Beneath The Gown Reviews

10 | Branford, CT
See photos, pricing and details

10 Reviews for Beneath The Gown

Recommended by 99%

10
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 5.0
10 Beneath The Gown Reviews
Sort by:
  • R

    Ruoxi · Married on 07/28/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I feel lucky that I chose Beneath the gown for my wedding gown alteration! Josie was so professional and experienced! It was a great pleasure working with her. My gown fit so perfectly after the alteration, which suddenly made me feel very comfortable and confident to wear it on my wedding day. My gown was a ball gown with a big train, which I had envisaged could be problematic on lawn. But after the alteration, the hem was just perfect that it was actually very easy walking on a lawn. Josie also taught my bridesmaids how to button up the gown on the back and how to do the bustle. She also trained me walking up and down stairs and sitting on a chair. These made us so well-prepared for the day. I am very appreciative that Josie have helped us to make our wedding day going so smoothly! I will definitely recommend this vendor to my friends.

  • D

    Dani · Married on 07/16/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I went to Beneath the Gown for both undergarments and alterations. Heidi was great in helping me pick out a bra that went with my low-back dress - I tried on both low back bras and sticky cups and she took the time to work with me to figure out what looked best and what I was most comfortable in. Josie is amazing at alterations! I was very stressed about finding the perfect place to get my dress altered - how many times in your life do you have a garment as important as your wedding dress?! - and from the first consultation I was so much more at ease knowing that Josie had it under control. She explained every bit of what she would be doing between each fitting, showed my sister/MOH how to do the bustle correctly, and made sure every single detailed piece of lace ended up back in the right spot. Not to mention that both Josie and Heidi are so incredibly friendly that my sister and I both felt like we were going to hang out with family members every time we were there. My wedding dress looked amazing on my wedding day - and the undergarments were comfortable all day long, which is not always the case with shapewear! - and I could not have been happier with the process.

  • A

    Ariana · Married on 05/27/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The ladies at Beneath the Gown are top-notch professionals who know their stuff! They helped size me and picked out the perfect corset for my bridesmaid dress AND were willing to tailor it as needed (in the end, we didn't need the additional tailoring, because it was so perfect!) I will definitely go back and buy more bras from there in the future.

  • A

    Adrianna · Married on 03/25/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josie and Heidi are fantastic! They worked with both my mom and I to ensure our wedding day looks were perfect and that we were comfortable! Highly recommend!

  • J

    Janyra · Married on 11/26/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent service. I actually ended up buying everyday undergarments due to the precise fitting I got. Wonderful women work in that office!

  • K

    Kelly · Married on 09/09/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josie was truly my life-saver! I lost about 20 lbs between trying on my gown and getting to the fitting phase. The result: it was much too large. I actually wasn't even sure if I LIKED my dress anymore. My tailor told me to make sure I got proper undergarments before coming to him, and recommended Josie. Not only did she not bat an eye at my latex allergy (in other words, NO ELASTIC), she found the perfect longline bra for me, sewed in cups, altered it, AND suggested I make a change to the neckline of my dress that made me fall in love with it again! She is sweet, kind, responsive, and quite funny. I highly recommend you visit her for bridal (or any) undergarments.

  • E

    Em · Married on 10/30/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    She made a custom piece for me to go under my backless dress. Someone even asked me the next day how I was able to pull off wearing that dress with the undergarment or lack there of you couldn't even tell it was that well done.

  • A

    Anneke · Married on 09/05/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Where do I begin. Josie and Heidi are both two amazing ladies. Not only did Josie fit me for the perfect undergarments for my wedding gowns, she also made custom pieces for my wedding day. Josie made a beautiful silk robe that Incorporated fabric from my wedding gown as well as my mothers wedding gown and fabric that my great grandmother hand tatted. She finished the robe by stitching my married name in light blue thread (something blue!) On top of the beautiful robe she also customized the corset that I wore underneath my wedding gown. Because of this customization not only was it perfect for my low back gown but it also was made with the same fabric of my dress. It is so special to have custom pieces that I'm able to wear beyond my wedding day. As if those pieces weren't special enough she also made a custom chemise for my honeymoon. On top of their ability to do custom lingerie they have a wide selection in store. Not only did I find things for my wedding day, and honeymoon, but every day wear as well. Whether you were looking for custom lingerie or just an amazing fitting undergarment I highly recommend Josie and Heidi.

    Beneath The Gown 1
    Beneath The Gown 2
    Beneath The Gown 3
  • User4457030 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Low back gown crisis averted- they altered a corset perfectly for me fairly last minute. The staff is super-friendly and stayed few minutes late on a Thursday evening when I rushed after my second dress fitting. I would definitely recommend a trip if you need something non-standard to wear under your wedding dress.

  • J

    Jillian · Married on 06/24/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The ladies at Beneath the Gown made me feel so comfortable, and knew exactly what would make me look and feel my best on my wedding day. It was an all around fantastic experience, and I would highly recommend them to any CT bride looking for some special undergarments for her big day.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review