friendly staff, and we go so many positive comments on the food. I would highly recommend!"
  • sandy
    Sandy Married on 10/18/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing day such a perfect venue hands down

    There is not enough to say!! WOWWWWW!!! All of my family and friends agree just Wowww!! The most amazing venue and staff I want to cry just writing this!! Everything was perfect and this incredible team at butternut farm made our dream a reality... no complaints whatsoever Erin and Hope are very knowledgeable and know what they are doing and made me feel like a princess with a beautiful
    Wedding that stuck to our budget I couldn’t ask for more
  • T
    Tracy Married on 10/04/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    My wedding day experience

    We just want to thank Erin and Hope for everything. I had the wedding of my dreams and you two were apart of that. Hope thank you for meeting with us and making us feel so loved in the beginning. Erin I truly appreciate everything you did for us on the day on our wedding. The fact you found my nana's pendant that fell off my bouquet meant the world to me. Erin made sure my wedding day went as seamlessly as possible and i appreciate that.
    Thanks again for everything 💕
  • Melisss
    Melisss Married on 09/28/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beyond our wildest dreams!

    From the first meeting Hope made us feel like family! She was understanding and helpful in the planning process. She gave her opinion where necessary... and she didn’t steer us wrong. The day of the event Erin and Linn were awesome! I know there were some hiccups... people showed up that didn’t RSVP.... but they never said a word. They just handled it.
    My wedding was magical and they played a huge part in it. I can’t thank them enough!
  • K
    Kate Married on 09/01/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent!

    We got married at Butternut Farm Golf Club in the fall of 2019 and we could not have picked a better venue. Hope, Erin, and all of the staff were very professional, responsive, and so well organized which made the wedding planning process so much easier than we ever could have imagined. One of the things that stood out to us the most was the one click wedding package. The thought of planning a wedding was overwhelming to us and this package was something different that we hadn’t seen at any other venues and created a lot less work for us as we planned our wedding. Erin, Hope and the rest of the staff handled everything for us on our wedding day, allowing us to truly enjoy ourselves.
  • K
    Kate Married on 09/01/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent!

    We got married at Butternut Farm Golf Club in the fall of 2019 and we could not have picked a better venue. Hope, Erin, and all of the staff were very professional, responsive, and so well organized which made the wedding planning process so much easier than we ever could have imagined. One of the things that stood out to us the most was the one click wedding package. The thought of planning a wedding was overwhelming to us and this package was something different that we hadn’t seen at any other venues and created a lot less work for us as we planned our wedding. Erin, Hope and the rest of the staff handled everything for us on our wedding day, allowing us to truly enjoy ourselves.
  • Sarah
    Sarah S. Married on 08/31/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The most perfect wedding venue!

    This venue was everything we expected and more! We actually ended up getting married a year earlier than we had planned to because of their all-inclusive package. This package included so many things: cake, flowers, DJ, food, beverages and more! I instantly felt less stressed after meeting with Hope and learning about this package. Hope, Erin and Linn were all awesome to work with and were very responsive. The venue itself is gorgeous! We knew we wanted to get married on a golf course, BFGC was our third and final venue tour. Our day was perfect, I would recommend Butternut time and time again!
  • Karissa
    Karissa Married on 08/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Day of Our Lives

    Christian and I can't thank you, Hope, and the staff enough for everything. When we first saw Butternut, Hope was so warm and welcoming, and answered all of our questions. Looking at the photos beforehand, I fell in love with Butternut, but after walking around and talking with Hope we knew very quickly that this is where we wanted to get married. You both have made everything so easy for us, with emails and meetings that we have had, I was sure everything was going to be perfect with the help of you two- and it was!


    Since we first met you Erin, you have been on top of everything. You made our wedding day so perfect, everything was exactly how we wanted it! We were able to be worry free and enjoy the day and have so much fun.

    We keep hearing from our guests that it is the best wedding they have been to :) Everyone loved the venue and the food, and the staff was great!!!

    Thank you sooo much for all that you have done for us, and for making our day absolutely perfect! It has been such a pleasure working with you both.
  • Teri
    Teri Married on 08/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    From the very first meeting with Hope to the details meeting with Erin our event planner, we were both very pleased with their professionalism. They were always quick to respond to any question via email or phone call. When we took a tour of the facility we were amazed at how well they could accommodate both the ceremony and reception all in one location whether we wanted the ceremony inside or outside with backup plans for any inclement weather. Our first meeting to review the schedule was practically effortless due to the excellent guidance of Erin. This included scheduling our tasting, the rehearsal and the actual ceremony and reception. The food was delicious and the serving staff very attentive. They were very gracious and accommodating regarding the special needs of some of our guests. The menu was able to accommodate our vegetarian and gluten free friends and family. The grounds were beautiful. Getting married on September 28 afforded us the luxury of beautiful outdoor photos with amazing foliage in the background, unfortunately it rained on our wedding day. Butternut did such an amazing job with our whole event that we didn't even notice the rain. I took a chance and emailed Erin 2 weeks after the wedding and asked if we could come by some morning and take some photos around the course and they graciously agreed. So not only did we get beautiful wedding day photos, I was able to go back and have my lovely outdoor photos. This to me was amazing. They really go the extra mile to make sure their couples are happy. Erin was very helpful in allowing and planning with me some extra little surprises for my husband to be. We can't say enough good things about the whole facility and the amazing staff. Between the people, the chef and the facility our wedding day was perfect. Our guests are still talking about it. They helped create memories that will be cherished forever. Thank you to everyone at Butternut Farm Golf Club.
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer N. Married on 08/03/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    It was Amazing and took all the stress out of wedding planning.

    From our first meeting with Hope, we knew that Butternut Farms Golf Course was the venue for us. The packages that they offered were exactly what we needed and enabled us to pull off the wedding of our dreams without going over budget. The vendors included with the packages were of the highest quality, and the peace of mind that comes from having settled the vendor question so early in the process was very comforting.

    However, it was the people at Butternut that really sold us on this venue. Hope made us feel right at home from our first interaction. She was incredibly responsive with questions, keeping on top of small details, and made the whole process enjoyable. Lynn was a wonderful coordinator, and I don’t think we could have been so successful with our reception if not for her help and support. She and Erin made sure that the ceremony was on-time, worked with our photographer to get all the pictures we wanted (including the covered bridge shot we really wanted), and orchestrated the reception so well that we even had time to eat our full meals! Both Lynn and Erin were always present, but they were never obtrusive. I don’t know how we would have made our special day without their help.

    If you are getting married, there is no better place than Butternut Farms. I cannot recommend them enough and will continue to tell any friends or relatives currently engaged or planning on doing so in the future that they cannot go wrong with Butternut. They make everything connected to the venue simple, easy, and affordable, so you can enjoy your big day!
  • T
    Tatiana L. Married on 07/27/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great place!

    Great place! Erin was awesome and a huge help! 5 star! they made it easy - you can see why a lot of people choose butternut. Food was amazing, beautiful location and staff was very nice to everyone. The packages they have put together work very well., made it much easier to plan everything. We are very pleased with Butternut Farm team.