Blue Heron Restaurant & Catering Reviews

40 | Sunderland, MA
See photos, pricing and details

40 Reviews for Blue Heron Restaurant & Catering

Recommended by 98%

40
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious food and wonderful service!

    We have Blue Heron caterer our wedding on 9/22/18. We tried the restaurant before we started seriously looking for a caterer and was blown away by the food and the service we got. We know from that day we needed them for our big day. Fast forward to the day of the wedding the food was delicious! Our guest couldn't stop saying how amazing the food and service was. The staff was wonderful! They were so friendly and helpful. We loved everything. Thank you for being part of our big day! We can't wait to go back for another dinner at the restaurant.
    Mr. & Mrs. Lord

  • I

    Isabelle · Married on 09/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't rave enough about the Blue Heron!! We hired them for our wedding and they were exactly what my husband and I were looking for- excellent farm to table food, supported by top quality professionalism.
    The food is absolutely fantastic (and I am a hard critic, i live in NYC where I have very high standards for food quality) It was also beautifully arranged and served.
    I was pleasantly surprised when they brought their own flowers to beautifully decorate the tables with- which our guests thought we had done and were complimentary of. They helped set the tables and did a gorgeous job. Their end goal is the same as ours, to make a beautiful, communicative, generous loving event.
    From the very first communication with them, to the day of, it was nothing but professional, friendly and fantastic to work with. I was blown away by their service. Additionally they helped make the day run so smoothly by providing a day of catering coordinator- it went up and beyond what I expected of a catering company.

  • M

    Michael · Married on 07/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone loved the food at our wedding. We had vegans and omnivores! Many of our friends are foodies and so are we. Everyone was happy. It was delicious and wonderful. They use high quality ingredients that are local whenever possible. All of the food was well prepared. We especially enjoyed the chorizo appetizer, the cheeses, the sirloin with tomato jam and red wine demi glace, the polenta with mascarpone, and summer greens. The provencal vegetable tian (vegan) was really good. They made our cake and it was delicious and beautiful. They covered it with live flowers from our florist. The catering manager Shannon was so kind to us and extremely helpful. The table was set beautifully and they followed our instructions perfectly. They helped us with finding some extra items we needed to rent for the table, which was so helpful! The service was well timed. The servers were polite, nicely dressed, and very helpful. They really went the extra mile to make sure everyone had everything they wanted. Also, my wife loves coffee and says their coffee was very good, which was pleasantly surprising because catering coffee is usually not very good. I know we're supposed to say something critical to make the review sound real, but there just isn't anything. 5 big stars!

  • Z_Runner

    Zaida · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at the Blue Heron on June 24th, 2017. The entire experience, from ceremony to cake cutting, was amazing, not only from our perspective but from all of our guests perspectives as well. The décor, food, and drinks were indelible and exceeded our expectations. However, what really differentiated the Blue Heron for us was the staff. Shannon and her team (Dana, Dalila, Gabe, Bella & Ben was the bartender. Catering Chef Dave and Bobby(catering cook)) worked tirelessly all day until fairly late in the evening in order to turn our vision into reality. The staff was professional, attentive, efficient, and genuinely warm to us and every single one of our guests. Shannon even made sure that there was a staff member who could communicate in Spanish with the bride’s family.

    As far as the planning, we worked primarily with Shannon on the itinerary, floor layout, menu, and decorations. Shannon also brought Chef Dave in on several occasions to help us optimize the menu. Shannon did a superb job coordinating everything and working with us. Looking back on the experience now, what really impresses us was that Shannon listened and understood what we wanted for our wedding and then was able to use her experience to guide us in an unobtrusive manner. There was an instance where external influences caused us to deviate from our vision and Shannon was there to make sure we stuck to what we wanted. The end result was an experience that embodied our vision to the fullest extent.

    The food was spectacular! Reason #1 to have a wedding at the Blue Heron and (like always) it didn’t disappoint! Everything from the bacon wrapped dates, salmon crostini and strawberry caprese to the main dishes was beyond what we had anticipated. Everyone’s dietary needs where met. We highly recommend the Blue Heron for your wedding.

    Thanks for making our wedding night amazing, Blue Heron!


  • K

    Kate · Married on 01/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Upon our first meeting with Kendra, Shannon, and the team at Blue Heron we were totally sold. The space is cute, spacious, and fit our vision for a romantic New England winter wedding so perfectly. We rented the entire restaurant, and had our ceremony and reception upstairs in the hall. The cocktail hour downstairs was incredibly cozy. What put it over the top was the FOOD. The food is so good. We had about 100 guests and every one had an unbelievable time, the staff was so fun, and the wedding went off without a hitch. We knew we were in good hands with Kendra and Shannon and they were helpful and responsive the entire year we spent planning the wedding. Even when I was stressed or confused about something, they were there to help and guide us through it. - Kate and Mike 1/14/2017

  • M

    Megan · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    While the Blue Heron is a pricier option in Western Mass, it was worth every penny! We basically saved the cost of a wedding planner/day-of-coordinator because Kendra was so helpful! She was over accommodating as we planned from out-of-state. She set up a wonderful menu tasting, as well as a cocktail tasting when we had to make some last minute changes! The chef was very flexible to meet the variety of dietary restrictions in my family from vegan and gluten free, to nut and soy free-- and everything was still delicious! We had the option to bring in our own cake (we actually did pies from Atkins farms), provide our own liquor, as well as pizza for the kids, which dropped the price significantly...but not the service! As the bride, I had nothing to worry about the day-of; Kendra took care of everything from setting up chairs for the ceremony, to arranging centerpieces on the tables for dinner, even the tables for the favors! The service was swift and friendly all night and the bartender kept everyone happy. I highly suggest to Blue Heron to anyone, any event!

  • L

    Lizzy · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just want to start by saying that Blue Heron has already built a reputation for itself by providing world class food, and it did not disappoint when catering our wedding. Kendra, who was our liaison with the restaurant was incredibly helpful. She went out of her way on numerous occasions to be sure that we were getting everything that we wanted. Together with our wedding coordinator, Kendra ran a seamless night that was nothing short of spectacular. We couldn’t count if we wanted to, how many people came up to us and commented positively on how incredible the food was. The most fun part of the entire process had to be the tasting at Blue Heron, where we were treated like royalty and were able to fill our bellies with unbelievable food. All said and done, Blue Heron is top notch. From their attention to detail, to their comforting support through the process, to the obviously delicious food. We would recommend anyone getting married not to hesitate choosing Blue Heron, we are very glad that we did.

  • T

    Tam · Married on 08/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We wanted a casual and laid-back reception with amazing food and that's exactly what we got with Blue Heron. Kendra was easy to work with, knowledgeable, and very helpful. The staff was incredible - professional and fun. The whole process was smooth and painless. It was a great experience and everything turned out perfectly. We would highly recommend Blue Heron.

  • M

    Mandy Lyn · Married on 06/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kendra and the staff at The Blue Heron made our wedding reception PERFECT! The food was amazing and always is, the restaurant is beautiful and every detail was taken care of on our special day!

  • T

    Tara · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you're going to have a wedding in Western Massachusetts, you cannot beat Blue Heron Restaurant for catering. The food is sourced locally whenever possible and the quality is very high. My husband and I are very happy that we went with their services and would highly recommend them to others!

  • User6052393 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Blue Heron provides exceptional service, delicious food, and a professional approach to their catering services. While planning our wedding, I didn't worry about whether or not they would deliver an amazing spread. I had been to their restaurant many times and knew their level of service is second to none. Our wedding guests were extremely happy with the food and, even six months later, they're still talking about it! Kendra and her team are true pros and I couldn't have asked for a better experience. I highly recommend them for your wedding!

  • B

    Brooke · Married on 02/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Blue Heron is an amazing place to have a small/medium reception. The entire staff was amazing, the food is exceptional (and farm-to-table!), and the location is beautiful. It also could be as low-maintenance as you like, if you are looking for a simple, but elegant and delicious catering option.

  • C

    Cari · Married on 09/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot recommend Blue Heron Restaurant & Catering highly enough. Two months after the wedding we STILL have people raving that the food served at our reception was the absolute best food they've ever had at a wedding. The staff was so thorough, helping to coordinate all the rental details, decorating, and management of the reception -- especially Kendra Nielsen. The servers were extremely attentive and courteous. The food was unbelievable! My husband and I plan to return to the restaurant for our one year anniversary dinner. I cannot wait to revisit that grilled salad and squash souffle!

  • A

    Alyson · Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The entire experience of having our wedding reception at the Blue Heron was absolutely fabulous! From our first meeting with Kendra, where she asked questions to determine who we were and what we were interested in, until the clean up at the end of the reception, every interaction was pleasant, helpful, and friendly! I loved how flexible the team was and how they could create an event that was uniquely us--the menu we had was fabulous and everyone raved about the food! The ambiance and beauty of the reception room was elegant and we only did minimal flower arrangements as the room was already so gorgeous. We had a separate room for the kids/breastfeeding moms and Kendra and her crew set it up with books and toys for them. It was a great way to have the kids feel welcome and included, yet not distract from important moments. Kendra had fabulous suggestions, but she was always clear that it was our day and our decision. She was available to meet us before the day of the wedding to set up the AV equipment etc. On the wedding day, I knew I had nothing to worry about! I just had to get myself and my guests to the Blue Heron and everything would run smoothly! It certainly did! You won't regret hosting an event at the Blue Heron or having them cater for your off site event!

  • User4055729 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Blue Heron catered our small family wedding (19 people). I was afraid they would be upset by the small size of our kitchen. But they were so positive in improvising wonderful solutions to any problems we foresaw. They were very professional and friendly. I felt totally at ease with them working around us. The food was presented beautifully and was so delicious! They used many of our platters and glasses and even washed them - staying late to make sure everything was taken care of to our total satisfaction. I couldn't imagine a better experience! It made the day fun, delicious and carefree! I unreservedly recommend them!

  • S

    StephAndDex · Married on 09/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Blue Heron did a phenomenal job catering our wedding. Kendra was so easy to work with and very responsive (which was a HUGE help as we were planning the wedding from California). The day of they went above and beyond - bringing me apps while my bridesmaids bustled my dress, constantly filling my drink, and making a to-go platter of desserts for us to take back to the hotel because my husband was afraid I'd be too busy to appreciate them. They even warmed up the chocolate chip cookies because that is the only way I like them. The food, service, and team are amazing.

  • K

    Kristen · Married on 08/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Blue Heron team completely exceeded our expectations for a wedding caterer. From day one, Kendra and her team were wonderful to work with, and helped us design a menu that was comprehensive from food, to signature drinks, to overall design of the day. In addition to the amazing food choices, BH served more like a full service wedding planner; helping us with rentals, napkins, and design elements for our wedding. The service the day-of was impeccable and we had many guests raving about the food. Throughout the entire process, Kendra kept everything under control -- true to her word, if anything went wrong that day, I (and my guests) had no idea. :)

    I should also note, we were so in love with BH that we decided to hold our rehearsal brunch at the restaurant the day before. The event was awesome, we had a ton of compliments on the brunch and were really happy with our decision to do it there.

    If you are hesitating, don't! Blue Heron was one of the best choices we made for our wedding, and they were worth every penny.

  • User2564262 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious, attentive, artsy, fabulous! My wedding was upstairs in the Great Room at the Blue Heron. Guests kept commenting about how accommodating and attentive the servers were. They chased people out the door with cake when they had to leave early! No problem when guests wanted to change their meal selection. They kept great tabs on who had allergies and who was vegan. The filet mignon "melted in your mouth," according to one of my guests. All the food was fresh and delicious. When I did not eat my entire meal, the waiter asked me if everything was OK and then wrapped it up for me for a midnight snack. We felt like we were famous!
    During the entire planning process, Kendra was so helpful, honest, and very accommodating of our budget and other needs. She was available by email, phone, in person, and talked with my family members who were helping me plan the wedding. In the words of the groom, "They treated us like royalty."

  • C

    cynthia · Married on 12/23/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Blue Heron catered my wedding dinner in my home. It was an elegant and intimate evening, and their assistance from menu planning to clean up was thoughtul and highly satisfactory. Most important to me was, of course, the amazing food. A caterer who is invested in supporing the local farming community - yet produces an exceptional product by the most cosmopolitan of standards - was what I hoped for; Blue Heron did not disappoint. My menu included appetizers (scallops, lamb liollipops, and brie en croute) and arguably the best duck entree I have ever had. I would not hesitate to recommend their services, and look forward to our next dinner at the restaurant.

  • A

    Ashley · Married on 09/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Blue Heron recently catered my wedding. I have nothing but OUTSTANDING things to stay regarding their food, service, and professionalism. Everyone at the wedding (and still now) was raving about how wonderful the food was! I can't wait to go back home to visit the Blue Heron and have another tasty meal!

    Kendra is absolutely amazing. She gives you great ideas and makes planning your wedding go so smoothly and easy. She checked in many times throughout the wedding to assure my husband and myself were having a good time and to see whether we needed any food/drink.

    They have the best staff anyone could ask for. People are still talking about the amazing bartenders today. They really are service first!

    If I ever have to cater another event, I would 100% use them again! They are the very best!

  • V

    Victoria · Married on 07/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My experience with the Blue Heron was beyond amazing. Not only did they cater my daughter's wedding, but also provided an excellent brunch on Sunday morning, equally as wonderful. Kendra was a dream to work with-so professional. She handled everything so I was able to enjoy the wedding without a worry, and could spend Sunday brunch with my guests. They worked hand-in-hand with my wedding venue to make it not only a very memorable experience, but a beautiful one. Words cannot express what a perfect job Kendra did. I cannot commend the Blue Heron without speaking about the food. I am a chef myself and can say this was the best food I have EVER tasted at a wedding.Months later people are still speaking of it. It was high-end restaurant quality. The tenderloin melted in our mouths and the salmon was butter soft....unbelievable. Hats off to Deborah and her team for producing a product that people still talk about. I would be remiss if I didn't mention the wait staff. My guests were hugging the staff at the end of the evening because they appreciated how special the staff made them feel. They were stealth in their service, one never really saw them, and never did they interrupt a conversation between guests. They catered to every single guest, every single guest request, and did it with the elegance and decorum expected of a fine restaurant. It takes many people to make an event successful and I know the work and training it takes to get this level of service, something we don't see much of these days. Nicely done Blue Heron, YOU WERE AMAZING!

  • User2646213 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I recently had the Blue Heron cater my wedding. The food was amazing and I still hear about how great it was from family and friends. They were able to accommodate what I wanted for set up and worked well with my other wedding vendors. I don't think they could have been better and more professional.

  • S

    Steph · Married on 10/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great venue!! We shopped a few Western Mass wedding venues and didn't want a country club or hotel. The second floor room was a gorgeous place to host the reception (our ceremony was on top of Mount Sugarloaf across the river). Everyone raved about the food and service.

  • J

    Janine · Married on 09/18/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding was absolutely perfect thanks to Blue Heron. Barbara's planning was amazing, and Deborah's food was beyond divine. They helped to transform the apple farm where we got married into a gorgeous french garden. We are approaching our one year anniversary and all of our guests still rave about the food. We will definitely be using them for future family events.

  • A

    Aileen · Married on 09/10/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Blue Heron was always my first choice to cater our wedding and they exceeded my expectations! We have used them for other smaller events within our family and plan to use them again when the time comes to plans another event. A huge thanks to everyone at the BH for making our day perfect.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review