Black Tie Beats Reviews

52 | Altoona, IA
See photos, pricing and details

52 Reviews for Black Tie Beats

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

52
Order by:
  • D

    Dianne Dorrian · Married on 09/28/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding Reception Sept 2019

    Seth was absolutely great! Rain came our way and we did not have sides to our tent. Seth came to the rescue, made a call, and had them DELIVERED! He made our reception feel so upbeat everyone had a lot of fun!! We have received numerous comments on what a great DJ we had! I would HIGHLY recommend Seth to anyone needing a DJ for any event. Thank you again Seth! You're the best! Dianne and Donnie

    Sent on 10/29/2019
  • L

    Linda · Married on 06/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Seth made the party! From start to finish he was nothing but professional, fun, engaging. The planning steps were simple, well laid out. He met with the bride and groom to make sure the event was personal and reflected their style. Communication was second to none.
    Reception night, he took over per the bride and groom's schedule and made the magic happen. I felt instant relief knowing I got to relax and just enjoy as mother of the bride. He handled everything. We had many couples in their 80s (some run in quite wealthy circles). ALL of them.independently said this reception was THE BEST they had ever attended. Seth was a key part of that! The younger crowd? They were too busy dancing their hearts out to voice an opinion! The bride and groom got their dream party!
    Professional, well organized, personable, fun and engaging. Worth more than he charges! I would book him for every event where I needed a DJ. Second to none!
    Will send photos soon.

    Sent on 06/19/2018
  • E

    Emily · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Seth was the DJ for my July 22nd wedding. I can not express how AWESOME he is! If I could give more than 5 stars I would! I cannot say enough wonderful things about black tie beats. He helped to make our wedding day even more amazing. He is so detailed orientated and wants to be involved in every moment of your wedding day. The dance floor at our wedding was PACKED the entire night! He played such a great selection of songs and kept every age group out dancing! Stop searching for a DJ, book black tie beats!!!!

    Sent on 08/17/2017
  • P

    Michelle · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend Black Tie Beats! Seth was so accommodating of me and my big ideas. Well worth every penny and then some. Most weddings I have been to, the DJ is very difficult to hear/understand among the other noise, but that was so not the case with him. And...he was by far the most fun, energetic, humorous DJ I have ever met! He will make everybody feel great and have a wonderful time!

    Sent on 11/05/2016
  • S

    Sami · Married on 07/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Seth was the DJ for our July 3rd wedding. Knowing Seth previously from his role DJing elsewhere, we were very excited to get him involved in our wedding planning process. Seth is so much more than your typical DJ. He did everything a DJ should do, but he didn't stop there. Sure, he took our song requests and planned out the timeline of our reception, but he did so much more than that. He was our most thorough vendor by far through our multiple pre-wedding meetings. He even stepped in as a wedding planner at times. On our wedding night, Seth reached out to myself and my husband to ensure everything was perfect. Our friends and family were extremely impressed with Seth and thought he did an outstanding job. A wedding DJ is a big deal...and I would 100% recommend Seth & Black Tie Beats.

    Sent on 07/19/2016
  • J

    Jenna · Married on 07/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If I could give more than 5 stars, I definitely would. Seth was th DJ at our wedding on July 2nd, and he exceeded our highest expectations. He was outstanding throughout the planning process, and was even better at our reception. He was very easy to get ahold of, and very responsive to email. When we met with him it was fun! It was never a boring meeting. He helped us come up with ideas to make our wedding fun and memorable. When it came to the night of the wedding he totally took charge so we didn't have to think about anything- we were truly able to enjoy our wedding reception. Our bridal party introductions were fantastic, and we did a kissing bowl (Seth's idea) which was a huge hit and so much fun! We also did a choreographed bridal party dance that was a surprise to our guests, as it went off without a hitch, thanks to Seth! After our choreographed dance (which was before the dancing started), the dance floor was filled the entire rest of the night. In fact, people started chanting "ONE MORE SONG" once the last song played. He created such a fun environment that he left people wanting more (which is exactly what we wanted). It was such a magical night, and we have Seth to thank for that. I am still getting comments from wedding guests about how awesome and fun our DJ was. I highly recommend him to everyone needing a DJ!

    Sent on 08/04/2016
  • C

    Clarissa · Married on 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Seth was absolutely amazing! Everything he did for us leading up to our wedding and on the wedding day was above and beyond our expectations. He is great to work with and offers unique services that created the best memories! I recorded a message for my dad that was mixed in with the father daughter dance as a surprise for my dad. The look on my dad's face was priceless! From the time we met him at a bridal show, I knew we made the right decision. I can't say enough about how much we loved using Black Tie Beats for our wedding!

    Sent on 06/20/2016
  • User6735006 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I initially used this website to narrow down a list of DJ's for the Des Moines area to use for our wedding. My wife and I met with about 4 of them. From the get-go, Seth (Black Tie Beats) stood out to the both of us for many reasons. Seth was professional, courteous, informative, and detailed with our first meeting. He offered services that went above and beyond what we had expected out of a DJ. We both knew after the meeting he would be our guy. We loved that he offered an online website that was very detailed in the order of events, as well as listing out songs we wanted and didn't want to play. We leaned on the website as a form of checks and balances to make sure we had our duties crossed off the checklist as wedding day approached. We also used uplighting and the monogram services he offers at very reasonable rates. When the wedding day arrived, Seth was on time, dressed professionally, and ready to deliver. From our unique entrance, scavenger hunt game, speeches, cake cutting, and dancing, Seth delivered. We had many guests inform us that our DJ was very on top of things, highly entertaining, and that was the most fun they've ever had at a wedding. I would highly recommend Seth to anyone! My only issue was the night went way too fast!

    Sent on 05/19/2016
  • M

    Megan · Married on 11/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Black Tie Beats earlier this month for our wedding!! We could not be happier with our services!! Seth was able to lead us in the right direction to make our reception fun and different!! We had people entertained all night, & on the dance floor!! He was so organized and great! We did not have to worry about a thing, but just enjoy our wedding. Thank you for being a part of our day!!!! We would recommend Black Tie Beats to any and everyone!!

    Sent on 11/30/2015
  • C

    Candice · Married on 08/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely loved our DJ Seth! He was very organized and took on a lot of responsibilities which took a lot of stress off the me and my husband! The most important part was he did his job & did it well. He had people dancing all night & they didn't want any of it to end! He was very easy to work with and so professional! He knows what he is doing and he knows how to entertain. I wont forget that night because of how special he helped make it!

    Sent on 07/28/2016
  • J

    James · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Seth was wonderful and helped us have a near perfect wedding day. He was helpful and professional while helping us stay organized for all aspects of our wedding day. We would recommend him in an scenario.

    Sent on 07/06/2015
  • A

    Alyssa · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Black Tie Beats was great to work with, and was very responsive with emails. I would strongly recommend Black Tie Beats to anyone wanting a unique and one-of-a-kind wedding reception! Black Tie Beats voiceover during the father-daughter dance was a huge hit, and I have heard nothing but great things from our guests!

    Sent on 06/29/2015
  • C

    Carlie · Married on 11/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Seth was AWESOME. I'd recommend him as your wedding DJ in a second. He was incredibly professional from the time he set up a Skype meeting for us (which we really appreciated, and after 45 minues on Skype with him, we were sold) to the very last song of the reception. Most importantly, he had the dance floor full all night long. One of my friends said it best the next morning-- If they hadn't kicked us out, we still would have been dancing to Seth's music the next morning. There was never a lull in anything all night. He kept us, my family, and our bridal party informed of what was coming next. Everyone loved him, and we've heard nothing but rave reviews about what a blast all of our guests had at our wedding, in large part thanks to Seth!

    Carlie and Zeth

    Sent on 11/11/2014
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Seth with Black Tie Beats made our wedding planning that much easier! He is professional, organized, and simply knows every detail needed to plan the wedding of your dreams! He was a ton of fun during the reception, and kept our timeline moving right on schedule. He was great at coordinating with our wedding planner and venue coordinators as well.

    Sent on 10/28/2014
  • K

    Kanya · Married on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were so much fun! Nate really made everything easy for us and was there early to make sure that everything would run smoothly and go as planned. He was really great at working with us and with me for all of my surprises and he did a really great job at getting the party going! It was a blast!

    Sent on 09/15/2014
  • User3932095 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    PERFECT! I could NOT have asked for anyone better! And, out of everyone on my vendor team, Seth was BY FAR the most value-added member. He was so on top of things, thought of every little detail, and kept me focused! Plus, my guests just loved him! Played great music, kept the party going, and all at an amazing price!

    Sent on 09/18/2014
  • User4168049 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Seth is a natural emcee and made sure everything went smoothly. He spent time to solidify the schedule of the entire day, not just the portion that he was involved in. He has tons of experience in his field. He offered suggestions that made our event memorable. We had several compliments on the DJ service from guests that attended the wedding.

    Sent on 06/11/2014
  • M

    Mitzi · Married on 05/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My daughter and her fiancé picked "Black Tie Beats" from his website because he guaranteed no profanity and their guest list included grand parents and many children. They made a great choice! We knew we were in "good hands" in the first few minutes of our first meeting! They just clicked! I just sat back and enjoyed the fun conversation and good music! Seth listens to the couple, fills their wants, handles their concerns, has many wonderful ideas and ways to enhance your wedding! He orchestrated our entire wedding and rehearsal. Seth worked well with and organized all the vendors, wedding party, staff etc! He was priceless!! I can not tell you how many compliments we have gotten on him! Seth....thank you so much for making their wedding so special!!! Mitzi

    Sent on 06/05/2014
  • M

    Mandy · Married on 05/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Seth was amazing to work with! Prior to the wedding, he sat down with us for a very informative consultation. We knew we were in good hands after this meeting! He helped us time out the schedule of the evening and was open to our ideas, but also had his own suggestions. The night of the wedding, the reception was flawless and much of this can be attributed to Seth and him being so on top of the evening's timing and events. The highlight of my wedding reception was during the last song when the crowd was circling me and my husband. Seth encouraged our parents and grandparents to join us in the circle and this made for a very special end to the night :)

    Sent on 06/01/2014
  • B

    Brianna · Married on 02/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Seth Thomas with Black Tie Beats had a HUGE role in helping our day come together to make it special! He truly made it possible for my husband and I to enjoy our day and be assured that we didn't have to worry about anything. He listened to what we wanted for our day and followed through with his professional services. He prompted questions that we hadn't even considered coming up to be prepared for the day. His music kept people on the dance floor all night and the night went smoothly. He was awesome!!! I have and will continue to recommend Black Tie Beats to anyone with an special event!

    Sent on 02/24/2014
  • C

    Carol · Married on 09/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Seth made our reception just perfect. The dance floor was full all night, his professionalism, the quality of service, everything was above and beyond our expectations. We have had many comments that our reception and DJ services was the best they have seen. Thank you so much for making this day so special.

    Sent on 10/02/2013
  • C

    Cathy · Married on 09/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was on September 7 2013 and Seth with Black Tie Beats helped to make our day amazing and stress free. Seth worked with us every single step of the way. I was a very detailed bride and he worked everything down to the minute. Our venue was outside so he took care of both the wedding itself and the reception. He had fun and creative ideas and quickly realized that both of us were fun people looking for all of our guests to have a great time. Seth made everything for the wedding and the reception to match our personalities after only sitting down with us once. I would recommend him and Black Tie Beats to anyone. Not only did he help plan everything down to the minute but he helped all of us stay on schedule. I can not imagine our day going nearly as smooth without him there.

    Sent on 09/30/2013
  • M

    Megan · Married on 09/06/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I've been putting this review off for awhile, but after attending a recent wedding with a BAD DJ, it made me appreciate Seth and Nathan even more!

    Seth (the owner) and Nathan (our DJ) were just SO AWESOME to work with. Seth was great with giving timely answers to all of our questions, making sure everything was in order, and providing suggestions for things we hadn't thought of - it would have been a very quiet outdoor ceremony without his suggestion of a microphone!

    Based on our idea of what the music and atmosphere would be like, Seth booked Nathan for us, and he was such a great fit! We could not have been any more thrilled with that choice. Both my husband's and my families are not normally big dancers, but I am not exaggerating when I say that the dance floor was NEVER empty. He did such a great job reading the room, mixing in our requests with his own picks that everyone loved, playing slow songs when everyone looked tired and then ramping the energy up again, and just generally being a charismatic, friendly guy.

    I cannot recommend these guys enough. After getting a price quote, I was wary that I'd get what I paid for, but I would have been thrilled with their services for three times the price!

    Sent on 07/24/2014
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 08/03/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not of asked for a better DJ for our special day. Thanks Black Tie Beats.
    The Foels Michael and Melissa

    Sent on 09/24/2013
  • A

    Allison · Married on 06/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Seth handled our entire day perfectly. Even with a couple hiccups from other vendors earlier in the day, he made sure to keep the night going smoothly. Every meeting we had with Seth before hand was so helpful and really made our day go just the way we wanted it to. I've already recommended him to all my friends and tell everyone I know what a great DJ he is. He's truly a great guy to work with and he made our night more than memorable for us. Thank you so much Seth, we greatly appreciate you!!

    Sent on 07/08/2013