Skip to main content
Weddings

Blake Artistry Reviews

Blake Artistry

Blake Artistry

Pittsburgh, PA
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
54 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
100% Recommended by couples

Awards

54
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

17 User photos

  • Stiffany
    Stiffany W. Sent on 12/29/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutley amazing!

    Wow! I have sever social anxiety and I was very nervous about hiring anyone for makeup and hair. They made the whole process so easy! Lots of fun, in a very calming way. And the results were superb! Astounding!

    Michael and Jenny really listened to me. They asked a lot of questions and really go to know me. Then they made recommendations based on the what I wanted and what I needed for the photos.

    Michael and Jenny worked so well with all of my wedding party and even the grandmother's (who were dubious about a man doing their makeup) wound up loving them. Michael gave them skincare and makeup suggestions and now they want hin to go shopping with them.

    The hair was exactly what I wanted and lasted all day without the curls falling out.

    When it came time for the ceremony, I had a panic attack. My whole family and party were already in the ceremony. Michael held my hand (literally) and walked me to the aisle telling me jokes and keeping my mind occupied so I could make it down thd aisle.

    I'm so thankful for both of them. They made my wedding day.

    I highly recommend!
  • Dizzandra
    Dizzandra L. Sent on 01/03/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic people and very professional.

    Michael and Jenny were awesome! They are easy to get along with and will make your experience very enjoyable. I hired both for my wedding on November 19th, 2023. My flower girls are under 10 and they handled them excellently. They included them and made them feel just as special as myself and my party did. They are very efficient and managed to finish everyone way before the wedding (my mom, my brother mother in law, grandma in law, maid of honor, two bridesmaids, two flower girls, and myself) (brother and mother in law only had hair done). My wedding was at 6pm, we planned to be done by 5:30, we started at 11am and finished at 4:30. I met Michael in WV for my trial, but had the wedding in Pittsburgh. I have rosacea and he taught me some tricks to help keep my flair ups at bay and was able to work with it the day of the wedding. I did not have a traditional wedding so I was happy that Michael had some unconventional colors to play with that worked wonderfully with my black dress and green veil. In WV, I can’t find anyone that is great with curly hair, but Jenny was awesome! I’m so thankful that I found them when I did because they made my day special.
  • Kimberly
    Kimberly G. Sent on 01/01/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Top-notch hair and makeup services.

    I recently had the pleasure of working with Blake Artistry for my son's wedding. The level of skill, creativity, and professionalism that they brought to the table was truly exceptional. Not only did they listen carefully to my preferences and vision, but they also added their own expertise and artistic flair to create a look that exceeded my expectations. Their attention to detail and passion for their craft was evident in the final result. I left feeling beautiful and confident. I would highly recommend this talented team to anyone looking for top-notch hair and makeup services. Thank you for making me look and feel amazing!"

    Blake Artistry's reply:

    We all loved working with you, Dizz and the whole group. Such great energy radiated in that room. Any time you need anything, I hope you'll remember us, except maybe with septic work, I wouldn't trust me with that ;).

    Hope to see all of you again soon!
    Happy New Year also!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • J
    Jessica Sent on 12/31/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    It was almost almost a nightmare….

    Michael turned my wedding day woes into a fairytale. Despite dress mishaps and missing attendants, Michael’s presence transformed everything. His warmth and talent made me feel like royalty, instilling a confidence I never knew I had. The airbrush makeup he crafted for me and the three bridesmaids who made it was flawless—absolutely stunning!

    Michael wasn’t just a makeup artist; he was the shining star of my day, second only to my wonderful wife. His professionalism, warmth, and skill made all the difference. I’ve already recommended him to two friends eagerly awaiting their weddings next year! Can’t wait to work with him again in April! Thank you for everything!

    Blake Artistry's reply:

    Jess!

    It was the greatest honor and privilege to work with you! I am so happy I was able to help make your day brighter despite all of your woes. You're mom may have permanent lung damage from those botched alterations on her dress, but we managed to vacuum-seal her in it! We wound up having so much fun despite the challenges you were facing and turned some negatives into unnecessaries!
  • L
    Leanne W. Sent on 12/31/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Michael made everyone feel beautiful!

    Michael is a really fantastic makeup artist that made everyone feel beautiful, including me, on my wedding day. He did my makeup as well as two bridesmaids and my mom, everyone's makeup was well done and lastest all night. I would recommend Michael to anyone looking for a makeup artist for their wedding!

    Blake Artistry's reply:

    Leanne, you have to be one of the absolute sweetest and fun people! I absolutely loved getting to work with you, your husband, and your whole party! Please, stay in touch!
  • A
    Allyson F. Sent on 12/31/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Love this vendor!

    Michael made this whole experience very easy! I was really unsure about having help with my hair and my makeup for my wedding, now it is impossible to imagine not having Blake Artistry at my wedding.
    I really felt heard. Michael asked a lot of questions about my skin, my wedding plans, my wedding dress, my normal makeup and my vision of my look for my wedding. He talked to me through every step of the process and explained why he was going what he was doing. When he showed me my look it was exactly what I wanted! It is like he could read my mind.
    Jenny, took my inspiration photo and a half hour later my hair looked exactly like the photo. I looked like I had so much more hair than I really do. She had me laughing the entire time of the practice.
    They were early to my wedding and made the party. They are both so much fun, and yet so professional. Everyone loved them and we all received so many compliments on our makeup and hair. My hair and makeup lasted all day, and the makeup lasted through all my tears. I didn't even have to retouch my lips in 16 hours!
    I really hope that everyone chooses them. You won't regret it, and they won't break the bank.
  • Sonique
    Sonique H. Sent on 12/30/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Very Easy to Work With

    Blake Artistry is the best. Michael was very responsive to all of my messages and answered all my questions within minutes of texting him.

    He asked a lot of questions and I really felt like he got to know me, and what I wanted. He made sure I understood how makeup works with flash photography and my photos turned out great! Also, I really felt like myself on my wedding day, not a painted caricature of me. The makeup was so light, I forgot I was wearing it, and yet, my oily skin did not affect it.

    He is so sweet. Everyone in my party loved Michael and his stylist Jenny is amazing. I would highly recommend them to anyone getting married that likes a natural look.
  • Rebecca
    Rebecca R. Sent on 12/31/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Confidence Boosting

    Where do I begin? Working with Michael from Blake Artistry was an absolute delight! From the moment I sat in his chair, I knew I was in for a treat. is His expertise and artistry are unparalleled. Just go ahead and text or call him 412 418-5821, you'll be thankful you did.

    Not only did he flawlessly execute the look I envisioned, but he also took the time to understand my preferences, ensuring I felt comfortable every step of the way. His attention to detail is remarkable; every stroke of the brush felt purposeful and precise.

    What truly stood out was her ability to enhance my features while still keeping the makeup natural and radiant. The compliments I received throughout the event were a testament to her talent.

    Apart from his incredible skill set, his warm and friendly demeanor made the entire experience even more enjoyable. He created a relaxing atmosphere, making me feel pampered and confident.

    I highly recommend Blake Artistry to anyone in search of a talented, professional, and personable makeup artist. Thank you for making me feel like the best version of myself

    Blake Artistry's reply:

    Thank you, Becky! You're being way too kind! You were so much fun to work with! I can't wait to see you again!
  • S
    Samira P. Sent on 12/30/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    WAY above and beyond! Amazing!

    WAY ABOVE and BEYOND!

    I want to say first off, Michael should be sainted. I'm a very particular person, and the little old ladies at the Hindu Temple can be very controlling.

    I think Michael would do just about anything for anyone. He was VERY flexible and accommodating even though we didn't make it easy on him.
    We had our wedding in Pittsburgh for our families even though we live in D.C. Michael offered to come to D.C. for the practice but I just could not ask him to do that. He moved his schedule around for the night of the rehearsal for my practice. Although I had only half of the time he asked for he managed to do my practice and then change my makeup for the rehearsal dinner for free.
    My husband forgot his saffron colored tie, and Michael could tell I was stressed over this. Without asking he drove from the practice to Nordstrom, Nordstrom Rack, and Sak's Off 5th to look for a tie. He took pictures and sent them to me. As it turns out, that color was out of season, but I have no doubt Michael would have purchased the tie and brought it to us for the rehearsal.

    The day of the wedding we all looked gorgeous and felt like we had nothing on. The makeup lasted all day and night in the rain and humidity.

    The women at the Hindu Temple harassed Michael. He never grumbled, he just smiled and changed whatever they thought should be changed with my makeup. (I don't know why I let them bully me out of the look I wanted for my wedding, but I did). He managed to get everyone done on time for my wedding despite my makeup taking three times as long as he scheduled due to all of the unnecessary changes.

    The wedding started before Michael could sanitize everything and leave. He stayed in the ready room until after the ceremony so as not to interrupt.

    I can not say enough how wonderful he was and how much he did above and beyond what any other makeup artist would have done.

    We all really loved him and hope to have him do anniversary and family photos in the years ahead.

    If you want to truly kind, sincere, helpful a makeup artist, you will never beat Michael at Blake Artistry
  • M
    Macrina H. Sent on 12/31/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Outstanding work-Awesome Experience!

    I couldn't be more happy than I was with Blake Artistry. Michael was so accommodating to my large group and he made us feel relaxed and comfortable while making us look fantastic. He also had his timing down and kept us on schedule. We had a wonderful experience!!

    Blake Artistry's reply:

    Jenny and I loved working with you so much! Despite me being a ("dumb@zz" wedding practice joke) and pulling into the wrong driveway! You are so blessed everyone in your wedding party was so much fun to get to know!
  • Debra
    Debra D. Sent on 04/27/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing hire him

    Michael was incredibly prompt. He worked very well with me not being a makeup person. He explained what he was doing and why. He helped me feel comfortable with the whole process. He made me so beautiful I could hardly believe it was me. He didn’t load up the make up he brought out my natural features. My girls who love make up and glam. He did them up extra and they were beautiful glam princesses. They were so excited I can’t tell you the amount of selfies and tic toc transition that were done. No matter what you are looking for Michael can make it happen.
  • Jessica
    Jessica D. Sent on 12/31/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Don't miss out call them now!

    Michael from Blake Artistry is an absolute gem in the world of makeup. Our wedding day was a whirlwind of emotions, styles, and skin tones, and he navigated it all with sheer brilliance. His talent, adaptability, and genuine passion for his craft were beyond compare.

    We had an incredibly diverse group with varying skin tones, styles, and skin types, and Michael didn't just meet our expectations; he exceeded them in every possible way. From very fair to very dark, from dry to oily skin, and from natural to dramatic styles, Michael was a magician who knew exactly how to bring out the best in each of us.

    His ability to listen attentively to our desires while offering expert suggestions showcased his professionalism and mastery. Michael didn't just apply makeup; he painted confidence on our faces. His attention to detail was impeccable, ensuring that every stroke of his brush was purposeful and enhancing.

    The true testament to Michael's skill came when my husband saw me. His tears of joy and the speechless expression on his face said it all – Michael had not just transformed my appearance but had captured the essence of our love and happiness in his art.

    Michael's warmth and calming presence were a godsend on a day filled with nerves and excitement. He not only made us look stunning but also helped create an atmosphere of comfort and ease, making the entire experience unforgettable.

    To say that we loved Michael's work is an understatement. He didn't just make us beautiful; he made us feel seen, confident, and utterly radiant. His talent is unmatched, and his dedication to his craft is truly awe-inspiring.

    Thank you, Michael, from the depths of our hearts, for making our day more magical than we ever imagined. Blake Artistry is truly fortunate to have a talent like you

    Blake Artistry's reply:

    Oh, thank you so much Jess! I loved working with you and getting to know you! Wishing you so much luck with your life and military career! Thank you so much for your service and please say "hi" from time to time especially if you wind up in our humble little corner of the world again!
  • R
    Rebecca T. Sent on 10/27/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful service!

    Michael did such a great job with my bridal makeup and the entire bridal party. He was fun and knew exactly what he was taking about. Would definitely recommend him!

    Blake Artistry's reply:

    It was so nice getting to know you and I'm honored I could be a very small part of your memories! I hope to see you again soon!
  • T
    Toni Sent on 10/03/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Outstanding

    Highly recommended, if I lived here they would be the only ones I would go to for my hair and make-up. The atmosphere was that of friends. They where amazing. Thank you for making the morning of my wedding start off with so much fun.
    I don't wear make-up and was worried about feeling like I was wearing a mask, but I honestly felt like I had just washed my face, the makeup was so light looked amazing. My Bridal party where so happy and felt like we had made two more friends.
    Jenny was amazing our hair was on point and helping us get ready was more than we could have ask for.
    Thank you from Toni, Melissia,Jess, Ariel and Little Amelia

    Blake Artistry's reply:

    Toni,

    Jenny and I were absolutely honored to have been a small part of your special day. All of your friends and you were absolutely amazing to work with. We had so much fun and we're so happy you loved the results!

    We hope to see all of you again someday.
  • K
    Katya G. Sent on 10/10/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Makeup!

    We had such a great time with Michael. He was lovely to work with and the overall experience was fantastic!

    Blake Artistry's reply:

    Katya,

    It was so great working with you and your party! I hope you had an amazing wedding and I hope to see all of you again!
  • A
    Ashley C. Sent on 10/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding makeup

    Chet was amazing!! He was always responsive to messages, he come to my house twice for makeup trials, and he absolutely charmed everyone in my family on the day of the event and made sure we all felt our best. I felt beautiful but also natural which was exactly what I wanted. I would recommend him to anyone!
  • C
    Clara C. Sent on 07/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing work!

    Chet-Michael was amazing! I had a hard time finding a makeup artist willing to travel for just two people and Chet-Michael was willing to accommodate my needs and did an amazing job too! Highly recommended!

    Blake Artistry's reply:

    Oh, thank you so much Clara, I really loved working with you and your mom! The pleasure was all mine!
  • S
    Sammi B. Sent on 09/29/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful experience

    This was my first time having my makeup done professionally, and let me tell you, he knocked it out of the park! Air brushed everyone's makeup, took the time to get to know us as he was doing the makeup to see what kind of personalities we all had so our makeup would be fitting to us not just color wise. Unbelievably kind, funny, and made everyone feel so relaxed amongst the craziness of a wedding morning. I can't recommend Blake Artistry enough!
  • Julia
    Julia Sent on 05/21/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Made me feel beautiful for my special day!

    Chet is the best. He is friendly, personable and talented. He listens to your preferences and makes you look your best on your terms. He also helped me find the best hair artist (Jenny) and together, they made me feel like a princess!
  • J
    Jesse Sent on 09/27/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Chet is THE BEST. He and his team did makeup for my wedding for about 8 or 9 of us, and each one was absolutely stunning. Chet is super responsive, talented, professional, and as a bonus, has the most awesome sense of humor. He helped all of us feel totally comfortable and at ease. Chet was amazing at talking me through the whole process and helping me decide the right look for my day. He even managed to somehow coordinate the color palette with colors in my dress! Chet is seriously that creative and detail-oriented. He takes a great deal of pride in his work and it clearly comes through. I felt like a total babe after he finished my makeup, which is how a bride should feel, right? Thank you, thank you, thank you for helping me feel like a glam goddess on my wedding day!
  • M
    Maggie M. Sent on 10/24/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Wedding Makeup Ever

    Best wedding makeup ever! Chet was amazing throughout the whole process- from answering all of my questions to helping my mom and I with makeup trials to the wedding day. He did the makeup for myself, my 6 bridesmaids, my mom, my sister, and a friend- and we all looked amazing and still like ourselves. I have never felt prettier in my whole life! And on top of that, he was extremely nice and caring- I was getting pretty emotional by the time I had my makeup done that morning and by the time I was finished in the makeup chair, I felt calm and totally at east. He had me laughing the whole time. He also had a wonderful assistant, Celeste, and she was amazing too! I can't recommend them highly enough!
  • S
    Sherry Sent on 08/04/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Chet knew exactly how to make my whole wedding party at ease he is so compassionate and caring. Anyone that books with chet will be so pleased hes one great guy.
  • J
    Jennifer Sent on 05/30/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Michael did a fabulous job with my makeup and my daughter's. He listened to me and did exactly what I wanted but offered wonderful suggestions as well. Highly recommend!
  • A
    Amy Sent on 07/12/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Chet is AMAZING!!!! My wife and I both had different approaches. My wife knew exactly the look she wanted, and he delivered. I on the other hand, had no clue, so I left it up to his choice. My only specific request was to address a physical personal defect and he completely delivered. He was so easy to talk to. When the big day arrived, we knew we had nothing to worry about with our make-up. It lasted hours, and our pictures were lovely!!
  • R
    Rose Sent on 12/11/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Made to feel comfortable from the start. What an amazing, professional. We didn’t get it quite right at rehearsal and right away noticed that it was’t right. My makeup lasted for the wedding all day — natural and beautiful. I can’t say enough about Michael. He was absolutely wonderful. You’ll get no better make up artist in Pittsburgh.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message