Skip to main content
Weddings

Bethany & Dan Photography Reviews

Bethany & Dan Photography

Bethany & Dan Photography

Portland, ME
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 92 Reviews
View more information

92 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 92
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

25 User photos

  • Claire
    Claire W. Married on 11/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Talented & professional but so much more!

    As a wedding officiant, I get to watch these two work with couples first hand. The comfort level they achieve must be the key to their success. You want Bethany and Dan around you. They have a quiet, artistic badass energy that is clearly reflected in their images. I can count on a cool altar photo every time we work together! They’re both full of ideas and resources which adds another dimension of “unique” to their work and your experience with them. You can count on Bethany & Dan to capture your day beautifully, at a great value and you’ll have the time of your life with them both!
  • A
    Andrea L. Married on 09/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best in the Business!

    Bethany and Dan are the absolute best! From the moment we had our first skype call with them, we instantly felt connected. They are as charming, funny, and supportive as they are talented. 2020 was one heck of a year and they were along for the ride with us, from closed venues to date changes and postponements, Bethany and Dan took it all in stride and reassured us that it would all work out. They made our small and intimate wedding in November feel like an incredibly monumental day and captured all of the moments, big and small, perfectly. The only downfall—having to say goodbye to them when it was all over! :)
  • E
    Eric C. Married on 07/17/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Photographers in Maine

    Bethany and Dan were great not only were they professional but also fun to be around and party with. We would definitely be friends and go surfing with Dan if we were local to Maine. They performed all photo groups we asked for plus added their own creative perspective to some shots came out great and that is something you can’t but. They are both talented in what they do and most importantly, you can tell they enjoy it which is a plus since it is your wedding day! Some friends even asked if they are willing to travel to another country to do a wedding shoot!
  • J
    Jen K. Married on 06/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Every Moment Captured

    Beth and Dan saved us when we unexpectedly lost our original wedding photographer, and we couldn't be more grateful to have worked with them. They're creative, thoughtful, extremely responsive and so fun. We did not have a videographer for the wedding and were initially worried that the feel of the wedding or important moments wouldn't be captured but Dan and Beth left captured EVERYTHING and EVERYONE
  • Sloane
    Sloane O. Married on 05/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Bethany and Dan are wonderful!

    Bethany and Dan were wonderful to work with for our elopement! They made us feel so comfortable during our session, and the pictures turned out amazing. They met with us a few times before the ceremony to make sure we were on the same page were incredibly helpful as we chose a location. I cannot recommend them enough for your wedding or elopement.
  • Sarah
    Sarah S. Married on 09/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful photography in Maine

    Bethany and Dan are great at making you feel comfortable enough to let go, so your personality shines through in their photos. They give great directions, and obviously have a vision in mind for each photo they take. Plus, they're super fun! We had a blast doing something that is often a chore.
  • Kristen
    Kristen O. Married on 08/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Photography that pulls you in!

    We came across Bethany and Dan in the most unusual way, but are ever so grateful that we did. We love all of our photos and couldn't even begin to select favorites to post here, but went ahead and picked a couple. We chose B&D because their photos make us feel like we are reliving the moment every time we look at them. The motto "Photography so fresh you'll want to slap it" makes me laugh every time; it's so true! The color, the action, and the feelings captured.. they are so talented. Oh, and they were a blast to work with in real life too. Pick them. You won't regret it!
  • M
    Michelle Married on 10/04/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Creative, Genuine, and Just Plain Fun

    I cannot speak more highly of Bethany and Dan! They were INCREDIBLE to work with. They were super helpful pre-wedding in developing a schedule and setting expectations. We especially appreciated how they were totally game to take photos with us in *5* different locations on our wedding day. And along the way they captured moments big (first kiss!) and small (private moments of laughter and affection) with an authenticity and creativity that simply cannot be staged. Post-wedding they were also amazing, including creating a gif of one moment from our wedding day. We love our wedding photos so much and just wish we had more space to display all of them!!
  • Matt
    Matt L. Married on 09/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Recommend 10/10

    Bethany & Dan........2 words; POWER COUPLE. What an incredible experience working with you both, we could not have asked for a better photography team to work with on our big day. Truly two of the nicest people who have incredible talent and reputation. The turnaround time on final edits and quality of photos truly set you a part from the rest - not to mention the continuous communication and passion you exert throughout the process. Time flies on your wedding day as we all know, with such short time together it couldn't have felt more natural.......literally as if we have known each other for years?! Bethany and Dan, best of luck in the future and thank you again for creating a life time of memories. -
  • V
    Valerie G. Married on 06/29/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Hire these people.

    You wedding day will fly by and be over in a flash. All you’ll be left with are memories and photographs. If you want photographers who will help you memorialize every moment- the silly ones, the sentimental ones, the ugly cries, sweet kisses, sweaty, messy dance floor moments, and everything in between- Bethany and Dan are the photographers for you. They are fun and helpful without being intrusive.

    One of our favorite moments from our wedding day was when Bethany and Dan pulled us aside for a few photos during sunset. We got to dance and cuddle and laugh- just the two of us. Bethany and Dan turn photography into play and then turn each image into magic.

    If you are even considering them- look no further and book these incredibly lovely and talented people.
  • K
    Kyle E. Married on 10/05/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly Recommend Bethany and Dan!

    I cannot overstate how great our experience was with Bethany & Dan at our wedding. Before the wedding we had a few calls with them so we could all get to know each other and learn how they work so by the time the wedding came we had total trust in them and it payed off! They did a great job at setting up wonderful posed photos and capturing natural moments throughout the entire event. All of the photos that came back were excellent and we'll cherish them forever. I highly recommend Bethany & Dan for a special occasion like this.
  • Lara
    Lara P. Married on 09/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    13/10, would recommend in a heartbeat!

    Bethany and Dan are, honestly, the best. They were awesome to work with with from the start, and were such a calm and happy presence on our wedding day. Even though we're usually not the type to love being in front of a camera, something about Bethany and Dan made us so much more comfortable to let loose and enjoy the moment. And the fact that they are a couple in love just makes working with them feel that much more fun and authentic – you can really tell they love what they do. Not to mention, they're great at it! We just got our pictures back and they are incredible. From the sweet and thoughtful pre-wedding touches to the sneak-peak post-wedding Instagram posts, Bethany and Dan really nailed it. 13/10, would recommend in a heartbeat!
  • D
    Diana Married on 09/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Bethany and Dan are the best!

    We were so lucky to have Bethany and Dan as our photographers for our wedding in Freeport, Maine last year. They are fantastic - so easy and fun to work with, so professional and detail-oriented, and their photos are beautiful, too! We love every single one. My husband and I don't have professional photos taken frequently, so we were nervous about looking awkward in our photos. Bethany and Dan assured us that would not happen and then made us so comfortable that it was basically impossible. They also went through every detail of our timeline with us and our planner before our wedding day - they really helped us refine our timeline. They scouted perfect locations for our photos, too. I really can't say enough about how wonderful they are to work with. Several of our guests also commented on how awesome they are and we regularly get compliments on our stunning photos. I would recommend them to any of our friends and look forward to working with them again in the future!
  • L
    Liz Married on 08/25/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Talented. Compassionate. Kind. Artists.

    Of all the wedding vendors we hired, and ALL of them were excellent, I truly feel that our wedding day never would have been as amazing as it was without Bethany and Dan. Often it’s the photos the photographers send you AFTER the wedding that you treasure and appreciate, and then decide, yes, we made the right choice in our photographers. We let me tell you, not only did Bethany and Dan create ART out of our favourite wedding moments that have already impressed our friends and family that have seen the photos, but the compassion, professionalism, and care that they showed DURING our wedding were some of the moments I am forever grateful and thankful for. Additionally, they were easy to communicate with before and after the wedding, they got ALL of our photos back to us incredibly quickly, and they give you 100% access to downloading ALL of your photos at the highest resolution. Bethany and Dan are not only THE BEST photographers I have ever had the pleasure of working with, but they are two of the kindest most compassionate people we now consider friends. It is my pleasure to give them my highest of recommendations. They are worth every penny.
  • Khaled
    Khaled H. Married on 08/11/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Super service and excellent in the art of photography!

    This review is looooong overdue. Bethany and Dan did a spectacular job! Our wedding was last August and we still look at the photos like it was yesterday. We were thrilled with our photos and impressed with their ninja skills....Somehow always there yet invisible and never overbearing or in the way. Book these guys and you won't regret it! xo
  • M
    Monica Married on 06/30/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bethany and Dan were incredible. They were so easy to work with and they really captured how the day felt. From taking pictures of us dancing outside to catching my grandmother giggling in a corner, they caught all the little details. These guys really made the whole day special and made it possible for us to re-live it when it whenever we want. Do not hesitate to hire them, they are worth every penny and every second of planning and to top it all off, they are truly kind people.
  • R
    Rachel Married on 04/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bethany and Dan are amazing people and amazing photographers! After our first meeting with them, I knew they were the right fit for us. They have a wonderfully relaxed vibe while conveying that they understand the importance of your wedding day and the part that the photographs play in making memories. They know exactly how to balance lending their opinions and wedding expertise (like how to put on a veil or pin a boutonniere) and being seemingly invisible witnesses as they capture precious moments. The unique perspective and vividness of their photographs bring you back to the rollercoaster of emotions that is your wedding day every time you look at them. The two of them are an outstanding team, and we couldn't be happier that they were a part of our wedding day.

    Thank you guys for being so wonderful!
  • R
    Riley Married on 12/30/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bethany and Dan are simply the best. They are incredible artists and they take beautiful photos. I am so glad I chose them as our photographers for our wedding, because they really have a gift for capturing the best moments in the most beautiful ways. AND they are incredibly kind and wonderful people to have with you on your wedding day! I would recommend them to anyone who wants photos that have an extra artistic touch.
  • T
    Tim Married on 10/16/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bethany and Dan were so awesome! They were an absolute pleasure to work with. We found them online and really liked their work. After meeting with them over the phone, we knew they were a good fit for us. Though they had to travel for our wedding, they were incredibly punctual (in fact, a bit early). They jumped right in once they arrived and made us feel comfortable while also ensuring that we were going to get pictures of our wedding day that captured everything we wanted. Bethany and Dan worked incredibly well together, with each throwing out different ideas, splitting us up for individual pictures, and both making sure our time was used efficiently. Dan made us feel extra special in finding and scouting out ahead of time a new place where we were able to take photos just outside of Acadia National Park near Bar Harbor. We were very happy with our "sneak peek" photos and are so excited to see the rest of them!
  • I
    Ian Married on 10/14/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    From our initial phone call, to our engagement photos, to the wedding itself, Bethany and Dan were amazing. We are SOOO glad that we were able to work with them. They encouraged us to express our true selves and somehow managed to capture that in photos that are beautiful, timeless, and real. Everybody that we've shared our photos with has commented how great they are and how they really captured how they were feeling during the day.

    Bethany and Dan are an amazing team and we appreciated being able to work with both of them - they were friendly and flexible throughout everything. We really enjoyed working with two photographers who so clearly know each other's movements and styles (instead of having a second shooter). They are both incredibly creative, thoughtful, and detail-oriented. We appreciated how easy their communication was with us and all of the little things they did to make sure that we were comfortable.

    Thank you Bethany & Dan!! It was really so much fun to work with you and we can't say enough how happy we are with both our engagement session and wedding photos!
  • M
    Mikhaila Married on 09/10/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I stumbled across Bethany and Dan pretty early on. From the second I skimmed through their website I was wowed and felt I didn’t need to search any further. I reached out to them and we promptly set up a teleconference. Their work had already sold me, but getting to chat with them and get a feel for their personalities sealed the deal.

    From the initial planning stages through our wedding day Bethany and Dan stayed in contact, whether through email or by mail. It’s very apparent that they value their clients and that thought goes into every little thing that they do. They were always available to answer any questions we had or address any issue that came up. By the time our wedding day arrived we couldn’t wait to meet them!

    Bethany and Dan arrived on sight on our wedding day, and my husband and I both felt like it was meeting an old friend. They were both warm and inviting and had the type of personality that put even the most nervous of people (both of us that day!) at ease. They were an absolute joy to work with. You can tell they adore their clients, their craft, and one another. We had so much fun with them! Not only did we enjoy their presence, but our families did as well.

    I could hardly wait for the photos to arrive and was that bride that checked her email daily even though I knew it would weeks before anything came through. When they did, I was floored. These photographs that captured on our wedding day were beyond anything I could have ever imagined or hoped for. I cried with joy as I relived those special moments, looking through he gallery. THEY. ARE. STUNNING. I cannot begin to guess how many times I’ve looked through them. With our gallery, we were able to go through and select favorites, but I couldn’t. Each and every photo is my favorite for one reason or another. Not only are we extremely happy with the photographs we received, we’ve also received countless compliments on our wedding photos from friends and family.
  • L
    Liz Married on 06/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    These guys are the best! Not only do they take incredible photos, they make it fun! They came all the way out to Iceland with us to take dramatic wedding shots in some of the most beautiful places on earth. We all had a great time together and the photos came out INCREDIBLE. I would highly recommend them to anyone in need of a wedding photographer, you really can't find better or more talented people to work with.
  • M
    Maddie Married on 05/28/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bethany & Dan are the absolute best! They are so much fun to be around and they really calmed us down on wedding day. We had so much fun going through all of the great shots they got during the reception- it was such a treat to re-live our special day! These two have an awesome energy and take the most fun and creative pictures- we highly recommend them!!!!
  • S
    Sabrina Married on 05/20/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Best. Photographers. EVER. Seriously, I need another occasion that I can have Bethany & Dan photograph. We were lucky enough to snag Bethany and Dan for both our engagement photos and our wedding day as well. As someone who is very into details and timelines, Bethany and Dan made me feel completely at ease on the day of the wedding. We talked prior to lay everything out. From the timeline of the day, to family photos and table photos they were there and ready! The pictures are AMAZING. I did not expect as many as we got - holy cow! And they are all awesome! In addition, my husband and I opted not to get a videographer even though we had a choreographed first dance. Bethany and Dan captured every spin and turn to perfection. Bethany & Dan Photography came highly recommended to me and I have been telling everyone about them!
  • K
    Kristen Married on 01/15/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bethany & Dan are the absolute best! They were so responsive, clear with their instructions and then the best wedding photographers on top of it. There are literally hundreds and hundreds of photos where all of our guests, family & my husband and I look amazing. Everyone walked away from my wedding loving their spirit and professionalism. I have no idea how they took so many great shots, kept us on schedule & still have time to make friends with our bridal party. They were so on top of things leading into the wedding and the day of. HIGHLY recommended!!