Weddings

Bryn Du Mansion Reviews

Bryn Du Mansion View more information

33 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 33

11 User photos

Sort by:
  • Nicole
    Nicole Married on 08/21/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The most beautiful venue

    We couldn’t have had a better venue for our wedding. Bryn Du is absolutely beautiful. The mansion was the perfect size for our 54-person wedding. Bruce and Athena from Bryn Du were great to work with leading up to our wedding. They both were so helpful and quick to answer my questions via email and you can tell that they really care about you and your wedding day.

    Bryn Du Mansion's reply:

    We are so glad your day was all you wanted it to be here at Bryn Du. Thank you for sharing it with us.
  • Lauren
    Lauren Married on 07/17/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    May 2020 Wedding

    My fiancé and I are so excited for our wedding next year. We booked with Bryn Du for the location and size of venue. Both owners were awesome to work with. They understood our busy work schedules. They got us in for a tour that worked for both of us. Quick turn around. May 2020 cannot come soon enough!
  • C
    Charnae C. Married on 07/16/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The venue was amazing

    I couldn't have had a better day!! We were supposed to have the ceremony outside of the fieldhouse but unfortunately it had to be moved in doors due to rain. Athena helped me out so much she was tracking the weather more than me and was keeping us updated about any weather changed. I just loved everything about this venue. Bruce and Athena were amazing to work with!!

    Bryn Du Mansion's reply:

    We are so glad you had a wonderful day Charnae!
    I loved the bright and cheery bridesmaid's dresses they brought, sunshine on a cloudy day.
    Many happy years to you and Anthony!!
  • Leonardia
    Leonardia H. Married on 06/26/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dream Wedding Venue

    The Bryn Du Mansion brought our dream wedding to life. The expansive grounds are stunning and the mansion is beautiful inside and out. The formal garden was amazing for the ceremony. The built in arch is full of natural greenery and white florals. We ended up only using two aisle markers and letting the rest of the garden speak for itself. We used the "secret garden" for our first look and it was magical. It hid us away from any prying eyes and let us really just enjoy that moment before everything else began. All of our guests loved how it seemed to transport you to another place yet felt intimate at the same time. The bridal suite had more than enough natural light for the hair and makeup team and the photographers. Bruce and Athena were wonderful to work with from the initial tour to all follow up after the event. They were always responsive and willing to answer any questions and provide advice when asked. I highly recommend the Bryn Du Mansion if you want your wedding to have that family estate feel and you want to work with people that truly care about your wedding!

    Bryn Du Mansion's reply:

    Thank you for the kind words. You were a joy to work with and we enjoyed helping you make the day of your dreams!
  • Diana
    Diana Married on 09/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful venue!

    Our daughter was married at Bryn Du Mansion in September of 2019. The venue is absolutely beautiful and one-of-a-kind! The outdoor ceremony was held on a paved patio outside the field house. The cocktail hour was held inside the mansion and the reception at the field house. The ladies enjoyed getting ready for the wedding in the upstairs of the mansion while the guys hung out in the carriage house, which was also where the rehearsal dinner took place. Bruce and Athena were fantastic to work with and answered all our questions. Along with Bob, they all pitched in to make sure everything was perfect the day of the wedding. It was a huge help to be able to decorate all day on Friday and then clean up on Sunday morning. Thank you for exceeding our expectations in every way!
  • K
    Kimberly Married on 05/18/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect place for my wedding!

    I got married here last month on May 18th. It was a fabulous day! Both owners at Bryn Du were great to work with and made sure the experience was nothing short of amazing! The venue is beautiful and I was able to make my day exactly the way I dreamt. I would absolutely recommend!
  • Heidi
    Heidi Married on 05/04/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    What a treat!

    Choosing this venue was one of the best choices we could have made. It is a stunning mansion, perfect for our small wedding of 75. Bruce was an absolute delight to work with. It felt sophisticated and intimate at the same time.
  • C
    Chris Married on 09/09/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My daughter got married at Bryn Du Mansion on 09/09/17. It was a beautiful venue. Bruce and Athena who are in charge of the mansion were wonderful to work with. Every time I called with a question they were happy to answer and I'm sure I asked the same questions dozens of times. They were very flexible with everything we wanted to do and had a lot of great suggestions. They have a list of vendors if you need them which was a great help as well. You are able to bring in your own caterers and alcohol which helps you to tailor your wedding and cut down on costs. There are a lot of different options for where you would like the ceremony to take place and having the ceremony and reception at the same location made it so nice for everyone. We rented out both the mansion and the field house but couples have the option of renting one or the other making it more affordable. Many of my friends told me it was the most beautiful wedding they had ever been to and that the venue was stunning. Thank you Bruce and Athena for helping to make my daughters day perfect.
  • Kelsey
    Kelsey Married on 08/27/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bruce (and Quincy) are awesome! He wants to make sure you feel very comfortable before booking and does not pressure you at all. He will answer any and all questions you have (even if you have to ask twice because you forgot what he said the first time). I am so very excited to have our wedding ceremony and reception here! The property is just gorgeous and much better in person! We looked at other venues but I just could't get this one off my mind! We chose the Mansion and are having the ceremony overlooking the front lawn! There is just something about this place that words just can't describe.
  • C
    Cydney Married on 05/21/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our wedding in the field house at the mansion and it was wonderful. It's such a beautiful venue! The ceremony was supposed to be held on the terrace, cocktail hour on the balcony, and reception inside the actual field house. It ended up raining on the day of our wedding so we had to move everything inside but it worked out anyway. We were able to use the stairs inside to walk in for the ceremony and it ended up being a nice touch. The outdoor grounds are beautiful and don't need much decorating, inside the Fieldhouse will need quit a bit of decorating though. But if your like me that's perfect because I wanted to put my own touch on everything! We were able to come in on Friday at any time and get things ready so that was nice. Bruce and Athena are great to work with and such nice people! They are very accommodating, easy to get ahold of, and just genuine people. I would definitely recommend any area of the mansions grounds and I am so happy we had our wedding there!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 11/07/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our wedding here this past September. Bruce and Athena are such a pleasure to work with, and the location is absolutely breathtaking!! Our guest were raving about how gorgeous the mansion and grounds are. We had our ceremony in the formal garden, cocktail hour in the mansion and reception on the pool deck. Highly recommend!!!
  • User2016637 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I just recently got married at Bryn Du in the Mansion with just shy of 100 guests. We got so many compliments on the venue, which is set in Granville, OH on a beautiful and HUGE lot with tons of mature trees and other historical buildings. The mansion captured that classy yet approachable vibe that we were looking for.

    Working with Bruce and Athena (and Quincy!) was wonderful. They are so flexible, unlike many other venues in the area. We got married on a Saturday and we were able to get into the mansion to start setting up on Friday morning, hold our rehearsal there Friday evening, and then we had the mansion all day on Saturday. The flexibility in when we could be in the venue was a major stress relief.

    We ended up working with a caterer and rental company that were listed as preferred vendors for Bryn Du (which I highly recommend since they were SO knowledgeable about the venue and working with Bruce that I ended up having very little to figure out!), but they are very flexible to letting you pick your vendors.

    As far as price, Bryn Du is very affordable and they offer a lot of great amenities. They provide chairs and tables (though you can work with a 3rd party vendor, like I did, to order additional tables and different chairs), they have a kitchen on site, are handicap accessible, have a HUGE parking lot, and are very easy to get to.

    From the beautiful mansion, the expansive land, the great cost, and extreme ease of planning, it was perfect.
  • User1913191 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bruce was very accomodating from the time the venue was booked until we were cleaning up the day after!! He was on site the day before as we were decorating as well as the day of. Athena was also very informative with any questions I had along the way.
    Thank you for thinking of the little things!! They did not go unnoticed!
  • B
    Liandra Married on 09/22/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I chose the mansion for my recent wedding, and we had the ceremony on the front porch with the reception inside the mansion. Both families all live in Columbus or farther, so we were hesitant about the hour drive to Granville, but it was so worth it, everyone was raving about the beautiful setting. We looked in Columbus first at other historical venues and nothing compared, in space, flexibility, value or beauty.

    Biggest pros:
    We could use our own caterer. That was a priority for me.
    We had it ALL day. My girls and I got ready there, we had plenty of time to set up, it was awesome and laid back.
    Beautiful grounds. I'm so excited to get our photos back!
    The venue really made the wedding for me...I wanted touches from eras past, with contemporary whimsy and just a dash of glamour and it was the perfect backdrop. Perfect.
    Just backing up the other reviewers, Bruce is the best.

    Cons:
    I had a Sunday wedding, so I couldn't really do anything to set up before the day of, but I think if you have the first wedding of the weekend it's more flexible.
    The mansion rental comes with tables and chairs. Bur with our guest count at around 125, we had to rent our chairs and a few extra tables.
    The layout isn't very conducive to large groups because it's so spread out. We used the dining room as our buffet, then after dinner our dance floor, and it worked, but people were very crowded trying to get in to watch the first dance, special music, etc. Smaller crowd or no dancing and it would be perfect. Some guests ended up being seated pretty far away from us, but personally I think the rooms on the end (the Solariums, they're called) are the prettiest, so they didn't get it too bad.
  • S
    Sam Married on 08/18/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Upon visiting Bryn Du, we instantly fell in love with the charming atmosphere and the lush outdoor space. We got married on the patio and held our reception inside the field house. Bryn Du is a venue that allowed us to be creative, bring in our own vendors, and also required a true DIY mindset to bring our vision to life. Bruce was amazing - extremely helpful and kind throughout the entire process from our initial booking to clean-up the next day. It was a magical day, set at a magical space.
  • A
    Angi Married on 05/26/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This is one of the most amazing sites near Columbus! Bruce is a pleasure to work with, and the staff is laid back.
  • J
    Jannetta Married on 04/21/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used Bryn Du as our reception site. It's a truly beautiful place to hold any event. Also, you can use a catererer of your choice. We used the mansion, and it's really great, because you'll have the whole first level, with all of the cozy rooms for your guests. Mr. Cramer is a very charming and helpful curator. His assistant Athena is quite wonderful as well and very helpful. If you want a large, romantic, private venue, with beautiful grounds, give this one a try. You won't be disappointed.
  • A
    A Married on 06/04/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I was just married at the Bryn Du Mansion and it was the perfect setting for what we were looking for. LOVED IT! You have the ability to rent either the Mansion or the Field House for the entire day. For being an event planner I truly believe you get the most of your money with Bryn Du.

    The staff is professional and easy to work with. They walk through the day with you and help put you at ease. They were there the entire day and through the night to make sure there were no problems. I was so pleased with their service.

    The best part about the mansion is the view. There is a large polo field in front of the mansion, side gardens and many beautiful buildings on the property that make for amazing pictures.

    I recommend hiring a full service caterer that can bring their own tables, linnens, and chairs. It will reduce your costs and they will set up/tear down their own equipment leaving you and your bridal party to enjoy the evening.
  • Cassandra
    Cassandra Married on 09/25/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    BEAUTIFUL...anywhere you decide to use on the grounds will not be a bad choice! Bruce was so wonderful to work with, and so very helpful and insightful!! I very literally had a dream wedding! We used the fieldhouse for our outdoor ceremony, and our reception was held inside. It turned out perfect. We had the grounds to ourselves as far as another wedding was concerned, so we were able to use the Mansion itself for a number of our pictures!! Absolutely perfect! Highly recommended!!
  • L
    Elisabeth Married on 10/18/2008
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I can't imagine a better place for a wedding! Bruce was so helpful and flexible. We were even able to host a barbecue in the evening for overnight guests at the same location. Everyone loved walking around the grounds and swinging on the swings of the front porch. A perfect place, a perfect day!
  • L
    Leah Married on 09/03/2017
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had a wonderful experience with Bryn Du and Bruce/Athena. We had our wedding in the fieldhouse, which is a beautiful room with wood walls and a high ceiling. We were able to decorate it with a ton of lights, and it looked amazing that evening. We spoke with Bruce most often, who was highly responsive, flexible, and accommodating. He is also very laid-back, which is nice during a hectic weekend. You bring everything in to this venue (food, drink, tables/chairs, decor, etc.), so if that's your thing, this place is the best for it.
  • User1865323 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    Our wedding at The Bryn Du was nearly perfect! I can't wait for our pictures!

    We had a fairly small wedding (~80 guests) and had our ceremony outside in the garden with the cocktail hour on the front porch and reception inside. Bruce or Athena were there to help if needed pretty much the entire day. We had a somewhat limited budget so the mansion was perfect-we didn't have to spend extra money on decorations. The mansion was beautiful as is! However, it's also pretty much a blank slate. Which was great for me! But, be prepared to plan a lot on your own! What was great about that option for me was I had many choices (caterer, florist,Dj) and was able to choose which worked best for me & my budget and I was able to DIY a lot :)

    We utilized the bridal suite which was so nice because all the bridesmaids could get ready and hang out (drinking wine & eating cheese!) but also help set things up downstairs. I never felt rushed or overwhelmed at all. We were lucky enough that the mansion wasn't booked the night before our wedding so the caterer was able to set things up and we could bring things in the day before.

    The venue is a little bit unique in the layout, so the most difficult part was figuring out layout & a timeline, but everything worked out perfectly. The "crazies" had fun dancing in one room and then others could mingle in different rooms. It felt very homey, much like a house party or having family over for a the holidays :)

    The only downside, I would say, is that the great room really can only hold 60-70 people at most, not 80 as they advertise. We planned on 80 guests and a few weeks prior to the wedding, realized we weren't all going to fit in one room. We ended up having to seat a few guests in the solarium which is attached, but a different room.

    Overall, the venue and Bruce & Athena were great and I couldn't have been happier with our big day and choice of venue!
  • M
    M And Married on 11/23/2013
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Reception here the Saturday before Thanksgiving. Bruce and Athena run the place for Granville and are among our favorite people in Ohio now. Very helpful and genuine and happy.

    Had a smaller reception (~60 people) inside the Mansion (vs the Field House). Mansion is the rustic Victorian slice of heaven in most of the pictures. The bridal salon upstairs was a nice escape for bride and sisters, with mirrors and changing areas and a small space to lounge and catch breath. The main areas (2 Solariums, dining room, living room, and a bar/library area (Oak Room), as well as the patios) are beautiful even when empty, and any caterer/florist can make them stunning. Plenty of room to dance, mingle and dine while still being homy and classy. I (DC groom) was worried about finding someplace in Newark/Granville area that would be distinctive and memorable, but one stop at Bryn Du and I stopped looking or worrying about it.

    Mansion is wheelchair accessible (grandma needed it), and very easy to get to.

    Jennifer's review below points out the one "woulda-been-nice" for Bryn Du. They have a kitchen/prep area, but caterer had to more cook/prep offsite than they may have at a big modern facility.
  • A
    Arissa Married on 11/05/2011
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    Great place to get married! we would like to someday plan another event
  • A
    Ashleigh Married on 10/01/2016
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The venue is great ! If you are looking for somethig outside of the traditional venue, this is the place. They give you multiple option for where you can have both the ceremony and reception, and are very flexible to meet your vision!