Bonnie Castle Resort & Marina Reviews

8 | Alexandria Bay, NY
See photos, pricing and details

8 Reviews for Bonnie Castle Resort & Marina

Recommended by 91% of couples

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.1

Awards

8
Order by:
  • K

    Kim · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was September 10, 2016, Angie and staff were awesome! We had a memorable ceremony on the gazebo, and a magical reception in the Home of the Stars! Food was fabulous our guest still continue to rave about it. Many have said it was a wedding they will never forget! Angie and staff made sure everything ran smoothly, because we wanted a Sunset wedding we had a strict time line to work in and we did. We managed to get our ceremony and pictures capturing the magic of the St. Lawrence and their beautiful sunset in before the rains hit. We surprised our guest with a choreographed first dance, which Angie helped us pull off. We spent four months taking dancing lessons for our dance at Fred Astaire's dance studio in Fayetteville, NY. When a I contact Angie in early July and asked is there anyway we can get in the room and practice our dance, she instantly said absolutely. Without that practice time on the actual floor I know we couldn't have pulled it off. Thank you Angie you are awesome.

    Sent on 01/25/2016

    Bonnie Castle Resort & Marina's reply:

    Oh, Kim! I am just seeing this! Thank you so much for the lovely review! I really enjoyed helping to make your dream wedding come true. Love you both!
  • User3935581 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our reception outside at Bonnie Castle in a tent along the water's edge. It was the most beautiful spot right across from the beautiful Boldt Castle and turned out so much better than we could have ever imagined. Bonnie Castle catered our wedding hors d'oeuvres, dinner, and bars and provided all the staff to do so. Our food was fabulously presented, and was served hot and delicious. We got so many compliments. We did an open bar that went so smoothly, the bartenders stayed until the last people had left the reception. The staff was extremely professional and courteous, it made our day so much better because we did not have to worry about anything because they had it under control. Angie, the event coordinator at Bonnie Castle, was present the whole time and made sure everything ran smoothly and that everyone was happy! She was also there for the whole planning process and was always available for questions and/or concerns that I had along the way. She did a fabulous job and was a true pleasure to work with!

    Sent on 08/14/2015
  • E

    Erin · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding here this past May and it was better than we could have ever imagined! The event planner made the event run smoothly and handled the day of details which allowed the Bride to relax and enjoy family and friends. Our guests raved over the food and the venue is absolutely gorgeous!! If you're considering having an event here, stop considering and book it! I promise you won't regret it!!

    Sent on 01/20/2016

    Bonnie Castle Resort & Marina's reply:

    Thank you so much Erin! Angie LOVES being a part of every wedding here at Bonnie Castle. We are all very honored to have been a part of your special day and hope to see you around the river soon.
  • User3563224 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our ceremony and reception were both outside on their land right by the water's edge. It was perfect with amazing backdrop of Boldt Castle and Sunken Rock Lighthouse. The open area to the right of the boat ramp perfectly fit our huge 60x80 tent with plenty of room for cocktail tables out front between the water and the tent. The land was just perfect.

    Because our reception was on their land, we needed to purchase our liquor through them - the prices were what you would expect from a resort. The bar staff was wonderful and kept us in the loop with our tab. We decided to do an open bar through the end of dinner and the bartender kept us updated on our tab as we approached our budget limit. The transition from open bar to cash was seamless - we never had to think about anything but enjoying our day.

    Sent on 07/09/2014
  • User2188895 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    At the beginning of my wedding planning I chose a venue that held a great sentimental value for me with the most beautiful view, although it was very dated and needed much love and care, and a really good cleaning. 50 days before my wedding I had learned there was to be new owners, after knowing the previous owners most of my life, I was very scared even with my contract. My first meeting had me scared that everything I had planned was going to be changed, due to lack of communication, between staff. However, after meeting the new owner Cindy I realized how much she was willing to put into my wedding, she went above and beyond for me and my husband. They began work on the property right away after their purchase some of which was going on as my guests arrived however that took nothing away from our day or our guests experience. Anything I asked was considered and seen to if it could be done, broken window shades taken down, Christmas lights with missing bulbs were replaced, cleaning, my flowers replaced their silk arrangements throughout the main building etc... Three days before my wedding water damage caused a spot that needed major repair the day before the wedding you would of never known anything had occurred. There is stress in every wedding but Cindy and her crew went above and beyond to put any of my stresses to rest. This place is in the process of major face lifts and repair, but I cannot wait to see what it becomes. My husband and I are already planning our 1 year anniversary there.

    Sent on 08/26/2012
  • User6249794 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything went very smoothly, it even rained and everything still worked out exactly how we wanted. There were no issues or problems and everyone had a blast! The view is amazing and the st Lawrence is such an amazing river to be married and celebrate next to! Very pleased with our special day!

    Sent on 01/22/2016

    Bonnie Castle Resort & Marina's reply:

    Thank you Aurora! We were so honored to be part of your wedding day! That 20 minute delay allowed us to wait until you had beautiful blue skies and sunshine for your ceremony!
  • C

    Carrie · Married on 05/20/2007

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bonnie Castle is a beautiful place for a reception. They also rent out an original paddle wheel boat for a reception cocktail cruise, shuttle to Boldt Castle, or what I did- a wedding ceremony! The view of the castle from the Florida Room is spectacular, and rooms are half price to guests. Food was some of the best I have ever had. My only complaint was that I requested open soda and water all day and they wanted to treat me to a sit down (which was highly courteous of them, because the room I booked could not accomdate a sit down dinner, only a buffet) so they asked what my guests wanted to drink personally. However they were understaffed for the event so the drinks were lacking, but they only charged me for the drinks that my guests recieved. Otherwise, it was one of the best experiences of my life!!

    Sent on 11/12/2007
  • User4057446 · 2+ years ago

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Could of responded sooner on some emails.

    Sent on 09/08/2014