Skip to main content
Weddings

Blue Avenue Groove Reviews

Blue Avenue Groove

Blue Avenue Groove

Brooklyn, NY
5.0 out of 5 rating, 31 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
31 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
100% Recommended by couples

Awards

31
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • G
    Gideon O. Sent on 11/22/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Next Level Wedding Band

    Blue Avenue Groove made our wedding so special. Practically every guest told us that Blue Avenue Groove was the best wedding band they had heard. They were so easy to work with, and accommodating of our specific asks. Hire this band if you want a wedding where everyone gets down on the dance floor!
  • Elizabeth
    Elizabeth W. Sent on 02/20/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Blue Avenue Groove: The Perfect Wedding Band!

    We can't recommend Blue Avenue enough! They were the perfect choice for our wedding reception and provided an unforgettable experience for us and our guests.

    From the moment we first contacted them, Blue Avenue Groove was professional, responsive, and attentive. They worked closely with us to customize our playlist and helped us select the perfect music for every part of our special day from ceremony to reception.

    On the day of the wedding, their performance was absolutely amazing - they kept the dance floor packed all night long with their high-energy music and amazing vocals.

    Not only are they talented musicians, but they were also incredibly accommodating and flexible. They seamlessly adapted to last-minute changes and song requests from both us and our guests.

    Overall, Blue Avenue Groove exceeded our expectations and provided the perfect atmosphere. We would highly recommend them to anyone looking for an exceptional wedding band. Thank you Blue Avenue Groove for making our wedding truly special!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • B
    Bess D. Sent on 10/31/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely amazing

    Blue Avenue Groove played at our wedding earlier this month and we’re INCREDIBLE!! The dance floor was filled the entire night!! Our guests had such an amazing time and a big part of that is thanks to this band! The singers and musicians sounded absolutely amazing! Many guests said it’s the best band they’ve ever heard/seen at a wedding!! I can’t say enough good things about them!
  • Benjamin
    Benjamin B. Sent on 07/13/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best time of my life

    Do you want your guests to have fun at your wedding? Do you want everyone on the dance floor, telling you all night that how incredible the band is? Hire Blue Avenue Groove. They will knock your socks off with their music, the singers are unbelievable, the musicians are total professionals. They're responsive and will cater to your needs. They even let me sit in with them for a few songs on guitar. They brought the house down and I can honestly say it was the best time I've ever had. Stop reading this and hire them already!
  • Alex
    Alex B. Sent on 07/02/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Band!

    Blue Avenue Groove was incredible! Every one of the musicians was top notch. All our guests were raving about the band on the night of the wedding and days after. We requested that the band particularly focus on Motown classics and the band really delivered. Will was great and responsive in the run-up to the wedding, even as we had to reschedule around Covid. We could not be more happy with the music and the experience. They really made our day special. Highly recommended!
  • M
    Mark F. Sent on 06/02/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    They were perfect for us and our wedding!

    Will, Jon, and the rest of the band were amazing! We had a small wedding because of ongoing restrictions due to CV19, and Will worked wonders with us to reduce the band to just guitar, bass, drums, and vocals. This made us a little nervous, but Blue Avenue Grooce absolutely killed it our wedding. All of our guests raved about the band. Jon's voice especially is stunning beautiful. Can't recommend the band enough! Thanks so much, guys!!

    - Alexandra and Mark Fishman 5/31/21
  • M
    Meredith W. Sent on 09/22/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing all around!

    Absolutely incredible! I cannot say enough good things about Blue Avenue Groove. Each band member was so talented and sounded incredible. Many of my wedding guests who are trained musicians said it was the best wedding band they ever heard. Will was exceptional to work with and really took the time to understand our taste and preferences, and made excellent recommendations as well. They are top notch in every way!
  • S
    Sarah G. Sent on 09/21/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best band

    Will and Blue Avenue Groove were everything and more! From the day we sent an inquiry up until the day of our wedding, Will was extremely responsive and super helpful. My husband and I are both musicians, so having a great band for our wedding was a top priority. Blue Avenue Groove delivered 10000000%!!! They made our wedding day so much more special and we are so grateful for that. Our guests said they were the best band they’ve seen at a wedding and they truly are. Amazing amazing stuff! Definitely book them for your wedding, you will not regret it. I just want to go back!!!
  • J
    Jonah K. Sent on 03/20/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Wedding Band I've Ever Heard

    What I love about Blue Avenue Groove is that they let their high level of musicianship speak for itself. Whereas other bands often compensate for average musicianship by doing over-the-top antics that provide lots of "show", these guys are truly badass musicians, to the point that they don't need to force things - the music carries the day (and they look good doing it too). We heard feedback from countless guests, saying that it was far and away the best wedding band they had ever heard. They also went above and beyond the call of duty, accommodating a very last minute request for "All I Want For Christmas is You", by learning and rehearsing it on their drive down to VA from NYC. The three singers Jon, Sami, and Leah are off the charts! We couldn't have been happier with our choice to hire Blue Avenue Groove.
  • J
    Jessica F. Sent on 10/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Book This Band!

    Music is a huge part of our family's life, and actually was my husband's major in college, so we knew having an epic band was a must at our wedding. While looking online, the minute we found Blue Avenue Groove, we knew the search was over. Every member is an exceptional professional musician who will make your night even more memorable then you can imagine. It seriously felt like we had our own personal concert! They played for our ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner and of course reception. While we couldn't stop dancing, at times we just wanted to stand there and listen to their awesome talent. Will was so easy to work with and knowing the caliber of his team we just picked our 3 personal songs, named our genre of music and left them to do the rest. We didn't even want to see the set list before the wedding because we trusted him completely to own the night and he did!
    Save your time, stop looking and book this band. They will exceed all your expectations.

    Blue Avenue Groove's reply:

    Thanks so much Jessica. I’m glad you and Maxwell noticed the musicianship and love between the band. What an amazing wedding!

    Wishing you the best,
    Will
  • S
    Shana Sent on 10/06/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing band!

    We absolutely loved having Blue Avenue Groove play our ceremony, cocktail reception, and reception. They were amazing and helped us think through every detail. They learned all of the music that we needed them to, were professional and most importantly - kept the crowd dancing! They even mixed in some songs that we weren't expecting but that the crowd loved. A+ all around -- we wish that we were getting married again this weekend so that we could hear Blue Avenue Groove play again!
  • E
    Erica Sent on 10/14/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best dance party ever

    My husband and I wanted our wedding day to feel like the best party ever, and Blue Avenue Groove made that happen for us. We knew they would be a great addition to our wedding, but we were totally floored by the standard to which they performed. They provided a jazzy saxophone and keyboard duo for cocktail hour, then an 8 piece band for the reception. (Don't skimp on the brass!) Jon and Sami's vocals blew everyone away and got the party started! We received so many compliments and inquiries from our guests, wondering who these talented, beautiful musicians were and where we found them. Thank you to Will and the band for bringing funk, soul and fun to our wedding day!
  • A
    Astrid V. Sent on 09/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great band!

    Blue avenue groove played our summer camp wedding, and boy did they bring the party! EVERYONE was up dancing, and many guests came up to me specifically to remark on how great the band was. They are extremely talented people and they sounded amazing. They also were very helpful and flexible when, during the reception, we found out we had given the caterers and the band different schedules and conflicting information. They communicated really well with my groom and I, and everything went smoothly despite our mistake. 100% recommend them.
  • J
    Jordan S. Sent on 08/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible wedding band

    Can’t say enough amazing things about Blue Avenue Groove. Will and his band were absolutely amazing and we got a ton of compliments from our guests. At one point I even noticed the bartenders watching, and one pulled me aside saying they were the best band they’ve ever had at the venue! They were an absolute pleasure to work with and I’d recommend them to anyone looking to knock their wedding out of the park. True professionals in every sense of the word.
  • Peter
    Peter W. Sent on 08/06/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Blue avenue groove rocked the house

    "Where did you find your band?!"

    That will be the refrain after your wedding if you go with Will and Blue Avenue Groove. I know, because that is all my wife and I have been hearing from our guests. Blue Avenue Groove were consummate professionals, easy to work with, and extremely talented to boot. They had the whole party rocking, and everyone danced their socks off. I honestly cannot recommend them more. We have a friend who is getting married next year, and they have already reached out to get Blue Avenue Groove's contact information because they loved them so much. Make your life easy; just pick Blue Avenue Groove to be your band and enjoy the party! Thank you so much to Will and his team of incredibly talented performers!
  • H
    Haley Sent on 05/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome wedding band!

    Blue Avenue Groove just played at our wedding in Long Island City and did a fantastic job. They were very easy to work with, were able to play our requests super well, and everyone kept asking where we had found them! We had Sami as our vocalist and she was awesome, could really belt it out!
  • J
    Jesse E. Sent on 06/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome funky wedding band

    We were extremely happy that we hired Blue Avenue Groove as our wedding band. First, the wedding involved a number of logistical complications, including multiple transitions between different locations for cocktails, dinner, and dancing, some special requests on the first dance song, and my band using their equipment to play a couple of songs. They handled all of these logistics smoothly so we didn't have to worry about anything.

    And then second, they put on a fantastic show, especially wowing the crowd with some funk power and a singer than can really wail. Everybody loved it, and it was just what we were looking for.
  • M
    Marianne Sent on 07/11/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My daughter and her (now) husband are professional musicians, and half of the guests at their wedding would be serious musicians, so it was important to get a first-rate band -- which Blue Avenue Groove was, and more. They were -- by far -- the best band I have ever heard at a wedding. More than being excellent musicians, they energized the whole crowd, which ranged from a five-year old, who could not stop dancing, to post-70s folks, who had not danced in years. People have been telling us ever since the wedding what a great band Blue Avenue Groove is. Do yourself a favor and hire them
  • M
    Meaghan Sent on 06/17/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Blue Avenue Groove was truly one of the best parts of our wedding. I don't think I've ever attended a wedding where people were more motivated to dance, and that's all thanks to Blue Avenue Groove's incredible musicianship, emceeing flair, and true professionalism. My husband and I are both musicians, and were getting really disheartened by how many wedding bands seemed like bad karaoke outfits. We could tell from Blue Avenue Groove's demos that they were really making all these classic songs their own - while still making them extremely danceable, and we couldn't be happier that we hired them. Will was extremely accommodating and flexible with our requests, from agreeing to play a song with my dad sitting in on guitar to switching the father-daughter song last-minute when my dad broke his wrist. Will and the sound technician (Billy, I think) also helped accommodate a late request from me to perform with one of my bridesmaids, and seamlessly set up microphones for us to play cello and sing in the middle of the reception. Every single musician on stage was top-notch, and the singers did an especially great job guiding the flow of the reception and making all the transitions super-organic! They're also incredibly reasonable as far as bands go, and in my opinion worth far more than they charge. At least 50 or so of our guests were professional musicians, and every one of them (as well as the non-musicians in the crowd) commented on how amazing the band was - I only wish we could get married again so we could have another Blue Avenue Groove dance party!
  • K
    Kathleen Sent on 06/02/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Five stars are too few for a band as talented as Blue Avenue Groove!! Their music was the highlight of our wedding and booking them was the best decision we made. We had a lot of trouble finding a band that was willing to stray a little bit from the classic wedding tunes - that is, a band capable of prioritizing rock music, without sacrificing a healthy mix of pop, funk, and Motown. We had almost given up hope, until a friend recommended Blue Avenue Groove. Immediately after speaking with their band leader (and talented bass guitarist), Will Kencel, we knew we found what we were looking for! From the beginning, the band was incredibly flexible and easy to work with. They offered a range of ensemble sizes and options. We ended up booking an eight-piece band (including male and female singers) for the reception and a trio for the cocktail hour, and the price was beyond reasonable for what we received in return. Will was incredibly receptive to learning multiple special requests, and even emailed us a preliminary setlist to tweak and edit. Our guests were blown away by their sound and their style, especially their amazing singers, and the feedback was universally positive. The band’s energy kept people dancing all night - no one wanted to miss a song!

    If you’re reading this, stop what you’re doing and book Blue Avenue Groove for your wedding!! You will be forever happy with your decision. Don’t delay! The soundtrack to your big day will be exactly as you envision it. We cannot thank them enough!!!
  • Emma
    Emma Sent on 10/24/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I contacted Blue Avenue Groove after hearing their promo video, which really showcased their musicianship and made them stand out among other similar bands. The bandleader Will was always prompt in his emails back to me, and was kind enough to fix any last-minute snafus (one singer was suddenly unable to perform, so he magicked a new one and sent me her promo video as well). All in all, the band were very friendly and brought some serious funk and energy to the night. I have gotten dozens of compliments from guests about their setlist and talent!

    This band has the flexibility to perform in multiple ensemble sizes (ie, horns vs. no horns) and has a full setlist plus a giant list of replacement songs. The pricing structure is very reasonable (please note my price includes the full 8-piece band plus a sound engineer), and any fees are easily described via a conversation with Will.

    I'm so happy I booked Blue Avenue Groove--they kept us dancing all night! Well done everyone!

    -Emma
  • A
    Aaron Sent on 10/07/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Every single member of this band is extremely talented. Super versatile. They have a great ability to keep the energy of any event high. Highlight of our wedding
  • H
    Heidi Sent on 07/31/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Choosing the right band for you from a different country is a huge challenge, but when we found Blue Avenue Groove we knew right away that they had the sound we were looking for. Our wedding was a cocktail style reception and our musical taste was laid back, groovy and something that our guests could tap their feet to, moving into something they could dance to if they wanted. Blue Avenue Groove blew us away!!!! I do not mean that lightly - they were absolutely outstanding! All our guests loved them - we have received so many compliments on our choice of band.
    Lead by Will, the Band Manager, his passion for what he does is so clear and I think this is what makes him brilliant. Sami was our vocalist and her voice is like velvet! The guitarist was fantastic - his riffs had everyone cheering! The drummer was fabulous! The whole band really made our wedding incredibly fun.
    Thanks so much Blue Avenue Groove - we can't recommend you highly enough!!
  • A
    Adina Sent on 07/22/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We can't say enough about Blue Avenue Groove. The group played our Wedding in July and it was a great event. Our guests couldn't stop talking about the band and most came up to us afterwards to tell us how much they enjoyed the music. The group is made up of outstanding musicians, their two lead singers Jonathan and Sami are nothing short of amazing, and they really groove. Will was great to work with, he was all over the the event details- ran by set lists ahead of time with us to craft a great lineup of soul/funk/R&B classics with a few newer tunes thrown in, and was happy to have my husband (a drummer) sit in for a number of songs which delighted the crowd! If you book Blue Avenue Groove for your Wedding you won't be disappointed.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours