Bourbon Orleans Hotel Reviews

18 | New Orleans, LA
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Recommended by 99%

18
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • N

    Niccole · Married on 03/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don’t think there are enough words to express how fabulous Alyssa and the entire staff at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel were for our wedding. My husband and I decided to have a destination wedding in New Orleans and were very excited after doing our site visit at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. We immediately fell in love with the hotel and as soon as we saw the ballroom we knew it would be perfect for our guests. And after meeting with Alyssa to go over all the details of our reception, we felt completely at ease and knew we were making the right choice. We had almost a year to plan our wedding and were very fortunate to work with her the entire time. She was VERY organized and quick to respond to any of our questions via email or phone, which made planning a wedding from afar much easier. When our big day finally arrived, we were so excited to see how well everything came together. During our reception we received so many compliments about the ballroom, the staff, and the food…everyone LOVED the food. Everything flowed so well from the time we arrived with our second line to our final dance and we owe that all to Alyssa and the Bourbon Orleans staff. THANK YOU!

  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Let me start by saying I am local and from New Orleans. I wanted a traditional New Orleans wedding at a venue with true ambiance and New Orleans history. I fell in love with the ballroom it is so elegant and classy; from the chandeliers to the crown molding. From the moment I booked the wedding Alyssa the wedding coordinator was so proactive in getting involved in my planning. Alyssa was interested in my vision of my wedding and definitely made that vision a reality. Alyssa went above and beyond and when my day of coordinator backed out the week of my wedding. She took the roll and confirmed all my vendors, I can not thank her enough. Alyssa worked with me weeks prior laying out every little detail of the wedding set up. Alyssa also assisted in helping recommend vendors through all the craziness of planning. She was very prompt with communication through email and telephone. Alyssa spent time sending me photos from previous weddings and layouts. I could go on and on alyssa went above and beyond. Alyssa you made my entry table and last minute candy bar look fantastic!!! . I could go on and on alyssa went above and beyond.As far as the wedding at the Bourbon Orleans was extraordinary and beyond my expectations. Starting Thursday night we were welcomed into a suite with a personal card and complimentary gift from the hotel. The staff consistently check on us leading up to the wedding. The staff at the Bourbon Orleans went above and beyond keeping our rooms clean and accommodating us carrying our luggage etc. The wedding day I could go on and on from the setup to ever detail I got so many compliments on how beautiful everything was. We arrived at the Bourbon Orleans after our ceremony they set up a private dinner in our suite so we could eat before entering the reception. We had a very attentive bridal attendant Kishon who was awesome! The food was amazing shout out to Charles the catering manager the food rocked!!! The staff in the ballroom were so attentive to everyon

  • B

    Brad · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an AMAZING experience having our destination wedding at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. The food, service, atmosphere -- everything was perfect. We worked with Megan who was extremely gracious through months of changing plans and annoying questions. She helped us use every bit of this hotel to our greatest advantage to execute our plans: cocktail hour in Roux, reception in the Ballroom, after party at the Bourbon O, farewell brunch at the St Ann Cottage. She and the rest of the staff at the hotel also worked hard for us to make us feel comfortable and at home, which was desperately needed as a hurricane threatened to derail our wedding plans and we were quite stressed. Thankfully, the hotel and our vendors were flexible, and so we were able to move everything up 3-hrs on short notice rather than cancel (which many other people did around town). Ultimately, I don't believe we could've chosen a more perfect place to celebrate our love with family friends and I can't wait to return many times in the years to come to celebrate our anniversaries.

  • E

    Erin · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want a true New Orleans experience for your wedding, book this venue. Alyssa was amazing to work with! She is kind, accommodating, and very prompt in her responses. My husband and I had visited New Orleans a few times while we were dating and throughout our engagement, so we decided that we wanted to get married there. Weddings can be amazing, but they are a lot of work. Destination weddings add in that additional factor of the unknown, but having Alyssa as our contact made everything so much easier. She provided suggestions for vendors that she had worked with and personally liked. She was happy to answer all of my questions (and I had no less than a million over the months of planning). We had some changes to our guest list in the last month and she was able to make all of the necessary accommodations to take care of us. Alyssa provided great suggestions for the menu selections during our tasting as New Orleans is a "foodie city" and we wanted the New Orleans theme to carry through our meal. She suggested moving one of our selected hor d'oeuvres to a late-night snack, which was a great suggestion and huge hit among our guests. The food was incredible! It's never easy to perfectly prepare meals for a large crowd, but their staff had the experience to bring everything together seamlessly. Since our entire guest list was coming in from different states and countries, Alyssa made sure that all of our guests staying at the hotel had a great experience. The location was also perfect to kick off our Second Line parade between the ceremony and reception. The Bourbon Orleans is a historic hotel, so my husband and I are excited to be able to return for significant anniversaries throughout our marriage. One of the key factors in any wedding or large event planning is working with exceptional vendors. Alyssa and the team at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel are exactly that.

  • C

    carol · Married on 10/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Bourbon Orleans offered everything we needed and then some. From the initial consultation with Alyssa Sheehan who was a life saver, to Adam Gaudry the Food and Beverage Manager, to Charles and Felix and Brittany and the GM, not a single unprofessional moment. The venue is spectacular, the food was great, the service stellar, the execution 100%. Alyssa is amazing! She is organized, kept everything on a perfect time line, and had fabulous recommendations. DJ Dave Cohen, fabulous, Event Rentals for beautiful linens, etc. We had children and they accommodated a special menu within the set menu for the kids. Guests said it was the best wedding they had ever been too! The Bourbon Orleans and the people who represent the hotel are the reason why!

    Sent on 11/08/2016

    Bourbon Orleans Hotel's reply:

    Thank you for the wondeful note! We truly enjoyed working with you on such a special occasion and look forward to having you back as a guest at our Hotel! All my best, Alyssa Shaheen
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 09/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    THE BEST PLACE EVER TO SPEND YOUR WEDDING NIGHT!! Hands down!! First, the hotel is STUNNING!! It is the epitome of a French Quarter Hotel. We had the honeymoon suite and it was spectacular. The suite was a huge loft with a wrap around balcony on Bourbon St and St Ann. The staff at Bourbon Orleans was one of a kind!! They made sure that we had every amenity and their goal was our satisfaction. I would highly recommend staying at the Bourbon Orleans for your wedding night!

  • A

    Amanda · Married on 07/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don’t know where to start…..
    Megan is beyond AMAZING! She made the wedding process enjoyable, stress free and very easy! And I was planning it from another state. From the first meeting we had, my husband and I loved the St. Anne Cottage. We wanted our wedding to be intimate and fun. She and I emailed very often and she always responded quickly. As the big day got closer we would email at least once a day.

    I can’t say enough about the staff. MR CHARLES is AWESOME!!! The executive chief accommodated my food allergy which was greatly appreciated. He even made me a special shrimp appetizer. Going on 2 weeks later I am still receiving compliments on the appetizers and main course that were served. I got the chicken which was beyond delish but the pork chop had everyone talking. And it was not a little pork chop… it was HUGE! The bar… ahhhhh the bartenders made great drinks!

    The Bourbon Orleans is in great location so there were many options for our wedding guest. The room was always clean, huge bathroom and comfy bed.

    From the moment you open your car door at the valet you feel so welcome! Every person we came across was very helpful and you could tell they generally cared about us being happy.

    We are planning on going back in July 2016 for our 1 yr. anniversary. The hotel is beautiful and great location but the staff makes it a great place to stay!

    Thank you Megan and all the staff for making our wedding amazing and memorable.

  • K

    Kandice · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Megan was a pleasure to work with! My entire wedding was perfect! I would recommend this highly the location! Thank you for everything!!

  • B

    bETH · Married on 12/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Bourbon Orleans Hotel and, most especially, our wedding coordinator, Megan, were wonderful to work with and provided us a fantastic experience, which helped us make the wedding and reception one of the best days of our lives. In advance of the wedding, Megan was tremendously responsive (which was important since it was a destination wedding for us) and provided an excellent list of preferred vendors. She even intervened to convince one vendor to take us on, even though it was a busy time for that kind of service in the city. We were married in St. Anne's Cottage (one of the venues at the hotel), which perfectely suited our needs; the food was excellent and the decorations were perfect. Moreover, as we went through the rehearsal and event, when we said "oops, we did not think of that" Megan stepped in with very helpful recommendations. She also coordinated with each vendor before, and during the event to ensure that everything ran smoothly. The hotel accommodations, location on Bourbon Street, and pricing were excellent for our group, and the hotel made it very easy for the wedding party to make reservations, etc. All-in-all the Bourbon Orleans Hotel, and Megan, were the best choice we made for our event. We highly recommend them!

  • M

    Margie · Married on 08/03/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having our wedding at the Bourbon Orleans!!! I was so incredibly happy with the Bourbon Orleans Hotel & their private events coordinator Alyssa! Our wedding was everything we could've hoped for and more! Down to every detail, special request or random question Alyssa was there to help us and work with us to make our stay and wedding day exactly what we wanted! We had our reception there as well as a block of rooms and they made us all feel like we were the most important people visiting that week. It was amazing! The Ballroom is absolutely gorgeous and gives you that true New Orleans feel. As well as the location and proximity to everything your guests would want to do can't be beat! Everything is right there! Service was wonderful, rooms were a great size & clean and most importantly everyone had a BLAST! We couldn't have been more pleased with all the organization and the way the details of our wedding came together. Best. Day. Ever. Would recommend to anyone!

  • J

    Jeannine · Married on 08/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I picked this hotel because it was in the heart of Jackson Square. My husband & I took a day trip to visit the hotel. It was perfect. We were planning a small ceremony. I met Megan, she was going to handle everything from food to service, since we didnt reside in New Orleans. The hotel staff was very accommodating. Everything, every detail was perfect. I wish I could do it all again. Thank you Bourbon Orleans Hotel for my fairytale wedding.

  • A

    Abby & Karla · Married on 10/08/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our wedding room block at this hotel and it was great. Everyone was very attentive and super nice. The location can't be beat either. I would def. recommned this hotel to anyone visiting NOLA.

  • nellemae

    Nell · Married on 07/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our ceremony and reception at the Bourbon Orleans in the Orleans Ballroom and I couldn't have been happier. The Orleans ballroom is a beautiful backdrop for either your ceremony or reception with antique furnishings and gorgeous chandeliers. We didn't want to get married in a meeting space, and this ballroom definitely is a place of celebration, not just boring old conferences! The staff was amazing, including the wedding coordinator (it is free with the reception). That alone was worth having the wedding there because I always had someone to contact directly if I had any questions, and also on the night of the reception, someone who took care of all the little things that you don't want to think about on your wedding day. The staff cut our cake for free (don't be fooled, some places charge a hefty fee for this), the food was delicious, and we recieved so many compliments from our guests on the venue. The Bourbon Orleans also has longstanding relationships with a lot of the best vendors in New Orleans, so they can recommend trusted vendors that they know will deliver. The best part of the Bourbon Orleans, however, is the location. Right between St. Louis Cathedral and Bourbon Street, it is within walking distance to everything your guests could want to see/eat/experience. Our guests are naming our wedding the "best wedding ever" because of the venue as well as the ability to experience New Orleans first hand by staying here. If you're undecided about where to host your French Quarter wedding, take a look at the Bourbon Orleans!!

  • User6310975 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Bourbon Orleans Hotel made our wedding dreams come true! As a semi-destination wedding, Megan was amazing to work with long-distance, and she answered ever question and query with a short response time. She and the hotel were amazingly flexible in helping us come up with the perfect menu, and the catering staff was a dream. From the moment we stepped foot on the grounds, Megan was there to help us unpack decor, decorate, coordinate with my family, break down, and overall be absolutely magic for us. The Bourbon Orleans Hotel is by far not the cheapest option in the Quarter, but the venue (St. Ann Courtyard/Cottage- breathtaking!), the food, the suite (also gorgeous), the staff, and even the bar (O- great cocktails!), made our event appear even more expensive than it really was! Be prepared to have an Old World wedding in a gorgeous city, with an attentive staff and wildly competent planner/coordinator. Our guests still haven't stopped talking about the food or the venue.

  • L

    Lisa · Married on 05/20/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding reception at the St. Anne's cottage at the Bourbon Orleans and it was amazing!
    The cottage and courtyard were beautiful and intimate. The service was exceptional and Megan helped us every step of the way.
    We would highly recommend a wedding here and had the perfect day ourselves!!
    ??

  • J

    Julee · Married on 08/29/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am SO glad I had my wedding at the Bourbon Orleans. We had the ceremony in the courtyard and the reception in the Ballroom. Everything was absolutely flawless. I wish I could go back and do it all again! Our event planner was Alyssa and she was an absolute lifesaver. She was always so quick to respond to everything and on the actual day of the wedding, I was so relieved to know that she was there taking care of everything so that I could relax and ENJOY.

    I gave only 3 stars for value here because yes, the place is absolutely beautiful, but with their 23% service charge and tax on top of that, everything here gets VERY expensive, VERY quickly. It's a huge hidden cost. I don't think you should have to pay 23% service charge on a "room rental fee." Also, my Dad rented the Governor's suite for THREE nights so that we would have plenty of room to get ready the morning of the wedding. With the cost of the entire wedding PLUS the cost of the governor's suite, you would think that the Hotel would at least comp his valet parking charge (even the bell man agreed), but they did not. This is something simple they could and SHOULD give to the bride's father and mother.

    However, I'm still glad I decided to have my wedding here. The facilities are amazingly beautiful and everyone working for the hotel was very kind and accommodating during the entire weekend. The food at the reception was absolutely delicious!!! I wish I could come back and order the same food we had served again!! We hardly got to eat any of it, but the little bit we did get to try was delicious, and all of our guests complimented us on the food. The day after the wedding, we checked out of the hotel, but we were allowed to stay as long as we wanted so check-out time was completely up to us (which was really nice!!!). We can't wait to come back here next year to use our 1-year anniversary coupon and reminiscence about our perfect day!!

  • User3688616 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The food was not up to par. The only thing that was really good was the catfish according to many guest. The gumbo tasted scorched. Also, the hotel decided to pass out food versus having buffet stations which was what was on our contract due to space limitations from decor. My husband and I were not notified. Plates were not prepared for the bridal party or my parents or parents of the groom. There were only 2 stations and the hotel passed out all of our food without notifying is. Guests was under the impression we only served appetizers at our wedding. My husband and I never noticed because we had so much fun and actually didn't eat at the wedding. The band kept us busy as well as our guests. We love the hotel but felt there should have been communication. I was wondering why several guests in the front of the ballroom had empty plates... Sigh.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review