Black Radish Kitchen Reviews

20 | Pittsburgh, PA
See photos, pricing and details

20 Reviews for Black Radish Kitchen

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

20

14 User photos

Order by:
  • Sara

    Sara · Married on 08/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The perfect spot for a small wedding dinner party and the BEST food.

    We wanted a small, affordable wedding with our closest friends and family and decided to do a dinner party -- we ended up with 30 total including us but I think the space could fit a few more. We had two requirements: cool space in the city + the best possible food we could find. Black Radish Kitchen fit the bill (they didn't just cater for us - we had our event at the space). Sarah was our contact and was so responsive, accommodating and just all around great to work with for a slightly-stressed bride. The space is SO COOL. Warehouse-y, lots of graffiti and just the perfect vibe for what we were going for. There's a service elevator for elderly guests if needed. No words to describe the food -- our wedding was almost 6 months ago and we all still talk about it. The price was more than fair... way less than we would have paid anywhere else and they were able to be super flexible with us on start times, etc. We did a quick standing-only ceremony in Westinghouse Park next door then we all walked over to Black Radish. I wouldn't change a thing, it was perfect!

    Sent on 02/19/2020

    Black Radish Kitchen's reply:

    Thanks so much, Sara! We had a lovely time with you and your nearest and dearest. Cheers and best wishes!
  • Suzanne

    Suzanne Friday · Married on 11/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rehearsal Dinner/Dance Party

    Needing single source responsibility for our party, Black radish more than met our expectations. From the inspired menu, suggestions for a signature cocktail to managing the rentals, our party felt fresh and not formulaic. Staff was young, hard working and well orchestrated. As the hostess, I was free to be a guest at my own event.

    Sent on 11/13/2018
  • N

    Neil · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic experience

    Quite simply the best catering team in Pittsburgh. They helped execute our vision perfectly and made for a flawless event - a dinner for family before our wedding day. Cannot recommend enough.

    Sent on 11/14/2018
  • E

    Emily Schmidlapp · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Wedding Food Ever

    We were so happy with Black Radish Catering--everyone said it was the best food they'd had at a wedding! They were super accommodating of a vegetarian meal and prepared a thoughtful and creative menu, and Sarah was so patient as we kept making changes and asking questions. We felt in really good hands here. The quantities were spot on and everything tasted delicious! I can't say enough good things about our experience with BRK--I'd definitely recommend them.

    Sent on 11/16/2018
  • J

    Joe Kotelnicki · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Home wedding

    Black Radish catered our wedding that we hosted in our home. We met with Sarah who was very professional and listened closely to what we wanted to achieve. BR worked within our budget to provide a beautiful meal and day for our guests. Our guests commented on the delicious items (especially the salad) and we were pleased that there was enough food for all but not trays of leftovers. They organized the food, bar, and service staff with seamless ease.

    Sent on 11/13/2018
  • W

    Wei Yu · Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Wedding Food

    We first experienced Black Radish at a friend's dinner, and thought everything was fantastic. So when we planned our wedding, we decided to us them. They were very responsive and easy to work with, and worked with us extensively to establish the menu to our liking. On the day of, the food couldn't have been better. So many guests came up and told us that it was the best wedding food they've had. I cannot recommend Black Radish Kitchen enough. They helped making our experience that much more magical.

    Sent on 11/13/2018
  • B

    Ben · Married on 06/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kate and Sarah at black radish are nothing short of amazing. They met with us multiple times before the wedding to answer any and all questions. Multiple guests told us it was the best wedding food they'd ever had. Multiple staff at our venue agreed. They even travelled for 2 1/2 hours for our wedding, that's how much they rock. Book them. Book them now.

    Sent on 06/29/2018
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 05/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Black Radish Kitchen provides an exceptional dining experience! The Chef's creativity in the various flavor combinations of food is spectacular. The display of food is a "masterpiece" in itself. The service has always been exceptional and the ambiance is one of a kind ! #loveblackradishkitchen

    Sent on 06/25/2018
  • K

    Karla · Married on 04/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Above and beyond, so caring as well as EXCELLENT!

    Sent on 06/22/2018
  • C

    Carlie · Married on 04/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing and intimate venue!

    We had our rehearsal dinner at the Black Radish Kitchen in April of 2018, and it was literally one of the best nights of my life! Kate and Sarah were absolutely amazing to work with from the first time we met with them until the end of our event. Sarah was very easy to communicate with over email in terms of planning the rehearsal dinner and was very responsive when it came to discussing details for decorating the venue for our guests. She even went above and beyond and decorated the venue for us, and she did an amazing job! The staff was extremely courteous and professional throughout the entire event and even helped us carry things to our cars after the event had ended. The food was absolutely to die for and the family-style servings made our dinner even more intimate! There was plenty of food left over that they boxed up for us and they let us bring in dessert, which they plated and displayed so beautifully. It was the perfect venue for our rehearsal dinner and our guests commented on how it was the best rehearsal dinner they had been to. I honestly cannot say enough about how amazing and intimate this venue is--I can't wait to have another event there in the future!

    Sent on 03/31/2019
  • M

    Mike · Married on 03/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    While a such a glowing rating may look suspect, I can tell you that we could not have been more pleased with the service and quality of food that Black Radish provided. We wanted to have our wedding dinner at the house. So, they came out in advance to walk through logistics and cover details, giving us some great feedback and, more importantly, peace of mind. The dinner was everything we hoped: The apps, small plates and entree dishes were all absolutely delicious, they served and refilled dishes as needed so we didn't have to worry about anything, and they cleaned up after ...not to mention the leftovers, YUM! They were also able to point us to the most fabulous bartender as well. I feel fortunate that we were able to get them to create a wedding dinner for us and our guests. Lots of love to this crew!

    Sent on 06/29/2018
  • D

    Douglas · event on: 01/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Outstanding caterer, best I have used and now the only one that I will use. Creative, professional, full service. Pleasure to work with.

    Sent on 04/29/2018
  • E

    Emily · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Black Radish was amazing and I’m so happy they were a part of our wedding. Kate and Sarah are professional and organized and knowledgeable and aside from being great to work with, they’re really cool people. We ended up changing our venue because of some cost issues and Sarah and Kate basically made that a seamless process for us. Ended up at the Mattress Factory and everything was amazing. The food was, as expected, incredible. Our guests kept telling us it was the best meal they’ve ever had at a wedding. That was a priority for me — I wanted people to eat well and enjoy a great party. I’m so glad that Black Radish was a part of making that happen. Also, there was this great moment in the whirlwind of the cocktail hour when Kate emerged from the crowd like a magical being and handed me a bourbon on the rocks. It was awesome. Don’t even bother getting married without Black Radish Kitchen! 10/10

    Sent on 06/22/2018
  • M

    Mark · Married on 10/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kate’s food is fresh, creative and exquisitely presented. Ingredients are of the best quality, and vegetable-centric dishes along with grilled meats and the best antipati (and meatballs to die for) have pleased crowds over and over for us.

    Sent on 06/22/2018
  • T

    Tina · Married on 10/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved our wedding meal, and so did our guests. One guest said it was the best wedding food he'd ever had, and one loved it so much she ordered the very same meal for her Christmas Eve guests. The staff was wonderful to work with. They made the whole process easy for us and coordinated directly with our bartender on rentals and wine for dinner. If we ever host a big event again, we will definitely let Black Radish manage the meal.

    The price below included rentals. Our venue only offered tables and chairs. We had to rent everything else.

    Sent on 06/22/2018
  • L

    Larkin · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kate, Sarah, and the whole crew are awesome. Figuring out a menu and logistics was a breeze, and I’m am regularly reminded by my wedding guests, months later, that it was one of the best meals of their lives. They’re right. The food was phenomenal. We can’t say enough good things about Black Radish.

    Sent on 06/22/2018
  • J

    Julia · Married on 01/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thanks to the Black Radish staff we truly experienced one of the best day of our lives. From start to finish, they were accommodating, professional, and a partner every step of the way. The space offered a unique experience for our guests and was the exact vibe we hoped to achieve. The food was other-worldly -- People still tell us how amazing the food was almost two years later. Overall, we wouldn't have changed a single thing about the day.

    Sent on 06/25/2018
  • V

    Victoria · Married on 05/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Black Radish Kitchen and Chef Kate Romane chose my wedding date — I wasn't going to have the big event without them, so we planned everything around their availability. They're THAT good.

    Sent on 05/05/2018
  • hilary Brown Purcell

    Hilary · Married on 04/02/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It should be said immediately that the food is tremendous. There is nothing out of the box or frozen about what they present. It is fresh, flavorful, unique yet able to please anyone. Black Radish provides an experience and an environment which is beautifully tasteful while still making people feel comfortable and at ease. Every single member of the Black Radish team is a professional and their commitment to the client having a fantastic experience is evident. I have used Black Radish for many different types of events and I am still hearing about how good the food, environment, and vibe was at my events- including my wedding reception!

    Sent on 06/29/2018
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 07/07/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Black Radish Kitchen catered our rehearsal dinner. They delivered and set up the food, but we didn't have servers since we didn't have a particularly large number of guests. They offer a fairly wide-ranging menu with tastes to suit adults and kids. They were extremely responsive by email and were very flexible about changes (within reason) to add or remove food. They arrived on time for setup and everything was fresh and seasonal; the guests loved the food and we were pleased with the flavors and quality. We over-ordered food by quite a bit, having one whole tray of mac-and-cheese that we didn't get into and a significant amount of several other items; when we ordered we didn't want to end up being short of food, but we probably would have benefited from better guidance from them about the right amount to order given the number of guests we had.

    Sent on 09/01/2018